??!

See the Best Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
191
4 star
96
3 star
19
2 star
3
1 star
11

Jenny W

Jenny W

  • 4 reviews

Spacious and energy saving

published

Bought this for my new house and it fits for purpose perfectly. There was no strange smell when I opened it, easy to clean and the ice maker box looks great. Not much noise as well.

Purchased in February 2019.

Noise Level
Internal Layout

Kitty Kat

Kitty Kat

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

broken down after only purchasing 12 months ago

published

Fridge broken down in Summer after purchasing 1 year ago, 3 weeks after contacting LG we are still waiting for it to be fixed. We lost over $400 worth of food due to the heat and broken fridge and are now living out of a mini bar fridge. No word on when the parts will arrive and the fridge fixed.
Will not purchase nor recommend an LG brand appliance again after this.

Purchased in February 2018 at Appliances Online.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Household Size 4 person(s)
See all answers

Noisy, compressor runs 60-80% of the time

published

This fridge works well, however the compressor runs frequently and for long periods (often 40-60 minutes straight and never goes off for more than 15-20 minutes at a time). It has a high frequency hum that can be heard from almost every part of our home. I do not recommended this fridge, particularly if you are sensitive to noise or if you have an open plan living room.

Purchased in September 2018.

Noise Level
Shannon

ShannonSouth East Queensland, QLD

Mystery dents all over doors

published

We bought our fridge about two years ago and noticed a few dents on the doors last year. The dents are now all over the doors and freezer - from what I’ve read it’s an insulation material issue ?

Purchased in January 2017 for $1,300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
See all answers

James84

James84Adelaide

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Almost perfect

published

Great fridge with only a few minor complaints.

1. The freezer door sticks out more than the fridge door and look a bit odd.

2. The doors don't sit level.

3. Can make a higher pitched noise at times but it isn't very loud and doesn't last for very long.

Purchased in November 2018 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
See all answers

Karah .B

Karah .BSouthwest, VIC

  • 5 reviews

Great product!

published

I am extremely happy with our new fridge! It is easily able to be adjusted and has easy to use settings for the thermostat. I find it fantastic to use and love the fact that the fridge is on top. It also has a built in ice tray.

Purchased in December 2018 at Harvey Norman for $1,049.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Household Size 3 person(s)
See all answers

Twilly

TwillyGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

It’s so loud!

published

We have had this fridge for 8 months and it’s loud intermittent buzzing noises can be heard through our whole townhouse. We were used to popping and cracking noises that our old Fisher and Paykel bottom mount used to make but this is next level.

Just two days ago we finally broke and got a technician in from LG to see if something was wrong with the machine. We had tried earlier but our email was ingnored. The technician couldn’t find anything so we are stuck with it for as long as we can bare. Although Choice magazine rates LG fridges highly I certainly couldn’t recommend this one.

Purchased in July 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
See all answers

MVM

MVMSydney, NSW

Good product till it stops working

published

Purchased in February 2018 at Harvey Norman for $1,300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Household Size 2 person(s)
See all answers
Alysia

AlysiaNewcastle

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Best fridge

published

This is a brilliant energy efficient fridge. It maintains consistent temperature at all times and throughout the whole fridge. The design is fantastic and the led side lights make it easy to find things. The retractractable shelf makes it easy to store taller items as well. Also with this summer heat trying to bring ice cream home the quick freeze button is fantastic to freeze things within minutes

Date PurchasedDec 2018
Chris

ChrisSydney

Completely broken within 2 years of purchasing brand new!!

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017

Faiq K

Faiq KAU

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love it

published

Recently got it. Absolutely love it. Looks great. Started cooling after 1 hour of being plugged in. Very quiet. Don't understand the fuss about water dispenser, it can be very easily pulled out, filled and placed back in. Pull out drawer is also very convenient. To top all that, it has a great energy rating. Great value for money. Highly recommend it.

GB-W450UPLX

Date PurchasedJan 2019

Nadia

NadiaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great fridge!

published

Amazing size, a bit noisy the first few hours but (thank god) it was only until it's up to speed. Plenty of space inside, great design, reversible door. And got it under $700 with Harvey Norman boxing day sale! This model (dark graphite) somehow is much cheaper than the other Matte black, etc options, but exact same fridge and great color!

Date PurchasedDec 2018

Shelly

Shelly

  • 5 reviews

woowza

published

Bought this for a friends moving present and wow did it meet every need of a kitchen, its so trendy and also so roomy. will purchase one for myself shortly. ice machine works so well and the freezer has so much space. looks great too and its so big which is great for families

Date PurchasedAug 2017

SueW

SueWSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Terrible

published

We purchased this as the retailer told us it was whisper quiet. Far from that the noise is so bad we can hear it in our bedroom! Had a consultant out 4 times had voice files to let them hear the noise and each time they have said it is acceptable. We emptied the fridge freezer and noise still there. When you touch the unit the noise stops when you hold the door the noise stops - it is on level ground. The funniest thing the last consultant told us that in the old days you had an ironing board up against it which shut it up unbelievable. The warranty for 10 years is worth nothing. When we have got the money it is going over the rubbish tip and then we will go back to Fisher and Paykel which we should have done in the first place.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
3 comments
SueW
SueW

By all of the other reviews it would appear that we do have a lemon but will LG come to the party and change it because it is clearly faulty we will wait and see!

SueW
SueW

Now 30 January not even an acknowledgement what does that say

SueW
SueW

I am pleased to say that our issue has now been resolved satisfactorily by LG with Harvey Norman helping out.

Aje

AjeGold coast

Beware if you want left hand fridge

published

Fridge sold as reversible opening direction
Fridge doesn’t come with instructions to reverse the doors sold as reversible you can do it yourself but no info in manual or videos online
LG states you need to pay their tech to do it
will ring LG customer support to see if they can help
Unlikely ????

Date PurchasedDec 2018
1 comment
Aje
Aje
Michelle

MichelleSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Lovely looking fridge, downsized but still has lots of space for everything

published

I love how the freezer is now at the bottom, it is easy to put things into compartments, and there is no ice to scratch off - winning. The shelves are adjustable but I had to remove one because I couldn't fit the bottles in. Suits a family of 3 quite well.

Date PurchasedApr 2018

Lucyhannah

LucyhannahSunshine West

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great fridge very happy purchase

published

We brought this fridge for our newly renovated house. Love that it's a bottom mount to give us more fridge space however are starting to run out of room in the freezer. Freezer only has 2drawers which cannot be interchangeable from what I can tell for shelves or additional layout.
Fridge maintains consistent temperature and crisper works a treat with food over a week old still looking fresh. With the option for left or right opening it suits every kitchen layout!

Date PurchasedAug 2018

Mara

MaraMelbourne

  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great fridge

published

The fridge maintains the temperature in all compartments. I saw a lot of reviews regarding the noise of the fridge. I've had the fridge for more than 7 months now and it's not that bad. Considering what it's designed to do, it's relatively quiet.

Likes
- Design, sophisticated look
- Easy to clean
- Energy efficient

Dislikes
- The freezer drawers can be difficult to open at times

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

OZUSER

OZUSERMid North Coast, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

good energy rating poor usability

published
Date PurchasedOct 2018

Jenny W

Jenny WSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

So cool and quiet!

published

Having used my fridge in both hot and cold conditions I have found it to be a top performer in efficiency,which shows in my reduced electricity bills and barely noticeable noise levels.The LED lighting is very effective in the fridge but I would have loved lighting in the freezer as well.Temperature control is precise and consistent in both fridge and freezer.Fruit and vegetables keep well in the large crisper.I like the split shelf which allows extra tall space when needed.One problem is it is difficult to move and rollers at the front would have been preferred.Overall I am delighted with this fridge!

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Page 2 of 16

Questions & Answers

Ian S.

Ian S.asked

What is required to change the Fridge/Freezer doors to left-hand hinge or pivot opening. Is a kit required or can they be just easily changed over?

1 answer
Brian B.
Brian B.

Found a generic LG PDF which has instructions Page 28-29 which might help.

https://s.productreview.com.au/products/manuals/325535_585b17ce96649.pdf


Kevin

Kevinasked

GB-W450UPLX (Stainless, Water Dispenser)

What is the flow like out of the water dispenser?

No answers

kylie l.

kylie l.asked

GB-450UPLX (Stainless Steel)

Why would the fridge heat up around the seals to the point you cant hold your hand on it too long?

1 answer
James
James

The outer of the fridge acts as heat dissipation much like a radiator in the car it helps to cool the engine down. Although the amount required would be huge for it to not able to be touched. Has it changed or is it the same?


Get an answer from our members and LG representatives

Details

LG GB-450UPL (Platinum)
  • Discontinued
  • Award Winner 2019
  • 2018

LG GB-450UPL (Platinum)

27 reviews
LG GB-W450UPLX (Stainless, Water Dispenser)
  • Discontinued
  • Award Winner 2019
  • 2018

LG GB-W450UPLX (Stainless, Water Dispenser)

32 reviews
LG GB-450UWLX (White)
  • Award Winner 2019
  • 2018

LG GB-450UWLX (White)

45 reviews
LG GB-450UPLX (Stainless Steel)
  • Award Winner 2019
  • 2018

LG GB-450UPLX (Stainless Steel)

100 reviews
LG GB-450UPLE (Dark Graphite)
  • Award Winner 2019
  • 2018

LG GB-450UPLE (Dark Graphite)

66 reviews
LG GB-450UBLX (Black)
  • Award Winner 2019
  • 2018

LG GB-450UBLX (Black)

49 reviews
CategoryBottom Mount Fridges / RefrigeratorsBottom Mount Fridges / RefrigeratorsBottom Mount Fridges / RefrigeratorsBottom Mount Fridges / RefrigeratorsBottom Mount Fridges / RefrigeratorsBottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators
Price (RRP) $1,299$1,449$1,049$1,299
Dimensions 1724 x 700 x 684 mm1725 x 710 x 700 mm1724 x 700 x 684 mm1724 x 700 x 684 mm1724 x 700 x 684 mm1724 x 700 x 684 mm
Energy Rating4 star(s)4.5 star(s)4.5 star(s)4.5 star(s)3.5 star(s)4.5 star(s)
Household Size 4-5 people4-5 people4-5 people4-5 people4-5 people4-5 people
FeaturesDoor Alarm and Foldable/Retractable ShelfDoor Alarm , Foldable/Retractable Shelf and Water DispenserDoor Alarm and Foldable/Retractable ShelfDoor Alarm and Foldable/Retractable ShelfDoor Alarm Door Alarm and Foldable/Retractable Shelf
Colour / Finish Shiny Stainless SteelStainlessWhiteStainless SteelDark GraphiteBlack
Handle Type RecessedExternal RecessedRecessedRecessedRecessed
Smart Fridge NoNoNoNoNoNo
Shelf MaterialGlassGlassGlassGlassGlassGlass
Number of Shelves333333
Number of Fruit & Vegetable Bins 111111
Weight85 kg85 kg85 kg80 kg80 kg80 kg
Door Hinge RightRightRightRightRightRight
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Capacity
Total Capacity 450 L450 L450 L450 L450 L450 L
Fridge Capacity 295 L295 L295 L295 L295 L295 L
Freezer Capacity 155 L155 L155 L155 L155 L155 L
Replaced byLG GB-450UPLX (Stainless Steel)

Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.