??!
3 photos
Koala Mattress Double

Koala Mattress Double

4.7 from 326 reviews

Mattresses Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of mattress would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

4.7

326 reviews
5
(281)
4
(22)
3
(3)
2
(9)
1
(11)
Previous
Next
gary

gary South-Eastern Region, NSW

Fantastic

published

We love our mattress fantastic sleep all night no problems don't want to get up it's amazing. We have told lots of people to lay on it and you be amazed cheers Koala love it.

Purchased in April 2020 for A$900.00.

Value for Money
Sleeping PositionBack and Front
Adjustment PeriodDays
Pre-existing Neck / Back Issues No
Caused Discomfort No
Heat Retention Yes
Sagging No
Perceived Firmness Medium
See all answers
Sharon

Sharon

  • 2 reviews

MOST COMFY BED EVER!

published

This mattress manages to be both supportive but moulds to all the right places leaving you with a great night sleep! The ease of delivery and speed even to a country area was amazing! Love the bed and the company thank you!

Purchased in July 2020 for A$890.00.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Sleeping PositionSide
Adjustment PeriodDays
Pre-existing Neck / Back Issues Yes
Caused Discomfort No
Heat Retention No
Sagging No
Perceived Firmness Medium
See all answers

Now I get a good night’s sleep

published

The mattress was easy to unpack and install. It is nice and firm and very comfortable. Neither of us wakes now with painful shoulders or hips. We are sleeping very well. A good buy!

Purchased in May 2020.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Sleeping PositionSide
Adjustment PeriodDays
Pre-existing Neck / Back Issues Yes
Caused Discomfort No
Sagging No
See all answers
Mattresses

Find out how Koala Mattress Double compares to other Mattresses

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lyn from Hallam

Lyn from HallamVictoria

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

best mattress ever

published

I bought my Koala mattress in January 2018 and I am still loving it.
As soon as I tried it I was impressed and it’s been extremely comfortable from the start.
I feel like I am floating, it is soft and so comfortable, but firm enough to keep its shape. I sleep very comfortably every night. Even my 7year old grandson slept in it and the first thing he said in the morning was how comfortable my bed was.
It is still as firm and comfortable as the day I bought it. I love it!
Customer service is the best too, and delivery within a few hours was great.
Buy it - you will love it

Purchased in January 2018.

Customer Service
Caused Discomfort No
Heat Retention No
Sagging No
See all answers
Carol

CarolSouth East Queensland, QLD

My koala mattress in a box

published

I’ve had my koala mattress for a couple of weeks. It’s firm without being hard. I have had neck problems that I’ve spent hundreds of dollars on buying new pillows without relief but this new mattress has made a huge difference. I highly recommend it.

Purchased in June 2020 at Koala Online Store for A$800.00.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Sleeping PositionSide
Adjustment PeriodDays
Pre-existing Neck / Back Issues Yes
Caused Discomfort No
Heat Retention No
Sagging No
Perceived Firmness Medium
See all answers
Phillip C.

Phillip C.Illawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Objectively good

published

Not too hard, not too soft. Keeps the warmth in during this winter. I believe it will be durable and will keep its shape and firmness for a long time.

Purchased in May 2020 at I bought it on line for A$890.00.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Sleeping PositionSide
Adjustment PeriodDays
Pre-existing Neck / Back Issues No
Caused Discomfort No
Heat Retention Yes
Sagging No
Perceived Firmness Medium
See all answers
Matt A.

Matt A.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Delivered wrong mattress

published

Wrong mattress delivered on Friday and I was left the weekend without it. Replacement came on Monday. Delivery was outside of specified window both times so they didn’t pick up the wrong mattress. Tried calling and emailing 4 times to get them to pick up wrong mattress with no response. Finally they responded and picked up.

As for quality, it’s a good mattress but nothing to write home about. Sleep hasn’t changed much from my old spring mattress. I think I expected it to have the comfort of a pillow top mattress, but it’s more like memory foam.

If you’re looking for a quick, convenient mattress (if they don’t stuff up your order), then it’s probably good. Otherwise, go to a mattress store and “sleep around” to find what you like.

Purchased in June 2020 for A$807.00.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Sleeping PositionBack, Front and Side
Adjustment PeriodDays
Pre-existing Neck / Back Issues No
Caused Discomfort No
Heat Retention No
Sagging No
Perceived Firmness Medium
See all answers
Danni

DanniSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

So good we bought a second one!

published

We bought the whole bedding package in King size (bed, mattress, linen, pillows) 1 yr ago. With a larger partner with restless legs and my lifetime back problems it was the best decision we made. Just recently bought a double for our spare bed as the King still looks and functions like new! Highly recommend

Purchased in June 2020 at Koala Online Store for A$800.00.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Sleeping PositionSide
Adjustment PeriodDays
Pre-existing Neck / Back Issues Yes
Caused Discomfort No
Heat Retention No
Sagging No
Perceived Firmness Medium
See all answers
Jesse

JesseSydney, NSW

Couldn't imagine a better mattress

published

Quality of sleep has improved - I wake up less during the night.
I no longer get dead arm from sleeping with my arm under my pillow
Mattress is durable - no sagging yet!

Purchased for A$800.00.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Sleeping PositionFront
Adjustment PeriodDays
Pre-existing Neck / Back Issues No
Caused Discomfort No
Sagging No
Perceived Firmness Soft
See all answers
Mattresses

Find out how Koala Mattress Double compares to other Mattresses

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Philip

PhilipSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 21 likes

Awful bed. After 12 months it deteriorated to a state which caused a poor sleep. No chance to claim under warranty.

published

Awful bed. Poor quality. After 12 months was awful. Avoid. Tried to talk to them but said 120 warranty period is over. We threw as into the street it was that bad.

Purchased in August 2018.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Sleeping PositionBack
Adjustment PeriodI never got used to it!
Pre-existing Neck / Back Issues No
Caused Discomfort Yes
Heat Retention No
Sagging Yes
Perceived Firmness Medium
See all answers
1 comment
Koala
KoalaKoala
Vikki M

Vikki MMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

I love my Koala Mattress

published

I was skeptical of a bed in a box, but after researching all options I decided to buy the Koala. Being boxed, I could unpack on my bedframe and took minutes without any struggle.
Having an old back injury, I get sore hips and back and tend to regularly turn over. I always choose firm mattresses and my koala feels firm yet soft at the same time, great support.
It took a few nights to adjust to it, but since then I absolutely love it, no more aches and pains and I sleep better than I have in years.
I have had it 6 months and it's like new. It surpassed the expectations I had, very happy with my purchase.

Purchased in November 2019 at Koala Online Store for A$800.00.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Sleeping PositionBack and Side
Adjustment PeriodDays
Pre-existing Neck / Back Issues Yes
Caused Discomfort No
Heat Retention Yes
Sagging No
Perceived Firmness Soft
See all answers
CGe

CGeGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Perfect mattress

published

Mattress perfect ..service and delivery was quick and a head of schedule ..our son purchased this mattress years ago and he is still impressed years on..it has helped with back problems as well

Purchased in March 2020.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Adjustment PeriodDays
1 comment
Koala
KoalaKoala
Amy J.

Amy J.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

3 year review

published

Bought this mattress due to the raving reviews in 2017 and it was great for the initial 6-8 months. After this point I noticed a dent and sagging in the middle where I would normally sleep and since then it’s only gotten worse (definitely not good for my back). Sharing the bed is a big no as both people will just roll into the middle. After reading the warranty policy it states that the depression in the mattress needs to be more than 2.5 cm, which I do believe mine exceeds. At this point I don’t think I’d even want to get a replacement from them because I know already it won’t last. Invest in your mattresses people!!!!!

Purchased in April 2017 for A$800.00.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Sleeping PositionBack and Side
Adjustment PeriodDays
Pre-existing Neck / Back Issues No
Caused Discomfort Yes
Heat Retention Yes
Sagging Yes
Perceived Firmness Soft
See all answers
1 comment
Koala
KoalaKoala
Gromit

GromitGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Wow just wow

published

Ordering: Simple and fast with numerous delivery options
Communication: Fast email and sms. Accurate tracking link when mattress was dispatched sent via sms
Delivery: WOW! from time of order to time of arrival to my door was 2 hours 20mins!
Comfort: unpacked and ready to go in seconds. Super comfortable

Purchased in April 2020 for A$800.00.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Sleeping PositionSide
Adjustment PeriodDays
Pre-existing Neck / Back Issues Yes
Caused Discomfort No
Heat Retention No
Sagging No
Perceived Firmness Hard
See all answers
1 comment
Koala
KoalaKoala
Carly F

Carly FIllawarra, NSW

Way too firm

published

Mattress is only a few months old and way to hard and is contributing to a huge amount of back pain for both my partner and I. Very difficult to get a good nights sleep.

Purchased in December 2019.

Adjustment PeriodI never got used to it!
Pre-existing Neck / Back Issues No
Caused Discomfort Yes
Perceived Firmness Very Hard
See all answers
1 comment
Koala
KoalaKoala
Mattresses

Find out how Koala Mattress Double compares to other Mattresses

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Rafael Levy E.

Rafael Levy E.Sydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Comfortable bed

published

Very comfortable bed. I like that you cannot feel any springs because it is made with 2 different type of foam. Delivery is very quick, I ordered in the morning and came in the afternoon.

Purchased in March 2020 for A$799.00.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Sleeping PositionBack
Adjustment PeriodDays
Pre-existing Neck / Back Issues No
Caused Discomfort No
Heat Retention No
Sagging No
Perceived Firmness Medium
See all answers
1 comment
Koala
KoalaKoala
Jamcan

Jamcan

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Where is it actually made?

published

The mattress was too firm . Koala responded quickly, the solution being a free topper . The bag says “Australian owned and made”, the label attached to the topper “Made in China”. Koala have chosen not to post my feedback on their website so here it is.

Purchased in January 2020 for A$850.00.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Sleeping PositionSide
Adjustment PeriodI never got used to it!
Pre-existing Neck / Back Issues Yes
Caused Discomfort No
Heat Retention Yes
Perceived Firmness Hard
See all answers
3 comments
Koala
Koala S.Koala

We are sorry to hear you have had this experience!
If you would like, you are more than welcome sending us an email at support@koala.com, and we can help clarify some things for you!

Koala
Koala S.Koala
Jamcan
Jamcan

About time Koala was more honest with their advertising then. And as for the fact you cherrypick reviews to post on your website I find this unethical. I would not have bought this product if the full facts were disclosed. Very, very disappointed.

cierely ann t.

cierely ann t.Southwest, VIC

Best sleep ever!

published

not too soft,not too hard.. just perfect! it was love at first sleep. It is very comfortable to sleep in, at first we were like well, there is 120 days trial so we’ll just see if we like it. But the first night we just slept like a baby.. Well this mattreds is for keeps! Never knew sweet dreams are made of these.

Purchased in January 2020 for A$800.00.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Sleeping PositionBack, Front and Side
Adjustment PeriodDays
Pre-existing Neck / Back Issues No
Caused Discomfort No
Heat Retention No
Sagging No
Perceived Firmness Medium
See all answers
1 comment
Koala
Koala S.Koala

Thanks for the great review :)

Getting used to it

published

Seems very comfortable however it's so different from what I'm used to that it may take a bit more time to adjust. Cant say about longevity - only had it 2 weeks.
The koala toy is cute but unnecessary land fill by the way.

Purchased in January 2020 for A$807.50.

Customer Service
Sleeping PositionSide
Pre-existing Neck / Back Issues No
Caused Discomfort No
Heat Retention No
Perceived Firmness Very Soft
See all answers
1 comment
Koala
Koala S.Koala

Glad to know you like it Lucia!

Extremely comfortable

published

Prior to this mattress,I suffered extreme back and leg pain,since obtaining this mattress the pain has dropped to a minimul level,and some nights to zero.My husband suffers with extreme arthritis and says mattress has made a difference.
Hope your company succeeds in this market

Purchased in January 2020 for A$850.00.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Sleeping PositionBack and Side
Adjustment PeriodDays
Pre-existing Neck / Back Issues Yes
Caused Discomfort No
Heat Retention No
Sagging No
Perceived Firmness Medium
See all answers
1 comment
Koala
Koala S.Koala

Thanks for the review and support Patricia. We hope the mattress provides comfortable nights for a while to come :)

Page 1 of 17
See all Koala Mattress reviews

Questions & Answers

Andrew W.

Andrew W.asked

Double

Is there a mattress protector that pairs well with a Koala Double Bed Mattress?

1 answer
Koala
KoalaKoala

G'day Andrew,

A breathable, waterproof mattress protector is a great option to protect your mattress. Look for a protector with a natural fibre content to ensure that it is breathable and keeps you cool. Tencel is a great option because it absorbs moisture efficiently and provides an unfavourable environment for bacterial growth for added protection.

Sweet dreams,
The Koala Dream Team.

Vera J

Vera Jasked

Double

Can we machine wash the mattress cover?

2 answers
Koala
KoalaKoala

Hi Vera,

We recommend that you spot clean your Koala cover for smaller spills. If you need to clean the whole mattress cover you can wash this on a warm wash, no higher than 40 degrees.

Sweet dreams,
Koala Dream team

Vera J
Vera J

Thank you so much for the reply, I have spot cleaned the stain and will wait for the wet area to dry thanks again

Get an answer from our members and Koala representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.