1 photo
loans.com.au

loans.com.au

Home Loans, Car Loans (See All)
3.6 from 1,140 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Loans in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by loans.com.au

Reviews

Previous
Clear all
Next

Bad service

published

Discharging from Loans.com.au due to very high interest rates. The customer service kept changing originally agreed discharging date accusing another bank. Who is dishonest? Made complaint to AFCA. Trying to resolve discharging issues

Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used forRefinancing
loans.com.au
Taryn C.loans.com.au

We're sorry you're unhappy with your experience and we'd like to look further into your case. Can you please email customerrelations@loans.com.au with your full name, account number and phone number, someone will be in touch with you shortly.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Anthony
AnthonySydney, NSW

Initial low interest rate will rise

published

I refinanced by mortgage several years ago with this company due to the much lower interest rate on offer. However this didn’t last & the interest rate crept up either due to them not passing on rate cuts or occasionally increasing their rate because of ‘addition funding costs’. As a result the interest is now higher than that my from my previous borrower.
It is also significantly higher than the interest rate being offered to new customers on their website.
I have no issue with the service I received in dealing with this company.

Transparency
2/5
Customer Service
4/5
Application Process
4/5
Timeliness
4/5
Online Tools
4/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateJuly 2013
Loan used forRefinancing
loans.com.au
Taryn C.loans.com.au

Hi Anthony, thanks for your honest review we appreciate your feedback. We'd like to review this for you. Can you please send through your full name, loan a/c number and mobile to loansolutions@loans.com.au and someone can be in touch shortly.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Adam
AdamWarnbro
  • 15 reviews
  • 9 likes

Great at first, then goes bad.

published

Excellent refinancing a few years ago. Very pleased. However interest rate cuts are not passed on and we were left with no option but to refinance with another lender at much better interest rates.

Transparency
2/5
Customer Service
4/5
Application Process
5/5
Timeliness
5/5
Online Tools
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used forRefinancing
loans.com.au
Taryn C.loans.com.au
Adam
Adam

Thanks but I've assisted myself by refinancing with a much better rate with another lender. Shame you only keep new customers happy leaving the existing ones unhappy.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Daniel E
Daniel EGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Terrible customer service and incorrect interest rate received

published
Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Application Process
3/5
Timeliness
3/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used forRefinancing
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Loans

Find out how loans.com.au compares to other Loans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Martin Oldfield
Martin OldfieldMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Possibly the worst retail experience

published
Transparency
2/5
Customer Service
1/5
Application Process
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Online Tools
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateNovember 2020
Loan used forRefinancing
loans.com.au
Taryn C.loans.com.au
Martin Oldfield
Martin Oldfield

You've had about 4 weeks to "look into it". Empty promises again.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mike
MikeSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

very bad service once you convert your loan to them

published
Transparency
2/5
Customer Service
3/5
Application Process
4/5
Timeliness
2/5
Online Tools
4/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateMay 2015
Loan used forRefinancing
loans.com.au
Taryn C.loans.com.au
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mriganka
MrigankaGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Need to pass rate cuts being an online lender

published

I refinanced to LCA few years back, as LCA, being a few online lender at that time, was offering competitive rates. Whilst I felt that they have a reasonably good Customer Service and online user experience (smooth settlement process and quick turnaround time for responding to queries etc.), however when it comes to passing the rate cuts to their customers over the last couple of years, they are not as quick as the other new online/Fintech lenders. Sometimes they pass only a certain percentage of the rate cut and sometimes they don't pass the rate cut at all.

Transparency
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Application Process
3/5
Timeliness
3/5
Online Tools
3/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateMay 2018
Loan used forRefinancing
loans.com.au
Taryn C.loans.com.au
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Super Funds Awards 2020!

A good super fund can make a substanial difference to the amount you retire with. From retail super funds to self managed super funds, view reviewer ratings for the top-rated super funds of 2022.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Jan 2022
super-funds-awards-2020
Credit Card Awards 2020

Whether it's the sign up bonus, rates and fees, or reliable customer service that you look for in a credit card, a credit card is often used everyday, so it's important you choose one that meets your needs and that you're happy with. These are the top-rated credit cards this year, as decided by ProductReview.com.au reviewers.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.19 Nov 2019
credit-card-awards-2020
What Is Peer-To-Peer Lending?

Peer-to-peer lending is quickly gaining popularity among Australian borrowers and investors. If you've never heard of it before, this 2 minute read will give you a quick rundown so you can decide if P2P lending is right for you.

Nathan S.
Nathan S.14 Nov 2019
what-is-peer-to-peer-lending
Next
Laural
LauralSouth East Queensland, QLD

Initially great! But haven’t passed on interest rate cuts! What’s the point??

published

The customer service was great but I would no longer recommend. They didn’t pass on the interest rate cuts 3 times even though I was on variable. The point of being with them is that they have competitive rates but they are now higher then the big four. Disappointed!

Transparency
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Application Process
2/5
Timeliness
3/5
Online Tools
3/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used forRefinancing
loans.com.au
Taryn C.loans.com.au
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
too much
too muchGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Unethical, unhelpful and purely organised.

published
Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Application Process
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Online Tools
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateJuly 2019
Loan used forRefinancing
loans.com.au
Taryn C.loans.com.au
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Loans

Find out how loans.com.au compares to other Loans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
whatelsewedo
whatelsewedo
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Doesn't look after existing customer

published

First it attracts you with low interest rate and after becoming customer,loan.com.au treat us like we are nothing. I call them everytime when reserve bank cut interest rate but Everytime I here I am getting best interest rate blah..blah..blah . I am normal person and do not understand other than interest rate. My intreset rate is 3.22 variable now and my friend who went with other bank same time when both bank have same interest rate ,her interest rate is 2.69 variable only. What a shame..

Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used forRefinancing
loans.com.au
Taryn C.loans.com.au
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Russ L
Russ LPerth
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Good to start, don't look after existing customers

published

Since joining Loans.com.au the interest rate for new customers has dropped much lower than existing customers. They are not interested in dropping for existing customers either. Looking to refinance elsewhere.

Transparency
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Application Process
3/5
Timeliness
3/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateSeptember 2018
Loan used forRefinancing
loans.com.au
Taryn C.loans.com.au

Hi Russ, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. If there’s anything further we could do to improve, we’d love to hear your feedback at customercare@loans.com.au.

Russ L
Russ L
loans.com.au
Taryn C.loans.com.au

Hi Russ, thanks for letting me know. I will flag this on my end too so we can address this is as soon as possible.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ben K
Ben KAU
  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Bad customer experience, higher rates for existing customers

published

Avoid these guys, plenty of other lenders
Good 5 years ago, but do not communicate rate changes clearly, would not rectify their mistakes.Worst they have higher rates for existing customers now.

Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
2/5
Application Process
3/5
Timeliness
1/5
Online Tools
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateFebruary 2014
Loan used forRefinancing
loans.com.au
Taryn C.loans.com.au
Ben K
Ben K
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Loans

Find out how loans.com.au compares to other Loans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Todd
Todd
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

18 months into 30 years

published

Best rate when we applied, but they don't pass on rate cuts to existing loans, only to new customers, now I'm refinancing away from loans.com.au as they are ~0.5% above the market price. They happily watch customers leave, take your loan to Athena the first time...

Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Application Process
3/5
Timeliness
3/5
Online Tools
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateOctober 2018
Loan used forRefinancing
loans.com.au
Taryn C.loans.com.au
Todd
Todd
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
JuJu
JuJuGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

Avoid - after almost 5 years with loans.com.au They do not give you the service you deserve!

published
Transparency
2/5
Customer Service
1/5
Application Process
4/5
Timeliness
4/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateJanuary 2015
Loan used forRefinancing
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Watch out - attractive interest rate and then....

published

Satisfactory customer service, however loans.com.au are very arrogant and unwilling to negotiate when interest rates become very uncompetitive (+0.75%) above their advertised rate! When approached and a review of the rate I was paying was requested, they refused! So ultimately I've switched to another institution. Watch out and do your homework - Not recommended.

Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
3/5
Application Process
3/5
Timeliness
3/5
Online Tools
3/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used forRefinancing
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

Optimist
Optimistasked
Home Loans

Thank you @CeeJay for your review. I wish I had seen this sooner as I am facing the same delays and issues with my home loan application. I’m not confident they will come through even though My case is simple and straightforward with all docs submitted. Definitely should avoid loans.com.au!

1 answer
loans.com.au
Taryn C.loans.com.au

Hi there, we're sorry to hear you're unhappy with your experience. We'd love to look into your case further. Can you please email sales@loans.com.au with your full name and phone number, and someone from our lending team will be in touch with you shortly.

Anna
Annaasked
loans.com.au

Hi, I currently have a home loan with a credit union in Sth Australia. I have approx $190,000 still owing (with $70,000 in a re-draw account). Without the re-draw, the amount owing would be $260,000. My current interest rate is 2.99%. I saw your advertised rate of 1.99% and wondered if I could re-finance my Home Loan with your company instead? There are no exit fees with my current loan. What would the set up fees be to do this please? Thanks, Anna

1 answer
Brian
Brian

Go on web site no set up fees UBank is offering a better rate of fixed 1.75%

fahqteam
fahqteamasked
loans.com.au

When will we find out about rate cuts? I must add I’ll be very disappointed if it isn’t passed on and passed on in full.

No answers
See all loans.com.au questions

Get an answer from our members and loans.com.au representatives

loans.com.au

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.