2 photos
Kogan Portable Panel

Kogan Portable Panel

2000W, 1500W, 1000W
2.7 from 26 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Electric Heaters in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Kogan

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    1.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    1.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (1)
  • Heating Speed1/5 (1)
  • Temperature Consistency
    1.0 (1)
  • Safety
    1.0 (1)
  • Smell Yes (0) · No (1)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Rafael
RafaelSydney, NSW

Throw away this heater as it burns

published

We had it on for 1 hour then it started too burn. My whole room was filled up with smoke. Do no buy this as it's dangerous as it will burn your house.

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in January 2016 at Kogan.com for $150.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Kogan
RossKogan

Rubbish. Don’t waste your money or time.

published

The instructions say to screw the wheel sections to the bottom of the heater. Small plastic clips are provided, with screws. But they actually go no where. The legs semi clip on, and at a guess I’d say the clip is supposed to secure it once that’s done. They don’t. I got someone else to come and have a look, in case I was missing something. There are no pictures in the instructions, so I googled it in case I was missing something. Mine also came with a big dent in the bottom.. almost a crease.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Jeremy
JeremyGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 20 reviews
  • 12 likes

Effective Heater. Fit for Purpose.

published

Whilst this heater isn't the most efficient heater due to the way the thermostat works, it does heat up a small to medium room pretty effectively. It would be good if the timer was a bit more simple but nevertheless for the cost of the heater is does a reasonable job.

Date PurchasedSept 2013
CDH
CDHGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 32 reviews
  • 16 likes

Sucks a lot of power but heats a room quickly

published

I bought this solely for those really cold mornings. I didn't want to run the whole houses heating for just one room. This works a treat. The feet fall off it really easily, but a touch of super glue fixed it. I am really happy with this purchase. Highly recommended

Date PurchasedJune 2017
Electric Heaters

Find out how Kogan Portable Panel compares to other Electric Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Good buy

published

I am very happy I purchased it. Though I only have used it for a night but it seems to work well. Wheels are bad but the built is of good quality but quite heavy. It heats up. No problem with it especially that I don't have kids around. :)

Date PurchasedSept 2017
Kogan
RossKogan

Thanks for the review Luigie. We hope you enjoy your new panel heater. We look forward to shipping to you in the future.

del
delMelbourne
  • 11 reviews
  • 3 likes

1 / 2 Working.

published

I bought 2 of these heaters.
Build quality isn't great. The LCD panels are wonky and hard to read.
One heater didn't come with enough screws to screw on the castors.

One heater sparked and make a bad smell after 1.5 years, so we had to throw it away.
The other one is still going.. The one that works makes enough heat to warm a small room.
If I was going to buy another heater I'd spend a bit more and get a better brand.

Date PurchasedJune 2015
Kenneth
KennethPerth
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Protect against winter!

published

A fairly reliable heater in keeping you and your family warm during the cold winter months. It takes a while (anywhere from 10 to 20 minutes) for the heat to come through. Highly recommend placing the heater away from yourself if you intend to leave it switched on throughout the night, as it helps reduce the dryness in the atmosphere.

Date PurchasedJune 2017

Related Articles

Previous
The top-rated kitchen appliances for 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-top-rated-kitchen-appliances-for-2020
Fridge and Dishwasher Awards for 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the top fridges and dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
fridge-and-dishwasher-awards-for-2020
Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
Mark
MarkSydney
  • 3 reviews

Not as functional as I'd like.

published

This is a tad too heavy for me, and it does not function as well as I'd expect, the heat doesn't come through as much as I'd like. I think for the amount you're paying, that the value is not as great as I'd expect. I would recommend a standard Kmart heater (small size) over this, but maybe my expectations are too high for a portable panel.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Elena
ElenaMelbourne
  • 4 reviews

this isperfect

published

It's perfect that can warm the room in short time invalid winter. However, it is a little bit dry in the room, especially when sitting close to the heater. That would be better to keep that away from you and spray some water in the room. Generally it's perfect heater.

Date PurchasedJune 2017
Electric Heaters

Find out how Kogan Portable Panel compares to other Electric Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mich
MichNewcastle
  • 6 reviews

Good, cheap heater for occasional use

published

The heater is cheap enough to justify buying one if there are only a few days a year that you need to use it. However, the electricity costs with these types of heaters are too high if using frequently. Also, the heater only takes a short amount of time to heat up but doesn't heat a large area. At most, you would be using it for rooms about the size of a bathroom.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Jenn
JennAustralia
  • 13 reviews

Basic Heater

published

The heating system is alright. It's not amazing, it simply fulfills its purpose. Its portability is probably one of its better features. Without this heater, the house would require ducted air conditioning which is incredibly costly and ineffective. So portable heaters are a good choice - whether you would purchase this one in particular... given the price point, yes, good for short-term use. Not so much in the long run.

Date PurchasedJune 2017
Helen
HelenMelbourne
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Don't waste your money

published

Very disappointed with heater. Ran heater for nearly 2 hours & didn't warm room up. It was only a small room. Won't recommend wasting your money.Instructions are very basic & the wheels kept coming off. Instructions say to use screw but couldn't find home on heater for the screw to be mounted.

Date PurchasedJune 2017
Electric Heaters

Find out how Kogan Portable Panel compares to other Electric Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mechanist1
Mechanist1Kew
  • 15 reviews
  • 13 likes

Not the best but does the Job

published

Heating is pretty good.

Timer is pretty basic but does the job.

The pegs that hold the wheels attached to the heater fall off so make sure you use the screws to keep them in place.

Have a more expansive brand heater and dont really notice much difference between the 2. In fact I prefer the timer on this as its easier to set. the other is digital and takes some playing around with

Date PurchasedJune 2016
BrianWark
BrianWarkAU
  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

The BEST heater I've ever had

published

Having used a Simplex oil heater for some years I had become totally displeased with both the quality of hot air generated by it and the high cost of running it. I went online looking for something better and decided on the Kogan heater for its price, size, output and appearance. With two heat settings and thermostat control, you're never too hot too cold. Just choose your ideal temperature and the unit will do the rest! For warmth that moves around the house with you, the unit can be easily rolled. Alternatively, you can mount it to the wall in one room, for neat, space-saving use. I've since purchased another one exactly the same.

Date PurchasedApr 2015
Judy
Judy
  • 4 reviews
  • 9 likes

Don't touch them

published

Bought one last year. First one didn't work at all. It refused to be programmed so I never got to the stage of using the heater. I returned it and Kogan provided what I thought would be a new one. But the underside was dented and the Castors wouldn't go on. The display panel is scratched. When I switched it on I had the display you would expect but it is completely unresponsive. Now it's locked and I still haven't managed to turn the heat on. I suspect they sent back the first one that never worked! Shame on you Kogan. Selling garbage like this will destroy your reputation.

Questions & Answers

john g.
john g.asked
Portable Panel 1500W

Does The Kogan smart heater has a built in thermostat

No answers
Annette
Annetteasked
Portable Panel

How to set temperature?

1 answer
Kogan
RossKogan

HI Annette,

It depends on the model.

Some of our panel heaters have a digital control where you set the temperature in degrees, while others have a more basic switch or knob which engages more of the heating elements.

If you can check the model number (on the box or on the sticker on the back of the product), we can advise. It will likely be a number beginning with KAHT.

Dennis Rutzou
Dennis Rutzouasked
Portable Panel 2000W

I have read the reviews and comments but nowhere do I see how much it costs to run. Is it a big energy user and if not how much does it cost to run? I live in Sydney..

2 answers
Lifestyle
Lifestyle

Hello Dennis,
I'm sorry but I can't tell you how much it costs to run.
I have not seen a noticeable increase in my power bills.
Perhaps the product specs can tell you how many kilowatts it draws per hour.

Matt
Matt

I'm not much help either, it powers up to 2000W so its no lightweight, but I have solar with feed-in tariffs so its hard to judge. That said, my estimate is $150 per month when I ran it pretty regularly last winter and it was a lot cheaper than my gas burning heater, which was costing me about $250+ per month

See all Kogan Portable Panel questions

Get an answer from our members and Kogan representatives

Kogan Portable Panel

Details

Compare all 3 Kogan Portable Panel
Kogan Portable Panel 1500W
  • Discontinued

Kogan Portable Panel 1500W

3.8
(6)
CategoryElectric HeatersElectric HeatersElectric Heaters
Price (RRP) $79.00$59.00$89.00
Heater TypeConvector & Panel, Portable and Wall-MountableConvector & Panel and PortableConvector & Panel, Portable and Wall-Mountable
Dimensions 262 x 540 x 942 mm439 x 576 x 81 mm525 x 228 x 700 mm
Weight7.9 kg4.6 kg8.37 kg
FeaturesThermostatThermostatThermostat and Timer
Additional FeaturesThermal Cut-Off and Tip Over ProtectionTip Over ProtectionTip Over Protection
Number of Heat Settings222
Power2,000 W1,000 W
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)1 year(s)1 year(s)
Colour / FinishBlack, WhiteBlack, White
Release dateJuly 2011July 2011July 2011
ManualDownload manualDownload manual
Compare all 3 Kogan Portable Panel
  • MPN: KAHTP20XXXA

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.