??!
5 photos
Kia Sorento XM SLi

Kia Sorento XM SLi (2009-2014)

3.9 from 17 reviews

Reviews

3.9

17 reviews
5
(10)
4
(2)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(3)
  • Build Quality
    4.5 (2)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (2)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (2)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.3 (3)
  • Handling
    3.0 (3)
  • Braking
    4.5 (2)
  • Suspension
    4.5 (2)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.5 (2)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.0 (2)
  • Interior Design
    4.5 (2)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (2)
  • Features
    4.5 (2)
  • Comfort
    4.5 (2)
Previous
Next
Maz

MazPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews

Ongoing limp mode problems

published

Purchased in January 2013 at Kia Dealers.

Value for Money
BoughtNew
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
See all answers
my name is Geoff

my name is GeoffGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Front diff and casing. Towing. Window wiper water motor

published

Purchased in July 2016.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Sam B

Sam B

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great car for the family

published

Bought this car as we now have 3 kids, fits all the babyseats in and has all the space needed. Great car for the price, has a lot of pick up for an SUV and all the features we need. Hasn't missed a beat since we got it. Highly recommend

BadgeSLi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2016
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Kia Sorento XM SLi compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sam

SamPort Macquarie

Total lemon and bad customer service

published

I have a 2013 Kia Sorento sli, it was only 5 months out of warranty, always serviced and never taken off road and the diff and drive shaft completely broke on me. I have been quoted $9,500 by 2 mechanics to fix it. I called Kia and they were very short with me and basically said not their problem. I will never buy Kia again.

BadgeSLi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017
rooster

rooster

  • 2 reviews

2013 Kia Sorento SLI 2.2 diesel

published

Recently purchased Kia Sorento 2.2L SLI. Very good fuel economy using around 7.4-8.0l per 100km!
Has good power for a diesel 145kw @ 3800rpm and 436nm @ 1800-2500rpm making it a good balance of power & torque. long distance driving is comfortable and cabin noise is low with just a little bit of wind noise which i presume is coming from the large side mirrors.Foot operated hand brake is not that good in my opinion, but all the other features are good.'Auto Expert John Cadogan" rates the Sorento highly. Will report back if i have any issues.

Have recently turned over 100,000km, {April 2019} no issues what so ever. Very happy with the Sorento!

Purchased in July 2017.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Problems with Sorento

published

nice car inside. as i bought this car as a demo 3000km have had heaps of problems over 5 years electrical harness replace within 2 years, gear box auto overhauled, front end stabilizers replaced both sides,Intercooler replaced, the latest problem 1 month out from end of warranty having difficulty starting car. have done 174000kl no off road driving. All fixed under Warranty great service at dealer ship

BadgeSLi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2012
mrsscollins

mrsscollinsSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 24 reviews

LOVED the Sorento ! esp for the warranty period ! BUT after warranty look out !!!

published
BadgeSLi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2012
joep7

joep7Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

2012 V6 Sli ....what a pleasure....hooked on Kia

published

Powerful V6 ...that is smooth and easy to drive and actually pretty good on fuel consumption.
Interior not as prestige as the latest model but still very nice...Plenty of room and very practical with 7 seat standard.
I have rung up 75,000 kms in 3 yrs and the car still feels and drives like new...amazing!
I would definitely recommend to family's who need reliable safe motoring at fantastic pricing.
The car has all the bells and whistles...leather,gps, Bluetooth etc...etc... bargain buying and still offers warranty inside of the 5 yr period.

BadgeSLi
TransmissionAutomatic

Love it every day

published
BadgeSLi
TransmissionAutomatic
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Kia Sorento XM SLi compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Rick. F

Rick. FMurwillumbah

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great Car

published

Great car, nice to drive, excellent economy, and surprisingly good off road! Seven seater is a true seven seater and not just for short trips. Good roll on power for overtaking, generally not much we don't like! Some better headlights would be good, and as the car ages, maybe we will add the king springs as we have heard good reviews about the upgrade.

BadgeSLi
TransmissionAutomatic
1 comment
Rick. F
Rick. F

182000 kms and still going well- no issues or warranty claims- had a problem with rats eating through some wiring - brake pads replaced & discs honed at about 150000- otherwise all good

Warning

published
BadgeSLi
TransmissionAutomatic
Susan Sharpe

Susan SharpeApple Tree Creek

  • 8 reviews

Simply the Best

published

Purchased the vehicle new in February 2014.I have driven the vehicle to work (a round trip of 100klm) 6 days a week and now have 42,600klms up.In that time I have found the fuel consumption to be as good and sometimes better than my wife's small sedan and can fit more people.There have been no issues whatsoever and the ride is fantastic.In the first year I saved just over $5,000 in fuel costs alone.I thought the diesel I had was good.....but this one brilliant.

BadgeSLi
TransmissionAutomatic
Scorpio-MB

Scorpio-MBAU

  • 10 reviews
  • 22 likes

An excellent SUV...Smooth n Silent...Most Economical!!

published
BadgeSLi
TransmissionAutomatic

Kia nearly very good

published
TransmissionAutomatic
BadgeSLi
2 comments
firemanscotty
firemanscotty

I would explore the new leomin law in australia if i was in your shoes

jas
jas
Prisma

PrismaAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

The Best 7 seater SUV we tested by far

published
BadgeSLi
TransmissionAutomatic
2 comments
Wardog76
Wardog76
Prisma
Prisma
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Kia Sorento XM SLi compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
malc

malcSydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great car for touring

published
TransmissionAutomatic
BadgeSLi
Mick_and_Mick

Mick_and_MickAU

  • 2 reviews

Great car, very happy with purchase

published

I upgraded from a 2004 Nissan Xtrail to a 2011 Kia Sorento Diesel SLI and am very happy with the Kia (had it for two weeks so far). I had to wait 5 months due to low stock but it was worth the wait is my wife and I love the car. Very comfortable, great engine and no issues with quality. Also looked at the Santa Fe but I'm not a fan of hyundai styling.
great engine, econmical diesel, comfortable
maybe a bit on the expensive side

BadgeSLi
TransmissionAutomatic
See all Kia Sorento reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about Kia Sorento XM SLi (2009-2014) but you can read 52 questions about Kia Sorento.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.