10 photos
LG 687L Side by Side Door GS-B680 Series

LG 687L Side by Side Door GS-B680 Series

GS-B680PL (Stainless Steel), GS-B680WL (White)
4.4 from 71 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by LG

Pros

  • Self-adjusting moisture levels

  • Anti-fingerprint finish

Cons

  • High price tag

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.5 (2)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (2)
  • Ease of Use
    4.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (2)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (2)
  • Internal Layout
    4.0 (2)
Previous
Next
Nardish
NardishPeel, WA
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Perfect fridge apart from the door handles

published

Works great. Keeps temperature perfect. Bought it in April 2019 and has started to make some funky sounds (not loud though). ONLY main gripe is design of the handles. Hard to open for someone with Arthritis. So although the sales person in store said it was only hard to open as it was a “new” fridge, we’ve had to stick pull handles on the front which takes away from the appearance. If I were to purchase a fridge today I would consider it but would choose another just due to the handle design. But all aside I would still recommend.

Purchased in April 2019 at The Good Guys for $1,340.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
LG
LG A.LG
Dukkkman
DukkkmanPeel, WA
  • 17 reviews
  • 15 likes

three years and the chime still drives me crazy

published

Purchased in August 2016 at goodguys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Dianna
DiannaSouth East Queensland, QLD

A little flimsy

published

I purchased this fridge. The fan froze over within the first six months but otherwise operates fine. The stainless stell shell dents extremely easily. I also noticed this on the display in the store, but thought it was customer abuse. it is not. Also the plastic freezer drawer has cracked without being treated harshly. I do not feel this product is very strong. Customer service was fine though.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Side by Side Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how LG 687L Side by Side Door GS-B680 Series compares to other Side by Side Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
MF1987
MF1987Sydney, NSW
  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

I purchased this fridge last year and it is awesome! It maintains a good temperature throughout and has very good storage for both freezer and fridge. It is easy to
Open but it does feel a bit heavy when opening. I especially like this fridge because I am easily able to store things in an easily accessible and organised way!

Date PurchasedSept 2017
dip
dipMelbourne
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Very good product

published

It’s a nice spacious freez and good space for freezer as well .quite and less noise motor. Finger print proof door .easily removable self and easily cleaning it as well. Easy to adjust temp and all. Fruit and vegi stay fresh longer in it. Very happy with the product .

Date PurchasedMar 2018

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020

Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
Toffel
Toffel
  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Replaced an upside down fridge with this LG really liking the side by side. Plenty of room for freezer & fridge products, easy to access, keeps veg & friut fresh. Did originally seem a little noisy but that seems to be fine now. Glass shelves are easy to clean, crisper drawers a little tricky to totally empty but genarally happy.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Vanessa
Vanessa
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Nice and quiet is really cold and always keeps cold, its super easy to clean the shelves and temperatures are always consistent.
It doesnt get finger marks easily on the stainless which is great if you have little ones. Happy with my purchase and will definitely recommende this fridge to someone

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Bav
Bav
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Good to be cool in the summer

published

The constant temperature of the fridge is incredible. Works really well and I haven't had any issues with it yet as I just purchased it last Christmas. I think its amazing how you can access the freezer and fridge from one place. Handles are great and easy to use as well.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Loumick1
Loumick1South East Queensland, QLD
  • 14 reviews
  • 13 likes

Very spacious

published

Rather roomy, more space than i was expecting. Side by side appeals to us. Handles are different to most models and take a bit of getting used to but helps in reducing smudges on the fridge door from fingerprints. I dont like the ice tray so just use some plastic ones from woolworths.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Side by Side Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how LG 687L Side by Side Door GS-B680 Series compares to other Side by Side Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
PJS
PJSAU

have recently purchased this fridge and have had the left door replaced due to a dent on unwrapping After a couple of weeks i noticed the new replacement door had faulty temperature panel some buttons not functioning.The control panel was then replaced and set by the technician and seemed to work fine. Now i find the button to adjust fridge temperature not working .Fridge is 3 months old, I like the fridge however the ice cube tray is very dinky and a waste of time! Prob won't purchase LG again feel the control panel is too dodgy,

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Mark W
Mark WByron Bay
  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Nice big fridge area - Freezer not so big but good value.

published

Fridge is a good size for me but the freezer could be bigger. The fridge has great big shelves and easily arranged to suit needs. I purchased the white model purely based on price and not looks. Always had stainless but glad I got the white now. Easily cleaned and kept clean. Good strong handles to open as they are part of the structure not add ons. For the price I am very happy so far (6months old). The freezer has an express button that blasts the freezer if you just placed shopping in etc and freezes ICE quick.

Date PurchasedJune 2017
Nick
NickWestern Australia, 6112
  • 9 reviews

Quiet beauty in your kitchen

published

I bought this beauty in March 2017 from Harvey Norman for AUD 1676 (including product care) and it's been serving me quite well due to its large capacity 680L. Freezer is on the left and fridge is on the right. It is so quiet to the point that you can't even hear any compressor noise. It has an alarm system when the doors are open for too long which is awesome!!

One thing I don't understand though, the food stored in the fridge tend to be frozen although I have set the temperature at 7C (the highest possible temp).

Date PurchasedMar 2017
vferns
vfernsnorthmead
  • 4 reviews

Heaps of room! Love it!

published

Sleek and modern. Looks really good in the kitchen. I have found it to maintain temperature much better and the food remains fresh for a long time.
Love the side by side freezer. Heaps of room on the side.
Fridge has lots of room and in the door as well to store large bottles. Has not been very quiet. Nice and easy to clean.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
AlecChu
AlecChuAU
  • 8 reviews

Its a good looking fridge for sure. Given its enormous size, its still quite. It's early days still, because bought this fridge a few days back only. It has been efficient so far. Need to see how it goes in summers. But looks good a s of now and will recommend.

Date PurchasedJuly 2017
Dr. Crashalot
Dr. CrashalotSYDNEY
  • 29 reviews
  • 23 likes

Great value for money side by side fridge

published

We wanted a large, side by side fridge. Most were expensive and had ice/water dispensers that require plumbing (which we don't have). This one offers no frills and was much cheaper than anything else.

It is large, has plenty of room, and big shelves with room for large bottles. It is quiet (quieter than our old fridge)

Have to knock it slightly as the handle seems a bit low. My shorter better half also agrees that the handles feel out of place.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Side by Side Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how LG 687L Side by Side Door GS-B680 Series compares to other Side by Side Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Debbie
Debbieasked
1 answer
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

Yes

Baz
Bazasked
687L Side by Side Door GS-B680WL (White)

Only 2 weeks old and freezer has suddenly gone to -26 and fridge to 8. This is the second time it has done this, the first time turned power off for an hour or two then back on. But now, a week later, it seems to have gone crazy again. Has anyone had this problem?

6 answers
Tony47
Tony47

Yes read my comments in this review area. I have a complaint active with LG as I already had the first unit replaced and second does the same. My fridge is fine steady at 2.3C but stays at -24 to -32.6C for 16 hrs and normal for periods varying from 12hrs to 72 hrs. Always goes lower after a defrost cycle that happens every 4 hrs. Check actual cycle times I have a wireless thermometer inside the freezer.

The first fridge had the computer and the temperature sensor replaced and no change.

I have asked LG to actually test a fridge over a week and log the temperatures as I feel some units are faulty. Trying to chisel icecream at -32C is not fun.

Worth a call to LG but a tech coming out will not fix it ask to be referred to guy looking into my case ( My name Turner)
This issue only reason I gave unit 2 stars otherwise 5. I get the feeling they are perplexed and really only want to replace it again.

Baz
Baz

Tony, sounds familiar. I am also using a wireless sensor inside the fridge & freezer. Mostly concerned about the fridge temp going up. After this last episode, I decided to leave it be and see what happens, after about 2 hrs temps started to return to the set temps. I have rung up and a tech can be sent out but if it is behaving normal I am sure he would not find the fault. I would like to think that LG have recognised a problem and are working on a fix. Otherwise, we like the unit.

Tony47
Tony47

Mine still a issue LG dragging their tails. Taking dated pics whenever the temperature sucks. Worst -33.6C when set at -18

Megan
Meganasked
687L Side by Side Door GS-B680WL (White)

Hi does his fridge come with pure and fresh already inside the fridge? Not an add on extra

No answers
See all LG 687L Side by Side Door GS-B680 Series questions

Get an answer from our members and LG representatives

LG 687L Side by Side Door GS-B680 Series

Details

The LG 687L Side by Side Fridges are available in a stainless-steel or white finish. Both fridges are highly rated and achieved the 2019 ProductReview Award. This LG Side by Side range offers similar features to other Side by Side ranges by LG, such as the LG 668L Side by Side series.

Features:

  • Available in two options: the GS-B680PL boasts a durable stainless-steel finish that costs $100 more than the GS-B680WL, which features a white finish
  • Tempered glass shelves that are stronger and more durable than ordinary glass
  • Filtered water and ice dispenser provides cool and refreshing glasses of water
  • Includes various compartments such as door baskets, drawers, and an egg box to keep food neat and organised
  • Adjust fridge settings via the LG app, so you can alter the temperature from home or remotely
  • An alarm that’s triggered if you leave the fridge door open, in order to prevent food from spoiling

What reviewers liked about this fridge:

  • The LG 687L ran so silently that it became common for reviewers to forget that their fridge was switched on
  • This fridge offers a generous amount of space that’s suitable for a two to four-person household
  • Reviewers appreciated the convenience of changing the fridge temperature via their phones
  • Despite the $2,159 price tag, most reviewers agreed that this fridge was a worthwhile investment.
Compare both LG 687L Side by Side Door GS-B680 Series
CategorySide by Side Fridges / RefrigeratorsSide by Side Fridges / Refrigerators
Price (RRP) $2,159.00$2,039.00
Dimensions 1790 x 912 x 738 mm1790 x 912 x 733 mm
Energy Rating3 star(s)2.5 star(s)
Household Size 5+ people5+ people
FeaturesDoor Alarm and Frost FreeDoor Alarm and Frost Free
Handle Type RecessedRecessed
Smart Fridge YesYes
Shelf MaterialGlassGlass
Number of Shelves44
Number of Fruit & Vegetable Bins22
Weight113 kg113 kg
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)
Colour / FinishStainless SteelWhite
Capacity
Total Capacity 687 L687 L
Fridge Capacity 422 L422 L
Freezer Capacity 265 L265 L
Compare both LG 687L Side by Side Door GS-B680 Series
  • MPN: GS-B680WL

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.