??!
2 photos
Kogan Portable Panel

Kogan Portable Panel

1000W, 2000W and 1500W
2.8 from 25 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
3
4 star
7
3 star
4
2 star
3
1 star
8

Rubbish. Don’t waste your money or time.

published

The instructions say to screw the wheel sections to the bottom of the heater. Small plastic clips are provided, with screws. But they actually go no where. The legs semi clip on, and at a guess I’d say the clip is supposed to secure it once that’s done. They don’t. I got someone else to come and have a look, in case I was missing something. There are no pictures in the instructions, so I googled it in case I was missing something. Mine also came with a big dent in the bottom.. almost a crease.

Date PurchasedMay 2018

Jeremy

JeremyAU

  • 11 reviews
  • 10 likes

Effective Heater. Fit for Purpose.

published

Whilst this heater isn't the most efficient heater due to the way the thermostat works, it does heat up a small to medium room pretty effectively. It would be good if the timer was a bit more simple but nevertheless for the cost of the heater is does a reasonable job.

Date PurchasedSep 2013
Curt

CurtVIC, 3044

  • 32 reviews
  • 16 likes

Sucks a lot of power but heats a room quickly

published

I bought this solely for those really cold mornings. I didn't want to run the whole houses heating for just one room. This works a treat. The feet fall off it really easily, but a touch of super glue fixed it. I am really happy with this purchase. Highly recommended

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Good buy

published

I am very happy I purchased it. Though I only have used it for a night but it seems to work well. Wheels are bad but the built is of good quality but quite heavy. It heats up. No problem with it especially that I don't have kids around. :)

Date PurchasedSep 2017
1 comment
Kogan
Ross x.Kogan

Thanks for the review Luigie. We hope you enjoy your new panel heater. We look forward to shipping to you in the future.


del

delMelbourne

  • 11 reviews
  • 3 likes

1 / 2 Working.

published

I bought 2 of these heaters.
Build quality isn't great. The LCD panels are wonky and hard to read.
One heater didn't come with enough screws to screw on the castors.

One heater sparked and make a bad smell after 1.5 years, so we had to throw it away.
The other one is still going.. The one that works makes enough heat to warm a small room.
If I was going to buy another heater I'd spend a bit more and get a better brand.

Date PurchasedJun 2015

Kenneth

KennethPerth

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Protect against winter!

published

A fairly reliable heater in keeping you and your family warm during the cold winter months. It takes a while (anywhere from 10 to 20 minutes) for the heat to come through. Highly recommend placing the heater away from yourself if you intend to leave it switched on throughout the night, as it helps reduce the dryness in the atmosphere.

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Mark

MarkSydney

  • 3 reviews

Not as functional as I'd like.

published

This is a tad too heavy for me, and it does not function as well as I'd expect, the heat doesn't come through as much as I'd like. I think for the amount you're paying, that the value is not as great as I'd expect. I would recommend a standard Kmart heater (small size) over this, but maybe my expectations are too high for a portable panel.

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Elena

ElenaMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

this isperfect

published

It's perfect that can warm the room in short time invalid winter. However, it is a little bit dry in the room, especially when sitting close to the heater. That would be better to keep that away from you and spray some water in the room. Generally it's perfect heater.

Date PurchasedJun 2017
Mich

MichNewcastle

  • 6 reviews

Good, cheap heater for occasional use

published

The heater is cheap enough to justify buying one if there are only a few days a year that you need to use it. However, the electricity costs with these types of heaters are too high if using frequently. Also, the heater only takes a short amount of time to heat up but doesn't heat a large area. At most, you would be using it for rooms about the size of a bathroom.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Jenn

JennAustralia

  • 13 reviews

Basic Heater

published

The heating system is alright. It's not amazing, it simply fulfills its purpose. Its portability is probably one of its better features. Without this heater, the house would require ducted air conditioning which is incredibly costly and ineffective. So portable heaters are a good choice - whether you would purchase this one in particular... given the price point, yes, good for short-term use. Not so much in the long run.

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Helen

HelenMelbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Don't waste your money

published

Very disappointed with heater. Ran heater for nearly 2 hours & didn't warm room up. It was only a small room. Won't recommend wasting your money.Instructions are very basic & the wheels kept coming off. Instructions say to use screw but couldn't find home on heater for the screw to be mounted.

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Mechanist1

Mechanist1Kew

  • 15 reviews
  • 12 likes

Not the best but does the Job

published

Heating is pretty good.

Timer is pretty basic but does the job.

The pegs that hold the wheels attached to the heater fall off so make sure you use the screws to keep them in place.

Have a more expansive brand heater and dont really notice much difference between the 2. In fact I prefer the timer on this as its easier to set. the other is digital and takes some playing around with

Date PurchasedJun 2016

BrianWark

BrianWarkAU

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

The BEST heater I've ever had

published

Having used a Simplex oil heater for some years I had become totally displeased with both the quality of hot air generated by it and the high cost of running it. I went online looking for something better and decided on the Kogan heater for its price, size, output and appearance. With two heat settings and thermostat control, you're never too hot too cold. Just choose your ideal temperature and the unit will do the rest! For warmth that moves around the house with you, the unit can be easily rolled. Alternatively, you can mount it to the wall in one room, for neat, space-saving use. I've since purchased another one exactly the same.

Date PurchasedApr 2015

Judy

Judy

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Don't touch them

published

Bought one last year. First one didn't work at all. It refused to be programmed so I never got to the stage of using the heater. I returned it and Kogan provided what I thought would be a new one. But the underside was dented and the Castors wouldn't go on. The display panel is scratched. When I switched it on I had the display you would expect but it is completely unresponsive. Now it's locked and I still haven't managed to turn the heat on. I suspect they sent back the first one that never worked! Shame on you Kogan. Selling garbage like this will destroy your reputation.

No remort control & heater surface gets hot very badly so not good for kids

published

We bought this heater few months ago, bcos Kogan has good reputation in AUSTRALIA.
But its described it's having remote control facilities but it's not available.my younger kid is just one year & now it's very difficult to use on ground positions. they indicate wall mounted position but with out remote control it's impossible

1 comment
Kogan
Ross x.Kogan
Soundzilla

SoundzillaMildura

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Faulty heater / Warranty Claim

published

Faulty ! Unboxed this heater today. The support screws where missing from one side of the heater element. It was free from the chassis sitting dangerously on the bottom of the heater . Very disappointed.

Going through warranty claim now to get my money back. I will report back how well Kogan respond to this claim.


Heater Burnt out

published

I bought my heater a year ago and was happy with it until tonight when without any warning, made some weird noises and started spewing acrid smoke out of the top and into the living room... glad it was not in a bedroom! Will be calling Kogan tomorrow but don't think I'll be getting another one!

1 comment
Kogan
Ross x.Kogan

Doesn't Heat the Room but Panel gets super heat. risky product for home with kids.

published

Not a good product from kogan. Panel gets super heat, I got burnt while trying to change the direction of heater. Very slow in heating room. Kept it on for 2 hours and there is no difference in room temp even though thermostat was showing temp of room is increasing. A $14 fan heater from Target is much more effective than this.


Dennis Rutzou

Dennis RutzouSt Ives Chase

I bought a Kogan and so far it has worked flawlessly.

published

I wanted a small heater for a home office which is situated on the south side of the house, so cold in winter. I bought a Kogan, because we have bought two of their TVs before and we were happy with their performance. One reason for the choice was appearance as I thought the Sunbeam did not look as good. First impressions were positive as it was very easy to unpack and assemble and get operating. So far it has worked flawlessly but I haven't had my first electricity bill yet.


Matt

MattSydney

  • 2 reviews

Heater burnt out...

published

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

john g.

john g.asked

Portable Panel 1500W

Does The Kogan smart heater has a built in thermostat

No answers

Annette

Annetteasked

How to set temperature?

1 answer
Kogan
Ross x.Kogan

HI Annette,

It depends on the model.

Some of our panel heaters have a digital control where you set the temperature in degrees, while others have a more basic switch or knob which engages more of the heating elements.

If you can check the model number (on the box or on the sticker on the back of the product), we can advise. It will likely be a number beginning with KAHT.


Dennis Rutzou

Dennis Rutzouasked

Portable Panel 2000W

I have read the reviews and comments but nowhere do I see how much it costs to run. Is it a big energy user and if not how much does it cost to run? I live in Sydney..

2 answers
Lifestyle
Lifestyle

Hello Dennis,
I'm sorry but I can't tell you how much it costs to run.
I have not seen a noticeable increase in my power bills.
Perhaps the product specs can tell you how many kilowatts it draws per hour.

Matt
Matt

I'm not much help either, it powers up to 2000W so its no lightweight, but I have solar with feed-in tariffs so its hard to judge. That said, my estimate is $150 per month when I ran it pretty regularly last winter and it was a lot cheaper than my gas burning heater, which was costing me about $250+ per month


Get an answer from our members and Kogan representatives

Details

Kogan Portable Panel 2000W

Kogan Portable Panel 2000W

2.4
(17)
Kogan Portable Panel 1000W

Kogan Portable Panel 1000W

3.0
(2)
Kogan Portable Panel 1500W
  • Discontinued

Kogan Portable Panel 1500W

3.8
(6)
CategoryElectric HeatersElectric HeatersElectric Heaters
Price (RRP) $79.00$59.00$89.00
Heater TypeConvector & Panel, Portable and Wall-MountableConvector & Panel and PortableConvector & Panel, Portable and Wall-Mountable
Colour / Finish Black, WhiteBlack, White
Dimensions 262 x 540 x 942 mm439 x 576 x 81 mm525 x 228 x 700 mm
Weight7.9 kg4.6 kg8.37 kg
FeaturesThermostatThermostatThermostat and Timer
Additional FeaturesThermal Cut-Off and Tip Over ProtectionTip Over ProtectionTip Over Protection
Number of Heat Settings222
Power2,000 W1,000 W
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)1 year(s)1 year(s)
Release dateJul 2011Jul 2011Jul 2011

  • MPN: KAHTP20XXXA

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.