??!
8 photos
Kogan Glass Portable Electric Panel Heaters
2.5 from 32 reviews · View Statistics

Electric and Gas Heaters Buying Guide

With the chilly season just around the corner, a room heater can be just the thing to keep you cosy. Read on for more information on how to strike a match with the best heaters for your home space, lifestyle and budget.

Read now

Reviews

2.5

32 reviews
5
(5)
4
(4)
3
(7)
2
(2)
1
(14)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
spike0108

spike0108Sydney

  • 18 reviews
  • 12 likes

Look elsewhere for a heater

published
2 comments
Kogan
RossKogan
spike0108
spike0108
Unit R.

Unit R.Hunter Region, NSW

Rubbish

published

wont heat over 23 degrees left it on at 5am came home at 5pm house was still cold,main bed room is tiny wont even heat that room bathroom is maybe 5x5 cant even notice it is on,have thermo set at 50 makes no difference

Purchased in May 2019 at Kogan.com for A$100.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Heating Speed
Temperature Consistency
Room Type Small Bedroom
Smell Yes
See all answers
1 comment
Kogan
RossKogan
Coop

Coop

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Heats well and looks good, loud and bright though

published

Bought it for the Melbourne winter, it heats my bedroom well and looks great.
2 downsides though
1 - I don't need a nightlight, the display is always on and is very bright, it should not stay on after say 10 mins, or at least get more dim
2 - really loud, pushing any button on it is accompanied by a really loud beeping sound
Other that those two facts it is a great heater for $60
I hope the engineers see this and fix those two problems in future models, but yeah, be warned, loud and bright

Date PurchasedAug 2018
1 comment
Kogan
RossKogan
Electric Heaters

Find out how Kogan Glass Portable Electric Panel Heaters compares to other Electric Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
divasew

divasewmelbourne

  • 14 reviews
  • 10 likes

Doesn't Heat Up

published
Date PurchasedJul 2018
1 comment
Kogan
RossKogan

Hi,
Thank you for letting us know about your experience.
We are sorry to see that your product did not work as expected.
Please contact our Help Desk for technical assistance here: https://www.kogan.com/au/help/

Josh T

Josh TMelbourne

Useless heater that does not serve the purpose as advertised by Kogan

published
Date PurchasedJul 2018
1 comment
Kogan
RossKogan
iltby

iltby

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Looks good, does the job

published

I really like this heater because it's not garish or ugly, it kind of just blends into its surrounds. It heats a large-ish room really effectively, plus it has a bunch of different modes for energy efficiency, etc. My main complaint would be that it's quite heavy to move and the settings aren't entirely easy to understand.

Date PurchasedJun 2017
Etmar

EtmarSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 14 reviews
  • 19 likes

Worked better than I thought.

published

We are currently renting in a older, poorly insulated townhouse with temperatures getting as low as 8 degrees inside.

As this living situation is only temporary, we didn't want to spend too much on a heater as once our house is built we would have no use for it.

We decided to purchase this heater during one of the Kogan sales hoping that it would at least just take the edge of the cold but it actually worked much, much better than we could have imagined.

We have it set up in our lounge area which is quite large and open but this little heater certainly manages to battle the elements and keep us very cosy.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Kinevil

KinevilBrisbane

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great product

published

The heater has a remote control and works well. It is a very attractive unit and does not look out of place in an upmarket setting.
The remote allows you to set the timer and temperature control from your armchair!
It also comes complete with wall mounting brackets. The heat permeates from the top of the unit so the risk of an accidental burn is minimised. Overall I would recommend this product

Date PurchasedJun 2017
Lynn

LynnDoncaster

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Good

published

Easy setup and easy controls,very neat and nice looking,you can setup hours then sleep without thinking ,if it's can setup when can start again for morning will be excellent,I like the white one but why the white more expensive,don't understand this,anyway it's still good to have it on winter,so will buy another one soon for study.

Date PurchasedJun 2017
Electric Heaters

Find out how Kogan Glass Portable Electric Panel Heaters compares to other Electric Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
ChuCha

ChuChasydney

  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

First one came smashed, new one is intact

published

A large well priced heater for winter (using it in the bathroom). Shipping took forever as the first one arrived rattling and I didn't know why until opening it saw shards of glass. Looks sleek, but takes up quite a lot of space for the bathroom. Functions well. I did overpay as later saw it cheaper on Kogan ebay.

Date PurchasedJul 2017
dplongden08

dplongden08PERTH

  • 10 reviews
  • 3 likes

Nice looking

published

Instructions are hard to follow
Remote control is a great addition, you can change the temperature from your lounge chair.
Not ideal for large spaces as takes far too long to heat the area and the thermostat is placed at the back of the model where the heat comes out.

Date PurchasedJun 2017
John

JohnMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Works well - 1500W version

published

Bought this and it arrived fast. It was easy to set up and use - although the timer should probably be called a countdown timer. It looks pretty good too. It still smells a bit of plastic even after 2 days of use. Hopefully that goes away soon as I feel it's a bit nauseating...

Date PurchasedJun 2017
Page 2 of 2
See all Kogan Glass Portable Electric Panel Heaters reviews

Questions & Answers

Aussie2

Aussie2asked

KAHTP20WHTA (White, 2000W)

How do I gt a user manual for this heater

1 answer
dianne
dianne

Just google manual and product name. It didn't help me much

Julie

Julieasked

KAHTP20BLKA (Black, 2000W)

What is the energy rating. Is it cost effective to run

3 answers
Daniel Ruben
Daniel Ruben

All electric heaters are equally efficient so they don't really have energy ratings. The whole idea of a heater is to maximize electrical resistance to generate heat (ie to be as "inefficient" as possible). This is not how most electrical products work. The cost depends on the wattage. A 2000W heater is as efficient as any other 2000W heater whether it's a fan, oil, convective or other kind of heater. 2000W means if your electricity tariff is eg 25c/kwh it will cost 50c an hour to run, whatever the type of heater. It will cost less obviously if you use it at a lower setting like 1000W.

Julie
Julie

Thanks Daniel. Was trying to research as some electrical devices use more power e.g. washers/dryers/fridges/freezers. Electricity bills are huge and the running costs per hour is important to know.

Daniel C.
Daniel C.

Worth noting that even though all 2000W heaters will cost the same, per hour, to run. Their actual 'practical' heat output can vary tremendously.

An oil/pannel/convective heater works by using electricity to heat the oil/heat-sink inside it, then turns the power off, allowing the residual heat energy in the oil/heat-sink to dissipate into the surrounding air, which rises, pulling cool air in. As the temperature of the oil/heat-sink decreases, the power turns back on to bring the temp back up. So they're generally thought of as 'efficient' because the power isn't actually running all the time. However, because they don't actually 'push' the air around actively, they can be pretty hopeless at warming rooms, depending on the size and how well-sealed the room is.

Whilst 'fan' heaters are generally thought of as real power-suckers because they have to run constantly to generate heat.
The fan itself actually uses very little energy (<50W generally ~1.25c per hour), so they can actually be a lot more effective at heating larger spaces and bringing a room's temperature up quickly.

This is where your style of usage comes into play (making some general assumptions for ease of calculation):

If you run an oil/panel heater all day (24hrs), it may actually only use power for half that time.
So, 12hrs @ 2000W (2kW) with an energy tariff of $0.25/kWh: 2 x 0.25 x 12 = $6/day (24hrs)
(Your tariff can be found on your power bill)

If you run a 2000W fan heater for a day:
2 x 0.25 x 24 = $12/day

However, if you use the fan-heater sparingly (or use its built-in thermostat) and only use it for short periods it can work out far more cost-effective, due to the fan's more effective air circulation.

spike0108

spike0108asked

KAHTP15WHTA (White, 1500W)

Ross (from Kogan) thank you for responding. But what do you suggest? You have already sent me a replacement heater at no expense to me (which didn't work as it should) so do we keep banging away until one turns up that works.
The heater looks real flash Ross... but unfortunately they do not perform anywhere near as well as last seasons model. Most of the heat is transmitted out the back with the glass appearing to act as a heat deflector.
Can we work something out here. My wife refuses to turn on the heater because of the shocking smell. This is a real problem for Kogan. I understand the elements are always protected at time of manufacture but you need to test what they are using. What chemicals? They normally burn off after 1-2hrs use. Not this model.
Cheers
spike0108
Spike0108

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Kogan representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.