??!

See the Best 4K Ultra HD TVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.


Beautiful Picture and easy to use

I replaced my Samsung 55" with this TV and Im happy to say it does the job well
The operating system is easy to use once to get used to it- perhaps I should have read the manual first !
I use it for internet TV and free to air channels and so far I cannot fault it
Only 2 HDMI ports and one USB port could do with more for some people but sufficient for me
All in all I'm very happy with LG

Purchased in March 2019 for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Performance
Picture Quality
Software
Sound Quality

Gr8 smart tv

Replaced my samsung tv with lg and best choice i made so clear better pixel and picture and voice recognition remote. So easy to use and navigate .55 inch and 5 star energy rating.

Purchased in May 2019 at Geddit for $900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Performance
Picture Quality
Software
Sound Quality

Don’t waste your time

The wifi constantly drops out and shows in Stan & Netflix etc stop playing. Can barely get through one movie or show without it dropping out once or twice. Then you go into settings and try to reconnect and it tells you the wifi is turned off! We had the model before this one and had it replaced under product care through harvey norman for the exact same reason but gave LG the benefit of the doubt as we liked everything else about the tv and that they may have fixed the issue but unfortunately its not the case! And its definitely not our internet connection as friends of ours have the same TV with the same issues!! DON’T BUY THIS TV!

Purchased in July 2018 at Harvey Norman Physical Store.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Performance
Picture Quality
Software
Sound Quality

Good TV, like their magic remote

TV good, easy to operate. Picture and sound quality above average. I would like to mention the magic remote, with cursor pointer, and you can even speak to the remote. Disadvantage is short battery life of the remote (about 3 months with light use), app expansion is not good (restricted to their limited apps LG web OS) and only 1 year warranty. Overall, will buy it again.

Purchased in October 2018 at Betta Home Living for $1,189.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Performance
Picture Quality
Software
Sound Quality

Clunky and lacks features.

My wife and I purchased this tv thinking it was good value for money. However we've found that you get what you pay for.
Firstly the TV doesn't support basic apps like Foxtel now. It also doesn't support Chromecast. The UI and app store are designed absolutely terribly, making it a nightmare to navigate. The sound is often hollow and thin, requiring you to fully blast the volume so you can hear/understand any dialogue.

The only aspect of this TV we like is the "magic" remote control which allows you to more easily type passwords etc.

We won't be buying or recommending an LG tv to anyone.

Purchased in December 2018 at JB Hi-Fi.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Performance
Picture Quality
Software
Sound Quality

LG not what they used to be.

The tv had poor sound, it is tilled upwards when on the stand, it had internet filters permanently fitted, the screws ard impossible to fit. The picture is clean but for the money it should be better.

Purchased in February 2019 for $995.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Performance
Picture Quality
Software
Sound Quality

The best TV for your lounge room

I bought this so I can use it in the lounge room so I can watch videos while I have my dinner at night also the picture and the sound quality is amazing, better than my sound-bars. 4K is much more detailed compared to other 4K TVs I owned such as the Kogan or Samsung.

Purchased in September 2018 at JB Hifi Home for $769.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Performance
Picture Quality
Software
Sound Quality

Intermittent fault. LG refuse to replace the unit.

HDMI3 started intermittently dropping out after owning it for a couple of weeks. The TV had its motherboard replaced. A couple of weeks later HDMI3 and 4 dropped out again; 4 for a few hours and 3 for 2 days. The TV registers that a powered device is plugged into the ports but won't display a signal from them. Both devices I tried when the ports weren't working (Nintendo Switch and a Chromecast) worked perfectly in ports 1 and 2. I provided video evidence of the fault to LG. But because their service centre can't replicate an intermittent fault they won't replace it. Now I have to pay the service centre to get my faulty TV back. I've repeatedly asked for an explanation regarding the video of the fault I sent them, which they refuse to give. Will not buy LG products again. Complaint with the ACCC in the pipeline.

Purchased in December 2018 at Harvey Norman for $900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Performance
Picture Quality
Software
Sound Quality
1 comment
Got the TV back Monday after paying the service centre $99. HDMI3 dropped out again Tuesday. Yet according to LG the TV is "working to specification"......

Awesome TV

I can’t rate LG enough. We have had this tv for 3 years now, we started to get lines in the screen a couple of months ago, called LG and they fixed and replaced all parts for free, even though it was out of warranty. Best costumer service I have ever received and always so easy to deal with.

Purchased in December 2015 for $1,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Performance
Picture Quality
Software
Sound Quality

Great Value 4K TV with great features

Bought this TV on clearance for just over $1,000.

At this price point I was not looking for OLED quality or direct backlighting, that said, I am very happy with the picture quality. Images are clear and 4K content looks fantastic on this TV. No issues with off centre viewing angles.

The features that come with most LG smart TVs are very good, including easy access to all main viewing apps and the ability to use bluetooth to listen to sound, either through headphones or a bluetooth could bar etc.

Some apps are not available in the LG content store at the moment, such as 7plus, but this can be accessed via freeviewplus when watching a 7 network station as well as via other platforms connected, such as AppleTV, PS4 etc, so no huge issue here.

Feels like this is a sweet spot for price and value. This model is clearing out in readiness for 2019 models, so a good time to snag a bargain, as some stores still have stock

Date PurchasedDec 2018

Love my new bedroom TV

Great smart TV similar to the other LG smart TV interfaces which is easily manageable and clean looking. I much prefer it over Samsung, especially the cute little bird pointer. Sounds quality is beyond amazing, better than my soundbars. 4K is much more detailed compared to other 4K TVs I own such as the Kogan and Viano, colours are vivid and strong. Would recommend this TV.

Date PurchasedNov 2018

Great TV in light room, not so good in dark room watching dark movies. HDR is questionable.

I wanted to upgrade my old LG 55 inch 1080 TV I bought 5 years ago.

My budget was to stay under $2,000, and looking around I bought this TV from the Good Guys at Browns Plains. They went to the trouble of getting it from the warehouse and set it up in store, and also gave a rather huge discount. Awesome to deal with.

I had it delivered next day, set it up and the initial "turn on" and have a look was great. The colours, detail etc are outstanding, very bright too and great for a bright room at day time.

Connectivity is very good, 4 HDMI ports, remote is also very good and easy to use, and the available apps are very good and everything is in one area.

The downside is the evening with only a few lights on and this TV has really, really bad light bleed and even if there is just one white object on the left or right, the whole section from top to bottom has a grey light column. it looks very bad. Watching the Avengers Infinity War is a great movie to show this bleeding and column effect. It makes it very hard to watch 4K movies....the reason I did in fact buy the TV.

With time and some trial and error adjusting back-light and contrast levels, this was reduced, but still an issue. However, bright scenes and motorsports in 4K on Foxtel, this TV is awesome. I was thinking of exchanging it for a more expensive model, but an extra $3k is too much, and even then the upper level models of the LG range still have light bleed issues. OLED have burn in issues....so I will stick with this.

Overall, it is a very good TV, and with time spend adjusting the setting and levels, and disabling HDR ( it seems to make the picture look flat and lack contrast) the picture quality is very good.

Date PurchasedDec 2018

Love this TV too.

Bought this TV during the Black Friday sales as we loved the LG TV we bought last year. TV has crisp, clear picture with an easy to use magic remote. Had problems connecting to an app - live chat LG and got immediate help. Great product and good, quick customer service if you need help.

Date PurchasedNov 2018

Love the pciture Quality

I went in to the store to buy the 43 inch but this was a great buy for the price difference. The Quality is far superior than what is available in this price bracket. The sleek stylish stand is a added feature and the remote is user friendly too. Easy to set up operate. Great size for a small apartment.

Date PurchasedOct 2018

It is a very big picture

We purchased this TV to upgrade from a 3-D TV and it has been really good It has 4 hdmi ports. It is quick and simple to set up And the smart TV part is really user-friendly. The sound quality is good but like most thin TVs A sound bar is better.
My only drama with the product is one of the ports I had on the Xbox one plug into it with sometimes stop making up the signal and what I have to do is on plug it from that port and plug it into another and it would keep working.

Date PurchasedJun 2018

Great LCD tv

January 2019 update.
I just bought a budget sound bar to pair with this TV. Like most flat panel TVs the stock audio is mediocre. Spoken word is hard to hear generally, vastly improved with a soundbar.

The TV is still great, has great input lag figures for fast moving games at 4k.

Nearly competing with the budget Chinese brands on price, but VASTLY superior to TCL/Hisense. Although on paper all the cheap brands have similar specs, this TV has vastly better motion handling, with far less Jitter than the Hisense it replaces. I expect this TV to be on special over through November. Spend the extra 2 - 300 over the Soniq/Hisense/TCL and buy this tv instead.

Date PurchasedNov 2018

Five Star Reviews, Three Star Product

I was persuaded to buy this TV based on numerous 5 star reviews but this is not, IMHO, a 5 star product. Attractive looking flat screen. Good range of options. Marred by very slow remote response, TV guide display takes forever to come up. Sound quality average. Picture quality average - you need to be pretty much directly in front of the TV to get the best viewing results. Connected by LAN cable - network continually disconnects and connects causing notifications and TV station labels to pop up on screen - really annoying distraction. Don't think it is caused by my LAN connection. Problem seemed to go away when connected thru WiFi. Would I recommend this to anyone else, maybe.

Date PurchasedOct 2018

Stunning picture, great features!

For the price, this TV is fantastic. Crisp, clear picture, and plenty of apps to use. Having Netflix and so much more right there on the home screen makes everything easy to use. When hooked up to the 4K player, the videos are beautiful, full of color and quite vibrant.

Date PurchasedMay 2018

Great value, picture and functionality

Purchased this 65” TV for my father. Great value, picture quality and functionality. SMART TV function works well with easy access to apps like Netflix. Movement is not quite as good as our old Panasonic Viera plasma (this LG LED is still a bit “soap opera” like). The more expensive OLED version would probably have better and smoother motion.

Date PurchasedJul 2018

Love this TV

Why didn’t I buy a UHF tv earlier. It’s picture quality is fantastic. It’s turns on quickly and responds fast. I am quite impressed with its sound quality also. Only criticism I have is it’s pointer sensitivity. It’s seems a bit too sensitive so makes a little difficult to navigate freely.

Date PurchasedJul 2018

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Which one should I choose? uk6540 vs um7600? Netflix friendly?
2 answers
Hi Sophia not much difference between the two i picked the uk6540 because i was able to get it at cheap price. you can get um7600 from https://www.buysmarte.com.au Model:55UM7600PTA for $980 delivered. also u can compare rating on https://www.rtings.com/tv/tools/compare. hope this helps.Thanks a lot..

where is the audio output?
No answers

Whats the problem if the screen goes black but you still have sound? its the same on all inputs
No answers

Details

LG 70UK6540PTA (70")LG 65UK6540PTD (65")LG 55UK6540PTD (55")LG 50UK6540PTD (50")LG 43UK6540PTD (43")
Category4K Ultra HD TVs4K Ultra HD TVs4K Ultra HD TVs4K Ultra HD TVs4K Ultra HD TVs
Price (RRP) $2,699$2,299$1,499$1,299$1,199
Screen Size 70"65"55"50"43"
Screen TypeLED/LCD LED/LCD LED/LCD LED/LCD LED/LCD
Type of TVSmart TVSmart TVSmart TVSmart TVSmart TV
Energy Rating4.5 star(s)5.5 star(s)5 star(s)4 star(s)4 star(s)
Wireless OptionsBluetooth and Wi-FiBluetooth and Wi-FiBluetooth and Wi-FiBluetooth and Wi-FiBluetooth and Wi-Fi
Number of HDMI Ports44444
Number of USB Ports22222
Weight32.5 kg26 kg16 kg11.6 kg9.1 kg
Operating System WebOSWebOSWebOSWebOSWebOS
Dimensions (without stand) 910 x 1573 x 42.8 mm841 x 1456 x 40.7 mm718 x 1237 x 39.7 mm658 x 1128 x 74.5 mm571 x 975 x 74.5 mm
Dimensions (with stand) 973 x 1573 x 350.1 mm903 x 1456 x 310.9 mm775 x 1237 x 259.2 mm715 x 1128 x 259.2 mm631 x 975 x 224.6 mm
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)1 year(s)1 year(s)1 year(s)1 year(s)

Visit official website - Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.