?
? !
8 photos
Kia Optima

Kia Optima

TF, JF, MS
3.9 from 28 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    5.0 (4)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (4)
  • Noise Level
    4.8 (4)
  • Braking
    5.0 (3)
  • Acceleration / Power
    5.0 (3)
  • Gear Shifting
    5.0 (3)
  • Suspension
    5.0 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.3 (3)
  • Handling
    4.7 (3)
  • Interior Design
    4.7 (3)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (3)
  • Comfort
    4.7 (3)
  • Features
    4.7 (3)
Previous
Next
Eddie

EddieSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Really great car.

published

Loads of power yet economical when you want it to be, roomy and comfortable, sensible and attractive interior layout, and superb ride with a good variety of Drive modes. Would have liken ventilated seats, but everything else is there. Would recommend to anyone wanting an all-around car.

Purchased in July 2019 at Cricks Highway.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ann U.

Ann U.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Excellence

published

This is our fifth KIA. My husband drives a Sportage SLi 2015 and I the Optima GT. The previous KIAs were two Rio's used for high milage, before we retired and a Cerato Koupe Touring. Todate no problems worth mentioning. What problems we have had have been fixed promptly. The GT is a joy, fast and reasonable frugal. Being a MY 2017 it comes with high beam assisted and LED head lights, both dip and main, fabulous. I will end here, for any more comments would also the lines of fabulous, excellent and similar

Purchased in August 2018 at Kia Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hann

HannSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

KIA Optima GT very Reliable

published

I have KIA optima for 4 years and have done 120,000 km. It still runs like brand new. Car regularly serviced at KIA dealer. Car service interval is short to 75,000 km, it should be at least 10,000 km.

Purchased in November 2015 for $38,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sedans

Find out how Kia Optima compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Gagan S.

Gagan S.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Perfect

published

The Optima shares its platform, and many of its components, with its sister car: the Hyundai Sonata.

Targeted at other midsized sedans such as the Hyundai Sonata, Toyota Camry, Mazda6, Ford Mondeo, Skoda Octavia, and Holden Commodore, the Optima features a big boot and a comfortable ride.

A six-speed torque converted automatic is the only transmission for both the naturally-aspirated and turbocharged petrol engines.

Variants range from the base $33,390 Optima Si to the top-of-the-range $44,490 Optima GT NAV (BLACK LEATHER) SUNROOF.

Purchased in April 2015 for $16,999.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hann

HannSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Best car ever

published

Very reliable car and interior quality is better than German car. Very quiet and smooth ride. Turbo 2.0l is powerful enough. Have driven 80000 km and had not a single problem.

Purchased in December 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Excellent reliable

published

Great car, no problem at all. it has all the features, leather heated and cool seat, very reliable and had none fault. service interval 15000 km and very cheap around $200. Excellent handling. I love the panoramic roof.Better than German cars Audi and Bmw etc. I would recommend to everyone.

BadgePlatinum
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Norm

NormGold Coast

  • 2 reviews

Great car

published

I bought my 2012 Kia Optima new and it has now done 102,000 klms and have had nothing done on it ,this car has been a pleasure to own and drive i sort of keep waiting for something to go wrong with it but never does,i would recommend this car to anyone out there looking at this type of car,the engine noise is a bit loud on take off but you get used to it and it has heaps of power as well.

BadgeSLi
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Louise Cropley

Louise Cropley

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Fantastic car

published

What a fantastic car. Not only is it a pleasure to drive, but it has enough power to feel quite sporty. The only problem we have identified with these cars is their seats are incredibly uncomfortable, which unfortunately can be a limiting factor and almost caused us to sell it. Some wool seat covers fixed the problem and now we can take it on long drives (more than an hour) and not feel numb afterwards.

BadgeSi
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
B2B

B2BPerth

  • 14 reviews
  • 13 likes

Best 4 cylinder sedan

published

Excellent car I love it as it comes with tons of features. Friends and family love it as well to drive or be passengers.
Drives great, smooth to drive, sun and moon roof in black looks fantastic, quick of the line, easy to handle, cheap on fuel as it's a 4 cylinder and looks fantastic wherever you drive it.

BadgePlatinum
TransmissionAutomatic
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sedans

Find out how Kia Optima compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Peter5119

Peter5119Sunshine Coast

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Reliable and refined

published

Purchased new in 2005 and replaced 2012. Traveled 125000km. Always reliable and only item ever to require repair was the globe in the radio, brakes pads at 115k and normal filters ect. Only reason the car was replaced was that it was involved in a head-on crash with a Land-cruiser. The airbags worked and the body absorbed the impact very well. (The other car crossed onto the wrong side of the road)
Strong and very smooth and quite. Fantastic on Highways

Engine SizeV 2.7
TransmissionAuto
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
trixie1412

trixie1412

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent

published

great car will buy again,and recommend to others done 30000ks no problems.Dont like the service centre there slack,dont care attidude.
very low noise from engine heaps of extras great value for money.service intervalls 15000ks,good power if you need it
thirsty on fuel,but i can cope with it.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
See all Kia Optima reviews

Questions & Answers

Gavin E.

Gavin E.asked

Optima TF (2011-2015)

I am disappointed that my Kia Optima has crankshaft knock from failed bearings at 180k's after I had it back to Kia Mt Gravatt for the recall and had the all clear.
I was told the crankshaft was within tolerances which I find it hard to believe that they removed the bottom sump and measured the crankshaft with the pistons removed and measured the crank where the big end bearings would run on the crank all this within a couple of hours,
I think the more likey scenario they checked the vin range for the defect and found my vehicle was not in the vin range and replaced the old dipstick with the new dipstick which i suspect the old dipstick was giving the wrong reading for measuring oil.
I want to know since I did work with the brand for 4 years and I have personally influenced some of my family and friends to purchase a Kia car so far 2 x Cerato and 1 x Sportage what would Kia do to assist in having the engine repaired? given there is a whole Kia forum with Optima 2.4L customers with the same issue.

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Kia Optima

Details

Compare all 4 Kia Optima
Kia Optima MS
  • Discontinued

Kia Optima MS (2001-2006)

4.7
(3)
Kia Optima TF
  • Discontinued

Kia Optima TF (2011-2015)

3.6
(14)
CategorySedansSedansSedansSedans
Starting Price $43,290$33,390$25,990$31,490
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic and ManualAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels18" Alloy17" Alloy18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption8.5 L/100km8.3 L/100km7.9 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 70 L70 L70 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.4L6 Cylinder 2.5L4 Cylinder 2.4L
Max Power180kW @ 6000rpm138kW @ 6000rpm148kW @ 6300rpm
Max Torque350Nm @ 1350-4000rpm241Nm @ 4000rpm250Nm @ 4250rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth Korea
Manufacturer Warranty7 year(s)7 year(s)7 year(s)
Release dateJan 2015Jan 2015Jan 2001Jan 2011
Discontinuation dateDec 2006Dec 2015
Compare all 4 Kia Optima

Visit official website

Other Sedans

Previous
Next

See all Sedans

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.