12 photos
LG 668L Side by Side Door GS-L668 Series
4.2 from 131 reviews · View Statistics

Pros

  • Self-regulating moisture levels

  • Anti-fingerprint finish

Cons

  • Plumbed fridge is more costly

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.0 (3)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (4)
  • Ease of Use
    4.0 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.7 (3)
  • Noise Level
    2.0 (4)
  • Internal Layout
    4.5 (2)
Previous
Next
TrueReview
TrueReviewSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews

Noisiest pump I've ever heard

published

Purchased in November 2020.

Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
suzey267
suzey267Sydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Good for three years only

published

Purchased in January 2017 at The Good Guys for $2,000.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size5 person(s)
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG
Pete
PeteLitchfield, NT

Bad product quality, bad customer service experience

published

Purchased in March 2017 for $750.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG
Side by Side Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how LG 668L Side by Side Door GS-L668 Series compares to other Side by Side Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
WDE
WDESouth East Queensland, QLD

Extremely noisy ice maker

published

No problem with the fridge. It's near new BUT it makes an horrible grinding noise from the ice maker that echos through the whole house at inconsistent times, night and day.

Purchased in January 2020 at Harvey Norman for $2,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Pierre
Pierre
  • 2 reviews

Very Noisy Plumbing

published

Everything about the fridge is good, except the pump to refill ice tray and water is so noisy! It goes off at night when I'm sleeping (automatic ice maker) and it is so noisy it wakes me.

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Related Articles
Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
Next
Aus Bloke
Aus BlokeAU
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

It was faulty straight after delivery but LG don't care.

published

Purchased in May 2019 at Betta Home Living for $1,888.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
4 comments
Aus Bloke
Aus Bloke

UPDATE 8/11/19 They finally sent someone to repair it. Replaced the main board 8am, by 1pm it was faulty again. Terrible product.

Aus Bloke
Aus Bloke

UPDATE 7/1/2020 - Fridge still faulty. LG closed the previous fault case and made me start all over again. I assume they'll keep doing this until it's out of warranty. I will never purchase another LG product again.

LG
LG A.LG
StickyRice Rowe
StickyRice RoweMelbourne
  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

No customer service

published

Bought a LG fridge /Freezer within less than a month the ice dispenser stopped producing ice plus we had reported scratches when we peeled plastic off product, we contacted LG who asked for evidence of scratches plus didn't believe no ice...we had to threaten legal action to get any where, after contacting The good Guys, the manager changed the Frigde Freezer for another LG, would we buy another LG definitely not as we were made to feel at fault, after reading a few reviews we found similar complains

Date PurchasedJuly 2017
eelD
eelDGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 22 reviews
  • 11 likes

Looks nice but wasn't practical

published

I bought this fridge mostly for the water and ice function.
It was a great fridge lookswise, and it was very smooth running, but I realised after purchase that this is not a plumbed in fridge. So to have cold water, you need to keep refilling a jug in there. You might as well just buy a cheap fridge and keep a jug of cold water in there! I don't see the appeal of this model at all, so I replaced it with a Samsung fridge I could plumb into the wall and not have to refill. Much better choice.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
See all LG 668L Side by Side Door GS-L668 Series reviews

Questions & Answers

Sharon
Sharonasked
668L Side by Side Door GS-L668 Series

Boy, I wish I had read these reviws before I purchased. We decided to go with the non-plumbed version as we weren't sure if we had plumbing available for the fridge. But the pump noise is unbearable...... it is waking us at all hours.
Can you please let me know plumbed version has a quiter pump?

1 answer
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

Did you think to ring them for answers?

Carol
Carolasked
1 answer
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

But basics are detailed on their website

ron
ronasked
668L Side by Side Door GS-L668 Series

Hi received our new fridge yesterday, removed the ice dispenser (not needed) and fitted extra shelf.
Tried the cold water dispenser this morning and the water is not cold, do I need to refit the ice Dispenser?

Thank you
Ron

No answers
See all LG 668L Side by Side Door GS-L668 Series questions

Get an answer from our members and LG representatives

LG 668L Side by Side Door GS-L668 Series

Details

Winner of the 2018 ProductReview Award, the LG 668L features two fridges to choose from: plumbed and non-plumbed, depending on your budget and household needs. This LG Side by Side range offers similar features to other Side by Side ranges by LG, such as the LG 668L Side by Side series.

Features:

  • Available in two options: plumbed and non-plumbed. Plumbed means the fridge needs to be connected to the water line by a plumber, and non-plumbed doesn’t need to be installed by a plumber, as the water is dispensed from a tank.
  • Tempered glass shelves, which are stronger and more durable than ordinary glass
  • Includes various compartments such as door baskets, drawers, and an egg box to keep food neat and organised
  • Adjustable fridge settings via mobile LG app, so you can alter the temperature from home or remotely
  • An alarm that’s triggered if you accidentally leave the door open, in order to prevent food from spoiling

What reviewers liked about this fridge:

  • The voluminous size of this fridge provided plenty of space for cold foods, as well as frozen goods in the freezer compartment
  • The filtered water and crushed ice features were recurring points of praise among reviewers, with many claiming they couldn’t stop coming back for more chilled water
  • A budget-friendly option, the non-plumbed fridge was a suitable choice for those who were hesitant to splash out on the additional expenses of a plumbed fridge.

Points to consider:

  • The plumbed fridge is $100 more expensive than the non-plumbed fridge. Plus, don’t forget to budget in the additional cost of hiring a plumber to install the plumbed fridge, which usually costs between $100 to $500.
Compare all 3 LG 668L Side by Side Door GS-L668 Series
CategorySide by Side Fridges / RefrigeratorsSide by Side Fridges / RefrigeratorsSide by Side Fridges / Refrigerators
Price (RRP) $2,519.00$2,519.00$2,639.00
Dimensions 1790 x 912 x 733 mm1790 x 912 x 733 mm1790 x 912 x 738 mm
Energy Rating3 star(s)3 star(s)3 star(s)
Household Size 5+ people5+ people5+ people
FeaturesDoor Alarm, Ice Dispenser and Water DispenserDoor Alarm, Ice Dispenser and Water DispenserDoor Alarm, Ice Dispenser and Water Dispenser
Handle Type RecessedRecessedRecessed
Smart Fridge NoNoNo
Shelf MaterialGlassGlassGlass
Number of Shelves444
Number of Fruit & Vegetable Bins222
Weight124 kg124 kg124 kg
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Colour / FinishStainless FinishStainless FinishMatte Black
Capacity
Total Capacity 668 L668 L668 L
Fridge Capacity 422 L422 L422 L
Freezer Capacity 246 L246 L246 L
Compare all 3 LG 668L Side by Side Door GS-L668 Series

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.