??!
Kogan KAPORAIR12GA (3.5kW)

Kogan KAPORAIR12GA (3.5kW)

MPN: KAPORAIR12GA
3.3 from 43 reviews

Portable Air Conditioner Buying Guide

In the sweltering summer months, a portable air conditioner is a nifty way to stay cool. With the array of choices, finding the best portable air conditioner can be complex. You may have wanted a small, cheap portable AC but just discovered the term ‘reverse cycle.’ Or what if you can’t decide between a Delonghi or a Dimplex? This portable air conditioners buying guide is here to help you meet your AC match so you can spend a cool time together.

Read now

Reviews

3.3

43 reviews
5
(7)
4
(16)
3
(7)
2
(7)
1
(6)
  • Build Quality
    4.0 (2)
  • Value for Money
    3.5 (2)
  • Ease of Use
    5.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (2)
  • Room Type
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (2)
  • Heating / Cooling Speed
    3.5 (2)
  • Portability
    4.5 (2)
Previous
Next
rap attack

rap attackSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Not as good as i thought

published

The cooling and dehumidifying on this works rather well but the heating not so much. I run at a very low body temperature and never owned an aircon before. I can see why the person sold it as their place is bigger than mine. My place is small but no way to close off the long hallway to the bedroom so i can get better heat. A metre from the aircon its cold as outside so i have to sit right next to it or put a blanket on myself on the couch

Purchased in April 2018 at eBay for A$150.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Not sure
Room Type Living/Dining Area
See all answers
2 comments
Kogan
RossKogan
rap attack
rap attack
Nicole Watson

Nicole WatsonBrisbane

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Works well in a smaller room.

published

This was able to work quite well for heating and cooling in a smaller, closed room. As you would expect, in a larger room it struggles and we have ended up using just a normal fan or heater when needed. The other issues we had is that it seems to fill up very quickly and found ourselves having to empty the tank 1-2 times a day.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
britt

brittmelbourne

  • 6 reviews

great little aircon

published

This unit has really surprised me, it can easily cool down a bedroom within about 30mins and is very quiet so you can sleep with it on at night, especially in summer.
This unit is easily moved around the house where and when required. I am very satisfied with this purchase.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Portable Air Conditioners

Find out how Kogan KAPORAIR12GA (3.5kW) compares to other Portable Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

I was expecting something noise, but this is ridiculous. The tiny water reservoir fills several time

published

While this unit does heat, and cool reasonably well, the noise level is insane.
I understand these are noisy, but Its impossible to consider this for residential use. I cad hear the pump through my noise cancelling headphones.
The water reservoir fills up every 2 hours, and the machine stops working until you empty it.
Consider other options!

Date PurchasedJun 2018
Sparky78

Sparky78Victoria, 3121

  • 4 reviews

Adequate Not Amazing - Its OK

published

I got this on sale from Dick smith (Kogan) for $279.
It is quite efficient as it only draws 1000w on full but it is the less powerful 12000BTU model.
Two points:
1/ Cooling power is limited. It will be OK for a small bedroom or study but after that it struggles to keep up with the compressor running all the time. This would limits its lifespan
2/ Its very noisy. It is a struggle to hear TV with this running
Its adequage, not amazing,

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Richard

Richard

  • 2 reviews

Perfect aircon for our bedroom!

published

Purchased the 12,000 btu portable aircon. It has been magnificent. Our room was reaching from 27 to 30+ on really hot days because we face the sun. Have been using for the last few days and it cools our room down so easily. Really easy setup, noise is tolerable. We have a newborn and setting temperature to 22 degrees is amazing. Really happy with the product and fast delivery too! Thanks Kogan.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
shou

shouChambers Flat, Queensland

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Does a satisfactory job

published

We have the 12,000BTU version of this. We got this after reading good reviews of the Kogan-branded portable air cons on Choice. Have had it for 2 summers now and it is still going strong.

It has been used in the room for our newborn, which is about 9m2. On a hot day we may need to turn it on an hour prior to going into the room. The compressor can make some noise, but the child sleeps through it, probably because its always been there. The air-flow swing blades make a creaking sound when it swings, so we don't use that function. The temperature sensor seems to be a degree lower to our other thermometer in the room, but that is not a problem for us.

For $370 it is decent value for money.

Date PurchasedNov 2016
Lawrence L

Lawrence LSydney

  • 4 reviews

Keeps me cool for the summer and the price is fair

published

So far I am relatively satisfied with this unit, the performance has been average, it's nothing special as it won't cool a whole house cool. However, it keeps my room cool enough for the summer. The unit isn't extremely portable as it's very heavy, but for a portable AC, it's understandable. Installation was a breeze as it was simply a plug in and put the tube out install. The unit is very loud compared to my wall AC unit, it blasts the whole room with air.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
John

John

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good enough for renting

published

Easy to set up and works great in the hot summer days. Electrical tape was essential to get a seal when installing the exhaust pipe to the window, however it doesn't damage the rental property and you can easily pack it away when not using it. It very rarely needs to be emptied as it reuses the water for cooling. The heat setting seems to need more drainage so we haven't used that much. It's great at dehumidifying the air, and works on a reasonlly big area but keep all the blinds and windows shut and seal off any drafts for best results.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Portable Air Conditioners

Find out how Kogan KAPORAIR12GA (3.5kW) compares to other Portable Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Alfo

Alfo

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

It does the job!

published

I got this for my grandparents and I must say it is a very good unit. However, it's biggest let down is the way the air vent is made. It only has a air flow that goes up and down, instead of left and right (as in the swing function). Even though it is still okay, it does not allow for equal distribution of air flow around the room. This forces you to also have a fan running to make the air circulate a bit better in the room.

Despite this, it may work for some, depending how big the room is, and I think it works better in a smaller bedroom then a living area, despite what it advertises. The unit is definitely slim, and that makes it much more better to toher larger ones.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
JT

JTMelbourne

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Cooling and White Noise All In One

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017

Looks good so far

published

Kogan's 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner so far seems good. I haven't been able to test it on a very hot day yet, but it set up fine in my rental with the included window kit. It's somewhat loud, but in a white noise kind of way which isn't too much of a bother.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Dar

Darsydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Works well for the price

published

It is a bit noisy when operating but does work quite well
We used it on a 46 degree day and while it struggled a little it made a worthwhile difference
The heat cycle also worked well in winter.
The exhaust hose is far too short which limits where you can position the unit
This unit has a definite price advantage over most other brands which compensated for its minor shortcomings .
Would definitely recommend.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Kiwai T

Kiwai TAU

  • 4 reviews

The machine does the job, but noisy and too much power used.

published

I remember if I get the same BTU, Sharp costs only around 600-700W, but this machine is too power consuming with 1050W power consumption. Also the noise is unbelievable, from compressor itself to the swing mechanic. It's definitely cheap made but over priced. There are too much air leaks from the exhaust pipe it provided. I can found the exact same version called CHIMEI, a brand from Taiwan.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Steph

Steph

  • 2 reviews

Very Happy

published

Saved us during summer!!! we have a very open home so hard to cool the whole place down but it did cool down quite a large room. the only down side is it is a little noisy but on a 40 degree day it seems like s such a small problem....

Date PurchasedJan 2016
Portable Air Conditioners

Find out how Kogan KAPORAIR12GA (3.5kW) compares to other Portable Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Rach

Rach

  • 5 reviews

good product

published

quiet to run so u can sleep with it running
does small spaces really well
easy to use user friendly
its not the best on energy but it is good :)
very easy to install and quick
its good cause doesn't take up a lot of space so can just sit on corner
easy yo clean as well :)

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Leon D

Leon D

  • 4 reviews

Amazing value for money

published

This is a great value air conditioner. Can cool or heat up the room in a matter of minutes and is greatly affordable. Though it is a tad loud, it's noise is manageable. The unit performs all of your air conditioning needs at a fraction of the cost and instillation is very straightforward

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
greg1300

greg1300nsw, 2133

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Only had this 7mths and the swing function stopped working.

published

I purchased this unit November 2016, the cooling and heating work very well indeed too. Overall i do recommend this unit ....although they have put the price of it up to $749 +delivery where as i only paid $349 Delivered for mine in November 2016.Great value for a reverse cycle air conditioner.

Date PurchasedNov 2016
Fani

FaniFawkner

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good cooling for medium size bedroom

published

Apart from fitting in window was a hassle at start after that everything was ok. Cooling for medium size bedroom is excellent. Have remote control . Timer and other options are good. Noise is there but not that much. Easy to move around. I recommend for a medium size bedroom

Date PurchasedNov 2016
Supreet

SupreetMelbourne

  • 7 reviews

Rarely used, turned off with a bang while powering on!

published

We used this few times (8-9 times) during last 18 months as it was for a spare room. Used every time for cooling - worked alright except for being noisy.
This was the first time when I was turning it on in winters, and as soon as I plugged it in - it give a small bang and a bit of smell; and then would not turn on. Not sure if after 18 months Kogan would entertain me - even though unit was used less than 10 times; such a waste of money!

Date PurchasedSep 2015
Page 1 of 3
See all Kogan Portable Air Conditioner reviews

Questions & Answers

Michael B.

Michael B.asked

KAPORAIR12GA (3.5kW)

I have a KAPORAIR12GA unit.
When I have it on the "Heat Mode" should the drainage tank be filling and needing drainage?
[email removed]

1 answer
charchie
charchie

Yes this happens from time to time. The unit did come supplied with a tube which fits over the outlet so it can drain into a larger container.

Patrick

Patrickasked

KAPORAIR12GA (3.5kW)

My swing function stopped working after 8 months. Whats wrong? We have to do it manually.

1 answer
raycool000
raycool000

My unit came with broken air vents

My first processor!

My first processor!asked

KAPORAIR12GA (3.5kW)

Is the power supply from a normal 10 amp power point and what is the power consumption when compared to other common large appliances?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Kogan representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.