??!
5 photos
Kia Sorento

Kia Sorento (page 2 of 7)

BL, XM, UM
4.2 from 140 reviews

Reviews

4.2

140 reviews
5
(83)
4
(31)
3
(13)
2
(3)
1
(10)
  • Build Quality
    3.9 (13)
  • Value for Money
    3.9 (14)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (10)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (12)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.1 (13)
  • Handling
    3.8 (12)
  • Braking
    4.1 (12)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (11)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.5 (12)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.2 (11)
  • Interior Design
    4.4 (11)
  • Boot Size
    4.5 (11)
  • Features
    4.4 (11)
  • Comfort
    4.4 (11)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

Nicole

Nicole

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Love love love this car

published

I never want to stop driving this car. Everytime i get in i don't want to get out. Great in size but still so zippy. Heaps of power. Really comfortable. Only downside is visibility to the left of the car past the front passsenger seat through to back window. Great on fuel.

BadgePlatinum
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Lance

LanceGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Sorento crdi 2018

published

Great car for the price, this is an update from our 2012 Sorento and the extra features and performance is great. car details is just getting better and changes in the suspension was the main purchase as the 2012 model did a diff and a pinion bearing at the end of warranty

BadgeSLi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Meldrew

MeldrewYea

  • 11 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great family car

published

It’s hard to find a car that meets all of your needs. I had to travel a fair distance regularly and needed space for luggage and passengers, with occasional towing. I wanted safety, comfort and reliability. The Sorento has all of these. If people were not so hung up on badge snobbery, there would be a lot more on the road. For those of us that have one, we can just smile to ourselves knowing the good value vehicle we have. My only complaint would be a shortage of Kia Service Centres, and the sound system is not brilliant. But everything else is great. i have the Diesel and average 7.6l/100 that’s on hilly roads.

BadgePlatinum
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Kia Sorento compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nic

NicAdelaide

  • 10 reviews
  • 8 likes

Perfect

published

Great car. Very good performance and fuel economy. It has lots of legroom. The boot can hold a pram and a lot of additional there things. The heating and cooling is very good. It has broken down once yet. I feel very safe and protected in this car. Great for ppl with children

BadgePlatinum
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2017

Great 4WD and tow vehicle

published
BadgeEX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2010
Wez

WezMelbourne

Sorento GT

published
BadgeGT
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Grease monkey

Grease monkeyCanberra

  • 8 reviews

Very well equipped for the price point

published
BadgePlatinum
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Dan

DanGympie

Don't buy a KIA Sorento

published

Transmission faulty after 100k km ( 3 years ) only have FWD now not AWD.
Kia are hopeless when it comes to warranty claims.It's under warranty but they keep dragging it on. Dealer is ready to go with replacement transmission but need Kia to give go ahead . Waiting ...waiting.... Doubt I would ever buy another one if this is how they treat the customer.

BadgeSi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Migs

Migs

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Timing Chain issue

published

I loved this car this one was my second Sorento, first one I owned overseas and came to Sydney I bought the exact model and in the same colour from a dealer in 2014.

Logbook shows the car was religously serviced. It had about 176,000kms on the odometer.

With me I also serviced and changed oil every 6 months (I have all the invocie to prove this), done by a profesional mechanic, in fact last service was last November only. Driving only used on the road.

4 days ago, 254,000 kms in the odo, while driving under 50kms around a roundabout, the engine dies, as if I lost compression, it felt like something snapped.

Turns out the timing chain broke or snapped!

Why? Kia tell us why would this happen? The car is now worthless!

BadgeLX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2014
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Kia Sorento compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sev

SevMelbourne

  • 6 reviews

Maybe a lemon

published

Good driving experience, easy to handle considering it’s a 7 seater. However I regret the purchase as it is a Kia and is spot on with the bad reputation. Not very reliable. The navigation sometimes doesn’t work, radio doesn’t turn on each time, randomly says out of petrol even after we fill it up.
The turbo has malfunctioned, no power when excelerating. Very dangerous to drive. This car left us stranded interstate. Out of pocket 2 k while it was being repaired. Kia dealer and Kia Australia know about it and do not want a bar of it. Do not purchase a Kia.

BadgeSLi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017
krravi

krravi

  • 9 reviews

Great Car! Noise from door & sunroof seals!

published

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Martyn

MartynSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great family car

published

We've had our Sorento for about 18 months now and it has been a fantastic family car. It replaced a Ford Territory which we loved but the Sorento feels a cut above in almost every category
Pros:
* Drives well- very relaxed to drive and has heaps of power
* Fuel economy is streets ahead of the Territory
* Great quality interior - feels like a luxury vehicle even in Si trim
* Even the third row of seats is comfortable for bigger kids - or even adults for short trips
* Plenty of boot space for family holidays
Cons:
* Petrol is 4x2 not AWD
* At high speed does not feel as well planted as the Territory did (it can feel a bit jittery over uneven ground)
* Tow ball is max 100kg down ball weight

BadgeSi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016

Great suv

published

Towed a 2500kg van everywhere never missed a beat change oil plus filter every 7500 deisel allways Serviced to the book ,other than service items brakes shocks never had a problem now done 220,000klm best vehicle I’ve ever owned , 9liters to 100ks country driver 13 ligers towing van pulls like steam trian

BadgeEX-L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2009
Sam

SamMelbourne

  • 11 reviews

Absolutely blown away, best decision in a long time

published

We bought a 2017 Sorrento CRDi in November. Got a great price from the dealer, as 2018 were about to show up at showrooms. Took it for a long 7,000 KMs drive up from VIC to QLD and back, with 100KGs of weight in the boot and 3 kids. Initially I was sceptic to buy a KIA, but I must say, I have been thoroughly impressed with the drive, durability, reliability and fuel performance. We got a 6.2L/100Kms overall on our trip (Diesel). A/C was fantastic in QLD heat and drive was smooth as silk.

BadgeSi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Emma

EmmaYamba

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

The Perfect Car for 3+ kids

published

Whilst many of the 7 seater cars i test drove were quite heavy in the stearing, the sorento felt just like a medium size sedan. It has quite a luxury feel inside with the leather seating and trims. The main winner for me as a family of 5 with 3 small children is that i can fit 3 car seats across the middle seat with ease. Whilst the two extra seats in the back row are fantastic when taking other kids with me to after school activities with the seats laid flat the boot capacity is amazing. We can pack everything we need plus the kitchen sink when going away.

BadgeLX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2017
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Kia Sorento compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Josh4571

Josh4571Sydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

I’m a Kia owner. Get over it.

published

Purchased in April 2017 at Col Crawford for A$56,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
rooster

rooster

  • 2 reviews

2013 Kia Sorento SLI 2.2 diesel

published

Recently purchased Kia Sorento 2.2L SLI. Very good fuel economy using around 7.4-8.0l per 100km!
Has good power for a diesel 145kw @ 3800rpm and 436nm @ 1800-2500rpm making it a good balance of power & torque. long distance driving is comfortable and cabin noise is low with just a little bit of wind noise which i presume is coming from the large side mirrors.Foot operated hand brake is not that good in my opinion, but all the other features are good.'Auto Expert John Cadogan" rates the Sorento highly. Will report back if i have any issues.

Have recently turned over 100,000km, {April 2019} no issues what so ever. Very happy with the Sorento!

Purchased in July 2017.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Alison D

Alison DTownsville

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Love my car

published

Moved from a carols to the Sorrento upon the birth of my daughter. Love how it drives like a small car and is so good on fuel (diesel). Very quiet car, however the warning systems can be very loud and annoying (red light camera etc)... however I need to work out how to turn these off.

BadgeSLi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Daniel

DanielGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 10 reviews

Good workhorse, deisel and low maintenance costs, good fuel exonomy

published

Bought this car Mrs in 2010. Very Spacious, reliable, economical, 5 star safety rating, 7 seater. We have upgraded to the new version but I admit that Korean cars are as good as Japanese cars without the heavy price tag. This car has done many kilometres in all sorts of weather,. Road conditions and has never had an issue. Oil change and Oil filter every $15,000 with ever an engine light coming on. What can I say. Kia is great value for money.

BadgeSi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2010
Beck

Beck

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great family car

published

Great family car I have four kids and the 7 seats are perfect. There is enough room for an extra person. Very fuel efficient. I like how it does a scan of the car before you drive it it is very accurate it told me my air pressure was low so for a single lady this is really great

BadgeSLi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Page 2 of 7
See all Kia Sorento reviews

Questions & Answers

CGee

CGeeasked

Sorento

Has any one got a Kia Sorento 2010 petrol? Any reviews would be great.
Thanks

No answers
Geoff

Geoffasked

Sorento

Have a 2015manufactured Platinum Sorento Model at 111000klms turbo boost failed.Anyone else had a similar problem. So far Kia and dealer dragging feet on approving warranty repair and into 2nd week of no car. Neither dealer or Kia are good at returning calls despite bragging about their fantastic warranty and customer service

No answers
Kolid H.

Kolid H.asked

Sorento

My ford radio say tel all the tine

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.