2 photos
LG NeoChef MJ3966ASS (Silver)

LG NeoChef MJ3966ASS (Silver)

MPN: MJ3966ASS
2.7 from 12 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by LG

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.9 (8)
  • Value for Money
    2.3 (8)
  • Ease of Use
    3.0 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.1 (7)
  • Noise Level
    3.2 (6)
Previous
Next
Nic
NicAU
  • 6 reviews
  • 13 likes

Oven Doesn’t Work!

published

Terrible. Convection oven doesn’t work. It takes far longer than a cheap convection oven from Kmart. No better than a standard microwave & not worth the money. Very disappointing by LG, a brand I trusted.

Purchased in May 2020 at The Good Guys for $630.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
LG
LG A.LG
Hopeless
Hopeless Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

LG convection microwave is hopeless

published

Repairs to electronics required twice within 2 year free warranty period but now it has died 3.5years old. Never buying LG again. The LG 10 year warranty is a scam.

Purchased in September 2018 for $530.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
LG
LG A.LG

Other Microwaves

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
mr.sneezy
mr.sneezy
  • 13 reviews
  • 22 likes

A warning to stay away from this model if it's still being built.

published

Purchased in December 2017 for $555.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
LG
LG A.LG
mr.sneezy
mr.sneezy
Microwaves

Find out how LG NeoChef MJ3966ASS (Silver) compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
ARK
ARK
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Flakey. Random resets

published

Purchased in April 2018 at The Good Guys for $599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
LG
LG A.LG
Fran
FranGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

I wish I’d got the add-on warranty offer

published

12 months and 2 weeks old and the inverter error code started. Inverter needs replacing. This is an expensive appliance and should be indestructible. Don’t buy one. Looks can be deceiving.

Purchased in September 2018 at The Good Guys for $581.00.

Incentivised Review No

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020

Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
Guavacudda
GuavacuddaSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good Versatile Faulty Microwave

published

Purchased in May 2017 at The Good Guys for $549.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Burnt-Twice
Burnt-TwiceAU
  • 71 reviews
  • 68 likes

Best Convection Microwave I Have Owned

published

Bought this 18 months ago, used to have a Sharp 20 years ago.

Takes some getting used to because the timer jumps in 10 second intervals to 3 minutes, then 30 seconds after that. Also the maximum time it can be set for is 90 minutes, but if you needed 2hrs you could do it in 2 steps.

I use this instead of my older full size oven, takes just a few minutes to heat up, and is quite accurate with temperature. Never had any problems, the interior is easy to wipe down, the fold down door is a fantastic space saver, and the microwave function is awesome.

Would buy again.

Purchased in March 2018 at The Good Guys for $593.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Peeved
PeevedSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews

Obviously a faulty product and LG just won't admit it

published

Like many other reviewers and of the MJ3966ABS, this microwave just keeps resetting back to the clock or turning itself off. It does when you open the door, or press stop and even does it when you've not even using it and in another room. I've been on the phone to LG and absolutely hopeless customer service. There are obviously known problems with this product, and LG just say take it across town to a repairer. Given others have had such problems with getting repairs and then if repair doesn't last, I think I'm just going to go back to Good Guys and see what they can do.
Shocking service LG.
OWN UP when you've created a faulty product and give your customers refunds, rather than sending them on a goose chase.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised Review No

Other Microwaves

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Bill Stones
Bill StonesSydney, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Used for Office Kitchen. Durable and efficient.

published

Bought this microwave to replace an old one for our office kitchen. Our office has about 100 staff on the floor so needless to say, this gets used heavily. So far it has held up and no complaints from anyone. It simply does the job and does it efficiently. The oven feature doesn't get used very often but i'm sure it works just as good. The timer and heating functions were a bit tricky to figure out at first but once you get the hang of it, you'll find it has a lot of useful heat settings for different types of dishes.

Purchased in September 2017 at The Good Guys Online store for $693.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Microwaves

Find out how LG NeoChef MJ3966ASS (Silver) compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
John C
John C
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Very easy to use

published

A stylish and straight forward easy to use machine. Stable turntable and setting completion is very tuneful. Instructions and guidelines on the inside above the turntable make it easy to select the programme to use. Overall the design is stylish and fitted well with the other stainless kitchen appliances we have. Can recommend it.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
경미
경미 AU
  • 4 reviews

This is perfect

published

Without explanation, I worried a lot about whether it was one of life items, but I decided to use it as an LG product at home. I wonder when I can use the oven at home. I think I can use air fryer with this.
I recommend this product yah.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Roman
RomanGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 5 reviews

Nice one will recommend to others

published

Bought about a year ago and giving good service. Heats the food more evenly compared to what I had previously. Touch functions are nice but bit frustrating to set medium time interval for cooking as it takes linger to set. Sleek and shiny design goes well with modern kitchen. The operating noise level is on par.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
See all LG NeoChef MJ3966 reviews

Questions & Answers

John
Johnasked
NeoChef MJ3966ASS (Silver)

Bought a Silver MJ3966ASS in November 2017 - after a couple of months the machine started turning itself off regularly and I got sick of having to reprogramme the clock. Sometimes it turned off and made a buzzing noise. Had the machine replaced in May and now just six weeks later the same things are happening. Can't trust it to do the jobs I bought if for. Am really disappointed as I have other LG products and (fingers crossed) they all seem fine. Service from LG not good - was told there was nothing wrong and then told it would take a month to get a new part in??? Am now going to have to get another microwave but definatley not an LG!! Can LG please tell me what is going on??

John

1 answer
Janelle H
Janelle H

Mine is doing the same thing! Have they said what’s wrong with it and why it’s doing that??

Rube
Rubeasked
NeoChef MJ3966ASS (Silver)

Can you tell me what sort of noise it makes to denote finish of cooking etc. our last microwave had a very annoying signal.

1 answer
Bear
Bear

It plays a little jingle which is common with a lot of LG products. If you don't open the door it will keep playing the jingle every 30 or so seconds, which is a good reminder but also can be very annoying.

See all LG NeoChef MJ3966 questions

Get an answer from our members and LG representatives

LG NeoChef MJ3966ASS (Silver)

Details

Compare both LG NeoChef MJ3966
CategoryMicrowaves
Price (RRP) $829.00
Type Convection
FeaturesChild Safety Lock, Grill Function, Inverter and Sensor Cooking
Capacity39L
Dimensions 325 x 540 x 523 mm
Turntable Diameter360 mm
Door MechanismPull Handle
Power1,100 W
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Colour / FinishStainless Steel
Compare both LG NeoChef MJ3966
Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 8806087857610
  • MPN: MJ3966ASS

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.