?
? !
23 photos
Kia Rio

Kia Rio

UB, JB, DC, YB
3.9 from 140 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.3 (7)
  • Value for Money
    4.9 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (7)
  • Noise Level
    3.7 (7)
  • Braking
    4.5 (6)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.2 (6)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.5 (6)
  • Suspension
    3.8 (6)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.2 (6)
  • Handling
    4.5 (6)
  • Interior Design
    4.6 (5)
  • Boot Size
    4.6 (5)
  • Comfort
    4.6 (5)
  • Features
    4.4 (5)
Previous
Next
Peter S

Peter SAdelaide

  • 2 reviews

Car could be so good with a few tweaks

published

Purchased in March 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Richard

RichardGreat Southern, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Engine misfire and labouring solved. Free

published

Appears many comments on these cars missing (misfire, running rough).

Commonly it’s the coil pack, which gets replaced solving the problem. Expensive though.

I just found that a small amount of engine oil can leak from the rocker cover gasket and get on the side of the coil pack, and penetrate the rubber boot. This causes a shorting, arcing of the spark.

Clean off the oil, remove the lower boot from the coil and clean that too. Also clean deep inside the chamber leading to the spark plus, with a rag.

My engine misfire was completely solved

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Anto

AntoBrisbane

  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fantastic little car

published

Purchased in March 2020 at Zupps for $18,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Kia Rio compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Madeleine Cahill

Madeleine CahillGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Love this car

published

Easy to drive, Apple car play is simply the best, so user friendly. Easy to make calls when driving, use the maps, listen to podcasts etc. Only downside is the car doesn't have a lot of go. Great for zipping around metro areas, not that great going up hill or on the road.

Purchased in August 2019 at Kia Dealers for $22,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Nadine D.

Nadine D.Perth, WA

I love my little car BUT

published

Purchased in April 2018 for $17,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Edwina H.

Edwina H.

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

great first car

published

could not of asked for a better first car. she stuck by me through thick and thin, I definitely did not treat her right, typical female andeverything. not sure how I managed not to blow the engine up. came close, twice. just wish I had been as kind to her as she with me, as I could not afford the inevitable surgery she needed from lack of service and cheap dodgey repair work

Purchased in June 2011 for $9,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
OldManEmu

OldManEmu

  • 16 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great Little Car runs on the smell of an oily rag

published

Purchased in February 2009 for $2,300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Anna G

Anna GMackay

  • 5 reviews

Love it!

published
BodyHatch
BadgeSLS
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tina

TinaSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

so far so good

published
BodyHatch
BadgeEX-L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Kia Rio compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ruth 70

Ruth 70Perth

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great fuel sufficiently, nice to drive.

published

Purchased this to replace i20 which Was written off in hit and run. Great to drive, park and teach my teenagers to drive in. Use it to go to work every day and for any travel requiring 5 or less passengers. Only have to fill up once and week even with all that travel. Service every 6 months or when necessary. No problems at all with this vehicle.

BodyHatch
BadgeLX
Engine Size1.4L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
CHW

CHWLysterfield

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Super easy to drive.

published

I bought a manual SLi 2013 model brand new and have found it very easy to drive, a full tank of fuel is around $45, handles well and is generally a very reliable car.
I have noticed my gas in the boot hydraulics wore out very quickly and tires on my model are quite expensive to buy (low profile) but other than that, very good little car.

BodyHatch
BadgeSLi
Engine Size1.6L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Digsy

Digsy

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great little car

published

Very happy with the car. We bought this as a first car for our daughter, read a few reviews about it and went ahead and bought it second hand with 145000 kms on it. Very smooth to drive, but was a little noisey. We discovered the seals around the rear windows was perished, we replaced them which made a huge difference. Nice and smooth in the gear box, fuel economy is great.

BodyHatch
BadgeLX
Engine Size1.4L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJune 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jack Daniels

Jack DanielsMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Good car for a first time driver

published
BodyHatch
BadgeAO edition
Engine Size1.4L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
M. Khaled

M. KhaledPerth

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Good value

published

Overall Good performance.
Good value for money with a low maintenance cost.
Reliable car, I never had an issue with it (done 160,000 so far) , just doing the regular maintenance as per log book.
Fuel efficient and economic.
Good interior design, but it has a lot of cheap plastic in the dash board.

BodyHatch
BadgeSport
Engine Size1.4L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Abbz

AbbzSouth Australia

  • 15 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great car!

published

Great size car, plentiful boot room. Amble room for usbs to connect phones, gps' and other necessary items. The only thing that is a small issue is when you have a car seat fitted you can't remove the boot liner to either access the spare tyre or clean the liner. The car also has ISO-fix (easier way to fit car seats if they are isofix capable). $40 fills the fuel tank!

BodySedan
BadgeS
Engine Size1.4L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Kia Rio compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
peterv52

peterv52Sydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Getting expensive to maintain.

published

I bought mine new in 2012 and have been generally happy with it. However at the four year mark and only 26,000km the front discs and pads were shot and needed replacing. Rear pads were also shot. Not happy but the dealer did offer a free service next time which they honoured. It's in for service today and the front tyres are in need of replacement at 32,000km. The car is used 99% of the time going to the shops etc and the average speed around here is 50 or 60 so very little high speed driving. The tyres are not Kias'fault but the rubbish brake material is. Disappointing in what has been a great little car in other respects.

BodyHatch
BadgeS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Stephanie

Stephanie

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Better than I thought

published

It is not my car but I got it from my friend so I drove this car for couple of month. It does not look big the internal space is much more big than I was expection. The doors seal very well, noise can be largely reduce. When driving, it is stable and easy to park.

BodyHatch
BadgeLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2009
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ann

Ann

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Outstanding Buy

published

This is a great car. I travel to Melbourne once a month to see my elderly Mother from Adelaide, a eight hour trip and this small car eats up the miles easily with plenty of comfort. I used to drive a Commodore there and when I traded down to my city smaller vehicle thought how will I manage the above but with the hatch laying down flat and loaded up I have been remarkably surprised at economy, comfort and ease at which this car has performed. And magnificent around the city.

BodyHatch
BadgeLS
Engine Size1.4L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Xiaochen

XiaochenMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Second hand Rio

published

we name our car as Cherry from the color. This does not have the enough storage space but it is much for two people the normal daily time. It is the automatic car and the power of the car is limited. The car has been served once from we bought it. Others are looks good.

BodyHatch
BadgeS
Engine Size1.6L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tashamaree90

Tashamaree90

  • 4 reviews

Great budget new car

published

I love my little Rio, I would give it 5 stars on the looks alone. Has excellent power and high end speed for a little 4 cylinder the interior looks great and the added Bluetooth iPod connection are great. The downsides are as soon as you turn the a/c or headlights on it seems to suck up all the power from the performance of the car and it also chews through petrol when these are on otherwise it's normally very economical. luckily where I live it's cold most of the year and I do not drive much at night. Also has some bad blind spots and the dash is rather long so vision can sometimes be an issue but all in all great little new car for the price

BodyHatch
BadgeSE
Engine Size1.4L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 2
See all Kia Rio reviews

Questions & Answers

Not Happy Camper

Not Happy Camperasked

Rio

Hi my daughter purchased a new Kia Rio in October 2020 and the engine is Pinging and they can't seem to fix it. She is using the correct 91 fuel and not E10. We've been told by customer service that there are other RIO's doing it as well and they cant explain why, it just seems to be a fault. They just said to use 95 until they find a fix but this is against the manufacturers recommendations. Were worried about the long term engine damage that is being caused. Anyone else got the same problem?

4 answers
Peter S
Peter S

Pinging is most likely due to crappy fuel. Try using 91 instead of E10. The other option is that there is a sensor that is giving bad fuel/air ratios back to the computer "or" the computer has an issue.

She has always used 91 and never used the crapy E10. They have tried 4 times now to fix it doing engine tests and fuel samples and don't seem to be able to. The customer service department let slip that there a number of other Rio's in the same model doing it as well and they cant explain why? They suggested we run it on 95 or 98 which is against the manufacturers recommendations until they geta fix?

Peter S
Peter S

I'm getting like 10.5L per 100km which is not great. My Ford Escape uses 10L per 100km and it has twice the horsepower (turbo) and is 500kg heavier....if you only have had it for a short time you could try another dealer and then go to the ACCC.

Robyn

Robynasked

Rio

I have a problem when braking the car creaks it only happens after the car warms up. Coukd it be worn rotors?

No answers
Mikeyg

Mikeygasked

YB S Automatic (2016-2021)

Has anyone had dash vibration noise, I have two Kia Rios 2016 & 2019 models both have dash vibrations.

No answers
See all Kia Rio questions

Get an answer from our members

Kia Rio

Details

Compare all 10 Kia Rio
CategoryCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price $23,090$16,990$19,090$17,790
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)ManualAutomaticManual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy15" Steel15" Steel17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption5.6 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 45 L45 L45 L45 L
Engine3 Cylinder 1.0L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L
Max Power88kW @ 6300rpm74kW @ 6000rpm74kW @ 6000rpm74kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque172Nm @ 1500-4000rpm133Nm @ 4000rpm133Nm @ 4000rpm133Nm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth Korea
Manufacturer Warranty7 year(s)7 year(s)7 year(s)7 year(s)
Release dateJan 2016Jan 2016Jan 2016Jan 2016
Compare all 10 Kia Rio

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.