??!

Reviews

4.4

328 reviews
5
(192)
4
(99)
3
(20)
2
(5)
1
(12)
  • Build Quality
    4.0 (34)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (34)
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 (34)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (33)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (36)
  • Internal Layout
    4.2 (31)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

raybies

raybiesSydney

  • 12 reviews

OK, doesn't filter out smells

published

Fridge is OK, if a bit small in the fridge section, but the thing that really irks me is that it doesn't filter out smells like my previous cheap and really old fridge did.
So put some spagbol w/ garlic covered in it, and the next day the whole fridge smells of it. Why doesn't it have a deoderizer like my 10yo Samsung does?
Doesn't even have to be anything particularly smelly, the fridge seems to amplify all smells.

Purchased in April 2019 at The Good Guys for A$1,049.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 2 person(s)
See all answers
CatWoman

CatWomanSomewhere

  • 14 reviews

Best Fridge Ever

published

Thanks to the awesome service from Pakenham JB HiFI, this marvellous fridge was delivered to me the day I moved into my new home. Having never owned a new fridge in my life, I spent a lot of time researching my needs and when it came to choosing, this is the fridge I picked. I LOVE IT! Roomy, energy efficient, great looks...LOVE the LED internal lighting and the ice maker. Love the freezer on the bottom, it's so much more practical to this old woman. And JB gave me a simply great deal. Excellent customer service above and beyond, delivery was perfect, drivers friendly and helpful. The fridge is fabulous. And sooooooo quiet!

Purchased in February 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Jay

JayMelbourne

  • 12 reviews
  • 7 likes

Great fridge that looks fantastic too

published

The graphite version of this fridge is awesome. It doesnt really show up any marks or scratches and with kids this is awesome. Keeps things cool and the light in the fridge is very bright. Maybe a light in the freezer would be helpful.

Purchased in January 2019 for A$832.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 3 person(s)
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how LG GB-450 compares to other Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Great fridge well deisgned

published

Maintains consistent & reliable temperature in all departments
Like all platinum fridges shows finger marks
Door please to open and shut
The interior of the fridge feels vast compared with similar sized fridges
LED lighting system very good

Purchased in November 2018 at Appliances Direct Online for A$1,123.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 2 person(s)
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Ian Y.

Ian Y.Sydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Great buy for modern apartment

published

As we moved into a new apartment, there is not very wide place to put double door fridge so this beast become one of the best candidates. Why? Big inside!!! By comparing to other brands in the market at this size this is the biggest inside. The price also in the middle. Sometimes it may make some noticable noise but best side I would say it is perfert for apartment use.

Purchased in December 2018 at Harvey Norman for A$1,231.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 4 person(s)
See all answers
Arthur

ArthurVictoria

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Good fridge/freezer and good value

published

We bought this fridge to replace an old top mounted fridge. We were finding it hard to get at the bottom of the fridge so we went for a bottom mount. We opted for the LG because we liked the interior layout and the clean, straight facade.
A wise choice to go for the bottom mount because it has made getting things out of the fridge much easier.
The draws run smoothly and the draw at the bottom of the fridge keeps the vegies moist but not soggy.
It does what it designed to do very well and it does it quietly. Although it is early days yet, we are happy with our purchase.

Purchased in February 2019 at Appliances Online.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 2 person(s)
See all answers
Valmorph

ValmorphSydney

  • 29 reviews
  • 6 likes

Good fridge. Efficient, quiet.

published

Purchased in February 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for A$940.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
See all answers
Glenn Michael

Glenn Michael

  • 2 reviews

Top brand and reliable

published

Lg fridges are reliable and well designed. They suit Australian standards and condition. Easily cleaned and maintained. The finished product is first class
Maintains temperature set and recycles efficiently. Very happy with the product.

Purchased in June 2011 for A$1,400.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 5 person(s)
See all answers
Jenny W

Jenny W

  • 4 reviews

Spacious and energy saving

published

Bought this for my new house and it fits for purpose perfectly. There was no strange smell when I opened it, easy to clean and the ice maker box looks great. Not much noise as well.

Purchased in February 2019.

Noise Level
Internal Layout
Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how LG GB-450 compares to other Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kitty Kat

Kitty Kat

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

broken down after only purchasing 12 months ago

published

Fridge broken down in Summer after purchasing 1 year ago, 3 weeks after contacting LG we are still waiting for it to be fixed. We lost over $400 worth of food due to the heat and broken fridge and are now living out of a mini bar fridge. No word on when the parts will arrive and the fridge fixed.
Will not purchase nor recommend an LG brand appliance again after this.

Purchased in February 2018 at Appliances Online.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 4 person(s)
See all answers

Noisy, compressor runs 60-80% of the time

published

This fridge works well, however the compressor runs frequently and for long periods (often 40-60 minutes straight and never goes off for more than 15-20 minutes at a time). It has a high frequency hum that can be heard from almost every part of our home. I do not recommended this fridge, particularly if you are sensitive to noise or if you have an open plan living room.

Purchased in September 2018.

Noise Level
Shannon

ShannonSouth East Queensland, QLD

Mystery dents all over doors

published

We bought our fridge about two years ago and noticed a few dents on the doors last year. The dents are now all over the doors and freezer - from what I’ve read it’s an insulation material issue ?

Purchased in January 2017 for A$1,300.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
See all answers
James84

James84Adelaide

  • 6 reviews

Almost perfect

published

Great fridge with only a few minor complaints.

1. The freezer door sticks out more than the fridge door and look a bit odd.

2. The doors don't sit level.

3. Can make a higher pitched noise at times but it isn't very loud and doesn't last for very long.

Purchased in November 2018 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
See all answers
Karah .B

Karah .BSouthwest, VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Great product!

published

I am extremely happy with our new fridge! It is easily able to be adjusted and has easy to use settings for the thermostat. I find it fantastic to use and love the fact that the fridge is on top. It also has a built in ice tray.

Purchased in December 2018 at Harvey Norman for A$1,049.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 3 person(s)
See all answers
Twilly

TwillyGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

It’s so loud!

published

We have had this fridge for 8 months and it’s loud intermittent buzzing noises can be heard through our whole townhouse. We were used to popping and cracking noises that our old Fisher and Paykel bottom mount used to make but this is next level.

Just two days ago we finally broke and got a technician in from LG to see if something was wrong with the machine. We had tried earlier but our email was ingnored. The technician couldn’t find anything so we are stuck with it for as long as we can bare. Although Choice magazine rates LG fridges highly I certainly couldn’t recommend this one.

Purchased in July 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
See all answers
Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how LG GB-450 compares to other Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
MVM

MVMSydney, NSW

Good product till it stops working

published

Purchased in February 2018 at Harvey Norman for A$1,300.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 2 person(s)
See all answers
Alysia

AlysiaNewcastle

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Best fridge

published

This is a brilliant energy efficient fridge. It maintains consistent temperature at all times and throughout the whole fridge. The design is fantastic and the led side lights make it easy to find things. The retractractable shelf makes it easy to store taller items as well. Also with this summer heat trying to bring ice cream home the quick freeze button is fantastic to freeze things within minutes

Date PurchasedDec 2018
Chris

ChrisSydney

Completely broken within 2 years of purchasing brand new!!

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Faiq K

Faiq KAU

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love it

published

Recently got it. Absolutely love it. Looks great. Started cooling after 1 hour of being plugged in. Very quiet. Don't understand the fuss about water dispenser, it can be very easily pulled out, filled and placed back in. Pull out drawer is also very convenient. To top all that, it has a great energy rating. Great value for money. Highly recommend it.

GB-W450UPLX

Date PurchasedJan 2019
Nadia

NadiaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews

Great fridge!

published

Amazing size, a bit noisy the first few hours but (thank god) it was only until it's up to speed. Plenty of space inside, great design, reversible door. And got it under $700 with Harvey Norman boxing day sale! This model (dark graphite) somehow is much cheaper than the other Matte black, etc options, but exact same fridge and great color!

Purchased in December 2018 at Harvey Norman for A$743.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 3 person(s)
See all answers
Page 2 of 17
See all LG GB-450 reviews

Questions & Answers

David

Davidasked

GB-450UPL (Platinum)

LG representatives.....LG GB-455PL
I was told by the sales persons (2 actually) that I could reverse the doors my self. At looking at the fridge now that I have purchased it there is no way that I can see to reverse these doors without purchasing a kit. the existing hinges cannot be reversed . So is there a LG reversable hinge kit available?

1 answer
Crashloaded
Crashloaded

I have the 455 and it looks like I can just change the hinges to the other side without any need for a kit.

Stef T.

Stef T.asked

GB-450UPLE (Dark Graphite)

Is the Dark Graphite still stainless steel? All stainless steel rusts here close to the beach... I need non-stainless steel finish...

1 answer
Crashloaded
Crashloaded

No it's not stainless steel. It's a laminated finish so won't rust.

Glenda.

Glenda.asked

GB-450UWLX (White)

I would like to know if I can buy aftermarket door handles for my fridge.
I have redesigned my kitchen and would like to put handles on the fridge if possible. Regards Glenda

No answers

Get an answer from our members and LG representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.