??!
5 photos
Kia Sorento AWD Diesel

Kia Sorento AWD Diesel (2017-2020)

Also referred to as: Kia Sorento AWD Diesel 2019 and Kia Sorento AWD Diesel 2021. Platinum, SLi, GT-Line, etc...
4.5 from 37 reviews

Reviews

4.5

37 reviews
5
(27)
4
(6)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(2)
  • Build Quality
    4.1 (8)
  • Value for Money
    4.5 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.1 (7)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (7)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.1 (7)
  • Handling
    4.0 (7)
  • Braking
    3.9 (7)
  • Suspension
    4.2 (6)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.3 (6)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.3 (7)
  • Interior Design
    4.4 (7)
  • Boot Size
    4.6 (7)
  • Features
    4.6 (7)
  • Comfort
    4.4 (7)
Previous
Next
Maria B.

Maria B.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews

Great Car

published

2nd hand 2016 purchased in January 2020. Fantastic car. Spacious for a family of 5. Use daily for work and family trips. Spacious boot, fits a large pram while one seat is down. 2 baby car seats fit with space for 3rd person in back seat.

Purchased in January 2020 at Nissan Dealers for A$36,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Hemi

HemiSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews

Everyone loved it in family.

published

Kia is doing great day by day and their new cars are good quality built with so many features and backed by 7 year warrenty. I did alot of search for 7 seaters and Choosed it over new santa fe active as Sorrento sport has leather seats 7 year warranty and 8 inch display and i am getting it for only 1% finance. ( i still liked santa fe more though) but at the end santa fe is costing me $15k more with intrests. Everyone i family loved it and it still feels new after 10 months

Purchased in February 2019 at Pacific Motor Group.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Brad

BradGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Wise choice!

published

Purchased in November 2019 at Berwick Motor Group for A$49,990.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Kia Sorento AWD Diesel compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
John V

John VSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

An absolutely excellent machine.

published

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
See all answers
Clicky

ClickyGippsland, VIC

  • 14 reviews

Love it

published

Purchased in June 2016 for A$48,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Luke

Luke

  • 3 reviews

The best 7-seater SUV by far

published
BadgeSport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2019
DriveAWD
joep7

joep7Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Second Sorento I have had and even better than the last one (previous model)

published
BadgeSLi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2016
DriveAWD
May

MayMelbourne

  • 6 reviews

Can't live without it!

published

We use this as our family car and uses it for daily commuting as well as road trips. The car is very diesel efficient, good handling, safe and good looking! Love the two extra seats at the rear but storage space is quite limited once the seats are in use.

BadgePlatinum
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Nicole

Nicole

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Love love love this car

published

I never want to stop driving this car. Everytime i get in i don't want to get out. Great in size but still so zippy. Heaps of power. Really comfortable. Only downside is visibility to the left of the car past the front passsenger seat through to back window. Great on fuel.

BadgePlatinum
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Kia Sorento AWD Diesel compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Meldrew

MeldrewYea

  • 12 reviews

Great family car

published

It’s hard to find a car that meets all of your needs. I had to travel a fair distance regularly and needed space for luggage and passengers, with occasional towing. I wanted safety, comfort and reliability. The Sorento has all of these. If people were not so hung up on badge snobbery, there would be a lot more on the road. For those of us that have one, we can just smile to ourselves knowing the good value vehicle we have. My only complaint would be a shortage of Kia Service Centres, and the sound system is not brilliant. But everything else is great. i have the Diesel and average 7.6l/100 that’s on hilly roads.

BadgePlatinum
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Nic

NicAdelaide

  • 10 reviews
  • 8 likes

Perfect

published

Great car. Very good performance and fuel economy. It has lots of legroom. The boot can hold a pram and a lot of additional there things. The heating and cooling is very good. It has broken down once yet. I feel very safe and protected in this car. Great for ppl with children

BadgePlatinum
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Wez

WezMelbourne

Sorento GT

published
BadgeGT
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Grease monkey

Grease monkeyCanberra

  • 8 reviews

Very well equipped for the price point

published
BadgePlatinum
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Dan

DanGympie

Don't buy a KIA Sorento

published

Transmission faulty after 100k km ( 3 years ) only have FWD now not AWD.
Kia are hopeless when it comes to warranty claims.It's under warranty but they keep dragging it on. Dealer is ready to go with replacement transmission but need Kia to give go ahead . Waiting ...waiting.... Doubt I would ever buy another one if this is how they treat the customer.

BadgeSi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Sev

SevMelbourne

  • 6 reviews

Maybe a lemon

published

Good driving experience, easy to handle considering it’s a 7 seater. However I regret the purchase as it is a Kia and is spot on with the bad reputation. Not very reliable. The navigation sometimes doesn’t work, radio doesn’t turn on each time, randomly says out of petrol even after we fill it up.
The turbo has malfunctioned, no power when excelerating. Very dangerous to drive. This car left us stranded interstate. Out of pocket 2 k while it was being repaired. Kia dealer and Kia Australia know about it and do not want a bar of it. Do not purchase a Kia.

BadgeSLi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Kia Sorento AWD Diesel compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
krravi

krravi

  • 9 reviews

Great Car! Noise from door & sunroof seals!

published

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Sam

SamMelbourne

  • 11 reviews

Absolutely blown away, best decision in a long time

published

We bought a 2017 Sorrento CRDi in November. Got a great price from the dealer, as 2018 were about to show up at showrooms. Took it for a long 7,000 KMs drive up from VIC to QLD and back, with 100KGs of weight in the boot and 3 kids. Initially I was sceptic to buy a KIA, but I must say, I have been thoroughly impressed with the drive, durability, reliability and fuel performance. We got a 6.2L/100Kms overall on our trip (Diesel). A/C was fantastic in QLD heat and drive was smooth as silk.

BadgeSi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Josh4571

Josh4571Sydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

I’m a Kia owner. Get over it.

published

Purchased in April 2017 at Col Crawford for A$56,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Alison D

Alison DTownsville

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Love my car

published

Moved from a carols to the Sorrento upon the birth of my daughter. Love how it drives like a small car and is so good on fuel (diesel). Very quiet car, however the warning systems can be very loud and annoying (red light camera etc)... however I need to work out how to turn these off.

BadgeSLi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Doreenrunner

DoreenrunnerMelbourne

  • 35 reviews

Spacious AWD

published
BadgeSLi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Page 1 of 2
See all Kia Sorento reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about Kia Sorento AWD Diesel (2017-2020) but you can read 52 questions about Kia Sorento.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.