?
? !
23 photos
Kia Rio

Kia Rio

UB, JB, DC, YB
3.9 from 140 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.5 (2)
  • Value for Money
    2.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.0 (2)
  • Noise Level
    2.0 (2)
  • Braking
    4.0 (2)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.0 (2)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (1)
  • Suspension
    2.5 (2)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    5.0 (2)
  • Handling
    4.0 (2)
  • Interior Design
    3.5 (2)
  • Boot Size
    4.0 (2)
  • Comfort
    2.5 (2)
  • Features
    1.5 (2)
Previous
Next
John Benson

John BensonPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

I want my money back

published

Nicely packaged little car, big on features.
One of the selling points of this car was the wireless apple car play, the problem is that it does not work. Brand new out of the factory, on the way home from the dealer and it failed. The only feature of the infotainment system that works regularly is the radio.
Then there is the cruise control, works most of the time, but randomly it will not turn on, you just have to wait till your next drive for cruise control.
Another feature is the lane keeping assist, sometimes this works perfectly, other times it is a fight. It will try its hardest to steer you out of your lane! The irony is that if you let it, the lane alert will sound, warning you of lane departure :(

Purchased in September 2020 at Kia Dealers for $21,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
MrSquigglesPencil

MrSquigglesPencilFar North Queensland, QLD

Good until repairs needed

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
karizma

karizmasydney

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

Wont buy Kia again.

published

Kias seem like an ok car but unfortunately they do not last. Once youve done about 100,000km everything starts to go wrong. Air con and windows are first to go then you're up for couple of grand repairs at least every 6 months. Better off getting a japanese car. They last a bit longer.

BodyHatch
BadgeNA
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2006
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Kia Rio compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Avil

AvilMelbourne

KIA Rio - problems from manufacturing

published
BodyHatch
BadgeSLi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
d brown

d brownperth

  • 3 reviews
  • 9 likes

bad brakes no warranty

published

Kia rio brakes grinding from day 1 need to replace rotors within one year dealer ignores the problem pretending its normal want me to pay 1500 dollars to repair saying thats normal at 20000 km lol I wonder if kia representative AFL mathew pavlich drives his kia with factory fault rotors that are grinding I would hope not / a bit of respect for the regular people would be appreciated for after all we paid for our cars in good faith DONT BUY A KIA you could regret it

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ang

AngPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 9 likes

2014 1.4L manual

published
BodyHatch
BadgeS
Engine Size1.4L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJuly 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Beware

published

Since new the Rio has had an intermittent problem with missfirering. It has been back to the dealer 5 times and they have not been able to isolate a part that is causing the problem. Finally they have agreed to replace parts but they are on back order so they have had the car a week and it will be 2-3 more weeks without a car, very unhappy!!

BodyHatch
BadgeSLi
Engine Size1.4L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Passenger airbag faulty/speedometer stopped working.

published

This is an average small car for driving/comfort etc. However at about 100,000 km's the airbag warning light came on and would not turn off. Took it to Kia dealership, they said the passenger airbag was faulty, my problem-not theirs. Cost to me to repair $1200. Be very wary of lack of dealer assistance after warranty expires. In addition at 120,000 km's the speedometer stopped working. This is still a work in progress with the auto electrician. A search of the internet shows these are a common problem with the JB Kia Rio's. Kia would have been well aware of these problems but their silence is revealing. Remember, cheap comes with problems.

BodyHatch
BadgeLX
TransmissionAutomatic
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
sandman

sandmanqueanbeyan

  • 4 reviews
  • 8 likes

Poor quality brakes

published
BodyHatch
BadgeEX
Engine Size1.4L
TransmissionAutomatic
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Kia Rio compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
honestruth

honestruthAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Bad

published

I wouldn't buy a Kia again. I was impressed at the start but not happy with the after service. Very disapointing.
This car is well priced. Lots of cars in stock so easy to get hold off.
The after service was poor. I had an issue with the clutch which was clearly a warranty issue which two mechanics had confirmed. Kia refused to repair it under warranty. Their customer care centre was disgraceful and the person i spoke to was very rude.

BodySedan
1 comment
Jenny 1958
Jenny 1958
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Bad

published

For the same price by a better brand that is a bit older. Don't get sucked in by all the gadets, there is just more to go wrong.
They sure are cheap. With lots of features as standard (power windows, CD, etc.)
Very poor build quality. Horrible to drive.

BodySedan
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
See all Kia Rio reviews

Questions & Answers

Not Happy Camper

Not Happy Camperasked

Rio

Hi my daughter purchased a new Kia Rio in October 2020 and the engine is Pinging and they can't seem to fix it. She is using the correct 91 fuel and not E10. We've been told by customer service that there are other RIO's doing it as well and they cant explain why, it just seems to be a fault. They just said to use 95 until they find a fix but this is against the manufacturers recommendations. Were worried about the long term engine damage that is being caused. Anyone else got the same problem?

3 answers
Peter S
Peter S

Pinging is most likely due to crappy fuel. Try using 91 instead of E10. The other option is that there is a sensor that is giving bad fuel/air ratios back to the computer "or" the computer has an issue.

She has always used 91 and never used the crapy E10. They have tried 4 times now to fix it doing engine tests and fuel samples and don't seem to be able to. The customer service department let slip that there a number of other Rio's in the same model doing it as well and they cant explain why? They suggested we run it on 95 or 98 which is against the manufacturers recommendations until they geta fix?

Peter S
Peter S

I'm getting like 10.5L per 100km which is not great. My Ford Escape uses 10L per 100km and it has twice the horsepower (turbo) and is 500kg heavier....if you only have had it for a short time you could try another dealer and then go to the ACCC.

Robyn

Robynasked

Rio

I have a problem when braking the car creaks it only happens after the car warms up. Coukd it be worn rotors?

No answers
Mikeyg

Mikeygasked

YB S Automatic (2016-2021)

Has anyone had dash vibration noise, I have two Kia Rios 2016 & 2019 models both have dash vibrations.

No answers
See all Kia Rio questions

Get an answer from our members

Kia Rio

Details

Compare all 10 Kia Rio
CategoryCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price $23,090$16,990$19,090$17,790
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)ManualAutomaticManual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy15" Steel15" Steel17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption5.6 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 45 L45 L45 L45 L
Engine3 Cylinder 1.0L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L
Max Power88kW @ 6300rpm74kW @ 6000rpm74kW @ 6000rpm74kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque172Nm @ 1500-4000rpm133Nm @ 4000rpm133Nm @ 4000rpm133Nm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth Korea
Manufacturer Warranty7 year(s)7 year(s)7 year(s)7 year(s)
Release dateJan 2016Jan 2016Jan 2016Jan 2016
Compare all 10 Kia Rio

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.