?
? !
23 photos
Kia Rio

Kia Rio

UB, JB, DC, YB
3.9 from 140 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.0 (2)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    2.0 (2)
  • Braking
    5.0 (2)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.5 (2)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.0 (1)
  • Suspension
    3.0 (1)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    2.0 (1)
  • Handling
    4.0 (1)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (1)
  • Boot Size
    3.0 (1)
  • Comfort
    3.0 (1)
  • Features
    5.0 (1)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
Vin

VinGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 30 reviews
  • 5 likes

Everyday car

published

Good for everyday use and long smooth road driving. Fuel efficient running to a vacation trip but with its ground clearance, load capacity should be lesser than the limit to run normally.

  • Thumbnail
Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
niloc79

niloc79South Australia

  • 12 reviews
  • 3 likes

Becoming annoying

published

Purchased in January 2019 at Mazda for $15,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Johnny

JohnnyHobart

  • 7 reviews
  • 11 likes

Good little car minor problems but good

published

I bought this to save some money on petrol... think it was about 17k we had it almost 4 years and it was always serviced on time alway cleaned and polished... it was kept absolutely mint....
decided to sell it and get a bigger car (not Kia) one yard didn’t even want it as a trade on a 40k car... so while they are a good little car there is NO resale value for them, same year Corolla holds it value far better...

BodyHatch
BadgeSLi
Engine Size1.6L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Kia Rio compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
free soul

free soulGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Would be nice if it didn't conk out from time to time

published

I like the Rio, it is light on fuel, drives smoothly etc.
The only problem with mine is that sometimes stop dead, engine conks out and refuses to restart for 10 or more
minutes. It would be OK if it was a simple as taking it to the mechanic and getting them to read the engine diagnostics, but no, no engine light, no diagnostics. So it's just a matter of replace this, replace that. Is it the fuel pump, is it the immobiliser, is it the crank shaft sensor? Who knows, but spend lots of money getting the mechanic to change each and everything it might be.
So yeah, good car, but not happy with the lack of diagnostics for what is clearly a significant issue.

BodyHatch
BadgeEX
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
AustraReviews

AustraReviewsGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Good first car

published

I bought a second hand Kia Rio JB Sedan from a private seller when I was a university student and kept it for about 4 years, mainly for commuting to and from work. It is a good car to buy if it's your first car as it's economical to run and has enough space for adults at the back and a large enough boot.

The downsides of this particular car was that the paint started to wear out even though it was garaged every night and the seats are not that comfortable for long drives. Eventually, I upgraded to a bigger, better car.

BodySedan
BadgeJB
Engine Size1.6L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
ken

kenPerth, WA

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Average little car

published

Compact car suited to maximum of two adults only, good on fuel not bad to drive, throw away car in terms of major maintance due to the work involved removing gearbox's etc.
No fill holes or level holes on manual transmissions , gearbox snouts wear easily, front wheel bearings don't last terribly long, insufficient lubrication on drive line parts from the factory so they seize or wear prematurely,
OK car if you keep them only along as the factory warranty lasts.

BodyHatch
BadgeLX
Engine Size1.4L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2008
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Malty

Maltymelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Pros and cons

published
BodyHatch
BadgeSLi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
jassin

jassinqld, 4300

  • 21 reviews
  • 11 likes

Real World Review of the New 2017 Kia Rio Manual

published
BodyHatch
BadgeS
Engine Size1.4L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Stevenj32

Stevenj32CHADSTONE

  • 35 reviews
  • 22 likes

Ordinary car

published
BodyHatch
BadgeS-Premium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Kia Rio compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ramez

RamezMelbourne

  • 24 reviews
  • 17 likes

Reliable. Uses more petrol than it should

published

Purchased a clean example.
Did what it was purchased to do.
Everything works well.
The factory speakers sound so much better with an upgraded stereo system.

Easy to drive and maneuvre.

Unfortunately it uses ore petrol than it should. I was getting ~10L/100km for a 1.6L hatchback. On researching the issue, this seems to be the norm.

BodyHatch
BadgeLX
Engine Size1.6L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

5 star safety rating my A**!

published

THIS IS A MUST READ TOO THE END! I loved driving my Kia Rio 2015 model! It's amazing to drive, I can boost up the seat to see over the dash board because I am quiet short, cheap to run as well!
I absolutely loved it!
Until I had an accident!
Going 70ks an hour & was hit twice my air bags didn't deploy!
I am so let down!
I believe it does NOT had the 5 star safety rating that Kia claims it has!
i would not go out and buy another one anytime soon, whip lash & other injuries are not worth it!

BodyHatch
Badge0
TransmissionManual
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ak

AkMelbourne, Victoria

Not bad, but...

published
Engine Size1.4
TransmissionManual
BodyHatch
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Coy1

Coy1Gold Coast

New 2012 kia rio sls

published
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionManual
BodyHatch
2 comments
bepmelb
bepmelb
Revealing
Revealing
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Matt56871354

Matt56871354South East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

KIA Rio Sport - annoying traits

published
BodyHatch
3 comments
monaromonaro
monaromonaro
Revealing
Revealing

Good point re the Button on Keyless entry. Must keep an eye on it ;-)

david hambleton
david hambleton

I have a friend who has a 2007 rio and I had a 2007 getz. if u bumped the button both if them would relock in 30 seconds. I now have a 2013 fiesta and it relocks in 45 seconds. I dare say yours would be very similar.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

OK

published
BodyHatch
1 comment
Stevenj32
Stevenj32

Our 2012 Rio uses outrages amount of fuel, 7.5lts per 100, our other car was a Mitsubishi Colt, Ralliart, non turbo, twice the power of the Rio, fuel use, 4.9lts per, no noise from mech either, Kia, very disappointing vehicle, never buy again.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Kia Rio compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
saucy6969

saucy6969Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 19 reviews
  • 7 likes

Wouldnt buy one again

published
BodyHatch
5 comments
Pauline1
Pauline1

I bought my Kia Rio in 2006 - I have never had a problem with it. I love it. I have it serviced regularly - it has cost me new tyres and a new battery, that's all.

saucy6969
saucy6969
Cosmic kicker
Cosmic kicker

if you didn't void your warrenty you may well have been given another car , if the faults continued

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

OK

published
BodyHatch
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Generally good but has faults

published

The clutch peddle box needs to be strengthened as it breaks and the cable pulls through. repair is costly.
the engine is smooth, quiet, economical to run.
they don't look too bad with a set of mags
Roomy,
Clutch pedal and cable, kia support

Engine Size1500
BodyHatch
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
niko87

niko87Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 98 reviews
  • 48 likes

OK

published

With its low price and its 5 years warranty its a good deal. However this car is just a box on wheels. Noisy weak engine, uncofortable and dull seats, very sudden braking, dull and unresponsive handling (list goes on and on...). Nothing compared to the comfort and responsiveness of an aussie car, or better yet a European car. However as I said, an aussie or european car cost twice as much, and they only come with 3 years warranty, which might be a sign of unreliablity to come...
Cheap, reliable and fuel efficient Good car for a granny or for a mum to take the kids to school
Just an everyday car, and nothing more

BodyHatch
1 comment
surajgthomas
surajgthomas

You get what you pay for.. How can you expect $30,000 sports car performance for a $15000 small car. Are you comparing apples to oranges?

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
rachel_pav

rachel_pav

  • 5 reviews

OK

published
BodyHatch
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
See all Kia Rio reviews

Questions & Answers

Not Happy Camper

Not Happy Camperasked

Rio

Hi my daughter purchased a new Kia Rio in October 2020 and the engine is Pinging and they can't seem to fix it. She is using the correct 91 fuel and not E10. We've been told by customer service that there are other RIO's doing it as well and they cant explain why, it just seems to be a fault. They just said to use 95 until they find a fix but this is against the manufacturers recommendations. Were worried about the long term engine damage that is being caused. Anyone else got the same problem?

5 answers
Peter S
Peter S

Pinging is most likely due to crappy fuel. Try using 91 instead of E10. The other option is that there is a sensor that is giving bad fuel/air ratios back to the computer "or" the computer has an issue.

Not Happy Camper
Not Happy Camper

She has always used 91 and never used the crapy E10. They have tried 4 times now to fix it doing engine tests and fuel samples and don't seem to be able to. The customer service department let slip that there a number of other Rio's in the same model doing it as well and they cant explain why? They suggested we run it on 95 or 98 which is against the manufacturers recommendations until they geta fix?

Peter S
Peter S

I'm getting like 10.5L per 100km which is not great. My Ford Escape uses 10L per 100km and it has twice the horsepower (turbo) and is 500kg heavier....if you only have had it for a short time you could try another dealer and then go to the ACCC.

Robyn

Robynasked

Rio

I have a problem when braking the car creaks it only happens after the car warms up. Coukd it be worn rotors?

No answers
Mikeyg

Mikeygasked

YB S Automatic (2016-2021)

Has anyone had dash vibration noise, I have two Kia Rios 2016 & 2019 models both have dash vibrations.

No answers
See all Kia Rio questions

Get an answer from our members

Kia Rio

Details

Compare all 10 Kia Rio
CategoryCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price $23,090$16,990$19,090$17,790
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)ManualAutomaticManual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy15" Steel15" Steel17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption5.6 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 45 L45 L45 L45 L
Engine3 Cylinder 1.0L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L
Max Power88kW @ 6300rpm74kW @ 6000rpm74kW @ 6000rpm74kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque172Nm @ 1500-4000rpm133Nm @ 4000rpm133Nm @ 4000rpm133Nm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth Korea
Manufacturer Warranty7 year(s)7 year(s)7 year(s)7 year(s)
Release dateJan 2016Jan 2016Jan 2016Jan 2016
Compare all 10 Kia Rio

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.