??!
4 photos
Kmart 1200W Upright Vacuum

Kmart 1200W Upright Vacuum

3.5 from 277 reviews

See the Best Upright Vacuum Cleaners in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
87
4 star
82
3 star
36
2 star
16
1 star
56

Artwitch

ArtwitchIllawarra, NSW

  • 7 reviews

Great vacuum cleaner

published

The suction is the best on this vacuum and the special turbo attachment for pet hair is awesome. When recently moving I tried using a Dyson to vacuum the pet hair on my lounge under the cushions with hardly any success (it was an older model Dyson), when I arrived at my new place and unpacked my new Kmart vacuum it worked brilliant and removed every trace of hair. But the vacuum itself is heavy and hard to manoeuvre, I use it on carpet and hard floor.

Purchased in August 2018 at Kmart Retail Stores for $79.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum and Tiles
See all answers

Broken in 3 weeks

published

We bought this as a temporary replacement for a 20 year old Dyson which had had a great run. Figured this had a 12 month warranty and if it lasted a couple of years it would be a good $99 well spent.

It lasted three weeks before the belt that spun the brush snapped - reading on here this is a common occurrence so spending an extra $20-25 regularly to replace it seems pointless. After checking the issue was the belt we also noted where the belt sits was rusty. We'd owned it for three weeks....

The dust also collects in places that don't appear accessible without a screwdriver (not the main bin).

We've taken it back for a refund and will be looking elsewhere. Lesson learned re buying appliances from Kmart...

Purchased in September 2019 at Kmart.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
See all answers
Troy G.

Troy G.Northern Region, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

best vacuum I've had and great price

published

first I gave this a bad review but I had it set up wrong. it's got good power and the turbo head works well. we have carpet and tiles and works well on both. better on carpet. top value. was close to buying an expensive one but now don't have to. bit heavy is it's main downside

Purchased in September 2019 at Kmart Retail Stores for $129.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers
1 comment
Troy G.
Troy G.

originally gave it a 1 star because I had it set up wrong

ruskiii

ruskiiiAU

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Failed on high pile carpet

published

High pile carpet use was a fail. The suction is great and more suited to flat type carpet. Very heavy KMarts previous model was so much better. Did not try on my tiles.

Purchased in March 2019 at Kmart Retail Stores for $79.00.

Ease of Use
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet
See all answers

Caity U.

Caity U.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect for those with animals!

published

Whilst this vacuum can be hard to manoeuvre due to its weight, it does move from side to side and sucks incredibly well. If you have pets (I have 2 cats), this is the vacuum for you!! Great on hard surfaces, even better on carpet!

Purchased at Kmart Retail Stores.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Pet OwnerYes
See all answers

Maddy

MaddyAdelaide

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

It's true what they say!

published

This is 10000x better than my old dyson! Which I might add, wasn't even old. It was a new Dyson. I bought this vacuum one day after just vacuuming all my floors with the Dyson. And I cannot believe the amount of dirt, dust and animal fur it managed to pull out of my carpet! For $89 you can't go wrong. We have had ours for about a year now and it is still going strong. Would recommend!

Purchased in June 2018 at Kmart, Munno Para for $89.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum and Tiles
See all answers

Pottsvilleprincess

PottsvilleprincessPottsville

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great Value

published

I have always used the Dyson Stick Vac. I was very impressed & surprised with the level of suction on the Kmart Vac . It was clearly more effective than the Dyson. I compared the dust collectors on both machines after vacuming 2 of the busiest rooms, media & main bedroom, with the Kmart vac clearly picking up more of the finer dusts. I have children with asthma and 2 dogs so the cleaner I can keep the carpets the better. The Kmart Vac has varying levels of suction for wood tile carpet. And the dust box is easy to remove and empty unlike the Dyson where you pull the lint out. Highly recommend.

Purchased in August 2018 at Kmart for $80.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
See all answers

Sam

SamSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 36 reviews
  • 14 likes

Wow what a buy

published

Purchased in May 2019 at Kmart Retail Stores for $89.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet
See all answers
Sarah

SarahSouthwest, VIC

  • 15 reviews

Great but heavy

published

This is fantastic on carpet ! However I really am not a fan with it on tiles . So if you’ve got a house full of tiles I really would not bother .
I was surprised at how much dust was pulled from the carpet on first use and was a little horrified . The size is fine but it’s the weight that It has that’s an issue . Suction is amazing though .

Purchased in May 2018 at Kmart Retail Stores for $89.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Allen

AllenPeel, WA

This is the best

published

This is used on tiled and carpeted floors and with the adjustable brush hight it is great it has been able to remove some marks in the carpet that I had been told that I would not be able to get out without professional carpet cleaning

Purchased in February 1975 at Kmart Retail Stores for $89.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers

Muhamad Salom

Muhamad Salom

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Fantastic Vacuum, best money I ever spent

published

I love it! I'm pleased it works great and easy to use. It's so convenient to vacuum without me having to bend over. The vacuum worked perfectly both on tiles and carpet. The air suction power is powerful enough to spin the brush.
Bought this vacuum 3 years ago and it still works as good as new!

Purchased at Kmart for $98.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers

Peter

PeterSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

As good as a dyson

published

I have owned one of these vaccums for the last 12mths and still to this day am surprised by the amount of dust etc that it pulls out of my carpet on a weekly basis best vaccum i have ever owned easy to use and clean

Purchased in March 2018 at K mart for $129.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Linoleum
See all answers

paulinee17

paulinee17Sydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Great value for money

published

What a breeze cleaning is with this vacuum. It is so efficient and easy to use (definitely no back straining here). I highly recommend for anyone looking for a decent vacuum on a budget.

Purchased in July 2019 at Kmart.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet
See all answers

Jazz

JazzPerth, WA

  • 8 reviews

Work well for homes with pets

published

This vacuum cleaner is a hard working unit with the option of the turbo brush height being adjustable according to you carpet pile or for use on hard floors , also comes with a selection of heads for the crevice tool including a mini turbo brush large capacity dust cylinder, easy to clean and use with best results I've had from an upright vacuum

Purchased in March 2019 at Kmart Retail Stores for $89.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum, Tiles and Wood
See all answers
Michelle kennedy

Michelle kennedySydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Good value for money

published

I have thick carpet and wooden floors the vacuum is hard to suck up pieces of dirt even though the there is different settings for hard floor or carpet as if it’s not low enough it does not pick up well, the extra attachment is hard to use as the cord sucks up if you pull it the vacuum falls over, I wouldn’t recommend it for someone who’s vacuuming everyday but for the price it’s not bad.

Purchased in April 2019 at K mart for $85.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Daily
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
See all answers
haaaaayley14

haaaaayley14Perth, WA

Disappointing

published

This product is extremely heavy and hard to push around. It doesn’t suck anything up, the only way it works is if I go over things ten times. What should be a 20 minute vacuum job turns into an hour with this vacuum. Not to mention it is incredibly noisy and clunky. I wish I took it back straight away but instead I gave it the benefit of the doubt to see if I got the hang of it. In the end I am taking it back. Very disappointed after the raving reviews about this product online. My $35 vacuum I bought from Kmart 3 years ago works better than this one.

Purchased in May 2019 at Kmart for $89.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers

The vacuum that blows

published

Swivelly & upright yay! I wasn’t expecting a Dyson, I hadn’t even read the reviews. I already have a great, no-name, second hand corded vacuum that I got for free, but it’s little and I needed something heftier. This looked like it could do the job. Nope. Used once, it blowed stuff around rather than sucked. All around awful. Just bought it yesterday, so I immediately packaged it up and will be returning it today. Don’t waste your time like I did.

Purchased in July 2019 at Kmart for $85.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers

Ortega

OrtegaMurrumbidgee Region, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 10 likes

Huge disappointment got taken in by the hype

published

Bought one of these vacuums due to all the hype online. Waited ages for it to come back into stock then snapped one up. Well it didn't work. Pet hair stuck it up in seconds. Nothing was picked up. Didn't get too upset as there is always a dud so exchanged it for another one. Exactly same problem. This vacuum did nothing it was supposed to do. Made me wonder if the "great"reviews were paid for as I cannot recommend this to anyone for anything. Back to Bissel

Purchased in February 2019 at Kmart Retail Stores for $89.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
See all answers

TASSIE DEVIL

published

Purchased in July 2019 at K Mart, Innaloo for $89.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet
See all answers

Steven A.

Steven A.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

This blows more than it sucks

published

If you have hard floors don’t bother trying. Tried for 10 minutes, adjusting anything I could think of trying. Floors were just as dirty as they were before starting. It blew everything around and nothing got sucky into the dust canister. Didn’t bother trying on carpet, presumably the good reviews are just for carpet or quality control is an issue as well.

Purchased in June 2019 for $85.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Pet OwnerYes
See all answers

Page 1 of 14

Questions & Answers

Ruth C.

Ruth C.asked

I cant get the bin lid to close! It is like the filter wont fit. This is a stupid design..

No answers

Robyn

Robynasked

Is the brush to move when on carpet?

No answers

Nicky S.

Nicky S.asked

How do I tilt the vacuum

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Kmart representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.