??!
3 photos
Kmart 2400W Bagless

Kmart 2400W Bagless

MPN: SL163E
3.4 from 136 reviews · View Statistics

Buying the best vacuum cleaner

Whether you’re jumping into your first vacuum purchase or looking to upgrade to a shiny new machine, you’ll want to have the best knowledge possible on hand. This buying guide will explain which type of vacuum would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Read now

Reviews

Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

Suzanne

SuzanneSouth East Queensland, QLD

Absolute Garbage

published

I am so disappointed in this product. It worked well with first use but not for the second time onwards. The suction is very minimal. It has the same suction of our vacuum of 10 years that we were replacing (Piranha from Big W)! The prongs keep loosening out of the connector lead every 30 seconds. The red dust sticker on the head of the vacuum peeled off with second use. The motor has seemed to have burnt out as it no longer torpedoes in the cylinder. We have had it for 1 month and used it 4-6 times! I had to get my old vacuum old to finish the job and it honestly did a better job even though it is on its way out. If I could give it zero stars I would.

Purchased in November 2020 at Kmart for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeTiles
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers
KyM

KyMGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Kmart 2400W Bagless - Not worth the $

published

Had this vacuum literally 3 days and that is how long it lasted.....motor burnout! Was only using to vacuum carpets and obviously it was too hard work for it. Extremely disappointed as I had people recommend this vacuum cleaner to me. Guess I won't be purchasing another 2400w from Kmart.

Purchased in November 2020 at Kmart Retail Stores for A$95.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeCarpet
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers
Le L.

Le L.New South Wales

Junk anko bagless vacuum

published

These new generation bagless vacuum compared to their predecessors of the same designs like the piranha models are totally junk. Internal design was made complicated for no reason doesn't even help the hepa function. I cant even imagine how they designed the internal elements to work with the hepa. From the way I see the perspective of it you can in fact literally take out half of the elements inside and still function better to suck without sacrificing the hepa filtering. As an engineer myself this was poorly designed. And the worse thing is you'd be forced to clean it out everytime a hair gets stucked. Wow this is so poorly designed.

Purchased in June 2018 for A$89.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeCarpet and Tiles
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Kmart 2400W Bagless compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jennifer

JenniferSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Not even worth the cheap price.

published

Purchased for A$69.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedRarely
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet and Tiles
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers
Rachael williams

Rachael williamsSoutheast, SA

Dissapointed

published

Yes i know I only paid $100 for this product but just cheap and nasty, first few vacuums sucked great, cleaned the filters out ect.... but then the filters kept coming off and when Id turn vacuum on again I would lose suction.

Crappy product i now have no vacuum till I can afford a decent one

Purchased at Kmart Online Store for A$100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeCarpet and Tiles
Clogging IssuesYes
See all answers
Maree

MareeSouth East Queensland, QLD

Wasted purchase

published

There are multiple parts to pull, twist, unclip to clean out vacuum. It gets clogged with the smallest debris. Lost suction after a few months of minimum use. Love you kmart but not your vacuum. Dissappointing.

Purchased in July 2018 at Mt ommaney.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedMonthly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeCarpet
Clogging IssuesYes
See all answers
JaniceL

JaniceLMurrumbidgee Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Worst buy I have made in a long time.

published

Purchased in February 2019 for A$100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeCarpet
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers
H.C.M

H.C.MSouth East Queensland, QLD

DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY

published

I used this vacuum for about 8 months in a one bedroom apartment with tiles and carpet. Started to lose suction even after a couple of months, and that is with me cleaning it out after every use. It is also quite difficult to clean I found compared to other cheaper vacuums I've had previously. Wish I never wasted my money on this. Should have just bought a proper vacuum as it was hopeless on carpet. I don't live with any animals but I know this wouldn't do anything to pick up dog/cat hair. The stuff it did manage to pick up (usually on smooth tiled floors) would constantly get clogged in the tube/pipe so I would have to stop multiple times to clear it out even though my place was tiny.

Purchased in March 2018 at Kmart Retail Stores for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeCarpet and Tiles
Clogging IssuesYes
See all answers
Theresa

TheresaWestern Australia, 6069

  • 6 reviews
  • 9 likes

Unfortunate buy

published

At first I thought this is a good buy for general house vacuuming. Then, after use of it for one year it started shutting itself off after 20 minute use. I had to time well where I wanted to vacuum. It ended up being so bad that I could not clean a carpet without it shutting off every three minutes. You then have to leave it for 24 hours before the motor is able to go again - that meant that I had little bits of carpet done over a period of 5 days - ridiculous!

Purchased in November 2017 for A$99.00.

Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedMonthly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet and Linoleum
Clogging IssuesYes
See all answers
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Kmart 2400W Bagless compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Shirley Smith

Shirley SmithWheatbelt, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Don't waste your money

published

Like the other reviewer said, pet hair and fluff gets caught in the inner barrel and have to remove manually (you get covered in dust & dirt). Seal falls out everytime you empty. The catch broke on the barrel not long after purchase and now hardly any suction. The cheap piece of sponge that acts as a filter was stuck to the machine the first time I emptied it and ripped in half. I wouldn't recommend buying.

Purchased in November 2018 for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet
Clogging IssuesYes
See all answers
Gabrielle

GabrielleBrisbane

  • 13 reviews
  • 12 likes

Returned

published

Not happy with this vacuum at all. It feels cheap, if you have the other head sitting on the back where it's supposed to go the vacuum tips and worst of all the suction is poor. I had a 2400w vacuum before this from Kmart (broke after many years) and thought this would be an upgraded version of that. It's not. It doesn't pick everything up and the dust catcher on the handle diverts a lot of the power away. It's still not good if you take it off. Will be returning this.

Date PurchasedJan 2019
Margaret

MargaretPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Crap vac

published

Tips over but the worst part is it takes about 20 mins to empty it as the pet hair gets stuck in the circular bit of the drum...seals fall into to bin when trying to empty it...It was a waste of money but I guess you get what you pay for...

Date PurchasedAug 2018
peter b

peter bmelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Dead after 4 weeks

published

Used about 8 times over 4 weeks. Has now died. And of course like most people, have thrown out the receipt. It was ok when it worked. If it was still going you could say it was value for money but its isn't going so it is not value for money. Unfortunately it would appear that you have to keep every receipt for every purchase as quality is a thing of the past.

Date PurchasedAug 2018
daz

dazSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Not For the Pet Owner

published

crazy design of power head where the suction through a turbine provides power to turn power head eg all dirty air goes through turbine.. pet hair just wraps around shaft and it blocks. not easy to remove having to unscrew case of power head held together with small screws .
the main filter does not handle the pet hair well it goes through to small filter wraps around that and blocks.
best avoid if you have pets
I use mine now to clean car it does have the suction of expensive vac in a cheap fragile package
Best not for every day use

Date PurchasedMay 2018
1 comment
daz
daz

stopped working January 2019 would not buy again lasted 8 months with little use

John begood

John begoodNewcastle

  • 8 reviews
  • 13 likes

Snap, clunk ! F$#k what's that burning smell

published

What a horrendous appliance. 2 minutes into a test run the small plastic collection container on handle snapped off. And I was not putting much pressure on it. What a pathetic cheap design. The power cord is very short. So an extension cable is a must. The dust collector is flimsy and the locking mechanism s are pathetic. When you run it it's letting off a weird burnt egg plastic smell. So one day into owning it I am heading back to Kmart for a refund. This is the problem with Kmart they mass produce these products when they must know 3/4 of it will end up in land fill within less than a year. Avoid this vacuum like a 3pm sushi dinner box on sale.

Date PurchasedJul 2018
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Kmart 2400W Bagless compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
WithaZ

WithaZCanberra

Cheap garbage

published

Had it a couple of months and returned it today for refund.
Broke the wand filter and had it taped in the first week as it was very flimsy. Broke it more last week and taped it some more which didn’t hold.
Had plenty of suction at first but no matter how much the chambers and filter were cleaned, it was slowly getting weaker.
Filter/collector body falls off the base when picked up by the handle.
Started to overheat and shut down after 5-10 minutes so that was the last straw.
Kmart gets the star for their great return policy.
Bought a Dyson today. We all stood around holding each other crying tears of joy!

Date PurchasedMay 2018
unhappyblanco

unhappyblancoSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 22 reviews
  • 11 likes

I'd call it useless as opposed to bagless

published

I bought this as it had a heppa filter attachment and I thought great, no longer will items get mistakenly sucked up into the filter. Wrong. What I didn't bank on is the silly cylindrical filter is loosely attached to the handle so it keeps coming off while trying to vacuum which means just as you get in the swing of it the think keeps working itself lose. In the end it's easier to just pull it off and do without, which defeats the objective. This means we're back to making sure nothing gets sucked up by mistake. Love the look of it, love that it's neat and small but hate the silly cylinder attached to the handle which keeps falling off. Another op shop item....

Date PurchasedJan 2018
  • Verified purchase

I returned TWO on one weekend!

published

I bought this one based on all the good reviews here. Purchased the first one on Saturday, unpacked it, used it and the add-on filter on the handle broke off within two minutes. Returned it next morning and decided I'll try again... Used the new one for about 5 min and all of a sudden the motor broke and the entire housed smelled like burned plastic. Returned it and got my money back but they didn't offer anything for the inconvenience coming in 3 times Never again.

Date PurchasedMay 2018

Horrible!

published

The 2400 watt bagless vacuum from has good suction but within the first month of use the handle snapped and now we cannot use it. It's really fragile and I do not recommend purchasing the vacuum. Another thing is that it kept on getting clogged and suddenly there's a loud hissing sound.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Karen

KarenFrankston

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Don't listen to the hype

published

If you have no pets, carpet or people with hair longer than 5cm - go for it! Any of those things and forget it. The tiny dust catcher on the handle gets pet fur and hair tangled up inside the cap so you will need to empty it after each room, a process that will involve tweezers each time. The suction is moderate on floorboards and non existent on rugs. You'll go over the same spot 20 times before giving up and using your hands. A sticky roller would work better than this vacuum. Finally the handle constantly falls off so you will need to secure it with duct tape. I have used it twice and fully regret my purchase.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Page 1 of 2
See all Kmart 2400W Bagless reviews

Questions & Answers

Marika S.

Marika S.asked

Not familiar with dust interceptor can you let me know what to do with it or forward a link to user manual please

No answers
Neil K.

Neil K.asked

the roller on the head has stopped spinning i pulled it apart and now it won t go i think ive put it back togther wrong

1 answer
Jennifer
Jennifer

Try pulling it apart again and fitting the parts back in. It can be as simple as a plastic holder put back in the wrong way. Also while its apart just check there is nothing stopping the belt from rotating. If this doesn't work, it can be easy to buy another head or one of a different model and an adjuster, but for this machine I wouldn't bother wasting the money.

John

Johnasked

Where can i get exhast filter and panel from please for 2000 watt home and co bagless kmart vacume

1 answer
Jennifer
Jennifer

I found these people very helpful, but don't know that it's worth spending any further money on this machine. https://hegroup.com.au/search?type=product&q=anko

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryBarrel Vacuum Cleaners
Price (RRP) A$95.00
Bin Capacity3.5 L
HEPA FilterYes
Weight4.56 kg
Attachments Plastic floor brush, 2 in 1 crevice nozzle, bristle brush, small turbo brush and pet brush
TypeBagless
Cord Length5 m
Power2,400 W
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)
ManualDownload manual

Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 9341106296050
  • MPN: SL163E

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.