4 photos
Kipor GS2600 / GS2600H 2.6 kVA

Kipor GS2600 / GS2600H 2.6 kVA

GS2600, GS2600H (See All)
2.8 from 21 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Generators in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Kipor? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

2.8
21 reviews
Previous
Next
Sonya 1
Sonya 1Central Queensland, QLD
  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great little genset

published

I have now owned this genset for six years. It does not undertake a huge workload, but probably typical of a lot of these smaller units. I was a little reluctant to buy it originally because of the "made in China" on the label, but it appeared to be pretty well made. It has been completely reliable, starts easily and runs quietly. For my usage, there would be no advantage spending a lot more money for the name brands. I can't comment on parts availability as I have not needed a single part. I would certainly buy another Kipor.

Purchased in January 2013.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sean f
Sean fGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Absolutely rubbish

published

Used for 15 minutes and now won’t work. Out of warranty. Bought new and Stored in garage and went to use it and inverter needs replacing. $650 to replace, and even the service man said throw it away. Not happy and total waste of money. Do not waste your money on this.

Date PurchasedDec 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Craig Pons
Craig PonsCentral Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

This thing essentially saved my life, and hasn't missed a beat since I bought it

published
Date PurchasedSept 2011
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
OurSecret
OurSecretNSW, 2758
  • 9 reviews
  • 10 likes

No more Kipor gensets for me

published

I have had two of the smaller 700W Kipor which went every night for just over twelve months and then died for no apparent reason. Sold them for parts though. They were OK for TV and lights and didn't bother the modem, but useless for power tools, so I upgraded to this one. It died in two months so it went back to Bunnings for a refund and I finally abandoned Kipor in favour of Ryobi. The Ryobi genset is going strong after three years and does power tools and pumping with ease.

Date PurchasedJuly 2007
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Generators

Find out how Kipor GS2600 / GS2600H 2.6 kVA compares to other Generators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Big M
Big MBowen

Oil leak while not being used

published

From the first day out of the box their was oil everywhere and without pulling it all apart to find where the oil leak is, leaks while sitting, anyone give me some advice with similar problem, be buying a Honda before to long and theirs more!! Hard to start choke lever bad design you need long finger nails to switch off/on or a knife.. waste of money ...

Date PurchasedOct 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Does the job

published

Had this 6 years and the only trouble I had was the carbs had to be replaced due to leaving fuel in it when stored. (very cheap online for new carry.
Otherwise great for the price if you maintain it as per the manufactures instructions .Big thumbs up from me.

Date PurchasedJan 2011
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

unreliable

published

Had it for 6 years, minimal usage but problem with carby ( pulled carby apart and complete clean and reassemble) stiil no go when needed on recent trip, replaced with Yamaha, expensive lesson but over the moon with Yammy. Good for building up biceps when it was operational, very hard to start.

Date PurchasedMay 2011
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
Next

Cannot do without it.

published

We purchased our GS2600 some 7 years ago. It has performed beyond expectations. We use it regularly motorhoming. I found it blew a little smoke till I changed to Honda Genset oil. Regular oil changes and operating it on a dirt free pad, board or shade cloth keeps it clean. An excellent piece of kit we cannot do without.

Date PurchasedJuly 2007
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Geoff S
Geoff SDarling Downs, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Trouble with starting

published
Date PurchasedMar 2001
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Generators

Find out how Kipor GS2600 / GS2600H 2.6 kVA compares to other Generators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bob F
Bob FMaryborough Qld
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

A load of garbage waste of money

published

Garbage machine wouldn't recommend it to my worst friend
1 unreliable
2 unreliable
3 did I mention they are unreliable?
4 Runs sometimes
5 won't even make a good boat anchor
6 stalls when about half loaded
7 opps sorry know I did mention b4 but unreliable and waste of money

Date PurchasedJan 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Col
ColGippsland, VIC
  • 10 reviews
  • 10 likes

Does what i need it to do.

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Great and comparable with Honda

published

Have owned my 2600 for at least six years now and has been a GEM since new!! I thought it may have had a dicky choke but I discovered it was me not engaging it properly. I have nothing but praise for it and as I write this it is running as we are caravanning full time atm. The only improvement I could make is for the manufacturers to develop a fixing down kit ie: for generator boxes on caravans and a exhaust extension kit to direct the exhaust gasses out of the gennie box!!
Nothing but 5 stars from me!!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Generators

Find out how Kipor GS2600 / GS2600H 2.6 kVA compares to other Generators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

The worst investment I ever made

published

Brand New. First one never made it at all. They eventually gave us a new one apart from being the worst thing to start had less than 20lts of fuel through it over the last 3yrs. Tried to start it no go took it to the experts pull cord broke, 1st pull has happened before new carby but still no go could rave about this piece of crud forever and will badmouth them wherever l go ( am now on the road indefinitely so will spread the word) CHEERS Chas

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Phil EGAN
Phil EGAN
  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

The worst bloody thing I've ever bought!

published

From the time I purchased a Kipor it has been hard to start. I've used it three times, had it serviced once as well. They have a VERY dodgey on/off switch making it impossible to start unless you pull the knob off switch to toggle the switch manually. Looked after it like a baby, daring all fuel before storing, kept clean and guess what... It won't start to take away camping. A bloody waste of money so AVOID THEM LIKE THE PLAGUE. Buy a Honda!!!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Disappointed with Product

published

Purchased the GS2600 in December 2012. Used the product 6 times in 2 years before the trouble started. I thought it may have been dirty fuel. Cleaned the fuel filter, changed the fuel and spark plug, no compression. Rang Kipor to find agent in 2 states, no success. Spoke with a former distributer. They advised probably valve damage. Very disappointed with the product and service.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

not sure
not sureasked
GS2600 / GS2600H 2.6 kVA

Hi I own a GS2600 kipor and when I pull the starter cord it pulls in stagers taken of the stator and pulls smoothly can you help

No answers
Gregg M.
Gregg M.asked
GS2600 / GS2600H 2.6 kVA

2 stroke or 4 stroke generator gs2600

No answers
Big M
Big Masked
GS2600 / GS2600H 2.6 kVA

Ok can somebody tell me please and test your 2.6 Kipor using a multi tester on the ac out mine reads
121 v seems like everything is ok I’m running two fridges looking at the honda page on specs it saids it can run both 120 and 240 at same time I don’t understand how that is when mine puts out 121 v ?

No answers
See all Kipor GS2600 / GS2600H 2.6 kVA questions

Get an answer from our members

Kipor GS2600 / GS2600H 2.6 kVA

Details

Compare both Kipor GS2600 / GS2600H 2.6 kVA
Kipor GS2600H
  • Discontinued

Kipor GS2600H

No reviews yet
CategoryGeneratorsGenerators
Price (RRP)$1399
Release dateFeb 2011
Compare both Kipor GS2600 / GS2600H 2.6 kVA

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.