2 photos
LG WTG8521

LG WTG8521

MPN: WTG8521
2.5 from 13 reviews · View Statistics

How to buy the best washing machine

A good washing machine is essential to every household, and while they all serve the same purpose, the variety of machines available can make purchasing one a puzzle. This buying guide will take you through each type of machine, and explain what to look for in each to guarantee you’re making the most informed choice possible when shopping.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.8 (10)
  • Value for Money
    3.2 (12)
  • Ease of Use
    3.3 (13)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.7 (12)
  • Noise Level
    4.2 (12)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Bookworm62
Bookworm62Perth, WA
  • 25 reviews
  • 25 likes

LG very poor service

published

W@e bought a LG top loader washing machine one of the filters broke contacted LG about the part gave details to them we will send a new part 7-10 days after nearly two months nothing have rang several times no response hopeless do not buy LG products

Purchased in June 2020 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Bathroom & Tiles.

Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG
Speed Queen AWNA62

Looking for Top Loading Washing Machines?

Read the reviews for Speed Queen AWNA62

179 reviews
Ad
Renee
Renee
  • 3 reviews

Waste of money! Terrible product

published

Absolute waste of money, doesn't clean clothes properly and the tub clean function actually creates more work as the build up behind the bowl ends up in the bowl that you have to also clean. The filters are the worst and cannot get them clean no matter how long I spend soaking or scrubbing. I've had to wash a load of washing up to 3 times just to clean it and after a tub clean cylce the gunk just continues to come out on the clothes. This is total waste of money! I had a technician out who wasn't helpful. I should have just spent the extra money on a speed queen as the service I have gotten from LG and they repairer is less than adequate!!

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in March 2020 at Harvey Norman for $900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
3 comments
LG
LG A.LG
Renee
Renee
LG
LG A.LG
The5ofus
The5ofusIllawarra, NSW

Do not buy

published

Have had for almost a year, at around the 6 month mark, I started noticing brown scum on the clothes after a completed wash cycle.
I clean lint filters regularly and run tub cleans, yet the brown stuff keeps appearing on our clothes.
The machine has 2 year warranty and LG are telling me it’s not a manufacturer’s fault. I know I am not a fault.
I am waiting for a service call, I will update after the technician looks at my machine.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in November 2019 at Harvey Norman for $700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how LG WTG8521 compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Frankie
FrankieSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Don't buy it unless you want to iron everything.

published

Machine wrinkles the hell out of everything. You have to then spend the whole times ironing everything. Lg has gone downhill both my dryer (which puts everything in the tightest ball and doesn't dry) and washing machine have been a total waste of money. Wouldn't recommend.

Purchased in January 2019.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Rohan H.
Rohan H.Sydney, NSW

Seems ok but issues with lint left on clothes

published

Most of the features of this machine are great, seems to wash well and runs quietly. We had a problem that we are unable to connect the hot water tap without it dripping on the floor. We have also discovered it leaves lint on the clothes nearly every cycle - even after washing clothes and towels separate and cleaning the filters after each wash. It’s quite frustrating.

Purchased in August 2020 at Harvey Norman for $700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
2 comments
LG
LG A.LG
Rohan H.
Rohan H.

Updating my review after a few more weeks use. Would change my review to don’t buy this machine - it continually leaves lint on clothes, especially any dark clothes. Very frustrating.

Related Articles
Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
Next
Hannah
HannahVictoria

Impressed for a few weeks but gremlins have taken over!

published

I was really happy with this machine for a month or so but now it is completely unreliable because it will all of a sudden decide mid wash to start again, or to rinse and spin over and over till I manually stop it. Like the size and the no agitator but it can be tricky to program and I'm taking it back this week for a replacement because I need a reliable machine, not to stand in front of it for an hour and make sure it does as it's told.

Purchased in January 2020 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG
Speed Queen AWNA62

Looking for Top Loading Washing Machines?

Read the reviews for Speed Queen AWNA62

179 reviews
Ad
Andrew
AndrewCentral Queensland, QLD
  • 116 reviews
  • 39 likes
  • Verified

Have Not Had A Problem So Far

published

Purchased in November 2019 at Harvey Norman for $748.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG

Creases the living daylights out of clothes!

published

Unfortunately our 14 year old Fisher and Paykel stopped working and bought this LG on a recommendation from the Harvey Norman salesman. Should have known better!
You can't instantly change the cycle midway to add or change settings but have to go through a stop/pause/change setting/pause/start - and you have to go through it again if you forgot an additional setting. Soak and delay function is confusing. Water level on auto is always lower than what's required and the clothes come out super creased! I've tried slow/ fast spin, taking out the clothes as soon as cycle has completed and different detergents. It's super quiet but other than that will not be recommending this machine. Not happy Jan!

Purchased in July 2020 at Harvey Norman for $1,000.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG
JGL
JGLSouth East Queensland, QLD

Don't buy this washing machine

published

Purchased in January 2020 at Joyce Mayne Physical store for $800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how LG WTG8521 compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Melissa
MelissaSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 20 reviews
  • 6 likes

Not as good as previous model!

published

Purchased in December 2019 at The Good Guys for $699.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG
hmukai
hmukai
  • 3 reviews
  • Verified

Disappointing

published

Purchased in February 2020 at The Good Guys for $660.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
hmukai
hmukai

Like many other reviewers, it does definitely leave lots of lint on washings.

Shell
ShellSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Perfect Value for Money! Outstanding Quality.

published

Purchased for $540.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG
Speed Queen AWNA62

Looking for Top Loading Washing Machines?

Read the reviews for Speed Queen AWNA62

179 reviews
Ad
Jo-Anne T.
Jo-Anne T.Central Queensland, QLD
  • 10 reviews

Great machine but maybe not for delicates!

published

Positives: This machine is so much better than my last. It fits a lot in. The cycles don't take as long. You can even see your load from the glass top. The machine is so so quiet.
Negatives: I haven't been able to find a cycle that doesn't destroy my underwire bras. I have tried so many options and even washing them in the delicates bags that you can get. I end up with the wire poking out and there goes another $60-$80 for that purchase.

Purchased in December 2019 at Harvey Norman for $899.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
2 comments
LG
LG A.LG
Jo-Anne T.
Jo-Anne T.

Thank you for reaching out. I will respond very soon.

Questions & Answers

Jo Ann C
Jo Ann Casked

I have a LG top loader 6520 are they still making that model also model 7520

No answers

Get an answer from our members and LG representatives

Details

CategoryTop Loading Washing Machines
Price (RRP) $1,049.00
Capacity8.5 kg
Household Size 3-4 people
FeaturesDoor/Lid Lock (Child-proof) and Internet-Connected
Energy Rating2.5 star(s)
Water Rating3 star(s)
Drum MaterialPlastic
Dimensions 1020 x 632 x 690 mm
Motor Type
Max Spin Speed 740 rpm
Number of Spin Speeds3
Number of Wash Cycles6
Temperature Settings 3
Weight50.5 kg
Open Lid Height 1,390 mm
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Colour / FinishWhite
Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 8806098412273
  • MPN: WTG8521

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.

Speed Queen AWNA62Ad