12 photos
LG Top Mount GT-442 Series

LG Top Mount GT-442 Series

441L, 442L
4.1 from 93 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by LG

Pros

  • Impressive 4-star energy rating

  • Quiet operation

  • 'Smart diagnosis' feature

Reviews

Previous
Next
BetterThingsToDo
BetterThingsToDoCanberra
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Why would you make a weight bearing part out of plastic?

published

The levelling part under the hinge on the front of the fridge spontaneously gave way a few weeks back. Since then I've been in contact with LG. The first time they sent the wrong part. The second time they said they'd send the right part, then a few days later said they needed to send a technician. Today I waited, the technician came and now I have to wait until they can get the part. So that'll be another day waiting around until they can fix the problem. What a waste of time for a fridge that is barely 18 months old!

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Chris R
Chris RBrisbane

Too noisy and poor customer support

published

We've had this fridge for a year now and while it works well, the problem is the noise. The high pitch whine when it operates is terrible and can be heard across several rooms.

We contacted LG support about this and eventually they did send out a technician. Unfortunately I think his hearing was not the best and given his age he might not have been able to fully hear the high pitch. So, nothing was done to fix the problem. We've given up trying to get support to actually fix the problem.

If I could return this fridge, I'd do it in a heartbeat.

Date PurchasedSept 2017
Jo C
Jo Cmoora

Don't buy this model-faulty seals and poor customer service

published

We are very happy with all aspects of the fridge, except the seal on the freezer. It does not seal on the top left hand corner, so whenever you close the fridge door the seal is opened on the freezer, and if you don't open and shut the freezer every time it will gradually open more and more. We have called the customer service team for LG as this problem appeared within 2 months of purchase, and they said that this was normal and refused to do anything about it. I am very disappointed with the lack of understanding from the person I spoke to and with this product. Would recommend you spend your money on a different brand of fridge rather than risking experiencing the same problems!

Date PurchasedJuly 2017
Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how LG Top Mount GT-442 Series compares to other Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tony A
Tony A
  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

Struggles to stay cold in a single person household

published

I bought this fridge to upgrade from a bar fridge. My fridge has issues in particular with airflow as I have often had to throw out items like juices that ferment well before the use by date. Avoid and look at other fridges. The freezer compartment I haven't had issues with.

Date PurchasedJuly 2017
Karen
KarenSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Unworkable fridge space

published

The freezer compartment does not always freeze quickly, unless it is set on coldest setting. I have found the cooling inside the fridge space is uneven, where items at the back will freeze, or part freeze. Without moving shelves, it is difficult to reach into the fridge, and I wish I had chosen an upside down freezer, where the fridge component was at the top. Without opening the door all the way, you cannot utilise the crisper, which is an odd size and won't hold a family's fruit and vegetables. On the plus side this fridge is extremely quiet, the it uses less energy, having a 4 star rating. It is easy to clean with good quality plastic shelves, but not enough door shelving.

Date PurchasedFeb 2015

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020

Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
Steve
Steve
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Won't buy LG again

published

Questions & Answers

lindsay rogers
lindsay rogersasked
442L Top Mount GT-442BPL (Platinum Silver)

is there a fan in the bottom section or does air all come from the top freezer section the fridge section is around 14 deg c and top -23deg c

1 answer
Orlando L.
Orlando L.

The fan is in the top section in the freezer

Christine L.
Christine L.asked
Top Mount GT-442 Series

We have 2 year old LG 441 Top Mount. compressor is very noisy with vibration, started shortly after purchasing and then stopped noise. Has started again now. Technician came out and said rubber mount isn't dampening vibration. He suggested putting cardboard under the wheel (doesn't stop it). He said maybe could get another rubber mount but might be part of whole compressor. Anyone else have this problem and how can it be fixed?

No answers
Christine L.
Christine L.asked
Top Mount GT-442 Series

Fridge is 2 years old. Compressor makes constant loud vibration noise. First started when new then no problems for 2 years.Technician came out, said can't do much. He could try to get another rubber support. Any one else have this issue and How did you fix it?

3 answers
Jan
Jan

Christine I have only had my fridge for a couple of months, but I've just checked and the compressor is under a 10 year warranty. I would definitely pursue this issue further. Mine makes the occasional seldom loud noise which it has done since installation, for some reason other than that I am extremely happy with this fridge

Ina
Ina

That's just the fridge compressor kicking in...all fridges do that

Christine L.
Christine L.

Issue fixed under warranty. Was a faulty compressor mount.

See all LG Top Mount GT-442 Series questions

Get an answer from our members and LG representatives

LG Top Mount GT-442 Series

Details

Features:

  • Series of 2 fridges, one is a durable stainless steel, and the other has a white finish
  • These fridges don’t contain a huge amount of space, but they contain enough storage space to suit a household of around 3 to 4 people
  • Features strategically placed air vents, including vents at the back and within the fridge door. According to the website, items stored in the door cool up to 35% faster than LG fridges without this door-cooling featuring.
  • 4-star energy rating: A high rating compared to other types of fridges, which typically have much lower energy-ratings.
  • Although these are not smart fridges, both LG fridges offer a ‘smart diagnosis’ feature activated by pairing the fridge with a smartphone. If there are issues, this feature allows the fridge to figure out what the problem is.

Points of praise:

  • Reviewers were pleased that the fridge ran quietly and didn’t cause a disturbance. Some even forgot that their fridge was switched on.
  • Although both fridges weren’t difficult to clean, the stainless steel was especially easy. All it took was a quick wipe down to get the fridge sparkling again.

Points to consider:

  • Some reviewers wished there were more shelf space, but considering this type of fridge is typically thinner than others, it makes sense that this fridge wouldn't have the most amount of space
Compare all 6 LG Top Mount GT-442 Series
LG 441L Top Mount GT-442WDC (White)
  • Award Winner 2020
  • 2018

LG 441L Top Mount GT-442WDC (White)

4.0
(4)
LG 441L Top Mount GT-442BTDC (Black Steel)
  • Discontinued
  • Award Winner 2020
  • 2018

LG 441L Top Mount GT-442BTDC (Black Steel)

No reviews yet
LG 442L Top Mount GT-442BPL (Platinum Silver)
  • Discontinued
  • Award Winner 2020
  • 2018

LG 442L Top Mount GT-442BPL (Platinum Silver)

4.2
(52)
CategoryTop Mount Fridges / RefrigeratorsTop Mount Fridges / RefrigeratorsTop Mount Fridges / RefrigeratorsTop Mount Fridges / Refrigerators
Price (RRP) $1,259.00$1,139.00
Dimensions 1690 x 700 x 730 mm1690 x 700 x 730 mm1690 x 700 x 730 mm1690 x 700 x 730 mm
Energy Rating4 star(s)4 star(s)4 star(s)4 star(s)
Household Size 3-4 people3-4 people3-4 people3-4 people
FeaturesDoor AlarmDoor AlarmDisplay Panel and Door AlarmDoor Alarm
Handle Type ExternalExternalExternalExternal
Smart Fridge NoNoYesNo
Shelf MaterialGlassGlassGlassGlass
Number of Shelves4444
Number of Fruit & Vegetable Bins1111
Weight70 kg70 kg70 kg69 kg
Door Hinge RightRightRightRight
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Colour / FinishStainlessWhiteBlack SteelPlatinum Silver
Capacity
Total Capacity 441 L441 L441 L442 L
Fridge Capacity 305 L305 L305 L306 L
Freezer Capacity 136 L136 L136 L136 L
Compare all 6 LG Top Mount GT-442 Series

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.