??!
7 photos
Kia Sportage SL

Kia Sportage SL (2010-2015)

Platinum, SLi, Si, Si Premium
4.5 from 88 reviews

Reviews

(57)
(21)
(7)
(1)
(2)
  • Build Quality
    4.7 (12)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (12)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.6 (12)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (12)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (12)
  • Handling
    4.4 (12)
  • Braking
    4.7 (12)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (12)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.7 (12)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.1 (12)
  • Interior Design
    4.1 (12)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (12)
  • Features
    4.3 (12)
  • Comfort
    4.5 (12)


Tony

TonyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews

6 years of pleasurable driving

published

I have owned a Series II Platinum Turbo Diesel for 6 years, and now have 170K on the clock. Without a doubt the best car I have ever owned - I still enjoy sliding into the driver's seat. Plenty of comfort for passengers as well. Agree with comments re the Sat Nav - a bit clunky, and updates few and far between (the only answer is to make sure you have Android Auto/Apple Car Play in conjunction with a mobile phone map and you will never be out of date). But as for the drive, the power, and the comfort, it cannot be faulted (the Turbo Diesel has great torque).

It is also deceptively good for transporting goods - I have even had 4.2 metre beams poking out through the sunroof!

Due to update soon, and this will be at the top of my list.

Purchased in April 2014.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Rad

RadSouthwest, VIC

  • 33 reviews

Well built, Average performer, Excellent comfort.

published

Purchased in November 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
gibz

gibzHobart, TAS

  • 19 reviews

good car.... however

published

listen to the motor before you buy!!! love this car, however,,,,, the interior has rattles and creaks. it drives GREAT, love it.

heres the pinch...... the theta petrol engines are rubbish. around 200k they are ruined. Had to replace mine, it had 209 thousand km, the theta engines are known to die early. In the us, hundreds of thousands have been recalled.

they are just another car with a 15000 km service interval, this, ruins engines. They last until warranty runs out, and then boom. If you buy one, listen to the motor, they have noisy injectors, which isnt a problem, but the knock coming from piston slap, gets loud.

if you own one, or buy one, service it with the correct oil, every 10 thousand or less, it may last longer.

Purchased in July 2019 for $10,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
A511276

A511276Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Excellent Engineering and Design

published

Purchased in January 2019 at Brian Hilton for $33,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

D Beaumont

D Beaumont

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Best value vehicle

published

This vehicle is the best value with a 7 year warranty and capped priced servicing.top quality fittings.very comfortable to drive.plenty of power and very responsive. Great handling. Beats more expensive vehicles in all aspects couldn't rate it more highly.

Purchased in March 2019 at Kia Dealers for $31,990.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Brenda

BrendaPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Not as good as other SUV'S

published

I drive my car regularly to commute. From the start the inbuilt Sat Nav hasn't been reliable no matter what the weather is. I took it back at least three times under warranty but gave up in the end. It is not a quiet or smooth drive. Also, not as economical as others (diesel).

October 24th 2019 Update: Disappointed

Built in sat nav unreliable. Even when replaced under warranty. Bits fall off such as vent open and close handle. Not a smooth ride all the time. Visibility is so bad makes me scared. Windows too small, can't see around the strut on drivers side when using roundabout. Not much room inside, especially for tall people.

Purchased in May 2013 at Kia Dealers for $34,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Lamexy

LamexyMoncrieff 2914, ACT

Perfect car for a small family

published

Perfect car. bought the 2010 SL platinuim full option 3 yrs ago from used car garage. ac compressor replaced last year. Apart from that it has served us since 2016 to date. still going. always answers us each time we call on it. Now looking forward to a 7 seater bc of growing family. will dearly miss the sportage. i am looking forward to another Korean car like Hyundai santa fe.

Purchased in February 2016 for $17,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

inxs

inxsAU

  • 15 reviews
  • 1 like

A reliable & strong SUV

published

Over 50k done on this SUV and still running strong.
Diesel Fuel economy around 8l/100km mainly city driving.
Has a good acceleration curve, plenty of punch for highway overtaking.
Not one sign of a leak or problem with the car.

Cons:
Missed out on the Android Auto and Apple CarPlay on this years model.
No car lane monitoring in side windows for preimium model.
Paint seems to scratch easily.
Can't set North to top on Map.
Pretty limited audio and map settings for being a premium model.

BadgePlatinum
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2015
DriveAWD
JM

JM

  • 4 reviews

Diesel in this is a winner. Reliable, honest vehicle.

published
BadgePlatinum
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2012
KTJ

KTJMackay

  • 20 reviews

Ok...

published

I loved my Sportage originally. Then a very loud sound started coming from the exhaust. Several mechanics have told me it’s safe but my car sounds like a loud Datsun! I’ve also had trouble with the brakes, the shift lock getting stuck, and now I’m pretty sure the CV joint is making a noise. Also the electrics are funny, the doors lock and unlock repeatedly sometimes

BadgeSi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016

Leon68

Leon68Perth, WA

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Well designed and excellent value

published

This car presents as a premium quality vehicle and well above average for its price. Cabin comfort is very good and instrumentation is more than adequate. With rear view camera housed in the mirror and knobs on the radio (not press control) and comfortable seating with good upholstery - it has the attention to detail that you expect to find on a better than average car. The All Wheel Drive (AWD) feature provides excellent road holding. The driver's highway view is excellent due to the vehicle's higher positioning than i.e 'closer to the road' smaller family cars. As an SUV its overall presence on the road is excellent (not easily 'bullied' out of the way by large trucks or impatient road hogs).

BadgePlatinum
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018

bt1531951

bt1531951NSW, 2731

  • 42 reviews

Fantastic motoring

published

Purchased this for my wife it is Sportage top of the range Platinum 2013 model Diesel. Has great responsive engine, smooth shifting auto, push button keyless start and keyless entry, auto wipers, auto headlights, heated seats, Satnav, phone connectivity, AWD, leather, Cruise, panoramic sun roofs. etc Good Highway fuel economy (approx 7l - 100klm). It is and feels a very well built car. it has some road noise but not too obtrusive, comfortable seats. This car had 161000ks on the clock and we have just done 3000ks it has no rattles or squeaks and drives like new. The only regret is the satnav I’m not sure if there are still updates available.

Purchased in July 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Alan Clay

Alan ClayRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 16 reviews
  • 2 likes

"KiA" to come out of the east and I'm so glad it did!

published
BadgeSLi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2013
1 comment
Alan Clay
Alan Clay

127,000 k's and goes like scalded cat, upgraded tyres 12 months ago to Pirelli Scorpions also highly recommended Enjoy


Excellent experience

published

I purchased a 2013 SL sportage. I’ve never had any issues in the last 5 years. It’s an auto and finds the gears easily. It doesn’t chew the petrol either.
Services are reasonably priced.
All of that just makes it the most reliable and best car in the car industry.

BadgePlatinum
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2018
Baz78j

Baz78jSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good drive

published

I purchased a 2013 SL sportage. I’ve never had any issues in the last 5 years. It’s an auto and finds the gears easily. It doesn’t chew the petrol either.
The one con I have is I do find the side mirrors slightly too big and at times they act like a blind spot.
Services are reasonably priced.

BadgeSLi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2013
Donald Birks

Donald BirksGippsland, VIC

  • 19 reviews
  • 16 likes

Coming up to 4 years and 50,000klm and no problems

published

I have the Platinum series 2 Sportage, Litres per hundred Klms is around 7.3 cheap to run, I have towed a caravan 1600kg for a while this increased the Litres to 14. it's a great Vehicle and we have not had any major problems. we originally had the air con freezing this was fixed on the 1st service and that's all. it's comfortable and great to drive, it's quite on the road and has plenty of leg room all round. I have 1 little niggle the rear seating heating can easily be turned on and forgotten by the passengers. I am still on the same tyres that came with Sportage maybe another 20,000 ks to go. love the fixed price service on average around $400 a year. I would recommend Kia has come a long way.

BadgePlatinum
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2014

Dave

DaveSydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Most reliable and featured car I’ve ever owned

published
BadgePlatinum
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2014

Dario B.

Dario B.Perth

  • 12 reviews
  • 7 likes

Low running costs, comfortable, easy to drive and good looking car.

published

A good stable car with very low consumption and running costs. Not too fancy but comfortable. I can fit two bikes in in the back and pull a small trailer or camper.

It drives well and requires minimum maintenance every 12 months. Comes with a 7 years manufacturer warranty.
Don't buy one if you want power and acceleration, this is a commuter / city car.

BadgeSi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2016

heyyah11

heyyah11

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great car has everything

published
BadgePlatinum
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2013

Denise

Denise

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Love Love Love.

published

Love my car!! Husband even likes to drive it (and he loves his Holden SSV redline V8) tows well, handles country driving very well. Running costs are minimum and has never had any issues. The turbo gives it a lot of punch when needed especially for freeway driving. Plenty of leg room front and back, have taken it on road trips and been very comfortable.

BadgePlatinum
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2013

Page 1 of 5

See all Kia Sportage reviews

Questions & Answers

Anubhav chaudhary

Anubhav chaudharyasked

I have a deal to buy kia 2012 platinum diesel 4wd for $15000 with 100000km on odometer. I am in a doubt whether I should buy this car or not as its Going to be 8 years old. Dealer is giving me extra 100000km warranty for extra $1200. Can anyone guide me is this a good deal to go for? Or i should buy a newer sportage?

1 answer
Rad
Rad

Check out car sales.com for comparative prices. It's done less than 13k per year so it's probably been well looked after and obviously not done much time on the road in 8 years. Price seems fine but low km is not always good for diesel particulate filters. If you buy it, fill it up with premium diesel and take it for a good highway run to clean it out. It's a kia, so mostly reliable.
Does it have a tow bar? Has it towed caravans? That can cause extra wear and tear on the rear suspension.


Mustaq

Mustaqasked

I bought my 2011 Kia Sportage platinum diesel turbo 2.0 L from auction. Driving for last 3 years with NO real issues. Recently it went very sluggish in lower gears no pick up etc. Engine light came up.

Diagnosed P0404 and suggested by NRMA that the Throttle body and EGR VALVE IS CLOGGED.

Throttle body and Turbine pump+ Mass Airflow sensor all were found very dirty nearly clogged. Cleaned with recommended cleaner sprays for each area now nearly new.
Started using BP Ultimate diesel has lowest sulphur recommended. Added diesel fuel additive to tank and replaced fuel filter.

After all that improvement noticed but not 100 % yet.
Engine light comes back after reset.

I am told EGR VALVE NEEDS proper cleaning. Could not do it with my mechanic he feels is bit too complicated to take it out for cleaning.
Any one can suggest how to clean my egr valve without opening/ dismantling from engine?? Mustaq nsw

3 answers
Brenda
Brenda

Far too complicated for me to answer, sorry. I bought my car new. Good luck, someone else may be able to help you. Maybe write direct to Kia?

mcgrathglenn
mcgrathglenn

Talk to the Kia people online, an see what they say, I don,t fully trust the N.R.M.A, at times, not fully happy with there mechanics, If Kia makes it then they should know about it, only a thought!!

Wilko
Wilko

Too much city/suburb driving is NOT good for diesels. Its not what their meant for! Common problem with all c ity/surburb diesel cars. Should have got the petrol version.


Nicci Steve H.

Nicci Steve H.asked

Changed battery and now the engine lite has come on .
Need assist to remove or will it disappear on its own please

1 answer
Kane
Kane

did u change it properly , like the manual says?Or did you do it the way most people change a battery , like in the past ?It matters You have to follow the earthing instructions exactly and did you get a battery that Kia advises , not a shop, It matters The shops will tell you its the right battery when its not at all ..


Get an answer from our members and Kia representatives

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs


ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.