??!
2 photos
Kogan 2000W Black Glass Portable Electric Panel Heater KAHTP20BLKA

Kogan 2000W Black Glass Portable Electric Panel Heater KAHTP20BLKA

MPN: KAHTP20BLKA
2.6 from 25 reviews · View Statistics

Electric and Gas Heaters Buying Guide

With the chilly season just around the corner, a room heater can be just the thing to keep you cosy. Read on for more information on how to strike a match with the best heaters for your home space, lifestyle and budget.

Read now

Reviews

2.6

25 reviews
5
(4)
4
(3)
3
(6)
2
(2)
1
(10)
Previous
Next
Bharath

BharathGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

It doesn’t heat up above 22 degrees -Disappointing

published

Never crossed 22 degrees in spite of setting the temperature levels to 35 , this might work only for small rooms and not suitable for living rooms. Just think before you go for it.

Purchased in June 2020.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Heating Speed
Temperature Consistency
Room Type Living/Dining Area
Smell No
See all answers
1 comment
Kogan
RossKogan

Great heater but one problem

published

Great heater it warms up the whole room which is amazing. But it randomly stopped heating. We put the settings normally and now it won’t heat at all which is a disappointment

Purchased in May 2019 at Kogan.com.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Heating Speed
Temperature Consistency
Room Type Living/Dining Area and Small Bedroom
Smell No
See all answers

Simply does not heat anything

published

I didn't read reviews before I bought this and am so angry at myself. Doesn't heat more than 5cm away from the unit. Absolutely waste of electricity and money. A

Purchased in July 2020 at Kogan.com for A$100.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Heating Speed
Temperature Consistency
Room Type Living/Dining Area
Smell Yes
See all answers
1 comment
Kogan
RossKogan
Electric Heaters

Find out how Kogan 2000W Black Glass Portable Electric Panel Heater KAHTP20BLKA compares to other Electric Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Pete R.

Pete R.South East Queensland, QLD

Heats well

published

I don't understand all the negative reviews. I live in a one bedroom apartment, closed the bedroom door and turn on the heater at 24 degrees in the living room, after an hour I had to turn it off because the room was so hot. It's not the kind of heater where you sit in front of to keep warm. I leave mine against the wall and it heats up the whole room nicely.

Purchased in May 2020 at Kogan.com for A$100.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Heating Speed
Temperature Consistency
Room Type Living/Dining Area
Smell No
See all answers
Nancy

NancySydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Does not heat more than 2 cm away. Currently in dispute with Kogan

published

Purchased in June 2020 at Kogan.com for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Heating Speed
Temperature Consistency
Room Type Small Bedroom
Smell No
See all answers
1 comment
Kogan
RossKogan
dianne

dianneMelbourne

  • 10 reviews
  • 14 likes

Kogan 2000W Black Glass Portable Electric Panel Heater KAHTP20BLKA is a dud!

published

The heater is designed for temperatures of up to 50 but it never gets beyond 22 degrees no matter how cold it is. So it is using electricity and not performing! Do not invest in this 'heater' you can do much better

Purchased at Kogan.com for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Temperature Consistency
Room Type Living/Dining Area
Smell No
See all answers
1 comment
Kogan
RossKogan

Complete false advertising.. Good luck on the return!

published

woorrst experience of purchase.. the "heater" spent hour and half to heat up to 22 degrees and never goes up any more in the following 5 hours. I've followed instruction and tried everything, and now just found everyone having the same problem. It is a complete false ad on the kogan website, THIS IS NOT A HEATER BUT A BLOCK OF METAL JUNK. wish me luck returning process!

Purchased at Kogan.com for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Heating Speed
Temperature Consistency
See all answers
1 comment
Kogan
RossKogan
Johnno

JohnnoCanberra Central 2601, ACT

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Absolutely useless! More landfill - disgraceful in this day & age.

published

As many have said - the opening at the top sends hot air straight up, not at you or around the room. If you sat right in front of it you'd still be cold. The only way you'd get warm is to straddle the darn thing - how convenient!! Avoid like the plague.

Purchased in June 2018 at Harvey Norman for A$100.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Heating Speed
Temperature Consistency
Room Type Living/Dining Area
Smell No
See all answers
1 comment
Kogan
RossKogan
Ajay

AjaySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 10 reviews

Didn't meet my expectations

published

The heat come from the back of the product, which isn't a great help when wanting to sit it front of it and heat up fast. Sometimes the functions on the glass panel don't respond when first pressed. I personally don't believe the temperature goes up very high. I bought two of these and I hardly ever use them. Waste of money and a waste of space.

Purchased in October 2018 at Kogan.com for A$119.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Heating Speed
Temperature Consistency
Room Type Living/Dining Area
See all answers
Electric Heaters

Find out how Kogan 2000W Black Glass Portable Electric Panel Heater KAHTP20BLKA compares to other Electric Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Megan

MeganSydney Surrounds, NSW

This heater does not work

published

Doesn’t heat even a small area. There is no way this would heat a large area. How do I return this heater. I was sold this with false information on your site

Purchased in June 2019 for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Heating Speed
Temperature Consistency
Room Type Large Bedroom
Smell No
See all answers
1 comment
Kogan
RossKogan
Kurt H.

Kurt H.Perth, WA

Very dissatisfying

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Kogan.com for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Heating Speed
Temperature Consistency
Room Type Small Bedroom
Smell No
See all answers
1 comment
Kogan
RossKogan
markfoz

markfozSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Kogan glass panel heater

published

Firstly I need to say the instruction manual is really basic and you end up having to work it out yourself also the loud beeping when you need to set it at night could do with volume control however once you work out how to use it does a good job at heating med size areas don't know how efficient it is yet.

Purchased in May 2019 for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Heating Speed
Temperature Consistency
Room Type Living/Dining Area
Smell No
See all answers
Vatsala M.

Vatsala M.Sydney, NSW

Not Efficient, false advertising

published

The heater is useless, only heats up a little area. The heater is bulky and the instructions are not very clear as well.
The room temperature only goes up to 22 degrees.
Not advisable to buy

Purchased in June 2019 at Kogan.com for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Heating Speed
Temperature Consistency
Room Type Living/Dining Area, Small Bedroom and Whole House
Smell No
See all answers
1 comment
Kogan
RossKogan
Nathan

NathanSydney, NSW

Absolutely useless

published

Heater arrived today, have had it on for 5 hours at the hottest setting. Still has not taken any chill out of the room. Looks good, but a waste of money

Purchased in May 2019 for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Heating Speed
Temperature Consistency
Room Type Living/Dining Area
Smell No
See all answers
1 comment
Kogan
RossKogan
Zwe Khaing M.

Zwe Khaing M.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Doesn't work sometimes

published

Bought it in 2018 August. The good thing is you can use remote to control it, however, it doesn't work sometimes and shows an error message. Then, you need to wait a few minutes.

Purchased in August 2018 at Kogan.com for A$68.99.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Heating Speed
Temperature Consistency
Room Type Small Bedroom
Smell Yes
See all answers
1 comment
Kogan
RossKogan

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Electric Heaters

Find out how Kogan 2000W Black Glass Portable Electric Panel Heater KAHTP20BLKA compares to other Electric Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Unit R.

Unit R.Hunter Region, NSW

Rubbish

published

wont heat over 23 degrees left it on at 5am came home at 5pm house was still cold,main bed room is tiny wont even heat that room bathroom is maybe 5x5 cant even notice it is on,have thermo set at 50 makes no difference

Purchased in May 2019 at Kogan.com for A$100.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Heating Speed
Temperature Consistency
Room Type Small Bedroom
Smell Yes
See all answers
1 comment
Kogan
RossKogan
Coop

Coop

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Heats well and looks good, loud and bright though

published

Bought it for the Melbourne winter, it heats my bedroom well and looks great.
2 downsides though
1 - I don't need a nightlight, the display is always on and is very bright, it should not stay on after say 10 mins, or at least get more dim
2 - really loud, pushing any button on it is accompanied by a really loud beeping sound
Other that those two facts it is a great heater for $60
I hope the engineers see this and fix those two problems in future models, but yeah, be warned, loud and bright

Date PurchasedAug 2018
1 comment
Kogan
RossKogan
divasew

divasewmelbourne

  • 14 reviews
  • 10 likes

Doesn't Heat Up

published
Date PurchasedJul 2018
1 comment
Kogan
RossKogan

Hi,
Thank you for letting us know about your experience.
We are sorry to see that your product did not work as expected.
Please contact our Help Desk for technical assistance here: https://www.kogan.com/au/help/

iltby

iltby

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Looks good, does the job

published

I really like this heater because it's not garish or ugly, it kind of just blends into its surrounds. It heats a large-ish room really effectively, plus it has a bunch of different modes for energy efficiency, etc. My main complaint would be that it's quite heavy to move and the settings aren't entirely easy to understand.

Date PurchasedJun 2017
Etmar

EtmarSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 14 reviews
  • 19 likes

Worked better than I thought.

published

We are currently renting in a older, poorly insulated townhouse with temperatures getting as low as 8 degrees inside.

As this living situation is only temporary, we didn't want to spend too much on a heater as once our house is built we would have no use for it.

We decided to purchase this heater during one of the Kogan sales hoping that it would at least just take the edge of the cold but it actually worked much, much better than we could have imagined.

We have it set up in our lounge area which is quite large and open but this little heater certainly manages to battle the elements and keep us very cosy.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Page 1 of 2
See all Kogan Glass Portable Electric Panel Heaters reviews

Questions & Answers

Julie

Julieasked

KAHTP20BLKA (Black, 2000W)

What is the energy rating. Is it cost effective to run

3 answers
Daniel Ruben
Daniel Ruben

All electric heaters are equally efficient so they don't really have energy ratings. The whole idea of a heater is to maximize electrical resistance to generate heat (ie to be as "inefficient" as possible). This is not how most electrical products work. The cost depends on the wattage. A 2000W heater is as efficient as any other 2000W heater whether it's a fan, oil, convective or other kind of heater. 2000W means if your electricity tariff is eg 25c/kwh it will cost 50c an hour to run, whatever the type of heater. It will cost less obviously if you use it at a lower setting like 1000W.

Julie
Julie

Thanks Daniel. Was trying to research as some electrical devices use more power e.g. washers/dryers/fridges/freezers. Electricity bills are huge and the running costs per hour is important to know.

Daniel C.
Daniel C.

Worth noting that even though all 2000W heaters will cost the same, per hour, to run. Their actual 'practical' heat output can vary tremendously.

An oil/pannel/convective heater works by using electricity to heat the oil/heat-sink inside it, then turns the power off, allowing the residual heat energy in the oil/heat-sink to dissipate into the surrounding air, which rises, pulling cool air in. As the temperature of the oil/heat-sink decreases, the power turns back on to bring the temp back up. So they're generally thought of as 'efficient' because the power isn't actually running all the time. However, because they don't actually 'push' the air around actively, they can be pretty hopeless at warming rooms, depending on the size and how well-sealed the room is.

Whilst 'fan' heaters are generally thought of as real power-suckers because they have to run constantly to generate heat.
The fan itself actually uses very little energy (<50W generally ~1.25c per hour), so they can actually be a lot more effective at heating larger spaces and bringing a room's temperature up quickly.

This is where your style of usage comes into play (making some general assumptions for ease of calculation):

If you run an oil/panel heater all day (24hrs), it may actually only use power for half that time.
So, 12hrs @ 2000W (2kW) with an energy tariff of $0.25/kWh: 2 x 0.25 x 12 = $6/day (24hrs)
(Your tariff can be found on your power bill)

If you run a 2000W fan heater for a day:
2 x 0.25 x 24 = $12/day

However, if you use the fan-heater sparingly (or use its built-in thermostat) and only use it for short periods it can work out far more cost-effective, due to the fan's more effective air circulation.

Get an answer from our members and Kogan representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.