??!
2 photos
LG WTG8521

LG WTG8521

MPN: WTG8521
2.7 from 11 reviews · View Statistics

How to buy the best washing machine

A good washing machine is essential to every household, and while they all serve the same purpose, the variety of machines available can make purchasing one a puzzle. This buying guide will take you through each type of machine, and explain what to look for in each to guarantee you’re making the most informed choice possible when shopping.

Read now

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.1 (9)
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (11)
  • Ease of Use
    3.2 (11)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.9 (10)
  • Noise Level
    4.3 (11)
Previous
Next
The5ofus

The5ofusIllawarra, NSW

Do not buy

published

Have had for almost a year, at around the 6 month mark, I started noticing brown scum on the clothes after a completed wash cycle.
I clean lint filters regularly and run tub cleans, yet the brown stuff keeps appearing on our clothes.
The machine has 2 year warranty and LG are telling me it’s not a manufacturer’s fault. I know I am not a fault.
I am waiting for a service call, I will update after the technician looks at my machine.

Purchased in November 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG
Frankie

FrankieSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Don't buy it unless you want to iron everything.

published

Machine wrinkles the hell out of everything. You have to then spend the whole times ironing everything. Lg has gone downhill both my dryer (which puts everything in the tightest ball and doesn't dry) and washing machine have been a total waste of money. Wouldn't recommend.

Purchased in January 2019.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Dryer TypeLG 8kg Heat Pump Dryer TD-H803CSW
See all answers
Rohan H.

Rohan H.Sydney, NSW

Seems ok but issues with lint left on clothes

published

Most of the features of this machine are great, seems to wash well and runs quietly. We had a problem that we are unable to connect the hot water tap without it dripping on the floor. We have also discovered it leaves lint on the clothes nearly every cycle - even after washing clothes and towels separate and cleaning the filters after each wash. It’s quite frustrating.

Purchased in August 2020 at Harvey Norman for A$700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
2 comments
LG
LG A.LG
Rohan H.
Rohan H.

Updating my review after a few more weeks use. Would change my review to don’t buy this machine - it continually leaves lint on clothes, especially any dark clothes. Very frustrating.

Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how LG WTG8521 compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Hannah

HannahVictoria

Impressed for a few weeks but gremlins have taken over!

published

I was really happy with this machine for a month or so but now it is completely unreliable because it will all of a sudden decide mid wash to start again, or to rinse and spin over and over till I manually stop it. Like the size and the no agitator but it can be tricky to program and I'm taking it back this week for a replacement because I need a reliable machine, not to stand in front of it for an hour and make sure it does as it's told.

Purchased in January 2020 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG
Andrew

AndrewCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 101 reviews
  • 30 likes
  • Verified purchase

Have Not Had A Problem So Far

published

Purchased in November 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$748.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG

Creases the living daylights out of clothes!

published

Unfortunately our 14 year old Fisher and Paykel stopped working and bought this LG on a recommendation from the Harvey Norman salesman. Should have known better!
You can't instantly change the cycle midway to add or change settings but have to go through a stop/pause/change setting/pause/start - and you have to go through it again if you forgot an additional setting. Soak and delay function is confusing. Water level on auto is always lower than what's required and the clothes come out super creased! I've tried slow/ fast spin, taking out the clothes as soon as cycle has completed and different detergents. It's super quiet but other than that will not be recommending this machine. Not happy Jan!

Purchased in July 2020 at Harvey Norman for A$1,000.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG
JGL

JGLSouth East Queensland, QLD

Don't buy this washing machine

published

Purchased in January 2020 at Joyce Mayne Physical store for A$800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG
Melissa

MelissaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 16 reviews
  • 6 likes

Not as good as previous model!

published

Purchased in December 2019 at The Good Guys for A$699.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG
hmukai

hmukai

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Disappointing

published

Purchased in February 2020 at The Good Guys for A$660.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
hmukai
hmukai

Like many other reviewers, it does definitely leave lots of lint on washings.

Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how LG WTG8521 compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Shell

ShellSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect Value for Money! Outstanding Quality.

published

Purchased for A$540.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG
Jo-Anne T.

Jo-Anne T.Central Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews

Great machine but maybe not for delicates!

published

Positives: This machine is so much better than my last. It fits a lot in. The cycles don't take as long. You can even see your load from the glass top. The machine is so so quiet.
Negatives: I haven't been able to find a cycle that doesn't destroy my underwire bras. I have tried so many options and even washing them in the delicates bags that you can get. I end up with the wire poking out and there goes another $60-$80 for that purchase.

Purchased in December 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$899.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
2 comments
LG
LG A.LG
Jo-Anne T.
Jo-Anne T.

Thank you for reaching out. I will respond very soon.

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.

Get an answer from our members and LG representatives

Details

CategoryTop Loading Washing Machines
Price (RRP) A$1,049.00
Capacity8.5 kg
Household Size 3-4 people
FeaturesDoor/Lid Lock (Child-proof) and Internet-Connected
Energy Rating2.5 star(s)
Water Rating3 star(s)
Drum MaterialPlastic
Colour / FinishWhite
Dimensions 1020 x 632 x 690 mm
Motor Type
Max Spin Speed 740 rpm
Number of Spin Speeds3
Number of Wash Cycles6
Temperature Settings 3
Weight50.5 kg
Open Lid Height 1,390 mm
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)

Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 8806098412273
  • MPN: WTG8521

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.