?
? !
10 photos
LG 687L Side by Side Door GS-B680 Series

LG 687L Side by Side Door GS-B680 Series (page 4 of 5)

GS-B680PL (Stainless Steel), GS-B680WL (White)
4.4 from 71 reviews · View Statistics

Pros

  • Self-adjusting moisture levels

  • Anti-fingerprint finish

Cons

  • High price tag

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.8 (11)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (10)
  • Ease of Use
    4.6 (11)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (11)
  • Noise Level
    4.1 (11)
  • Internal Layout
    4.4 (9)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
flattyre

flattyre

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great Fridge, Great Customer service

published

This is a very quiet fridge. Good capacity in both the fridge and freezer sections. This our second of this model in 9 months. The first one went well for about 8 months and then started to develop problems - ice cream would melt in the freezer, the fridge wouldn't get cold etc. Technician diagnosed a slow gas leak and said that instead of fixing it LG would most probably replace it. They did - minimum of fuss, after the fault was lodged by the service technician I was contacted by LG within 24 hours and 2 days later I was informed that the store credit ( Good Guys, where I bought it) ) was available. Brilliant service.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
gbrohier

gbrohierRaceview

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Fantastically designed and engineered

published

This is a superb fridge. We have had it for about 8months now and have had no problems or complaints about it. It keeps the desired temperature and it is very quiet; you wouldn't know that it was operating. The quality of the fridge is superb. And there always seems to be room. Would highly recommend this fridge.

Date PurchasedJune 2017
Mark W

Mark WByron Bay

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Nice big fridge area - Freezer not so big but good value.

published

Fridge is a good size for me but the freezer could be bigger. The fridge has great big shelves and easily arranged to suit needs. I purchased the white model purely based on price and not looks. Always had stainless but glad I got the white now. Easily cleaned and kept clean. Good strong handles to open as they are part of the structure not add ons. For the price I am very happy so far (6months old). The freezer has an express button that blasts the freezer if you just placed shopping in etc and freezes ICE quick.

Date PurchasedJune 2017
Side by Side Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how LG 687L Side by Side Door GS-B680 Series compares to other Side by Side Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jessie

JessiePerth, WA

  • 13 reviews
  • 8 likes

This fridge is a Great size it has really great storage, it is super quite and looks modern! Best fridge Iv owned. The storage draws are nice and deep and keep everything fresh and the side shelves for milk etc are the perfect size. Stainless dosnt mark easy either (finger prints)

Date PurchasedOct 2017
ColT

ColTParrearra

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Love this fridge. Internal lighting is great, well thought out shelving in both the fridge and the freezer and the new internal grab bar on the fridge eliminates finger prints on the door. Previous LG side by side had handles on the door and fingerprints around the handles were very noticeable.
No fridge noise at all, happy customer

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Related Articles
Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
Next
unsatisfied customer

unsatisfied customerSydney, NSW

  • 11 reviews
  • 3 likes

Amended review after 2..5 yrs

published
Date PurchasedDec 2016
OzFrog

OzFrogSydney

  • 11 reviews
  • 9 likes

Great layout and super value

published

This is a very spacious 687 litre fridge-freezer. Unlike the majority of alternatives the fridge and freezer compartments are side-by -side instead of one on top of the other. Not everybody's choice but we like it because each has 4 shelves and 2 drawers plus 4 deep shelves in each door, which helps you to easily organise your different types of food. It has a built in ice-maker in the freezer door and plenty of space for multiple wine or other bottles in the fridge door. Really well-designed.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Nick

NickWestern Australia, 6112

  • 9 reviews

Quiet beauty in your kitchen

published

I bought this beauty in March 2017 from Harvey Norman for AUD 1676 (including product care) and it's been serving me quite well due to its large capacity 680L. Freezer is on the left and fridge is on the right. It is so quiet to the point that you can't even hear any compressor noise. It has an alarm system when the doors are open for too long which is awesome!!

One thing I don't understand though, the food stored in the fridge tend to be frozen although I have set the temperature at 7C (the highest possible temp).

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Ja_Moo

Ja_Moo

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Quite, spacious, very modern looking fridge

published
Date PurchasedJuly 2017
Side by Side Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how LG 687L Side by Side Door GS-B680 Series compares to other Side by Side Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kat H

Kat HSouth West, WA

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Absolutely Love It

published

It's a very quiet fridge, easy to clean, lots of space in the doors (more than usual) which makes it extremely convenient, easy to clean exterior and strong glass shelves, holds good temp, lots of room in the freezer section and we constantly say how happy we are with it! Totally recommend.

Date PurchasedSept 2016
John D

John DSoutheast, SA

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Extremely quiet.

published

Linear compressor makes it very quiet. 10 year warranty. Door handles a bit low. And wasted space bottom of the door. Placed some suction baskets from reject shop to use wasted space. Led Lighting excellent . Icemaker very small. Self door closer very nice. Gravity pivot. Nice finish. Has 3 wheels for easy moving. I love this fridge.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
onon2000

onon2000

  • 11 reviews
  • 3 likes

Perfect, great size and cheap!

published

It's the best buy when we upgraded our 423L fridge to this 680L fridge. Looks fantastic and modern. Simple and we didnt need the water/ice maker. Price is fantastic, couldn't be happier.

The only thing i thought was a bit weird was to open the doors your palm must be facing down which is a bit awkward but you get used to it.

Date PurchasedNov 2016
Will B

Will B

  • 4 reviews

Extremely good fridge

published

This fridge is by far the best fridge I have owned. It has a digital display on the front to adjust the freezer and fridge temperature which is consistent through out each respective compartment.
No noise can be heard coming from the fridge.
It is extremely easy to clean I use steel wipes from Woolworths.

Date PurchasedOct 2016
Hasmukh Patel

Hasmukh PatelPerth

  • 4 reviews

very spacious same as we were looking for.

published

yes its maintain good temperature in all compartment and adjust it as per our use. it is very quiet even at night as our last freeze was very loud and even humbling some time. as this one finger print resist so very easy to clean. and the Most thing its little hard to open the door so our little one cant open it . very happy with product

Date PurchasedMar 2017
vferns

vfernsnorthmead

  • 4 reviews

Heaps of room! Love it!

published

Sleek and modern. Looks really good in the kitchen. I have found it to maintain temperature much better and the food remains fresh for a long time.
Love the side by side freezer. Heaps of room on the side.
Fridge has lots of room and in the door as well to store large bottles. Has not been very quiet. Nice and easy to clean.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Side by Side Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how LG 687L Side by Side Door GS-B680 Series compares to other Side by Side Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Debbie

Debbieasked

1 answer
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

Yes

Baz

Bazasked

687L Side by Side Door GS-B680WL (White)

Only 2 weeks old and freezer has suddenly gone to -26 and fridge to 8. This is the second time it has done this, the first time turned power off for an hour or two then back on. But now, a week later, it seems to have gone crazy again. Has anyone had this problem?

6 answers
Tony47
Tony47

Yes read my comments in this review area. I have a complaint active with LG as I already had the first unit replaced and second does the same. My fridge is fine steady at 2.3C but stays at -24 to -32.6C for 16 hrs and normal for periods varying from 12hrs to 72 hrs. Always goes lower after a defrost cycle that happens every 4 hrs. Check actual cycle times I have a wireless thermometer inside the freezer.

The first fridge had the computer and the temperature sensor replaced and no change.

I have asked LG to actually test a fridge over a week and log the temperatures as I feel some units are faulty. Trying to chisel icecream at -32C is not fun.

Worth a call to LG but a tech coming out will not fix it ask to be referred to guy looking into my case ( My name Turner)
This issue only reason I gave unit 2 stars otherwise 5. I get the feeling they are perplexed and really only want to replace it again.

Baz
Baz

Tony, sounds familiar. I am also using a wireless sensor inside the fridge & freezer. Mostly concerned about the fridge temp going up. After this last episode, I decided to leave it be and see what happens, after about 2 hrs temps started to return to the set temps. I have rung up and a tech can be sent out but if it is behaving normal I am sure he would not find the fault. I would like to think that LG have recognised a problem and are working on a fix. Otherwise, we like the unit.

Tony47
Tony47

Mine still a issue LG dragging their tails. Taking dated pics whenever the temperature sucks. Worst -33.6C when set at -18

Megan

Meganasked

687L Side by Side Door GS-B680WL (White)

Hi does his fridge come with pure and fresh already inside the fridge? Not an add on extra

No answers
See all LG 687L Side by Side Door GS-B680 Series questions

Get an answer from our members and LG representatives

LG 687L Side by Side Door GS-B680 Series

Details

The LG 687L Side by Side Fridges are available in a stainless-steel or white finish. Both fridges are highly rated and achieved the 2019 ProductReview Award. This LG Side by Side range offers similar features to other Side by Side ranges by LG, such as the LG 668L Side by Side series.

Features:

  • Available in two options: the GS-B680PL boasts a durable stainless-steel finish that costs $100 more than the GS-B680WL, which features a white finish
  • Tempered glass shelves that are stronger and more durable than ordinary glass
  • Filtered water and ice dispenser provides cool and refreshing glasses of water
  • Includes various compartments such as door baskets, drawers, and an egg box to keep food neat and organised
  • Adjust fridge settings via the LG app, so you can alter the temperature from home or remotely
  • An alarm that’s triggered if you leave the fridge door open, in order to prevent food from spoiling

What reviewers liked about this fridge:

  • The LG 687L ran so silently that it became common for reviewers to forget that their fridge was switched on
  • This fridge offers a generous amount of space that’s suitable for a two to four-person household
  • Reviewers appreciated the convenience of changing the fridge temperature via their phones
  • Despite the $2,159 price tag, most reviewers agreed that this fridge was a worthwhile investment.
Compare both LG 687L Side by Side Door GS-B680 Series
CategorySide by Side Fridges / RefrigeratorsSide by Side Fridges / Refrigerators
Price (RRP) $2,159.00$2,039.00
Dimensions 1790 x 912 x 738 mm1790 x 912 x 733 mm
Energy Rating3 star(s)2.5 star(s)
Household Size 5+ people5+ people
FeaturesDoor Alarm and Frost FreeDoor Alarm and Frost Free
Handle Type RecessedRecessed
Smart Fridge YesYes
Shelf MaterialGlassGlass
Number of Shelves44
Number of Fruit & Vegetable Bins22
Weight113 kg113 kg
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)
Colour / FinishStainless SteelWhite
Capacity
Total Capacity 687 L687 L
Fridge Capacity 422 L422 L
Freezer Capacity 265 L265 L
Compare both LG 687L Side by Side Door GS-B680 Series
  • MPN: GS-B680WL

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.