??!
1 photo
LG WTG8532WH (8.5kg)

LG WTG8532WH (8.5kg)

MPN: WTG8532WH
3.3 from 74 reviews

Washing Machines Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of washing machine would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

3.3

74 reviews
5
(25)
4
(18)
3
(4)
2
(7)
1
(20)
  • Build Quality
    2.0 (2)
  • Value for Money
    2.0 (2)
  • Ease of Use
    3.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.0 (2)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (2)
Previous
Next
Kimba

KimbaBrisbane

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Amazing to start with

published

Purchased in February 2017 at JB Hi-Fi for A$950.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Dryer TypeSimpson 4.5kg
See all answers
Lynn W.

Lynn W.South East Queensland, QLD

Worst washing machine ever. No Service from LG.

published

Purchased in December 2016 for A$835.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Damien

Damien

  • 2 reviews

Machine leak Water

published

I bought the LG 8.5 kg Top Loader washing machine, I had problems with the machine leaking water after the washing cycle is finished the machine keeps leaking water inside the drum, the inlet valve needs replacing it only lasted 2.5 years.
I'm really disappointed with LG Washing machines and don't recommend it for anyone.

Date PurchasedMar 2016
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how LG WTG8532WH (8.5kg) compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bazz

BazzBundaberg

  • 2 reviews

Disappointing bit of junk

published

Negatives are just too numerous. VERY LONG wash cycles, no manual programming for shorter cycles. Power outage means one hell of a headache to resume/finish that cycle, twists and tangles everything throwing it out of balance and no safety out of balance stop. No soft close lid anymore just slams shut, very noisy and rattly.
Controls at front never have been a good idea on any appliance.
Never had an LG anything before this and an LG fridge bought at same time.(also crap) and will not ever have anything LG again.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Disappointed

published

I bought a LG top loader as my daughter had one for over ten years and it was brilliant. This machine regularly doesn’t allow hot water in. Repair man said it was because our hot water was too hot or pressure too great!! Suggested we purchase a hot water regulator

Date PurchasedDec 2017
traveller

travellerBrisbane

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

FABULOUS MACHINE

published

Bought my washing machine based on the fact it has no agatater which allows for easy loading of clothes & less creasing on completion of wash . I have done a queen size Dooner in it with very good results . so happy I made this wise purchase ,& would recommend it to all my friends

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Alana

AlanaMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Great top loader

published

We purchased this as I didn’t want a front loader and so far so good.

I find there is a lot of washing options which is great and it takes loads of clothes. The only thing I would say is that it is a touch louder than a front loader but only marginally.

So far very happy

Date PurchasedAug 2018
Ruth

RuthMelbourne

  • 6 reviews

Love it

published

I was a bit sceptical when I was about to purchase this as I just had a LG issue with a purchase - a different company prior to that. Now, I am loving it as I was previously using the old model of the same product which just got broken - have lasted for a long time though.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Bundy

BundyPort Macquarie

Lint lint and more lint

published

Bought this machine 2 January this year and am nothing but problems with lint deposited on everything.

I can wash say towels one day, and even 3 washes later, lint from towels is deposited on my clothes.

LG want me to pay to have a tech come out and inspect the machine and if it is faulty, they will give me a remedy.

I refused - told them that if there was no manufacturing defect, then it proves the machine is crap - and I will take it back to the store and say it's not fit for purpose and get a refund.

This may turn out to be a long process, but judging from comments here, I'm not alone with a lint problem so it's an issue and LG would be aware of it.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how LG WTG8532WH (8.5kg) compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

LG WTG8532WH

published

As per Zoso I also called to have my machine's glass lid fixed under warranty and was told I had misused the washer. I called Consumer Affairs who said the words 'safe' and 'durable'. Their glass lids are clearly not durable!. I will continue my demand for a free replacement. I rated this company policy as 'terrible' but the machine itself is in my opinion excellent.

Date PurchasedJul 2017
Reena

Reena

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

This is the worst washing machine I have ever had!!

published

I have had MANY washing machines over my life- this is the most expensive and the WORST!
-- Does NOT wash cleanly, leaves lint all over clothes, does NOT go through spin cycle,- off balance! NO short- quick cycle. 55 mins, and only allows low water level. Disgraceful!! Also- bowl too deep for normal people!
AND- twists clothes up- I cannot afford another machine- I am stuck with this!!
it does not allow for manual override of settings, so there is NO control of this machine.
I have to stay close by to watch - as spin cycle stops, and starts filling water again, which is not good, especially on tank water.
sometimes 1 load of washing can take 2-3 hours!! This is SO frustrating and disappointing!!!

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Sue Russell

Sue Russell

  • 3 reviews

Great Washing Machine

published

This machine is fantastic. Cleans clothes beautifully without tangling them. Also very quiet to run. The only issue I have is the length of the cycles. I have had an LG prior to this one and decided they are such good machines that I would purchase only LG this time.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Caffeine addict

Caffeine addictHobart

  • 2 reviews

Heap of trash, not worth two bob.

published

Filter on bottom back of machine making it hard to get to. Even after cleaning filter clothes are still covered in fluff. When washing clothes it hardly even moves so I don’t think they are getting washed properly. Going back to a front loader. A lot easier to use and get a cleaner wash with no fluff.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Shu

ShuSydney

  • 4 reviews

Good value for money

published

The slow release lip function is great. It is quiet and clean. The circular hard filters are also easy to clean. It is also very gentle on the clothes by using the right cycle. However it is still a bit too small to wash the big blanket, I wish I have bought the 9.5kg model.

Date PurchasedJun 2017
Hannah

HannahCharters Towers

  • 3 reviews

Does the Job

published

I enjoy the slow release lid and the glass top.
It washes well and the circlular hard filters are easy to remove, clean and have done well catching lint.
The limit of wash choices is frustrating and the lid cannot be up whilst the water is filling which I liked from previous model.
Our appliance had damage on the side from warehouse movement which we were unaware of until opening. We live hours from the shop and therefore either party were willing to pay returns. I would reccommend more packaging inside the box to prevent damage.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how LG WTG8532WH (8.5kg) compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
JSP

JSPPerth

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Worse machine!

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Emma

EmmaSydney

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

The best washer I have had yet!

published

I love this machine. It looks awesome and it washes so well. Very quiet and I love there is nothing in the middle of the barrel like old machines used to have so nothing gets caught and tangled. I am sure this is much gentler on your clothes too. I am impressed with the LG brand of products.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
rashee

rasheeSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Perfect for a house of 3-4 people

published

The washing machine is a superb cleaner and the spin some times makes the clothes so dry that just in few hours its all ready to be kept in the wardrobe , my daughter likes the music at the end. she will walk around around the final rinse to hear it at the end . We have finally found what we needed in this master piece.

Date PurchasedNov 2017

I wish I had not bought this machine!

published

It does not wash properly, often lint on everything. Clothes are not clean if they end up with more lint than when they went into the wash!!
It shows an EO error that the filter needs clearing but you cant get to the filter....what is the point of that? 2nd service visit and I want to hear WHY this machine has so many problems (eg no unbalanced load error - just banging the bowl against the machine casing!. The lid inconsistently locks (it should) or not, the computer board was completey replaced at 12 months. I am very unhappy with this machine.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
Martyn

MartynNewcastle

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great washing machine

published

Purchased this washing machine online, the washing machine holds a great deal of clothes, ecsoecially as this has no agitator. The water and energy rating are reasonable and quick wash quickly and effectively. The machine washes well and operates quietly with minimum noise. I am happy with this purchase and the brand.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Page 1 of 4
See all LG WTG6532W / WTG7532W / WTG8532WH / WTG9532WH / WTG9532VH reviews

Questions & Answers

Dale67

Dale67asked

WTG8532WH (8.5kg)

Hi we have the LG WTG8532WH machine, the amount of lint on our washing is ridiculous, this is the worst washing machine we have bought, we have cleaned the inlet filters and the lower drain plug filter, which is being done weekly, we do the tub clean monthly but nothing is working, we are still getting lint on our washing, the washing machine has on it filter free symbol, how do clean this washing machine out and stop the lint covering our washing, not a happy LG customer, maybe consumer affairs can help us as the washing machine isn’t performing correctly, NOT HAPPY LG IN YOUR PRODUCT

1 answer
JulsDen
JulsDen

Looks like alot of people with this 8.5kg model are reporting a lint problem. I guess it is not scrud (which is caused by soap powder build up with cold washes). Scrud can get on clothes. I always warm wash to prevent scrud. If it is lint then I guess if the machine is not working in this dept. Only way is to wash lint type items together e.g. towels and other items separately. I have had a terrible run with several LG WTG7532W (7.5kg). No lint problem but repeat DE faults on lid caused by either the magnets or hinges. No help at all from LG. call centre.. They do not care about their customers or faulty products at all.

Muhammad I.

Muhammad I.asked

WTG8532WH (8.5kg)

I have issue with this model become Error P E

No answers
Greg D.

Greg D.asked

WTG8532WH (8.5kg)

How do I set a favourite cycle ? I've looked through the manual and lots of online sources. We have the thinq app but favourite won't open...

No answers

Get an answer from our members and LG representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.