??!
1 photo
Laser BD3000

Laser BD3000

MPNs: BLU-BD3000 and BLUBD3000
3.2 from 36 reviews

Reviews

(10)
(10)
(4)
(2)
(10)
Mike E

Mike ETraralgon

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Product is unusable for Blu-Ray discs

published

Purchased in March 2019 at Harvey Norman for $98.00.

Very disappointed

published

Faulty remote have sent email after email .last reply was did i change batteries (honestly ) i just want a new remote .first time i have used this company not happy jan

Purchased in January 2020 for $39.00.

Harry

HarrySavage River Tasmania Australia

  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes

Let down by no slow advance operation.

published

This Laser BD3000 has some problems. The remote is small and difficult to operate. The on screen display is very hard to use. There is NO slow advance. In other players you can press pause and then hold the fast forward button down for a few seconds and the picture plays forward or back at half speed. This is very useful if you are reviewing a football match and want to see all the action in slow motion BUT this BD3000 player does NOT have this feature. The machine is of NO use to me and I have wasted my money by buying the thing.

Purchased in January 2020 at Kogan.com for $125.00.

1 comment
Harry
Harry

Update I payed 125.00 dollars for this Laser BD3000 and I have just found that our local Harvey-Norman has them for 95.00 dollars so it appears that with all the faults that this machine has the seller Kogan also ripped me off.

Blu-Ray & DVD Players

Find out how Laser BD3000 compares to other Blu-Ray & DVD Players

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Michael L

Michael LPeel, WA

  • 2 reviews

not bad for the price, remote lets it down

published

Bought for the multi region blu-ray and was very frustrated as my example did not do this out of the box. While a firmware update fixed this, i'm sure many out there would not think to try this and simply return it out of frustration. The remote seems very very picky about how its pointed at the unit, and the buttons feel pretty average. Playback however worked fine, with minimal vibration/noise from the unit except a small burst when initially starting. For the price, its not bad, but its most definitely a budget unit.

Purchased in December 2019 at Big W for $99.00.

Hugh M.

Hugh M.Central Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

No longer region free for blu ray

published

I bought this to play blu ray movies that are unavailable in Australia because of the number of sites that described it as region free for blu ray. This might have been true in the past but it is no longer. There is no blu-ray region option available in Settings as there once was. The machine works well otherwise but is not at all high end.

Purchased in November 2019 at Big W Online Store for $99.00.

Karl

KarlMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Laser blu ray player

published

excellent units, 2 friend have purchased & recommend, i purchased & found fantastic, true multi region player, small great price, 3-YEAR WARRANTY... wbat else has that.... the write ups about made-in-China... what isn't?? write ups about several units not working... like to know your real stories.... i now have a spare sitting in the box in a cupboard.... if there's any criticism, there's some vibration on blu ray playback occasionally & the start of discs... possibly as the units are so small & light & the play technology quite advanced... readily available, good value, highly recommended...

Purchased in March 2018 at The Good Guys for $99.00.

Kim Hopkins

Kim HopkinsPerth, WA

  • 23 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Perfect

published

I read a lot of negative reviews here, don't know why, I have 3 of the Laser BD3000, never had any issues except 1 time a disc would not eject, just turned the power off and on again and no issues that was 2 years ago.
I love the fact it is a true region free Blu-Ray player and will buy another one for my dad today

Purchased in January 2017 at Officeworks for $99.00.

MrsThrifty

MrsThriftySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 53 reviews
  • 4 likes

Excellent dvd/blu-ray/cd/media player at a very reasonable price.

published

Purchased in September 2017 at Big W Retail Stores for $69.00.

exitguyaus

exitguyausGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 6 reviews

Does what it says it's supposed to do

published

Bought Jun '17, Easy setup, Simple Menus, Been using since then without any issues.
Played all DVD / BD discs that have been viewed without problems, no undue noise, picture quality is VG.
Not a weighty unit by any means so would have to agree that it is probably made to a price, but what isn't these days.

Purchased in June 2017.

Blu-Ray & DVD Players

Find out how Laser BD3000 compares to other Blu-Ray & DVD Players

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Geoffrey Pye

Geoffrey PyeSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Cheap crap

published

Purchased in February 2019 at The Good Guys Physical store for $88.00.

Don't touch it.

published

It's cheap. It's rubbish. Door wont open second time I used it. Only thing going for it is that it's multi-region but not a lot of good if you can't use it. Better to push the boat out and buy a better brand. Most of these are made in China anyway.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Orvis

OrvisSydney

  • 20 reviews
  • 17 likes

Piece of Junk

published

Brand new unit broke down after a week and just a few DVD's. The problem? The unit would no longer power up.
It is supposed to have a Sony made optical pick-up, but allegedly the other components are no-name rubbish for it to fail so quickly. Not good enough Laser, this player is NOT of merchantable quality.

Date PurchasedSep 2018
Adam

AdamSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

disappointing

published

I bought two of these players because they are multi region,cheap and had good reviews.One of the players worked at first and then it didn't power on.It was brand new at the time but the power cord was very loose, took it back and swapped for another.With the second player after about 6 months the picture started shaking.When comparing image quality and colour to something even as old as a Playstation 3,which has noticeably clearer picture and much more vivid colour, the laser is considerably less sharp and the colour is much more washed out.Not worth it even if they are cheap.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
dave

daveadel

  • 25 reviews
  • 5 likes

Surprisingly very good

published

Laser Blu-Ray Player - Multi Region - BLU-BD3000
Got this from JB Hi-Fi they priced matched bigw price $69.00
Surprisingly very good
Overall a steel for what I paid. This is even better than all brand names it plays blue rays disk that the brand names reject. And best of all multi region I can now watch dvds from the UK and USA. I do think that all the other brands should do the same.

A friend of mine to one back to the uk and not for sale in the uk
The down side is some video formats will not play
And no apps for Netflix etc
Over all a great buy

Date PurchasedJul 2018

Vibrates too loud

published

The player vibrates louder then my TV on max, fair enough playing a Blu-ray but a DVD, shakes half my house. Plays just fine, shame to the picture is great but no point watching anything on it, all customers service lines I've searched for are unavailable, going in my bin.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Blu-Ray & DVD Players

Find out how Laser BD3000 compares to other Blu-Ray & DVD Players

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
chicane71

chicane71Melbourne

  • 7 reviews

Plays Multiregion / zone Blu-Ray and DVDs out of the box

published

Plays different zone Blu-Ray discs (have tested a couple of Zone A locked US Blu-Rays) with a simple change in the menu (General Settings -> Security Tab then select region A, B or C).
Of course, you may need to set it back to Zone B when required to watch AU / NZ / UK / EU etc discs as it isnt automatic i.e. like for DVDs
DVD regions don't need to be set as it appears to be automatic.
The user interface isn't as slick as other "name" brands like Pioneer, Samsung, etc. and doesnt have 3rd party apps like Netflix, but more than good enough for what it does.

Haven't tested the USB or DLNA functionality yet either so cant comment on file compatibility.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
Sir Dixie

Sir DixieSydney

  • 2 reviews

Pretty good quality multi-region Blu-ray and DVD player

published
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Samcoz05

Samcoz05Northern Region, NSW

  • 13 reviews

This laser Bluray DVD player is great

published

This Bluray DVD player is great and worth the price as it plays DVDs , cds and Bluray DVDs and great graffics but only thing wrong with it is the remote is a fair bit flimsy but other than that it is really good and I will recommend to anyone as it is great so I give it 5 stars

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Ted

TedMelbourne

  • 5 reviews

Good player marred by poor remote

published
Date PurchasedJan 2018

Perfect blueray player

published

I have been looking for one since my old lg blueray player died years ago & I couldn’t find another one . It works with my 5.1 sound system and zoom works perfectly, i hate borders on movies so far 10 out of 10 would recommend highly and plays all dvds

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Michael

Michaelasked

Hi, my remote seems to have lost the ability to show the length of the movie I’m watching when I press the left or right button. Can you please help me get it back. It was very useful.

3 answers
Harry
Harry

Sorry Michael but I have not had this problem and so I can not help.
Harry

Harry
Harry

Hi Michael. My Laser BD3000 was not a good machine and I have not used it at all. I bought another brand of DVD player and I am using that. I bought a Sony BDP-S1200. It is an older Blu-Ray Disk/DVD Player but even so it is much better than the BD3000. I have found that you really have to buy a good brand of player like Sony to get something decent in DVD players. I was ripped off with the BD3000 it is cheap Chinese junk.
Harry

Michael
Michael

Okay, thanks a lot for your help

SIVA K.

SIVA K.asked

My blu bd3000 player is broken, any suggestions android remote control app give any app link?

1 answer
Harry
Harry

Sorry but my Laser BD3000 has broken now as well. I bought a new Sony and I have had no trouble with that.

Adam T.

Adam T.asked

Can anyone help me with what are the best setting to have within the option things like Sharpness Colour etc. when playing Bluray its fine but I've noticed DVDs are not great quality. The picture is very pixelated or what ever you want to call it like on peoples faces. I don't know if its just the setting i have chosen

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Laser representatives

Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.