??!
7 photos
Kia Sportage SL

See the Best Midsize / Medium SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
56
4 star
20
3 star
6
2 star
1
1 star
2

A511276

A511276Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Excellent Engineering and Design

published

Purchased in January 2019 at Brian Hilton for $33,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

D Beaumont

D Beaumont

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Best value vehicle

published

This vehicle is the best value with a 7 year warranty and capped priced servicing.top quality fittings.very comfortable to drive.plenty of power and very responsive. Great handling. Beats more expensive vehicles in all aspects couldn't rate it more highly.

Purchased in March 2019 at Kia Dealers for $31,990.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Brenda

BrendaPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Not as good as other SUV'S

published

I drive my car regularly to commute. From the start the inbuilt Sat Nav hasn't been reliable no matter what the weather is. I took it back at least three times under warranty but gave up in the end. It is not a quiet or smooth drive. Also, not as economical as others (diesel).

Purchased in May 2013 at Kia Dealers for $34,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Lamexy

LamexyMoncrieff 2914, ACT

Perfect car for a small family

published

Perfect car. bought the 2010 SL platinuim full option 3 yrs ago from used car garage. ac compressor replaced last year. Apart from that it has served us since 2016 to date. still going. always answers us each time we call on it. Now looking forward to a 7 seater bc of growing family. will dearly miss the sportage. i am looking forward to another Korean car like Hyundai santa fe.

Purchased in February 2016 for $17,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

inxs

inxsAU

  • 15 reviews
  • 12 likes

A reliable & strong SUV

published

Over 50k done on this SUV and still running strong.
Diesel Fuel economy around 8l/100km mainly city driving.
Has a good acceleration curve, plenty of punch for highway overtaking.
Not one sign of a leak or problem with the car.

Cons:
Missed out on the Android Auto and Apple CarPlay on this years model.
No car lane monitoring in side windows for preimium model.
Paint seems to scratch easily.
Can't set North to top on Map.
Pretty limited audio and map settings for being a premium model.

BadgePlatinum
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2015
DriveAWD

JM

JM

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Diesel in this is a winner. Reliable, honest vehicle.

published
BadgePlatinum
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2012

KTJ

KTJMackay

  • 20 reviews
  • 8 likes

Ok...

published

I loved my Sportage originally. Then a very loud sound started coming from the exhaust. Several mechanics have told me it’s safe but my car sounds like a loud Datsun! I’ve also had trouble with the brakes, the shift lock getting stuck, and now I’m pretty sure the CV joint is making a noise. Also the electrics are funny, the doors lock and unlock repeatedly sometimes

BadgeSi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016

Leon68

Leon68Perth, WA

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Well designed and excellent value

published

This car presents as a premium quality vehicle and well above average for its price. Cabin comfort is very good and instrumentation is more than adequate. With rear view camera housed in the mirror and knobs on the radio (not press control) and comfortable seating with good upholstery - it has the attention to detail that you expect to find on a better than average car. The All Wheel Drive (AWD) feature provides excellent road holding. The driver's highway view is excellent due to the vehicle's higher positioning than i.e 'closer to the road' smaller family cars. As an SUV its overall presence on the road is excellent (not easily 'bullied' out of the way by large trucks or impatient road hogs).

BadgePlatinum
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018
bt1531951

bt1531951NSW, 2731

  • 42 reviews
  • 22 likes

Fantastic motoring

published

Purchased this for my wife it is Sportage top of the range Platinum 2013 model Diesel. Has great responsive engine, smooth shifting auto, push button keyless start and keyless entry, auto wipers, auto headlights, heated seats, Satnav, phone connectivity, AWD, leather, Cruise, panoramic sun roofs. etc Good Highway fuel economy (approx 7l - 100klm). It is and feels a very well built car. it has some road noise but not too obtrusive, comfortable seats. This car had 161000ks on the clock and we have just done 3000ks it has no rattles or squeaks and drives like new. The only regret is the satnav I’m not sure if there are still updates available.

Purchased in July 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Alan Clay

Alan ClayNorthern Region, NSW

  • 14 reviews
  • 10 likes

"KiA" to come out of the east and I'm so glad it did!

published
BadgeSLi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2013

Excellent experience

published

I purchased a 2013 SL sportage. I’ve never had any issues in the last 5 years. It’s an auto and finds the gears easily. It doesn’t chew the petrol either.
Services are reasonably priced.
All of that just makes it the most reliable and best car in the car industry.

BadgePlatinum
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2018

Baz78j

Baz78jSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good drive

published

I purchased a 2013 SL sportage. I’ve never had any issues in the last 5 years. It’s an auto and finds the gears easily. It doesn’t chew the petrol either.
The one con I have is I do find the side mirrors slightly too big and at times they act like a blind spot.
Services are reasonably priced.

BadgeSLi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2013

Donald Birks

Donald BirksMelbourne

  • 19 reviews
  • 16 likes

Coming up to 4 years and 50,000klm and no problems

published

I have the Platinum series 2 Sportage, Litres per hundred Klms is around 7.3 cheap to run, I have towed a caravan 1600kg for a while this increased the Litres to 14. it's a great Vehicle and we have not had any major problems. we originally had the air con freezing this was fixed on the 1st service and that's all. it's comfortable and great to drive, it's quite on the road and has plenty of leg room all round. I have 1 little niggle the rear seating heating can easily be turned on and forgotten by the passengers. I am still on the same tyres that came with Sportage maybe another 20,000 ks to go. love the fixed price service on average around $400 a year. I would recommend Kia has come a long way.

BadgePlatinum
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2014

Dave

DaveSydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Most reliable and featured car I’ve ever owned

published
BadgePlatinum
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2014
Dario B.

Dario B.Perth

  • 12 reviews
  • 7 likes

Low running costs, comfortable, easy to drive and good looking car.

published

A good stable car with very low consumption and running costs. Not too fancy but comfortable. I can fit two bikes in in the back and pull a small trailer or camper.

It drives well and requires minimum maintenance every 12 months. Comes with a 7 years manufacturer warranty.
Don't buy one if you want power and acceleration, this is a commuter / city car.

BadgeSi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2016
heyyah11

heyyah11

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great car has everything

published
BadgePlatinum
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2013

Denise

Denise

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Love Love Love.

published

Love my car!! Husband even likes to drive it (and he loves his Holden SSV redline V8) tows well, handles country driving very well. Running costs are minimum and has never had any issues. The turbo gives it a lot of punch when needed especially for freeway driving. Plenty of leg room front and back, have taken it on road trips and been very comfortable.

BadgePlatinum
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2013

Kris

KrisAU

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great car

published
BadgeSLi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2011

Evilal

EvilalWollongong NSW Australia

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Worst car we've owned!

published
BadgePlatinum
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2015

tangowhisky37

tangowhisky37Melbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great looks, good performance and excellent value for money

published

I purchased the 2011 model of the Kia Sportage. A great looking car, with an excellent driving experience. We purchased it brand new and has now done 82,000Kms, driven it across half of the country. It came with a 5 year warranty at the time of purchase.

I have the base edition and at times the 2.2 litre engine can feel a bit under powered given the size and weight of the vehicle. However, the seating, the fittings, the looks and the hassle free driving makes it a great car to own.

The overall experience has been great. Worth every dollar and great value for the money spent. Makes for a sporty looking SUV and a great family car. Everyone at home loves it.

BadgeSi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2011

Page 1 of 5

See all Kia Sportage reviews

Questions & Answers

Mustaq

Mustaqasked

I bought my 2011 Kia Sportage platinum diesel turbo 2.0 L from auction. Driving for last 3 years with NO real issues. Recently it went very sluggish in lower gears no pick up etc. Engine light came up.

Diagnosed P0404 and suggested by NRMA that the Throttle body and EGR VALVE IS CLOGGED.

Throttle body and Turbine pump+ Mass Airflow sensor all were found very dirty nearly clogged. Cleaned with recommended cleaner sprays for each area now nearly new.
Started using BP Ultimate diesel has lowest sulphur recommended. Added diesel fuel additive to tank and replaced fuel filter.

After all that improvement noticed but not 100 % yet.
Engine light comes back after reset.

I am told EGR VALVE NEEDS proper cleaning. Could not do it with my mechanic he feels is bit too complicated to take it out for cleaning.
Any one can suggest how to clean my egr valve without opening/ dismantling from engine?? Mustaq nsw

3 answers
Brenda
Brenda

Far too complicated for me to answer, sorry. I bought my car new. Good luck, someone else may be able to help you. Maybe write direct to Kia?

mcgrathglenn
mcgrathglenn

Talk to the Kia people online, an see what they say, I don,t fully trust the N.R.M.A, at times, not fully happy with there mechanics, If Kia makes it then they should know about it, only a thought!!

Wilko
Wilko

Too much city/suburb driving is NOT good for diesels. Its not what their meant for! Common problem with all c ity/surburb diesel cars. Should have got the petrol version.


Nicci Steve H.

Nicci Steve H.asked

Changed battery and now the engine lite has come on .
Need assist to remove or will it disappear on its own please

1 answer
Kane
Kane

did u change it properly , like the manual says?Or did you do it the way most people change a battery , like in the past ?It matters You have to follow the earthing instructions exactly and did you get a battery that Kia advises , not a shop, It matters The shops will tell you its the right battery when its not at all ..


Aimée S.

Aimée S.asked

Sportage SL Platinum

So my sunroof has decided it doesn’t want to close ....
I got it partially closed

Help

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Kia representatives

Details

Kia Sportage SL Si
  • Discontinued

Kia Sportage SL Si (2010-2015)

4.6
(7)
Kia Sportage SL Si Premium
  • Discontinued

Kia Sportage SL Si Premium (2014-2015)

4.6
(5)
Kia Sportage SL SLi
  • Discontinued

Kia Sportage SL SLi (2010-2015)

4.6
(14)
Kia Sportage SL Platinum
  • Discontinued

Kia Sportage SL Platinum (2010-2015)

4.5
(46)
CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVs
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors5555
Seats5555
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)1,600 kg1,600 kg1,600 kg1,600 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Release dateAug 2010Jan 2014Aug 2010Aug 2010
Discontinuation dateDec 2015Dec 2015Dec 2015Dec 2015
Compare all Kia Sportage

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.