12 photos
LG 668L Side by Side Door GS-L668 Series
4.2 from 132 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by LG

Pros

  • Self-regulating moisture levels

  • Anti-fingerprint finish

Cons

  • Plumbed fridge is more costly

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.9 (13)
  • Value for Money
    4.6 (13)
  • Ease of Use
    4.9 (13)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.8 (13)
  • Noise Level
    4.8 (13)
  • Internal Layout
    5.0 (12)
Previous
Next
Mike
MikeSPOTSWOOD
  • 7 reviews

Loving this fridge

published

Got a great deal on this fridge and haven't looked back. Easy to clean and to operate! If you hear a stray noise its just the water being dispensed to the freezer to bed converted to ice. Ice is available cubed or crushed and cold filtered water is also available. Love this grudge, can't recommend highly enough!

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Donny
Donny
  • 3 reviews

Big enough

published

Bought this fridge last month and really satisfied, big enough for 5 of us, 2 adults n 3 school age kids which we only do groceries once a week, busy family and can accommodate all of our food that needs to keep in the fridge
Hope the warranty will work too, for cover 10 years for the compressor

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Aseem
AseemMelbourne
  • 2 reviews

excellent

published

Very best fridge. Very spacious. Very sleek looking. On the top non plumbed water. I don't find any problem so far. Really loving it. I don't care about filling water. ICE maker of water dispenser voice. All good....Very good price. Better than Samsung. other big expensive brands. I dont know why people are compiling.....

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Side by Side Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how LG 668L Side by Side Door GS-L668 Series compares to other Side by Side Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sei
SeiNoble Park
  • 8 reviews
  • 17 likes

Does the job

published

Quiet fridge, good space on each side for a family to fill, easy to clean, ice drop isn't too loud either, great that it's not plumbed in is a large fridge though and needs space each side to open the doors properly. Could have better shelving on the inside doors.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Suchislife
SuchislifeCentral Queensland, QLD
  • 12 reviews
  • 7 likes

Great fridge.

published

I love this fridge. It maintains a great temperature at whatever you decide to set it. The setting for this are easily located on the front of the fridge and very easy to change.

The fridge itself is quiet, however when the water or ice function kicks in (sometimes on its own filling up or when someone is using it) can be noisy. However not that noisy, I have a newborn that wakes easily and it does not wake him at all.

The fridge is very easy to clean as all the shelves are flat and made of glass. There are no little crevices that you need to get into.

The non plumbed aspect is great and work as designed. Very simply plug and use straight away.

In terms of space, it has plenty for a family of 4.

Date PurchasedOct 2017

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020

Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
Pel
PelCampbelltown
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Perfect family fridge

published

Temperature in fridge and freezer maintain the perfect temperature you choose to set.
It's so quite I forget I have a fridge.
Maintenance is easy and quick.
My favourite thing is it's all touch and the slim look. So far no issues. Im Just loving it at the moment. It's a great family fridge.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Satpal
Satpal
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

great

published

this fridge is great. it is shinny and sleak and looks great. iced water and crushed ice functions are very good. it runs smooth but only one problem you have to keep feeling with water other wise very happy with it.

I will highly recommend this fridge to my family and friends.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Jessica
JessicaAU
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Looks Amazing and Is A Great Fridge!

published

This fridge is amaze - it looks so shiny and sleek. The best feature I think is that it is unplumbed - you don't have to plumb it into the wall, you simply fill up a jug that fits in the fridge and you have ice or cold water whenever you need! It's very spacious with plenty of room for frozen food as well as fridge and plenty big enough for my partner and I. Expensive but worth it. My only issue with it is that the ice mechanism can be a bit noisy every now and then when it's doing its thing, but the sound only last for 5 seconds or so. The compartments are adjustable heights as well and it's easy to clean.

Date PurchasedSept 2016
Dan
DanPerth
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Awesome!!!

published

Unpacked everything, filled up the water contained. Discarded the first 3 cups of water and the first 20 odd ice cubes. The water comes on straight away, the ice trays will not fill up straight away, you have to wait a few hours before it will automatically fill the trays up. Lg says give them 4 to 6 hours. Best fridge we've ever owned. I would never of thought i would refer a fridge to being sexy but its a pretty decent looking fridge. The best part is how much space ot has. Weve gone from a tiny fridge to this with the plan to meal prep instead of making a trip to coles every day. Cant beat lg quality. Ive owned 2 lg fridges in the past and never had an issue.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Side by Side Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how LG 668L Side by Side Door GS-L668 Series compares to other Side by Side Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Daniela C
Daniela CMelbourne
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

My new kitchen love affair!

published

This has put a smile on my dial and best cash I've enjoyed parting with!..other than the husbands vasectomy!

It's quiet and runs like a dream. The whole fancy-pants French door design is just an absolute dream boat! Everything is running perfectly woth amazing temp control. None of that disgusting freezer burn on the food either. Cleans easily and just a great all rounder. So so so happy with it!

Date PurchasedJuly 2017
Krystall
KrystallGippsland, VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Brilliant fridge.

published

Keep items crisp and fresh. Ice maker is a little loud but I haven't gotten use to it now. Easy to clean, easy to store large items. Freezer has lots of shelf and storage space. Ice marker can be turned off. Fridge has a number of shelves in the door.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Maralyn Manson
Maralyn MansonMargaret River, Western Australia
  • 26 reviews
  • 15 likes

Gorgeous

published

Apart from looking gorgeous.
It gives me ice without needing to be plumbed!
Very handy having a left and right door. Gives great access to the freezer and fridge. Like the drawer separation to the freezer. Just well thought out.

There is an app for your phone but, even though the fridge is just months old, it is not able to be registered via the app. Bit pointless.

The temperature can be adjusted from the front of the fridge, which can be handy on occasion.

And the freezer and fridge part work great. No problems with food being badly frozen or ice crystals in our lettuces. Good airflow. It can also hold a carton of beer on one shelf comfortably.

Date PurchasedSept 2016
Unboxed Home
Unboxed HomeMelbourne
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best unplumbed fridge on the market

published
Date PurchasedMay 2017
HappyCooker
HappyCookerSunshine Coast QLD
  • 8 reviews
  • 7 likes

Reliable and quiet

published

Very happy with this fridge/freezer since we bought in March 2017. The placements of the shelves in the freezer is excellent and avoids having to stack items on top of each other. The fridge section is large, spacious and lights up very well. The door alarm is not very annoying, just the right tone.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Janine Cambo
Janine CamboAvonsleigh
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Very happy with our new fridge freezer.

published

We find this fridge with alot of space and easy to keep clean. It is also very quiet apart from the water/ice in the door. It occasionally makes a little but of noise but it's not very noticeable. The temperature stays constant and the no fingerprint surface make this a fridge we are more than happy with.

Date PurchasedJuly 2017
Side by Side Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how LG 668L Side by Side Door GS-L668 Series compares to other Side by Side Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Communer
CommunerSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 32 reviews
  • 8 likes

Clever Engineering

published

A no-plumbing-required water/ice-dispensing refrigerator/freezer gives one hope there are still smart engineers who design consumer products. (My pet peeve is colored printing on the same colored background.) This unit has no flaws that I have discovered yet. It takes some time to get used to the recessed door handles, but that is not a big issue. I recommend the 668 to anyone who does not have plumbing installed.

Date PurchasedJune 2017

Excellent

published

Paid $1400 and worth it with this big fridge. This fridge comes with front panel with temperature. Lots of space in side and in the door as well. Wife happy too. 10 years warranty. Got 5 years full warranty replace or refund. Delivered & installed by supplier. 3* energy rating.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
stewart50
stewart50South East Queensland, QLD
  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Appliances Online deliver another performance and the refridgerator lived upto expectations

published

clean cut and well presented but the price , including delivery and a 3 years guarantee - all for $1800 - the retailers don't even get close - the fridge is quiet ( maybe a tad noisy - only when the mechanism delivers an ice cube to storage ) , it consumes little energy. thankfully no dents on ours as yet - not that hard to keep clean and spacious inside - this is more that value for money , its the kind of transaction where the buyer, seller and manufacturer all won - other retailers same product , delivered + 3 year customer care, at least would be $ 2350 we saved at least $ 450 that's a lot

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Sher Bear
Sher BearBrisbane
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great fridge for the price

published

This is a great fridge. Heaps of room. No freezing at the back of the fridge. Great large door compartments so lots of bottles can be stored. We purchased from Appliances Online. It was much cheaper and it was delivered earlier than quoted. If I was to point out a negative, it would be that the ice maker is noisy however, this is only for a few seconds. No need to plumb the ice maker... just fill up the container from the fridge. The door handles are awkward but it won't take long to adjust. Well and truly happy with this fridge.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
oldmouse3
oldmouse3BRISBANE
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great Fridge, Great Price, Excellent Service

published

Ordered from Appliances Online - couldn't be easier. Great price, delivered and installed at no extra cost in 2 days by very efficient delivery team. The fridge is fantastic and is one of the few fridges that has a water and ice dispenser that is non-plumbed. Works a treat - highly recommend the fridge and appliances online.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Shano
ShanoPerth
  • 2 reviews

Perfect

published

Best fridge , very quiet and plenty of space , just got it from good guys under 2k , i replaced old lg 2 door fridge after 21 years and it's still going strong only the handle and freezer clear plastic rack were cracked but I gave it to away and upgraded to a bigger new model , but I did make a mistake I chose a sharp 4 door fridge first and it lasted 6 months with a gas leak , uneven doors. And very loud compressor , but good guys replaced with no problem whatsoever straight away , so I went back with lg again , moral of story stick with what you know works .

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Nadine
NadineNSW South Coast
  • 12 reviews
  • 3 likes

Awesome product

published

We purchased this fridge and even though we have only had it for a few weeks, it is amazing. Of course when you pour water, make ice, etc, it is noisy but that is to be expected. The water is cold, the tank is easy to refill and there is heaps of room in both the fridge and freezer parts. Looks stylish and was great value for money.
Very easy to clean and the stainless steal doesn't leave fingerprints.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
firthy
firthyBundaberg

best fridge ever

published

would be one of the best fridge i have ever had. easy to install and looks great. ice and gold water attachement work really well throught out the summer months

Jennifer K
Jennifer KWynyard
  • 7 reviews
  • 9 likes

Perfect

published

I absolutely love this product. I have always used a standard fridge with the freezer on top and a box freezer. Now no more going out in the cold to use the freezer. It maintains a good temp in both the fridge and freezer would recommend to try it...like I said I love it and wouldnt hesitate to purchase more LG products.

Date PurchasedOct 2016
Page 3 of 3

Questions & Answers

Sharon
Sharonasked
668L Side by Side Door GS-L668 Series

Boy, I wish I had read these reviws before I purchased. We decided to go with the non-plumbed version as we weren't sure if we had plumbing available for the fridge. But the pump noise is unbearable...... it is waking us at all hours.
Can you please let me know plumbed version has a quiter pump?

1 answer
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

Did you think to ring them for answers?

Carol
Carolasked
1 answer
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

But basics are detailed on their website

ron
ronasked
668L Side by Side Door GS-L668 Series

Hi received our new fridge yesterday, removed the ice dispenser (not needed) and fitted extra shelf.
Tried the cold water dispenser this morning and the water is not cold, do I need to refit the ice Dispenser?

Thank you
Ron

No answers
See all LG 668L Side by Side Door GS-L668 Series questions

Get an answer from our members and LG representatives

LG 668L Side by Side Door GS-L668 Series

Details

Winner of the 2018 ProductReview Award, the LG 668L features two fridges to choose from: plumbed and non-plumbed, depending on your budget and household needs. This LG Side by Side range offers similar features to other Side by Side ranges by LG, such as the LG 668L Side by Side series.

Features:

  • Available in two options: plumbed and non-plumbed. Plumbed means the fridge needs to be connected to the water line by a plumber, and non-plumbed doesn’t need to be installed by a plumber, as the water is dispensed from a tank.
  • Tempered glass shelves, which are stronger and more durable than ordinary glass
  • Includes various compartments such as door baskets, drawers, and an egg box to keep food neat and organised
  • Adjustable fridge settings via mobile LG app, so you can alter the temperature from home or remotely
  • An alarm that’s triggered if you accidentally leave the door open, in order to prevent food from spoiling

What reviewers liked about this fridge:

  • The voluminous size of this fridge provided plenty of space for cold foods, as well as frozen goods in the freezer compartment
  • The filtered water and crushed ice features were recurring points of praise among reviewers, with many claiming they couldn’t stop coming back for more chilled water
  • A budget-friendly option, the non-plumbed fridge was a suitable choice for those who were hesitant to splash out on the additional expenses of a plumbed fridge.

Points to consider:

  • The plumbed fridge is $100 more expensive than the non-plumbed fridge. Plus, don’t forget to budget in the additional cost of hiring a plumber to install the plumbed fridge, which usually costs between $100 to $500.
Compare all 3 LG 668L Side by Side Door GS-L668 Series
CategorySide by Side Fridges / RefrigeratorsSide by Side Fridges / RefrigeratorsSide by Side Fridges / Refrigerators
Price (RRP) $2,519.00$2,519.00$2,639.00
Dimensions 1790 x 912 x 733 mm1790 x 912 x 733 mm1790 x 912 x 738 mm
Energy Rating3 star(s)3 star(s)3 star(s)
Household Size 5+ people5+ people5+ people
FeaturesDoor Alarm, Ice Dispenser and Water DispenserDoor Alarm, Ice Dispenser and Water DispenserDoor Alarm, Ice Dispenser and Water Dispenser
Handle Type RecessedRecessedRecessed
Smart Fridge NoNoNo
Shelf MaterialGlassGlassGlass
Number of Shelves444
Number of Fruit & Vegetable Bins222
Weight124 kg124 kg124 kg
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Colour / FinishStainless FinishStainless FinishMatte Black
Capacity
Total Capacity 668 L668 L668 L
Fridge Capacity 422 L422 L422 L
Freezer Capacity 246 L246 L246 L
Compare all 3 LG 668L Side by Side Door GS-L668 Series

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.