??!
3 photos
Kogan KAPORAIR10GA (2.9kW)

Kogan KAPORAIR10GA (2.9kW)

MPN: KAPORAIR10GA
3.3 from 23 reviews

Portable Air Conditioners Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of portable air conditioner would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

(5)
(9)
(2)
(1)
(6)
  • Build Quality
    2.0 (3)
  • Value for Money
    2.0 (4)
  • Ease of Use
    2.3 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.5 (2)
  • Room Type
    • Small Bedroom (4)
    • Small Office (1)
  • Noise Level
    1.7 (3)
  • Heating / Cooling Speed
    2.0 (3)
  • Portability
    2.3 (3)
Nataraj C.

Nataraj C.Sydney, NSW

Not an Aircondition.. waste

published

just purchased after seeing all the positive reviews(paid review?).worst experience ever and no more purchase from Kogan.com. using is as a cooler fan. noisey, cant cool a small room(12 sqm)

Purchased in January 2019 for $300.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Small Bedroom
See all answers
1 comment
Kogan
Ross x.Kogan
Eric

EricCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Don't buy

published

Purchased it 20.11.2019. This unit is a waste of time and money. Cooled a tiny 2.4 x 2.4 meter area by only three degrees - from 35 degrees C to 32 degrees C. Buy anything but this

Purchased in November 2019.

Value for Money
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Small Office
1 comment
Kogan
Ross x.Kogan
info4ugs

info4ugsWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 2 reviews

garbage

published

stays in dry mode only, actual air con doesnt work, is extremely noisey, would not recommmend this air con to anyone unless i hated them, find a better brand of air con

Purchased in February 2018 at eBay for $350.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Small Bedroom
See all answers
1 comment
Kogan
Ross x.Kogan
Portable Air Conditioners

Find out how Kogan KAPORAIR10GA (2.9kW) compares to other Portable Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Oaj S.

Oaj S.Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Works Well

published

During summer, its pretty much ON all the time. So it copes well with high demand and extended usage. I am decently satisfied with the performance. I keeps my room relatively good during extreme summer as long as it is ON all the time. It can be loud at times so It can be annoying at night. During winter I use it as a fan which works well too.

Purchased in February 2018 at Kogan.com for $299.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Small Bedroom
See all answers
Rach W

Rach WSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 21 reviews
  • 4 likes

Wish we'd bought one sooner

published

Purchased in November 2018 at Kogan.com.

Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Small Bedroom
Mike

MikeSydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 7 likes
  • Verified purchase

Best thing ever bought in summer

published

I was initially skeptical with buying portable air conditioner as I read previously they are very noisy but I found the Kogan portable air conditioner's noise to be not as loud as I heard. Good thing about this air conditioner is that it has an auto shut off timer. It is not bad for a medium room size.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Maxx1

Maxx1Kyneton

  • 4 reviews

Cools Well Bit Noisy

published

This Kogan air conditioner does a respectable job of cooling smallish spaces but is a bit on the noisy side. It worked great at cooling down the bedroom, so we gave it a go in the lounge room. That didn't really work - the space was too big. It was cool directly in front of it but it never got anywhere near bringing the whole room temperature down but it made a difference. In a smaller spaces, it works well. You need to stay near a window as you have to connect a pipe to pump the hot air outside. Overall it helped us but we couldn't use it while we were sleeping due to the noise.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Mitch23

Mitch23Melbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Good For Small Rooms But Noisy

published

This has been excellent all summer. We use it in the bedroom and it's done a sweet job of cooling us down on the hot days. You can tell it's getting to the limits of its abilities on 40c plus days though, so I wouldn't try using it in any larger rooms.
Quality of the machine and hoses seems fine. The remote is pretty basic but does the job.
There is one big issue with it - the noise factor. Its noisy! So know that if you are a light sleeper because this thing isn't quiet.
I am happy with this machine overall and think it is good for the price.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
1 comment
Kogan
Ross x.Kogan
Zkitson

ZkitsonSydney

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Cools one room, so it does it's job

published

I'm satisfied that it cools the room I sleep in. The unit is quite large but it does its job so that's all that matters.

The review of this product loses one star and that's for the noise it makes, I can put up with it but it is unnecessarily loud.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
Portable Air Conditioners

Find out how Kogan KAPORAIR10GA (2.9kW) compares to other Portable Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Roby

Roby

  • 7 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Light, Simple, Cheap, Works very Well

published

Small moveable air conditioner which could be fitted almost everywhere needed. The unit is very simple to setup & operate. design is very robust. It delivers cold air very fast. It come with remote control. A little bit noisy but for the low $300 price, can't complain really. It works really well for small to medium size room.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
R1ck

R1ckSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

As described

published

Happy with the cooling for my bedroom product as advertised not too noisy. The good thing about is that the tray hardly fills up. Has a function of a timer which is a good idea for the bedroom. Came with free shipping it took a while to receive by post which only down side.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
pubcrawla

pubcrawlawarilla

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Good for a portable air con

published

Good for a portable air con.
Pros can be move around easy, cools small and mid sizes room very well and computer rooms. l use it for cool down my mining . When it hit 40 outside then the 20 graphics cards in the room it was a life saver it got the room to 21.
Cons doesn't work in larger areas...

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Mckin

MckinMalvern

  • 7 reviews

Noisy but it works

published

The cooling is actually pretty good for a small size room, plus make sure all windows are close.
It can be pretty loud no matter what mode is in, there are 3 modes, DRY, COOL, and FAN.
It has a internal water storage, so it doens't have to constantly plug on to a draining system for the cooling system to run.
I tried doing it on cool mode for a day, and when the unit is cool enough, change it to fan mode, so the water storage won't fill up. I have gotten the unit for 3 months, and i haven't drain it yet. It might have dried by itself.
Unit is very easy to install. Basically plug and play, except for the hot air outlet, that one can be tricky, but once you know the right way, it can be easily done.

Date PurchasedOct 2017

Good for a tiny room. Struggles with Aussie heat on hot days.

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Lucy

LucyMelbourne

  • Verified purchase

Noisy and doesn’t cool the room

published

Extremely loud even on low setting. Doesn’t cool a small lounge room even with all other doors closed off. You have to sit in front of it to get the cold air. You would NOT be able to sleep with the noise. Window kit came with a screw that was too large so had to go to the hardware to get another. I would not recommend this product.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Portable Air Conditioners

Find out how Kogan KAPORAIR10GA (2.9kW) compares to other Portable Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Alfi1

Alfi1Melbourne

  • 4 reviews

The environment it is in dictates the performance.

published

This is a mighty little portable air con and for the price and size you can not go wrong. To add, Kogan also allows you to purchase a 5 year warranty also. So this just shows the quality of it is fantastic. However, the environment and set up is what matters most.
A small bedroom it works fine, adding as a second unit in a bigger room, also fine. But alone, the system will make very little difference. For the price I really recommend!

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Freight Train

published

Bought in October so prepared for the summer. Set it up last night & this morning. Test ran it....low noise is a misrepresentation in the sale spiel. It is so loud there is no way you could sleep with it on. To be honest you can't even sit in the room and do anything with the amount of noise it is generating. Mine also has a bad fan rattle going on in the back. And this is all on the first time run. So much for having a comfortable nights sleep... thought perhaps I could run it for a couple of hours before bedtime and cool the room, turn it of and stick with the ceiling fan. Room was cool but as soon as the unit turned off, just warms up again. Not sure what I'm supposed to do with it now...

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Sheila p

Sheila pAU

  • 4 reviews

Needed in Queensland

published

Great for bedroom, takes humidity away. Quite at night, easy to move around, easy to operate, remote great idea no need to get up to change mode. Can be used as fan only when you just need to move the air around. Easy to install as I am an older person.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
ann

annmelbourne

  • 17 reviews
  • 7 likes

does the job

published

As with a lot of Kogan products you get what you pay for. There are better air conditioners on the market at the same price. quite heavy to move and doesn't blow enough cool air unless you are right in front of it. I would not recommend this product to buy

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Stevo

StevoAU

  • 7 reviews
  • 9 likes

Two down and can't get parts.

published

Bought 2 of these units...one for home and one for an office at work that gets a fair bit of sun in the summer. Both worked O.K. for about 6 months then we had an issue with the home one where it wouldn't cool and then it gave up the ghost altogether. My son (an electrician) contacted Kogan who could not supply the part that had failed and basically the unit became a boat anchor. Lo and behold 2 months later the same thing happened to our work one. In summary if you want a small air conditioner to get you through one summer go your hardest but any longer than that and either you'll spend more than its worth to fix it or you'll be replacing it with something that will last. Stay away.

Date PurchasedSep 2015
1 comment
Kogan
Ross x.Kogan
Page 1 of 2
See all Kogan Portable Air Conditioner reviews

Questions & Answers

Hassan A.

Hassan A.asked

Can someone please explain why this piece of crap is shutting down and displaying FL on the panel. I have tried to drain the water from the back but there is literally NOTHING in there. Really not happy as the the unit is less than two month old.

1 answer
Dutchie00
Dutchie00

Crap its not,If you read the instructions FL Means your tank is full.

Syed

Syedasked

My air con was leaking water which I fixed after cleaning the filter, however now it’s making lot of noise... fountain like noise

No answers
Syed

Syedasked

My air con was leaking water which has been fixed after I cleaned the filters however it’s making lot of noise like a fountain now

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Kogan representatives

Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.