??!
4 photos
Kipor GS2600 / GS2600H 2.6 kVA

Kipor GS2600 / GS2600H 2.6 kVA

GS2600, GS2600H
2.8 from 21 reviews

Reviews

2.8

21 reviews
5
(6)
4
(3)
3
(0)
2
(4)
1
(8)
Previous
Next
Sonya 1

Sonya 1Central Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great little genset

published

I have now owned this genset for six years. It does not undertake a huge workload, but probably typical of a lot of these smaller units. I was a little reluctant to buy it originally because of the "made in China" on the label, but it appeared to be pretty well made. It has been completely reliable, starts easily and runs quietly. For my usage, there would be no advantage spending a lot more money for the name brands. I can't comment on parts availability as I have not needed a single part. I would certainly buy another Kipor.

Purchased in January 2013.

Sean f

Sean fGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Absolutely rubbish

published

Used for 15 minutes and now won’t work. Out of warranty. Bought new and Stored in garage and went to use it and inverter needs replacing. $650 to replace, and even the service man said throw it away. Not happy and total waste of money. Do not waste your money on this.

Date PurchasedDec 2014
Craig Pons

Craig PonsCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

This thing essentially saved my life, and hasn't missed a beat since I bought it

published
Date PurchasedSep 2011
Generators

Find out how Kipor GS2600 / GS2600H 2.6 kVA compares to other Generators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
OurSecret

OurSecretNSW, 2758

  • 9 reviews
  • 10 likes

No more Kipor gensets for me

published

I have had two of the smaller 700W Kipor which went every night for just over twelve months and then died for no apparent reason. Sold them for parts though. They were OK for TV and lights and didn't bother the modem, but useless for power tools, so I upgraded to this one. It died in two months so it went back to Bunnings for a refund and I finally abandoned Kipor in favour of Ryobi. The Ryobi genset is going strong after three years and does power tools and pumping with ease.

Date PurchasedJul 2007
Big M

Big MBowen

Oil leak while not being used

published

From the first day out of the box their was oil everywhere and without pulling it all apart to find where the oil leak is, leaks while sitting, anyone give me some advice with similar problem, be buying a Honda before to long and theirs more!! Hard to start choke lever bad design you need long finger nails to switch off/on or a knife.. waste of money ...

Date PurchasedOct 2014

Does the job

published

Had this 6 years and the only trouble I had was the carbs had to be replaced due to leaving fuel in it when stored. (very cheap online for new carry.
Otherwise great for the price if you maintain it as per the manufactures instructions .Big thumbs up from me.

Date PurchasedJan 2011

unreliable

published

Had it for 6 years, minimal usage but problem with carby ( pulled carby apart and complete clean and reassemble) stiil no go when needed on recent trip, replaced with Yamaha, expensive lesson but over the moon with Yammy. Good for building up biceps when it was operational, very hard to start.

Date PurchasedMay 2011

Cannot do without it.

published

We purchased our GS2600 some 7 years ago. It has performed beyond expectations. We use it regularly motorhoming. I found it blew a little smoke till I changed to Honda Genset oil. Regular oil changes and operating it on a dirt free pad, board or shade cloth keeps it clean. An excellent piece of kit we cannot do without.

Date PurchasedJul 2007
Geoff S

Geoff S

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Trouble with starting

published
Date PurchasedMar 2001
Generators

Find out how Kipor GS2600 / GS2600H 2.6 kVA compares to other Generators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bob F

Bob FMaryborough Qld

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

A load of garbage waste of money

published

Garbage machine wouldn't recommend it to my worst friend
1 unreliable
2 unreliable
3 did I mention they are unreliable?
4 Runs sometimes
5 won't even make a good boat anchor
6 stalls when about half loaded
7 opps sorry know I did mention b4 but unreliable and waste of money

Date PurchasedJan 2015
Col

ColGippsland, VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 8 likes

Does what i need it to do.

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2015

Great and comparable with Honda

published

Have owned my 2600 for at least six years now and has been a GEM since new!! I thought it may have had a dicky choke but I discovered it was me not engaging it properly. I have nothing but praise for it and as I write this it is running as we are caravanning full time atm. The only improvement I could make is for the manufacturers to develop a fixing down kit ie: for generator boxes on caravans and a exhaust extension kit to direct the exhaust gasses out of the gennie box!!
Nothing but 5 stars from me!!

The worst investment I ever made

published

Brand New. First one never made it at all. They eventually gave us a new one apart from being the worst thing to start had less than 20lts of fuel through it over the last 3yrs. Tried to start it no go took it to the experts pull cord broke, 1st pull has happened before new carby but still no go could rave about this piece of crud forever and will badmouth them wherever l go ( am now on the road indefinitely so will spread the word) CHEERS Chas

Phil EGAN

Phil EGAN

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

The worst bloody thing I've ever bought!

published

From the time I purchased a Kipor it has been hard to start. I've used it three times, had it serviced once as well. They have a VERY dodgey on/off switch making it impossible to start unless you pull the knob off switch to toggle the switch manually. Looked after it like a baby, daring all fuel before storing, kept clean and guess what... It won't start to take away camping. A bloody waste of money so AVOID THEM LIKE THE PLAGUE. Buy a Honda!!!

Disappointed with Product

published

Purchased the GS2600 in December 2012. Used the product 6 times in 2 years before the trouble started. I thought it may have been dirty fuel. Cleaned the fuel filter, changed the fuel and spark plug, no compression. Rang Kipor to find agent in 2 states, no success. Spoke with a former distributer. They advised probably valve damage. Very disappointed with the product and service.

Generators

Find out how Kipor GS2600 / GS2600H 2.6 kVA compares to other Generators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sylvia Else

Sylvia ElseAU

  • 24 reviews
  • 32 likes

Caught fire the first time it was actually needed

published

Inverter stuffed 2 hours run time 3 years old and a $620 quote

published

As far as generators go ..... I would not buy a Kipor , as I have run my GS2600 every few months for a few minutes just to keep the fuel fresh it would have done about 2 hours work in 3 years only have plugged a Dewalt 600watt drill and the inverter packed it in and the quote to fix $620 ... what a waste of money ..

mustangdude

mustangdudeSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 16 reviews
  • 14 likes

Kipor Generator

published

No good usless waste of money

published

Used about 30 hrs,stopped running,new carby fitted in darwin,started it a few times while traveling ,then the first time i hooked it up to the caravan it started running rough would not run the power useless would never buy another one.
graeme higgy
Great done top job until carby packed it in

2 comments
Stewart45
Stewart45
Schulzy
Schulzy

Absolute rubbish! Died after total of 10 days use. Needs a new motherboard at around$900.

Crusty181

Crusty181Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 7 likes

Kipor GS2600

published

We use a Kipor GS2600 on our farm as the main domestic power supply for about 2 years now. When we're there It runs all day every day rain, hail or shine and hasn't missed a beat. It sits out in the rain and we don't really treat it very well. If it was a child we would be arrested for neglect, but like a Labrador, it just keeps on loving us back, despite everything we throw at it. Starts like the day we bought it.
Does what we want with zero fuss
No cons, reasonably quiet, reasonably good on fuel

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Richard C.

Richard C.asked

GS2600 / GS2600H 2.6 kVA

Overload light is on

No answers
TimR

TimRasked

GS2600 / GS2600H 2.6 kVA

Just want to know if anyone has had trouble with the generator starting and running for 2 seconds and then stopping ?

1 answer
Sonya 1
Sonya 1

No, I have not had that problem in the seven years I have owned mine. Sounds like it is running out of fuel. Perhaps try running it with the fuel cap off to make sure the vent in the fuel cap is working.

Ashley S.

Ashley S.asked

GS2600 / GS2600H 2.6 kVA

Has anyone had problems with it starting them flooding and pushing heaps of fuel out into the air filter have a brand new carby just fitted and still doing it ?

1 answer
Sonya 1
Sonya 1

Sorry Ashley S, I can't help. Mine has always started and run fine. Certainly sounds like a carburettor issue but if you have fitted a new one, I don't know what else could be causing it.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.