??!
4 photos
Kmart 1200W Upright Vacuum

Kmart 1200W Upright Vacuum

3.5 from 282 reviews

Vacuum Cleaners Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of vacuum cleaner would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

(89)
(82)
(36)
(18)
(57)
  • Build Quality
    3.4 (42)
  • Value for Money
    3.6 (45)
  • Ease of Use
    3.3 (46)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.6 (43)
  • Product is used:
    • Several times a week (18)
    • Weekly (14)
    • Daily (8)
    • Monthly (1)
  • Noise Level
    2.7 (43)
  • Pet OwnerYes (27) · No (18)


Elaine

ElaineMid North Coast, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Poor performer

published

Purchased this vacuum to replace my dyson and initially seemed to work really well but within a few weeks it stopped working and had to be returned for a refund

Purchased in April 2018 at Kmart Port Macquarie for $99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
See all answers

Kate

KateGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

A brilliant vac

published

Best vac I’ve ever had, affordable, all the extras and strong suck. But now my daughter wants one, and K Mart don’t stock it anymore!!! What’s going on K Mart?

Purchased in March 2019 at K Mart Burwood for $89.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
See all answers
Sjk1602

Sjk1602Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Live this vacuu.

published

I use the vacuum on wooden floors and rugs, it moves easy between both the surfaces, love the suction, I like that I can extend the handle so I don't bend over so much to get into the corners and use it to get the cobwebs on the ceiling. I can use the attachment for the couches for the pet hair. It's easy to maneuver.

Purchased in June 2019 at Kmart Online Store for $89.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
See all answers
Cath

CathMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Latest model made by Anko is TERRIBLE

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Kmart for $89.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
See all answers

Danielle

DanielleWestern Australia

  • 4 reviews

Does the job, sort of.

published

Works great on carpet. Doesn’t work on hand floors, it just flick dirt behind itself. Can’t turn off the spinning head so it often sucks things up. It has also chewed the cord before and has exposed wires. I’ve replaced mine twice. I use it because it’s all I can afford.

Purchased in January 2019 at Kmart for $89.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum and Wood
See all answers

Artwitch

ArtwitchIllawarra, NSW

  • 8 reviews

Great vacuum cleaner

published

The suction is the best on this vacuum and the special turbo attachment for pet hair is awesome. When recently moving I tried using a Dyson to vacuum the pet hair on my lounge under the cushions with hardly any success (it was an older model Dyson), when I arrived at my new place and unpacked my new Kmart vacuum it worked brilliant and removed every trace of hair. But the vacuum itself is heavy and hard to manoeuvre, I use it on carpet and hard floor.

Purchased in August 2018 at Kmart Retail Stores for $79.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum and Tiles
See all answers

Broken in 3 weeks

published

We bought this as a temporary replacement for a 20 year old Dyson which had had a great run. Figured this had a 12 month warranty and if it lasted a couple of years it would be a good $99 well spent.

It lasted three weeks before the belt that spun the brush snapped - reading on here this is a common occurrence so spending an extra $20-25 regularly to replace it seems pointless. After checking the issue was the belt we also noted where the belt sits was rusty. We'd owned it for three weeks....

The dust also collects in places that don't appear accessible without a screwdriver (not the main bin).

We've taken it back for a refund and will be looking elsewhere. Lesson learned re buying appliances from Kmart...

Purchased in September 2019 at Kmart.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
See all answers

Troy G.

Troy G.Northern Region, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

best vacuum I've had and great price

published

first I gave this a bad review but I had it set up wrong. it's got good power and the turbo head works well. we have carpet and tiles and works well on both. better on carpet. top value. was close to buying an expensive one but now don't have to. bit heavy is it's main downside

Purchased in September 2019 at Kmart Retail Stores for $129.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers
1 comment
Troy G.
Troy G.

originally gave it a 1 star because I had it set up wrong

ruskiii

ruskiiiAU

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Failed on high pile carpet

published

High pile carpet use was a fail. The suction is great and more suited to flat type carpet. Very heavy KMarts previous model was so much better. Did not try on my tiles.

Purchased in March 2019 at Kmart Retail Stores for $79.00.

Ease of Use
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet
See all answers
Caity U.

Caity U.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect for those with animals!

published

Whilst this vacuum can be hard to manoeuvre due to its weight, it does move from side to side and sucks incredibly well. If you have pets (I have 2 cats), this is the vacuum for you!! Great on hard surfaces, even better on carpet!

Purchased at Kmart Retail Stores.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pet OwnerYes
See all answers

Maddy

MaddyAdelaide

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

It's true what they say!

published

This is 10000x better than my old dyson! Which I might add, wasn't even old. It was a new Dyson. I bought this vacuum one day after just vacuuming all my floors with the Dyson. And I cannot believe the amount of dirt, dust and animal fur it managed to pull out of my carpet! For $89 you can't go wrong. We have had ours for about a year now and it is still going strong. Would recommend!

Purchased in June 2018 at Kmart, Munno Para for $89.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum and Tiles
See all answers

Pottsvilleprincess

PottsvilleprincessPottsville

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great Value

published

I have always used the Dyson Stick Vac. I was very impressed & surprised with the level of suction on the Kmart Vac . It was clearly more effective than the Dyson. I compared the dust collectors on both machines after vacuming 2 of the busiest rooms, media & main bedroom, with the Kmart vac clearly picking up more of the finer dusts. I have children with asthma and 2 dogs so the cleaner I can keep the carpets the better. The Kmart Vac has varying levels of suction for wood tile carpet. And the dust box is easy to remove and empty unlike the Dyson where you pull the lint out. Highly recommend.

Purchased in August 2018 at Kmart for $80.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
See all answers

Sam

SamSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 38 reviews
  • 2 likes

Wow what a buy

published

Purchased in May 2019 at Kmart Retail Stores for $89.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet
See all answers

Sarah

SarahSouthwest, VIC

  • 15 reviews

Great but heavy

published

This is fantastic on carpet ! However I really am not a fan with it on tiles . So if you’ve got a house full of tiles I really would not bother .
I was surprised at how much dust was pulled from the carpet on first use and was a little horrified . The size is fine but it’s the weight that It has that’s an issue . Suction is amazing though .

Purchased in May 2018 at Kmart Retail Stores for $89.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Allen

AllenPeel, WA

This is the best

published

This is used on tiled and carpeted floors and with the adjustable brush hight it is great it has been able to remove some marks in the carpet that I had been told that I would not be able to get out without professional carpet cleaning

Purchased in February 1975 at Kmart Retail Stores for $89.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers
Muhamad Salom

Muhamad Salom

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Fantastic Vacuum, best money I ever spent

published

I love it! I'm pleased it works great and easy to use. It's so convenient to vacuum without me having to bend over. The vacuum worked perfectly both on tiles and carpet. The air suction power is powerful enough to spin the brush.
Bought this vacuum 3 years ago and it still works as good as new!

Purchased at Kmart for $98.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers

Peter

PeterSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

As good as a dyson

published

I have owned one of these vaccums for the last 12mths and still to this day am surprised by the amount of dust etc that it pulls out of my carpet on a weekly basis best vaccum i have ever owned easy to use and clean

Purchased in March 2018 at K mart for $129.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Linoleum
See all answers

paulinee17

paulinee17Sydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Great value for money

published

What a breeze cleaning is with this vacuum. It is so efficient and easy to use (definitely no back straining here). I highly recommend for anyone looking for a decent vacuum on a budget.

Purchased in July 2019 at Kmart.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet
See all answers

Jazz

JazzPerth, WA

  • 8 reviews

Work well for homes with pets

published

This vacuum cleaner is a hard working unit with the option of the turbo brush height being adjustable according to you carpet pile or for use on hard floors , also comes with a selection of heads for the crevice tool including a mini turbo brush large capacity dust cylinder, easy to clean and use with best results I've had from an upright vacuum

Purchased in March 2019 at Kmart Retail Stores for $89.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum, Tiles and Wood
See all answers

Michelle kennedy

Michelle kennedySydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Good value for money

published

I have thick carpet and wooden floors the vacuum is hard to suck up pieces of dirt even though the there is different settings for hard floor or carpet as if it’s not low enough it does not pick up well, the extra attachment is hard to use as the cord sucks up if you pull it the vacuum falls over, I wouldn’t recommend it for someone who’s vacuuming everyday but for the price it’s not bad.

Purchased in April 2019 at K mart for $85.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used: Daily
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
See all answers

Page 1 of 15

Questions & Answers

السناني ا.

السناني ا.asked

can we fill water on it to wash carpet?

1 answer
Artwitch
Artwitch

No


Sue H

Sue Hasked

What do I press to make vacuum go back to clean can only get it to stay upright

2 answers
Sue H
Sue H

What do I press to release vacuum from upright position

Artwitch
Artwitch

Nothing to press, just put your foot on the front to stabilise it if needed and pull the handle down and back. It’s hard to explain.


Heather

Heatherasked

How do I close the pre motor bin lid latch?
This vacuum is value for money, excellent suction, but the clear plastic latch on the front, above the dust catcher, for the pre motor bin lid is so hard to close!
I have closed it a few times but this time eit won’t close ....looks like it will break easily if I force it with something.
Any recommendations???

2 answers
Heather
Heather

Kept trying and realised the section that goes down into the dust catcher has to be turned round till it locks in and there’s a slot above the latch that juts out.
Then put the filters back in and the latch closed easily
Complex vacuum cleaner

Danielle
Danielle

I had the same issue until I too realised there was a little divot slot for it to slot into. :) glad you figured it out


Get an answer from our members and Kmart representatives


Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.