?
? !
23 photos
Kia Rio

Kia Rio (page 4 of 7)

UB, JB, DC, YB
3.9 from 140 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.5 (18)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (18)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (16)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (17)
  • Braking
    4.4 (17)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.2 (17)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.9 (13)
  • Suspension
    3.8 (15)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.8 (16)
  • Handling
    4.2 (15)
  • Interior Design
    4.1 (14)
  • Boot Size
    4.0 (14)
  • Comfort
    3.9 (14)
  • Features
    3.8 (14)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
Meaghan

Meaghan

  • 4 reviews

Bought this second hand

published

I bought this car second hand from a dealer after my last car died. Officially converting to kia's! This car rides so smoothly and it's comfortable. It's practical and the boot is massive and the seats are quite large. There's enough leg room and all the electronics work well. This car was well taken care of when I bought it so it's nice to take care of it now

BodyHatch
BadgeLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
KG in Brisbane

KG in BrisbaneBrisbane

  • 18 reviews
  • 23 likes

I'd buy another, without hesitation

published
BodyHatch
BadgeLS
Engine Size1.4L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2008
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Avil

AvilMelbourne

KIA Rio - problems from manufacturing

published
BodyHatch
BadgeSLi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Kia Rio compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
brook

brookENGADINE

  • 15 reviews
  • 4 likes

my motoring partner

published

for the money I paid I couldn't be more satisfied with my kia rio
economical to run with low fuel mileage and I know that I have a unique 7 year warrenty to fall back on should I need it
a quite moter with all the power I need and a very stylish interior, it is amazing how much room it has for a small car
the boot is ample and I like the fact that it came with a full sized spare tyre

BodyHatch
BadgeSLS
Engine Size1.4L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
d brown

d brownperth

  • 3 reviews
  • 9 likes

bad brakes no warranty

published

Kia rio brakes grinding from day 1 need to replace rotors within one year dealer ignores the problem pretending its normal want me to pay 1500 dollars to repair saying thats normal at 20000 km lol I wonder if kia representative AFL mathew pavlich drives his kia with factory fault rotors that are grinding I would hope not / a bit of respect for the regular people would be appreciated for after all we paid for our cars in good faith DONT BUY A KIA you could regret it

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Stevenj32

Stevenj32CHADSTONE

  • 35 reviews
  • 22 likes

Ordinary car

published
BodyHatch
BadgeS-Premium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sad

SadBlacktown

  • 6 reviews
  • 9 likes

Solid, Relieable, Quiet

published
BodyHatch
BadgeS
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSept 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tashamaree90

Tashamaree90

  • 4 reviews

Great budget new car

published

I love my little Rio, I would give it 5 stars on the looks alone. Has excellent power and high end speed for a little 4 cylinder the interior looks great and the added Bluetooth iPod connection are great. The downsides are as soon as you turn the a/c or headlights on it seems to suck up all the power from the performance of the car and it also chews through petrol when these are on otherwise it's normally very economical. luckily where I live it's cold most of the year and I do not drive much at night. Also has some bad blind spots and the dash is rather long so vision can sometimes be an issue but all in all great little new car for the price

BodyHatch
BadgeSE
Engine Size1.4L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
world_traveller

world_travellerSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 30 reviews
  • 21 likes

Great Small Car

published
BodyHatch
BadgeS
Engine Size1.4L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2016
1 comment
world_traveller
world_traveller
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Kia Rio compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Max

MaxNambour

  • 2 reviews

Great little fun car

published

Just got a 2013 Kia Rio auto and so far so good. It's a fun car to drive, the little 1.4L delivers surprisingly good power and the sports automatic gives it a racy feel. The boot is a bit small but usable and the back seats are a bit crammed if you are tall. It eats through the fuel faster than I was expecting as the fuel consumption rate is suppose to be 6L/100km. In terms of driver comfort the Rio is pretty good with a nice range of seat and steering column adjustments. It also has plenty of modern tech features such as auto headlights, Bluetooth, USB and Aux inputs, hill-start hold and a stylish interior. I have only had the Rio for a month so I can't comment on reliability but from what I've heard they are a pretty good car.

BodyHatch
BadgeLS
Engine Size1.4L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ang

AngPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 9 likes

2014 1.4L manual

published
BodyHatch
BadgeS
Engine Size1.4L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJuly 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ramez

RamezMelbourne

  • 24 reviews
  • 17 likes

Reliable. Uses more petrol than it should

published

Purchased a clean example.
Did what it was purchased to do.
Everything works well.
The factory speakers sound so much better with an upgraded stereo system.

Easy to drive and maneuvre.

Unfortunately it uses ore petrol than it should. I was getting ~10L/100km for a 1.6L hatchback. On researching the issue, this seems to be the norm.

BodyHatch
BadgeLX
Engine Size1.6L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Beware

published

Since new the Rio has had an intermittent problem with missfirering. It has been back to the dealer 5 times and they have not been able to isolate a part that is causing the problem. Finally they have agreed to replace parts but they are on back order so they have had the car a week and it will be 2-3 more weeks without a car, very unhappy!!

BodyHatch
BadgeSLi
Engine Size1.4L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Passenger airbag faulty/speedometer stopped working.

published

This is an average small car for driving/comfort etc. However at about 100,000 km's the airbag warning light came on and would not turn off. Took it to Kia dealership, they said the passenger airbag was faulty, my problem-not theirs. Cost to me to repair $1200. Be very wary of lack of dealer assistance after warranty expires. In addition at 120,000 km's the speedometer stopped working. This is still a work in progress with the auto electrician. A search of the internet shows these are a common problem with the JB Kia Rio's. Kia would have been well aware of these problems but their silence is revealing. Remember, cheap comes with problems.

BodyHatch
BadgeLX
TransmissionAutomatic
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
sandman

sandmanqueanbeyan

  • 4 reviews
  • 8 likes

Poor quality brakes

published
BodyHatch
BadgeEX
Engine Size1.4L
TransmissionAutomatic
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Kia Rio compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Steve

SteveQuakers Hill

  • 12 reviews
  • 19 likes

KIA RIO 2013

published

Brilliant little car, so comfortable, feels bigger than it is and plenty of head room for even taller people. My only hint would be change the original tyres to a more expensive one, like bridgestone pretenza for example to make it stick to the road and quieten the cabin noise to almost nothing!! brilliant car + the 5 year warranty, you wont go wrong!! They are not the KIA's of old, they have come a long way sine the early days to be something fantastic

BodyHatch
BadgeSE
TransmissionAutomatic
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
TKNick

TKNickIllawarra, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great car so far.

published
BodyHatch
BadgeS
Engine Size1.4L
TransmissionManual
1 comment
TKNick
TKNick
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Good little car

published

This little car has pretty good performance considering the size. Noise wise, it is quite quiet. Handling is smooth.
There is plenty of leg room. The dashboard is a nice height.
The car itself is quite cheap to fill up, around $45 a full tank.
Would recommend as a good first car.

BodyHatch
BadgeSi
TransmissionAutomatic
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

5 star safety rating my A**!

published

THIS IS A MUST READ TOO THE END! I loved driving my Kia Rio 2015 model! It's amazing to drive, I can boost up the seat to see over the dash board because I am quiet short, cheap to run as well!
I absolutely loved it!
Until I had an accident!
Going 70ks an hour & was hit twice my air bags didn't deploy!
I am so let down!
I believe it does NOT had the 5 star safety rating that Kia claims it has!
i would not go out and buy another one anytime soon, whip lash & other injuries are not worth it!

BodyHatch
Badge0
TransmissionManual
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
David C

David CLeongatha

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Used E10 Fuel and fuel economy changed dramatically

published

Just reached 9,000 KM had KIA Rio since May 27th 2015 drove to Gold Coast and Brisbane from Leongatha area and 1 week driving around traffic 2165 KM 146.37 Liters, 14.79 Km per liter or 6.76 Lt-rs per 100 KM, but going back I used E10 for 1,000 KM of a 1,864 Km trip back and fuel economy changed to 7.4 Lt-rs per 100 KM changed back reg unleaded and dropped to 6.5 Lt-rs per 100, so I will never use E10 again proof in the pudding.
43 Lt tank E10 cost 2 cents a liter cheaper saving 86 cents cost in extra fuel 7 litres more fuel, cost $8.20 based on $1.20 a liter.

BodyHatch
BadgeS
TransmissionManual
2 comments
David C
David C
David C
David C

I used Moose Mobile service on the way to Melbourne excellent coverage and $15 a month unlimited calls and Text within Australia ,,,how good is that WOW I AM VERY IMPRESSED LOCAL AUSSIE COMPANY BASED IN BRISBANE

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 4 of 7
See all Kia Rio reviews

Questions & Answers

Not Happy Camper

Not Happy Camperasked

Rio

Hi my daughter purchased a new Kia Rio in October 2020 and the engine is Pinging and they can't seem to fix it. She is using the correct 91 fuel and not E10. We've been told by customer service that there are other RIO's doing it as well and they cant explain why, it just seems to be a fault. They just said to use 95 until they find a fix but this is against the manufacturers recommendations. Were worried about the long term engine damage that is being caused. Anyone else got the same problem?

4 answers
Peter S
Peter S

Pinging is most likely due to crappy fuel. Try using 91 instead of E10. The other option is that there is a sensor that is giving bad fuel/air ratios back to the computer "or" the computer has an issue.

Not Happy Camper
Not Happy Camper

She has always used 91 and never used the crapy E10. They have tried 4 times now to fix it doing engine tests and fuel samples and don't seem to be able to. The customer service department let slip that there a number of other Rio's in the same model doing it as well and they cant explain why? They suggested we run it on 95 or 98 which is against the manufacturers recommendations until they geta fix?

Peter S
Peter S

I'm getting like 10.5L per 100km which is not great. My Ford Escape uses 10L per 100km and it has twice the horsepower (turbo) and is 500kg heavier....if you only have had it for a short time you could try another dealer and then go to the ACCC.

Robyn

Robynasked

Rio

I have a problem when braking the car creaks it only happens after the car warms up. Coukd it be worn rotors?

No answers
Mikeyg

Mikeygasked

YB S Automatic (2016-2021)

Has anyone had dash vibration noise, I have two Kia Rios 2016 & 2019 models both have dash vibrations.

No answers
See all Kia Rio questions

Get an answer from our members

Kia Rio

Details

Compare all 10 Kia Rio
CategoryCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price $23,090$16,990$19,090$17,790
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)ManualAutomaticManual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy15" Steel15" Steel17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption5.6 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 45 L45 L45 L45 L
Engine3 Cylinder 1.0L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L
Max Power88kW @ 6300rpm74kW @ 6000rpm74kW @ 6000rpm74kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque172Nm @ 1500-4000rpm133Nm @ 4000rpm133Nm @ 4000rpm133Nm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth Korea
Manufacturer Warranty7 year(s)7 year(s)7 year(s)7 year(s)
Release dateJan 2016Jan 2016Jan 2016Jan 2016
Compare all 10 Kia Rio

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.