?
? !
7 photos
Kia Rio DC

Kia Rio DC (2000-2005)

3.3 from 22 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.0 (3)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.0 (3)
  • Noise Level
    2.3 (3)
  • Braking
    3.7 (3)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.0 (3)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (1)
  • Suspension
    2.5 (2)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    5.0 (2)
  • Handling
    3.5 (2)
  • Interior Design
    3.5 (2)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (2)
  • Comfort
    3.0 (2)
  • Features
    3.0 (2)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
Vin

VinGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 30 reviews
  • 5 likes

Everyday car

published

Good for everyday use and long smooth road driving. Fuel efficient running to a vacation trip but with its ground clearance, load capacity should be lesser than the limit to run normally.

  • Thumbnail
Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
MrSquigglesPencil

MrSquigglesPencilFar North Queensland, QLD

Good until repairs needed

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
OldManEmu

OldManEmu

  • 16 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great Little Car runs on the smell of an oily rag

published

Purchased in February 2009 for $2,300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hatchbacks

Find out how Kia Rio DC compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
karizma

karizmasydney

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

Wont buy Kia again.

published

Kias seem like an ok car but unfortunately they do not last. Once youve done about 100,000km everything starts to go wrong. Air con and windows are first to go then you're up for couple of grand repairs at least every 6 months. Better off getting a japanese car. They last a bit longer.

BodyHatch
BadgeNA
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2006
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Paul

PaulAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Car running Ok

published
BodyHatch
BadgeLX
Engine Size1.5L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJune 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Stephanie

Stephanie

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Better than I thought

published

It is not my car but I got it from my friend so I drove this car for couple of month. It does not look big the internal space is much more big than I was expection. The doors seal very well, noise can be largely reduce. When driving, it is stable and easy to park.

BodyHatch
BadgeLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2009
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sharon

SharonMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

2003 model - still going strong today

published
BodyHatch
BadgeLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jade007

Jade007Sydney

  • 12 reviews
  • 2 likes

Very Good Car

published

I had my Kia Rio automatic for 8 years now and found it to be a great car for the price and very cheap to run.
The car still drive very well, similar feel to when it was new. I have not yet had any major mechanical problem, other than replacing worn tyres , light globes etc.
I love how it is so economical on petrol; we drove from Sydney to Melbourne a few times, and it cost a little over a tank of petrol (45L) each way.
This car is very easy to drive, and for a small sedan, it is surprising roomy.
Reliable and Inexpensive

TransmissionAutomatic
BodySedan
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
DanitaReck

DanitaReckAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Worst car ever! And I'm not joking!!!!

published

We bought our Rio 3 years ago (June 2010) with 70,000kms on the clock. Seemed fine for about 3 months then issues started, one after another, in the 3 years we've had it (and only 25,000 kms added) we've spent close to $3500 in repairs! We've had to replace so many parts it's hard to keep up. Very unreliable and I wouldn't recommend anyone (not even my worst enemy) to purchase this car! And upon my research seems a lot of people have an awful time repairing the darn thing. So do yourself a favour and don't even consider buying one. We've had enough and are trading it in for a Honda!

Unreliable! Worst car ever built! Costly to repair the dozen or so problems every year!

Engine Size1.5
BodyHatch
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hatchbacks

Find out how Kia Rio DC compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Great little beast

published
Engine Size1.5L
BodyHatch
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
chino101

chino101

  • 35 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good

published

We bought our 2003 Kia Rio in 2008. It was amazingly cheap and it had great features like electric windows and various others. It is zippy and great around town getting about 6 litres per 100km. We tow our Jet ski with it and it still pulls well. At highway speed it can be a bit noisy but the car is cheap, so everything can't be perfect.
Cheap, zippy, more room than expected inside
Gear stick is easy to put leg against if tall so if it is the passenger, you can't change gear. has a mechanical clutch rather than hydraulic (makes take offs harder)

BodyHatch
1 comment
Patrick
Patrick

Just wondering how much did you buy your tow bar kit for??

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bantam_Pilot

Bantam_PilotCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 12 likes

A great little runabout

published
Engine Size1.4 L petrol
TransmissionManual
BodyHatch
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
JayDawg

JayDawgSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Does the job

published
Engine Size1.5L
BodyHatch
5 comments
Josh16
Josh16

how many kilometers do you recon you get on a full tank, driving on the highway?

Josh16
Josh16

how long did the tank last on full, driving on a highway?

JayDawg
JayDawg

Hard question but it just about made it from Sydney to Orange and back and probably would of if I didn't fill up. So maybe about 500-550km?

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

OK

published
BodyHatch
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
itaricebubble

itaricebubbleQLD , 4220

  • 15 reviews
  • 5 likes

Terrible

published
BodyHatch
2 comments
debra06
debra06

why cry over it after 9 years . im sure if it was so bad you'd not have kept it for a whole nine years

kalloggs40
kalloggs40
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hatchbacks

Find out how Kia Rio DC compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Muddy

MuddyVictoria

  • 12 reviews
  • 4 likes

Excellent

published
BodyHatch
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Generally good but has faults

published

The clutch peddle box needs to be strengthened as it breaks and the cable pulls through. repair is costly.
the engine is smooth, quiet, economical to run.
they don't look too bad with a set of mags
Roomy,
Clutch pedal and cable, kia support

Engine Size1500
BodyHatch
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
dalaner

dalanerPerth, WA

  • 14 reviews
  • 2 likes

Terrible

published

Agree - it's a heap of junk.
This car was bought in December 2005.
I've just had it serviced (twice a year) and told that I need 4 new tyres!!
I only had two new front tyres two years ago!!!
I will never buy this make again.
Drives smoothly, pretty good on petrol.
I'm not a hoon driver yet something makes the tyres wear out VERY quickly. Reverse gear hard to get.

BodyHatch
2 comments
ella48
ella48

wheel alignment/tyre pressure etc are factors to blame for this, hardly believe it would be the cars fault

dalaner
dalaner

As I said, serviced twice a year, tyre pressure ok and wheel alignment looked after.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
valgary7

valgary7

  • 2 reviews

Good

published

It is a good reliable little car for either young people or for older people who may not have children to put in the back. It comes in all the right colours. Not expensive on parts.
It is very good on fuel and is easy to get into small parking area. It cools down quick in Summer and heats up quick in Winter because of the small inside area.
They only thing I did not like was the Carpet it looks like underfelt rather than Carpet and there is not much room in the back if you have passengers

BodyHatch
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Antoco

AntocoMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 129 reviews
  • 17 likes

Excellent

published

I used one of these for a while and found it to be a half decent and fairly reliable second car since I needed something cheap to treat like trash when I do work. It works almost just as good as my new car so no complaints.
Drives decent and it's ok for a small second car in the family. Fuel economy is not bad and it is a pleasure to drive too.
Engine is a little noisy at times, you can't compare the driving like a BMW or a Mercedes. But you do pay only a tenth of the price.

BodySedan
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 2
See all Kia Rio reviews

Questions & Answers

James Pohahau

James Pohahauasked

Rio DC (2000-2005)

I had to get key and chip replacement for my kia rio 2003 hatchback I've tried taking my car for drive around but it'll cut out after 10-20 minutes how do I solve this problem?

1 answer
Jack Daniels
Jack Daniels

This is a question for the experts. I suggest you refer this question to Kia, they should be able to investigate the issue for you.

eve

eveasked

Rio DC (2000-2005)

Have trouble with getting car in first and second gear others are fine.

2 answers
Kat350
Kat350

Take to mechanic and have the clutch and gearbox checked out.

Stevenj32
Stevenj32

Our Rio is a 2012 and it's an automatic, but Kia's do have a reputation for weak manual gearboxes, even the new ones have problems with the gearbox, advise is take it to a gearbox specialist, hope it does not cost you to much.

lynabnett

lynabnettasked

Rio DC (2000-2005)

where is the clutch cable located in 2005 kia rio?

1 answer
Bantam_Pilot
Bantam_Pilot

Sorry to tell you, I sold my little Blue Rio about 20 minutes ago to a mechanic who will mainly let his daughter use it. Too many vehicles, not enough people living in the house to justify keeping it any more. Regarding the clutch cable, I usually let my mechanic worry about such things, however, I'd look under the engine to find the clutch, and trace it back through the engine bay. Be under the car as someone presses the clutch pedal for you and see what movement there is as you lie on the ground looking at where the clutch plate might be. Sorry I can't be of more help. I'm not a mechanic, just fussy about taking the car to a mechanic to keep it perfect.

See all Kia Rio DC (2000-2005) questions

Get an answer from our members

Kia Rio DC (2000-2005)

Details

Compare all 10 Kia Rio
CategoryCars, Hatchbacks and Sedans
Release dateJan 2000
Discontinuation dateDec 2005
Replaced byKia Rio JB
Compare all 10 Kia Rio

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.