12 photos
LG 668L Side by Side Door GS-L668 Series
4.2 from 131 reviews · View Statistics

Pros

  • Self-regulating moisture levels

  • Anti-fingerprint finish

Cons

  • Plumbed fridge is more costly

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.0 (28)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (29)
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 (28)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.1 (27)
  • Noise Level
    3.6 (29)
  • Internal Layout
    4.7 (24)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
ajc890
ajc890
  • 24 reviews
  • 9 likes

Research solved

published

Our recent purchase of the LG L668 was after much research. As we previously had a side by side we looked for a similar fridge. Having made the purchase I am happy to report that the fridge is meeting all our requirements. After switching on we had to wait 24 hours before it was at peak performance but after that - no problems. Ice maker is great. The freezer section works well as does the fridge section. Minor comment is that the fridge door must open fully in order to remove the baskets. Fridge is quiet in running. Doors are a bit different as they don't have 'handles' but you quickly get used to the 'channels' in the door when opening and closing. Very happy to recommend this to other purchasers.

Purchased in May 2020 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG
Blondie246
Blondie246Metropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Purchased in March 2020 at The Good Guys for $1,690.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG
Alan
AlanIllawarra, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Nothing but problems

published

Purchased in August 2018 at Harvey Norman for $1,817.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG
Side by Side Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how LG 668L Side by Side Door GS-L668 Series compares to other Side by Side Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
kiwi842
kiwi842Central Queensland, QLD
  • 31 reviews
  • 11 likes

While I say it is a great fridge one thing knarks me about the exposed piping here in Northern Qld, warms the water, so if you just want a quick (without ice) cold drink, it is not going to happen. The reason for purchasing a non plumbed system.
Otherwise all is good, runs quietly as does the water pump and ice maker
It does maintain a consistent and reliable temperature in all compartments.
The (doors) downward hand grip (no handles) is somewhat difficult to get used too.
Watch out for the crushed ice spilling onto the floor - need a large bowl to catch the ice to prevent this.

Purchased in February 2020 at Betta Home Living for $1,799.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
EmmaandScott
EmmaandScottMurray Region, NSW
  • 3 reviews

So stylish and roomy, Temperature is consistent, so much room in the door of the fridge for all containers soft drink, juice and milk 2 lts no worries. Quite and the fresh water / ice / crushed ice is so wonderful especial during summer! Not to expensive for the amount of room inside.

Purchased in September 2019 at Betta Home Living.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Related Articles
Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
Next
Pierre
Pierre
  • 2 reviews

Very Noisy Plumbing

published

Everything about the fridge is good, except the pump to refill ice tray and water is so noisy! It goes off at night when I'm sleeping (automatic ice maker) and it is so noisy it wakes me.

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Aus Bloke
Aus BlokeAU
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

It was faulty straight after delivery but LG don't care.

published

Purchased in May 2019 at Betta Home Living for $1,888.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
4 comments
Aus Bloke
Aus Bloke

UPDATE 8/11/19 They finally sent someone to repair it. Replaced the main board 8am, by 1pm it was faulty again. Terrible product.

Aus Bloke
Aus Bloke

UPDATE 7/1/2020 - Fridge still faulty. LG closed the previous fault case and made me start all over again. I assume they'll keep doing this until it's out of warranty. I will never purchase another LG product again.

LG
LG A.LG
Loumick1
Loumick1South East Queensland, QLD
  • 14 reviews
  • 13 likes

Ice and water maker great but hard to keep fridge looking clean

published

The outside of the fridge constantly looks grubby from fingerprints.
I really like the ice and water dispenser and the fact it is not plumbed means I don’t worry that it may spring a leak while we are away from the house.
I find it odd that the freezer fan blows when the door is open, prior fridges I have owned only ever ran the fan when the door was closed.
Keeps food well.

Purchased in June 2019 at The Good Guys for $1,600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Hamid
HamidSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Beware of Fire risk

published

we had house fire caused by faulty ice maker of our side by side lg fridge. there are many model numbers are at risk. beware of that please. check lg website. I wont buy lg fridge anymore.

  • Thumbnail
Incentivised ReviewNo
Side by Side Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how LG 668L Side by Side Door GS-L668 Series compares to other Side by Side Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
corey
coreyboyne island
  • 13 reviews
  • 1 like

Absolutely brilliant fridge. Cannot fault it. Had it 12 months allready and has not had any issues. Everything is keeping cold and frozen. And the crispers are keeping things longer than ever before. Best fridge I have ever owned.

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Tez
TezVictoria
  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Excellent fridge...........

published

668 litres, non plumbed ice and water dispenser, keeps great even temperature and has great sized compartments.
It looks great in our upgraded kitchen and matches all our other stainless steel appliances.

Purchased in January 2019 at Harvey Norman for $1,950.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Coughie
CoughiePerth, WA

The Fridge I give a 4 star (so far), the Stainless Steel Body, a 1

published

The fridge works really well and the non-plumbed ice cubes are great. But the stainless steel body is very thin and of a poor quality. There are dents all over the fridge, even though we take a lot of care. Seems you just have to touch it in the wrong way and a dent will appear. The manufacturers should use a thicker and better quality steel. I wouldn't recommend for this reason only. It's a shame when you buy something in good faith that it will be good quality and then you are let down and there is nothing you can do about it.

Purchased in October 2016 at Harvey Norman for $1,929.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Jaspreet S.
Jaspreet S.
  • 2 reviews

We have the similar fridge and is great. Easy to use with lots of space compartments. No complains at all.

published

Our fridge is amazing. It’s a French door style fridge which looks sleek and classy. Also it works on my iPhone app which means i can change temp accordingly. Good

Purchased in June 2018 at The Good Guys for $2,799.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Fault unit broke within 10 months

published

I purchased a new fridge from LG hoping it would be lifetime investment. My dream only lasted 11 months. Notices it started making noise, made a first call to LG on the 2nd of May. Tech came to check confirming unit is faulty needed replacement. After several phone calls LG still doesn’t confirm if they are going to give me a new fridge or credit. Terrible customer service. Promised to call back 5 times no response. I am still asking them to give an answer and today is 22nd May. Please do not ever buy lg products. Their customer service sucks. Their incompetence has forced me to go on social media to write a review

Purchased in April 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sam
SamSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

love it

published

love the ice and the water in my lg 2 door fridge lots of room to put the the food its easy to open I love you have ice quick

Purchased in August 2017 for $1,700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Side by Side Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how LG 668L Side by Side Door GS-L668 Series compares to other Side by Side Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 2 of 9

Questions & Answers

Sharon
Sharonasked
668L Side by Side Door GS-L668 Series

Boy, I wish I had read these reviws before I purchased. We decided to go with the non-plumbed version as we weren't sure if we had plumbing available for the fridge. But the pump noise is unbearable...... it is waking us at all hours.
Can you please let me know plumbed version has a quiter pump?

1 answer
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

Did you think to ring them for answers?

Carol
Carolasked
1 answer
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

But basics are detailed on their website

ron
ronasked
668L Side by Side Door GS-L668 Series

Hi received our new fridge yesterday, removed the ice dispenser (not needed) and fitted extra shelf.
Tried the cold water dispenser this morning and the water is not cold, do I need to refit the ice Dispenser?

Thank you
Ron

No answers
See all LG 668L Side by Side Door GS-L668 Series questions

Get an answer from our members and LG representatives

LG 668L Side by Side Door GS-L668 Series

Details

Winner of the 2018 ProductReview Award, the LG 668L features two fridges to choose from: plumbed and non-plumbed, depending on your budget and household needs. This LG Side by Side range offers similar features to other Side by Side ranges by LG, such as the LG 668L Side by Side series.

Features:

  • Available in two options: plumbed and non-plumbed. Plumbed means the fridge needs to be connected to the water line by a plumber, and non-plumbed doesn’t need to be installed by a plumber, as the water is dispensed from a tank.
  • Tempered glass shelves, which are stronger and more durable than ordinary glass
  • Includes various compartments such as door baskets, drawers, and an egg box to keep food neat and organised
  • Adjustable fridge settings via mobile LG app, so you can alter the temperature from home or remotely
  • An alarm that’s triggered if you accidentally leave the door open, in order to prevent food from spoiling

What reviewers liked about this fridge:

  • The voluminous size of this fridge provided plenty of space for cold foods, as well as frozen goods in the freezer compartment
  • The filtered water and crushed ice features were recurring points of praise among reviewers, with many claiming they couldn’t stop coming back for more chilled water
  • A budget-friendly option, the non-plumbed fridge was a suitable choice for those who were hesitant to splash out on the additional expenses of a plumbed fridge.

Points to consider:

  • The plumbed fridge is $100 more expensive than the non-plumbed fridge. Plus, don’t forget to budget in the additional cost of hiring a plumber to install the plumbed fridge, which usually costs between $100 to $500.
Compare all 3 LG 668L Side by Side Door GS-L668 Series
CategorySide by Side Fridges / RefrigeratorsSide by Side Fridges / RefrigeratorsSide by Side Fridges / Refrigerators
Price (RRP) $2,519.00$2,519.00$2,639.00
Dimensions 1790 x 912 x 733 mm1790 x 912 x 733 mm1790 x 912 x 738 mm
Energy Rating3 star(s)3 star(s)3 star(s)
Household Size 5+ people5+ people5+ people
FeaturesDoor Alarm, Ice Dispenser and Water DispenserDoor Alarm, Ice Dispenser and Water DispenserDoor Alarm, Ice Dispenser and Water Dispenser
Handle Type RecessedRecessedRecessed
Smart Fridge NoNoNo
Shelf MaterialGlassGlassGlass
Number of Shelves444
Number of Fruit & Vegetable Bins222
Weight124 kg124 kg124 kg
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Colour / FinishStainless FinishStainless FinishMatte Black
Capacity
Total Capacity 668 L668 L668 L
Fridge Capacity 422 L422 L422 L
Freezer Capacity 246 L246 L246 L
Compare all 3 LG 668L Side by Side Door GS-L668 Series

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.