??!
5 photos
Kia Sorento UM

Kia Sorento UM (2015-2020)

Also referred to as: Kia Sorento UM 2019 and Kia Sorento UM 2021. 2WD Petrol, AWD Diesel
4.6 from 46 reviews

Reviews

4.6

46 reviews
5
(35)
4
(7)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(2)
  • Build Quality
    4.1 (8)
  • Value for Money
    4.5 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.1 (7)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (7)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.1 (7)
  • Handling
    4.0 (7)
  • Braking
    3.9 (7)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (7)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.4 (7)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.3 (7)
  • Interior Design
    4.4 (7)
  • Boot Size
    4.6 (7)
  • Features
    4.6 (7)
  • Comfort
    4.4 (7)
Previous
Next
Hemi

HemiSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews

Everyone loved it in family.

published

Kia is doing great day by day and their new cars are good quality built with so many features and backed by 7 year warrenty. I did alot of search for 7 seaters and Choosed it over new santa fe active as Sorrento sport has leather seats 7 year warranty and 8 inch display and i am getting it for only 1% finance. ( i still liked santa fe more though) but at the end santa fe is costing me $15k more with intrests. Everyone i family loved it and it still feels new after 10 months

Purchased in February 2019 at Pacific Motor Group.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Brad

BradGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Wise choice!

published

Purchased in November 2019 at Berwick Motor Group for A$49,990.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
John V

John VSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

An absolutely excellent machine.

published

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
See all answers
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Kia Sorento UM compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
2bearz

2bearzGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews

All the bells and whistles and such a delight to drive

published

We have the top of the line GT Line so you would expect everything in it but even the base model comes packed with features. Great to drive and even though it’s diesel you can hardly hear it or notice it. If on really coarse bitumen there can be quite a bit of tyre noise at times and if you want to tow with it I’d do my sums first ( mainly due to the tow ball weight) but they would be the only negatives I can think of. Everything else is brilliant and far outweigh these 2 things that aren’t really an issue. I’d happily buy another one

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Clicky

ClickyGippsland, VIC

  • 14 reviews

Love it

published

Purchased in June 2016 for A$48,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Luke

Luke

  • 3 reviews

The best 7-seater SUV by far

published
BadgeSport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2019
DriveAWD
joep7

joep7Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Second Sorento I have had and even better than the last one (previous model)

published
BadgeSLi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2016
DriveAWD
Ray Baker

Ray BakerMain Beach

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best car I've driven in my life!

published
BadgeSorento
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2018
May

MayMelbourne

  • 6 reviews

Can't live without it!

published

We use this as our family car and uses it for daily commuting as well as road trips. The car is very diesel efficient, good handling, safe and good looking! Love the two extra seats at the rear but storage space is quite limited once the seats are in use.

BadgePlatinum
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Kia Sorento UM compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nicole

Nicole

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Love love love this car

published

I never want to stop driving this car. Everytime i get in i don't want to get out. Great in size but still so zippy. Heaps of power. Really comfortable. Only downside is visibility to the left of the car past the front passsenger seat through to back window. Great on fuel.

BadgePlatinum
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Lance

LanceGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Sorento crdi 2018

published

Great car for the price, this is an update from our 2012 Sorento and the extra features and performance is great. car details is just getting better and changes in the suspension was the main purchase as the 2012 model did a diff and a pinion bearing at the end of warranty

BadgeSLi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Meldrew

MeldrewYea

  • 11 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great family car

published

It’s hard to find a car that meets all of your needs. I had to travel a fair distance regularly and needed space for luggage and passengers, with occasional towing. I wanted safety, comfort and reliability. The Sorento has all of these. If people were not so hung up on badge snobbery, there would be a lot more on the road. For those of us that have one, we can just smile to ourselves knowing the good value vehicle we have. My only complaint would be a shortage of Kia Service Centres, and the sound system is not brilliant. But everything else is great. i have the Diesel and average 7.6l/100 that’s on hilly roads.

BadgePlatinum
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Nic

NicAdelaide

  • 10 reviews
  • 8 likes

Perfect

published

Great car. Very good performance and fuel economy. It has lots of legroom. The boot can hold a pram and a lot of additional there things. The heating and cooling is very good. It has broken down once yet. I feel very safe and protected in this car. Great for ppl with children

BadgePlatinum
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Wez

WezMelbourne

Sorento GT

published
BadgeGT
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Grease monkey

Grease monkeyCanberra

  • 8 reviews

Very well equipped for the price point

published
BadgePlatinum
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Kia Sorento UM compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dan

DanGympie

Don't buy a KIA Sorento

published

Transmission faulty after 100k km ( 3 years ) only have FWD now not AWD.
Kia are hopeless when it comes to warranty claims.It's under warranty but they keep dragging it on. Dealer is ready to go with replacement transmission but need Kia to give go ahead . Waiting ...waiting.... Doubt I would ever buy another one if this is how they treat the customer.

BadgeSi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Sev

SevMelbourne

  • 6 reviews

Maybe a lemon

published

Good driving experience, easy to handle considering it’s a 7 seater. However I regret the purchase as it is a Kia and is spot on with the bad reputation. Not very reliable. The navigation sometimes doesn’t work, radio doesn’t turn on each time, randomly says out of petrol even after we fill it up.
The turbo has malfunctioned, no power when excelerating. Very dangerous to drive. This car left us stranded interstate. Out of pocket 2 k while it was being repaired. Kia dealer and Kia Australia know about it and do not want a bar of it. Do not purchase a Kia.

BadgeSLi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017
krravi

krravi

  • 9 reviews

Great Car! Noise from door & sunroof seals!

published

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Martyn

MartynSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great family car

published

We've had our Sorento for about 18 months now and it has been a fantastic family car. It replaced a Ford Territory which we loved but the Sorento feels a cut above in almost every category
Pros:
* Drives well- very relaxed to drive and has heaps of power
* Fuel economy is streets ahead of the Territory
* Great quality interior - feels like a luxury vehicle even in Si trim
* Even the third row of seats is comfortable for bigger kids - or even adults for short trips
* Plenty of boot space for family holidays
Cons:
* Petrol is 4x2 not AWD
* At high speed does not feel as well planted as the Territory did (it can feel a bit jittery over uneven ground)
* Tow ball is max 100kg down ball weight

BadgeSi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016
Sam

SamMelbourne

  • 11 reviews

Absolutely blown away, best decision in a long time

published

We bought a 2017 Sorrento CRDi in November. Got a great price from the dealer, as 2018 were about to show up at showrooms. Took it for a long 7,000 KMs drive up from VIC to QLD and back, with 100KGs of weight in the boot and 3 kids. Initially I was sceptic to buy a KIA, but I must say, I have been thoroughly impressed with the drive, durability, reliability and fuel performance. We got a 6.2L/100Kms overall on our trip (Diesel). A/C was fantastic in QLD heat and drive was smooth as silk.

BadgeSi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Page 1 of 3
See all Kia Sorento reviews

Questions & Answers

Roger

Rogerasked

Sorento UM (2015-2020)

Hi, I am seriously considering a Sorento. It was mentioned previously that it has a DPF. I understand that the Santa Fe with an identical drive train does not have a DPF. Would someone please clear this up for me please? Furthermore, does any one know if the Hyundai Tucson has a DPF?

No answers
Anthony

Anthonyasked

Sorento UM (2015-2020)

I keep hearing about serious diff issues in the santa fe but none whatsever in the sorento. Don't both of them share the same drivetrain? I'm referring to model post 2012

1 answer
Luke
Luke

Apparently there were diff issues with the Sorento prior to the 2015 update when Kia engaged some Aussie engineers to change the suspension to our conditions. Since then it's been fine, hence one of the many reasons they now back it with the 7 year warranty.

Mee

Meeasked

Sorento UM (2015-2020)

I have a 2018 sorento limited edition and I’m thinking of getting a caravan. Can I get some feedback on anything I need to know before I get going. For example, it’s an auto so how will I do with fuel consumption, do I need to upgrade the springs etc.
Really appreciate any help I can get. Thanks

2 answers
BPT
BPT

Forget it. I have a 2018 GT line and although it has a 2000kg tow capacity, it only has a 100kg limit on the tow ball which means you can pull a box trailer or a jet ski. The only camper in all of the Jayco range that you can legally tow is the JPod. VERY disappointed with this aspect of the car.

Josh4571
Josh4571

I have a 2017 GT-Line, and have towed a small van with a tow ball weight at or around 100kgs. It towed it fine, no issues whatsoever. In saying that I wouldn’t tow anything heavier. Fuel consumption was heavier as you’d expect but nothing outrageous.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.