12 photos
LG 668L Side by Side Door GS-L668 Series
4.2 from 131 reviews · View Statistics

Pros

  • Self-regulating moisture levels

  • Anti-fingerprint finish

Cons

  • Plumbed fridge is more costly

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    1.0 (2)
  • Value for Money
    1.0 (2)
  • Ease of Use
    2.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.0 (2)
  • Noise Level
    1.5 (2)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
Alan
AlanIllawarra, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Nothing but problems

published

Purchased in August 2018 at Harvey Norman for $1,817.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG
Hamid
HamidSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Beware of Fire risk

published

we had house fire caused by faulty ice maker of our side by side lg fridge. there are many model numbers are at risk. beware of that please. check lg website. I wont buy lg fridge anymore.

  • Thumbnail
Incentivised ReviewNo

Fault unit broke within 10 months

published

I purchased a new fridge from LG hoping it would be lifetime investment. My dream only lasted 11 months. Notices it started making noise, made a first call to LG on the 2nd of May. Tech came to check confirming unit is faulty needed replacement. After several phone calls LG still doesn’t confirm if they are going to give me a new fridge or credit. Terrible customer service. Promised to call back 5 times no response. I am still asking them to give an answer and today is 22nd May. Please do not ever buy lg products. Their customer service sucks. Their incompetence has forced me to go on social media to write a review

Purchased in April 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Side by Side Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how LG 668L Side by Side Door GS-L668 Series compares to other Side by Side Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
S.B.
S.B.Broussard
  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

This fridge is ok it keeps drinks cold the ice maker seems to not work all the time and my water comes out hot sometimes I’ve had to get it repaired 3 times already in one year I would not buy another like it the water coming out hot is ridiculous.

Date PurchasedJan 2016
Connelly
ConnellyBrisbane

Terrible Service New LG Fridge Freezer broke down i 4 weeks

published
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Related Articles
Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
Next

refrigerator not cooling stays at 8C plus

published

repairer changed electric board in 1.5 months old appliance not sure was fixed as panel light and not beeping at temp change/confermation.bottom 2 veg drawers causing early vastige and liquifying with leak at joints of bottom two drawers.refrigerator air vent not able to feelk air comming out,closing door the other seems to open momentarily.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Amy
AmyMackay
  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Dints easily

published

A fly could land on this fridge and dint it, the stainless steel on the outside is really weak. The ice compartment froze over in the first month and we could not get ice out as well. Disappointed in the weakness of the outside, no one wants a new fridge with dints all over it when it was hardly touched.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
Val S
Val SSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 10 reviews
  • 8 likes

Great Fridge - Unable to locate where to purchase the optional extras (fridge is worthy of 5stars bu

published
Date PurchasedOct 2016
2 comments
Val S
Val S

Have received a call from LG who have advised their egg boxes are out of stock and should be available for purchase in 4-6 weeks!

Val S
Val S
See all LG 668L Side by Side Door GS-L668 Series reviews

Questions & Answers

Sharon
Sharonasked
668L Side by Side Door GS-L668 Series

Boy, I wish I had read these reviws before I purchased. We decided to go with the non-plumbed version as we weren't sure if we had plumbing available for the fridge. But the pump noise is unbearable...... it is waking us at all hours.
Can you please let me know plumbed version has a quiter pump?

1 answer
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

Did you think to ring them for answers?

Carol
Carolasked
1 answer
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

But basics are detailed on their website

ron
ronasked
668L Side by Side Door GS-L668 Series

Hi received our new fridge yesterday, removed the ice dispenser (not needed) and fitted extra shelf.
Tried the cold water dispenser this morning and the water is not cold, do I need to refit the ice Dispenser?

Thank you
Ron

No answers
See all LG 668L Side by Side Door GS-L668 Series questions

Get an answer from our members and LG representatives

LG 668L Side by Side Door GS-L668 Series

Details

Winner of the 2018 ProductReview Award, the LG 668L features two fridges to choose from: plumbed and non-plumbed, depending on your budget and household needs. This LG Side by Side range offers similar features to other Side by Side ranges by LG, such as the LG 668L Side by Side series.

Features:

  • Available in two options: plumbed and non-plumbed. Plumbed means the fridge needs to be connected to the water line by a plumber, and non-plumbed doesn’t need to be installed by a plumber, as the water is dispensed from a tank.
  • Tempered glass shelves, which are stronger and more durable than ordinary glass
  • Includes various compartments such as door baskets, drawers, and an egg box to keep food neat and organised
  • Adjustable fridge settings via mobile LG app, so you can alter the temperature from home or remotely
  • An alarm that’s triggered if you accidentally leave the door open, in order to prevent food from spoiling

What reviewers liked about this fridge:

  • The voluminous size of this fridge provided plenty of space for cold foods, as well as frozen goods in the freezer compartment
  • The filtered water and crushed ice features were recurring points of praise among reviewers, with many claiming they couldn’t stop coming back for more chilled water
  • A budget-friendly option, the non-plumbed fridge was a suitable choice for those who were hesitant to splash out on the additional expenses of a plumbed fridge.

Points to consider:

  • The plumbed fridge is $100 more expensive than the non-plumbed fridge. Plus, don’t forget to budget in the additional cost of hiring a plumber to install the plumbed fridge, which usually costs between $100 to $500.
Compare all 3 LG 668L Side by Side Door GS-L668 Series
CategorySide by Side Fridges / RefrigeratorsSide by Side Fridges / RefrigeratorsSide by Side Fridges / Refrigerators
Price (RRP) $2,519.00$2,519.00$2,639.00
Dimensions 1790 x 912 x 733 mm1790 x 912 x 733 mm1790 x 912 x 738 mm
Energy Rating3 star(s)3 star(s)3 star(s)
Household Size 5+ people5+ people5+ people
FeaturesDoor Alarm, Ice Dispenser and Water DispenserDoor Alarm, Ice Dispenser and Water DispenserDoor Alarm, Ice Dispenser and Water Dispenser
Handle Type RecessedRecessedRecessed
Smart Fridge NoNoNo
Shelf MaterialGlassGlassGlass
Number of Shelves444
Number of Fruit & Vegetable Bins222
Weight124 kg124 kg124 kg
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Colour / FinishStainless FinishStainless FinishMatte Black
Capacity
Total Capacity 668 L668 L668 L
Fridge Capacity 422 L422 L422 L
Freezer Capacity 246 L246 L246 L
Compare all 3 LG 668L Side by Side Door GS-L668 Series

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.