?
? !
23 photos
Kia Rio

Kia Rio (page 3 of 7)

UB, JB, DC, YB
3.9 from 140 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.5 (18)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (18)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (16)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (17)
  • Braking
    4.4 (17)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.2 (17)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.9 (13)
  • Suspension
    3.8 (15)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.8 (16)
  • Handling
    4.2 (15)
  • Interior Design
    4.1 (14)
  • Boot Size
    4.0 (14)
  • Comfort
    3.9 (14)
  • Features
    3.8 (14)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail

Love my just right car

published

I love that I have 4 cylinder especially since I have heavy foot and get speeding tickets. It drives smooth and quite. I have a basic one the one with the window u have to manually hold on and roll up or down lol but still love her. Will get a kia optima as soon as I pay her half off

BodySedan
BadgeLX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
George Kow

George KowGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Love my little Kia Rio

published

After 11 years I finally got to buy a new car. Kia Rio came highly recommended by friend and it didn’t disappoint. The design is focused on making driving easy, the USB outlet is located at the front where I can easily reach it. The drive and handling is good and quiet. The only thing I don’t like is the fuel economy.

BodyHatch
BadgeLS
Engine Size1.5L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Zoe Woodbury

Zoe WoodburyCaboolture

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

My little Broom Broom

published

This car has done me so well, for so long. I purchased my car in 2012 and it is over 6 years old now and serving me well. My car is black, the only thing I would have done differently, is get it in a different colour. Black is harder to maintain the cleanliness.

BodyHatch
BadgeSi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Kia Rio compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jack Daniels

Jack DanielsMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Good car for a first time driver

published
BodyHatch
BadgeAO edition
Engine Size1.4L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
ken

kenPerth, WA

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Average little car

published

Compact car suited to maximum of two adults only, good on fuel not bad to drive, throw away car in terms of major maintance due to the work involved removing gearbox's etc.
No fill holes or level holes on manual transmissions , gearbox snouts wear easily, front wheel bearings don't last terribly long, insufficient lubrication on drive line parts from the factory so they seize or wear prematurely,
OK car if you keep them only along as the factory warranty lasts.

BodyHatch
BadgeLX
Engine Size1.4L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2008
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Malty

Maltymelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Pros and cons

published
BodyHatch
BadgeSLi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
M. Khaled

M. KhaledPerth

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Good value

published

Overall Good performance.
Good value for money with a low maintenance cost.
Reliable car, I never had an issue with it (done 160,000 so far) , just doing the regular maintenance as per log book.
Fuel efficient and economic.
Good interior design, but it has a lot of cheap plastic in the dash board.

BodyHatch
BadgeSport
Engine Size1.4L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
jassin

jassinqld, 4300

  • 21 reviews
  • 11 likes

Real World Review of the New 2017 Kia Rio Manual

published
BodyHatch
BadgeS
Engine Size1.4L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
AmieJK

AmieJKSouth Australia

  • 8 reviews

The best small car around

published

While my heart said Ford Focus, my head said Kia Rio, and my head won - thank goodness!

With an unbeatable 7 year transferable warranty, this car has the body of a small car, but an engine of one much larger. It has power, great ride stability and is extreme economical to run. It's spacious and easily seats 4 to 5 people, with a roomy boot as well.

So glad I chose this for my new small car, I love it.

BodyHatch
BadgeS
Engine Size1.4L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Kia Rio compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Abbz

AbbzSouth Australia

  • 15 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great car!

published

Great size car, plentiful boot room. Amble room for usbs to connect phones, gps' and other necessary items. The only thing that is a small issue is when you have a car seat fitted you can't remove the boot liner to either access the spare tyre or clean the liner. The car also has ISO-fix (easier way to fit car seats if they are isofix capable). $40 fills the fuel tank!

BodySedan
BadgeS
Engine Size1.4L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Paul

PaulAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Car running Ok

published
BodyHatch
BadgeLX
Engine Size1.5L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJune 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Deanne Eryn

Deanne ErynSouthport

  • 7 reviews

LOVE MY LITTLE RIO

published

I have had mine for just about 2 years and never had a fault with it!!! I love the look of it and it has so much room, i have had the car full of all my friends and they were all still comfortable. Its got a decent kick to it considering its such a small car, and its so cheap to fill up about $40 a week!! The whole car just feels great to drive, is so comfortable and also comes with all the tech gadgets a new car needs

BodyHatch
BadgeSLS
Engine Size1.6L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Amber P

Amber PMelbourne

  • 5 reviews

Best car I’ve purchased

published

Drive performance is excellent, so efficient with petrol. Drives extremely smooth and no hassles getting from A to B.
Car is so cute and sporty, and I would highly recommend it for a first car or even if you like a small car.
Looks good, and the interior tops it.

BodyHatch
Badgen/a
Engine Size1.4L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
peterv52

peterv52Sydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Getting expensive to maintain.

published

I bought mine new in 2012 and have been generally happy with it. However at the four year mark and only 26,000km the front discs and pads were shot and needed replacing. Rear pads were also shot. Not happy but the dealer did offer a free service next time which they honoured. It's in for service today and the front tyres are in need of replacement at 32,000km. The car is used 99% of the time going to the shops etc and the average speed around here is 50 or 60 so very little high speed driving. The tyres are not Kias'fault but the rubbish brake material is. Disappointing in what has been a great little car in other respects.

BodyHatch
BadgeS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Stephanie

Stephanie

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Better than I thought

published

It is not my car but I got it from my friend so I drove this car for couple of month. It does not look big the internal space is much more big than I was expection. The doors seal very well, noise can be largely reduce. When driving, it is stable and easy to park.

BodyHatch
BadgeLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2009
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Kia Rio compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ann

Ann

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Outstanding Buy

published

This is a great car. I travel to Melbourne once a month to see my elderly Mother from Adelaide, a eight hour trip and this small car eats up the miles easily with plenty of comfort. I used to drive a Commodore there and when I traded down to my city smaller vehicle thought how will I manage the above but with the hatch laying down flat and loaded up I have been remarkably surprised at economy, comfort and ease at which this car has performed. And magnificent around the city.

BodyHatch
BadgeLS
Engine Size1.4L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
G.Lo

G.LoSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 25 reviews
  • 20 likes

My third new Kia Rio in a row

published
BodyHatch
BadgeS
Engine Size1.4L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Gary M

Gary MRaglan

  • 11 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great second car.

published

We brought this car because we needed an economical run about. It has proved to be exactly that never had a problem with it. Performance is great, handles well, far better than expected. When you are inside there is plenty of legroom & Boot space. I would have to say I would have no problems buying another one.

BodyHatch
BadgeEX
Engine Size1.4L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Nicola

NicolaAU

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

love it

published

The 2017 kia rio is great. Love the reverse camera apple car play. 7 year warranty is the best. This is my 4th kia and won't be the last. The car is very economical. Serving is affordable. Drives well although obviously not super powerful. Drives much better than the hyundai accent I have for work

BodyHatch
BadgeS
Engine Size1.4L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Xiaochen

XiaochenMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Second hand Rio

published

we name our car as Cherry from the color. This does not have the enough storage space but it is much for two people the normal daily time. It is the automatic car and the power of the car is limited. The car has been served once from we bought it. Others are looks good.

BodyHatch
BadgeS
Engine Size1.6L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 3 of 7
See all Kia Rio reviews

Questions & Answers

Not Happy Camper

Not Happy Camperasked

Rio

Hi my daughter purchased a new Kia Rio in October 2020 and the engine is Pinging and they can't seem to fix it. She is using the correct 91 fuel and not E10. We've been told by customer service that there are other RIO's doing it as well and they cant explain why, it just seems to be a fault. They just said to use 95 until they find a fix but this is against the manufacturers recommendations. Were worried about the long term engine damage that is being caused. Anyone else got the same problem?

7 answers
Peter S
Peter S

Pinging is most likely due to crappy fuel. Try using 91 instead of E10. The other option is that there is a sensor that is giving bad fuel/air ratios back to the computer "or" the computer has an issue.

Not Happy Camper
Not Happy Camper

She has always used 91 and never used the crapy E10. They have tried 4 times now to fix it doing engine tests and fuel samples and don't seem to be able to. The customer service department let slip that there a number of other Rio's in the same model doing it as well and they cant explain why? They suggested we run it on 95 or 98 which is against the manufacturers recommendations until they geta fix?

Peter S
Peter S

I'm getting like 10.5L per 100km which is not great. My Ford Escape uses 10L per 100km and it has twice the horsepower (turbo) and is 500kg heavier....if you only have had it for a short time you could try another dealer and then go to the ACCC.

Robyn

Robynasked

Rio

I have a problem when braking the car creaks it only happens after the car warms up. Coukd it be worn rotors?

No answers
Mikeyg

Mikeygasked

YB S Automatic (2016-2021)

Has anyone had dash vibration noise, I have two Kia Rios 2016 & 2019 models both have dash vibrations.

No answers
See all Kia Rio questions

Get an answer from our members

Kia Rio

Details

Compare all 10 Kia Rio
CategoryCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price $23,090$16,990$19,090$17,790
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)ManualAutomaticManual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy15" Steel15" Steel17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption5.6 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 45 L45 L45 L45 L
Engine3 Cylinder 1.0L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L
Max Power88kW @ 6300rpm74kW @ 6000rpm74kW @ 6000rpm74kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque172Nm @ 1500-4000rpm133Nm @ 4000rpm133Nm @ 4000rpm133Nm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth Korea
Manufacturer Warranty7 year(s)7 year(s)7 year(s)7 year(s)
Release dateJan 2016Jan 2016Jan 2016Jan 2016
Compare all 10 Kia Rio

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.