1 photo
loans.com.au
3.6 from 1,085 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Loans in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by loans.com.au

Reviews

Previous
Next
She
SheSouth West, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 7 likes

Bank balance decline

published

How can your income, credit check, deposit & valuation be approved, then you get declined because your bank balance will only be $5800 once your deposit is paid... shouldn’t a loan be approved based on your affordability to pay not your bank balance...

Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Application Process
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used forFirst Home
loans.com.au
Hayley G.loans.com.au
She
She

What I would like is a copy of the valuation report I paid for

loans.com.au
Hayley G.loans.com.au

Hi there, we will refer your case to Customer Relations. Please email customerrelations@loans.com.au with your full name and application number and we will look into this further for you.

Lentheric
LenthericGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

No rate cuts, slightly lower rate offered for new customers only, even the big banks are offering better rates.

published
Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
3/5
Application Process
4/5
Timeliness
3/5
Online Tools
3/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateDecember 2018
Loan used forFirst Home
loans.com.au
Hayley G.loans.com.au

Hi Lentheric, thanks for your detailed feedback. We'd like to escalate your case to customer relations, so if you could please send your full name, email address and loan account number to customerrelations@loans.com.au and we'll assist ASAP.

John Liu
John LiuGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Do not go with loans.com.au because they treat existing customers very bad

published
Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Application Process
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateOctober 2017
Loan used forFirst Home
loans.com.au
Hayley G.loans.com.au
John Liu
John Liu
Brad B
Brad BSydney, NSW

Loans.com.au are scammers - beware..

published

loans.com.au are notorious for gauging their existing customers. They suck in customers with a competitive ‘bait price‘ and then after 6 months will try every trick in the book to screw their exisiting customers for more money. In recent years this has been by achieved by either not passing on rate cuts or gauging their customers with rates hikes due to “increases in wholesale lending”. It’s funny that they don’t decrease home loan rates when wholesale lending costs come down like they did in 2019.
All customers with loans.com.au end up paying much much higher rates than the industry average. This is a terrible company with a disgraceful business model and I urge you to avoid this company at all costs.

Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Application Process
3/5
Timeliness
3/5
Online Tools
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateFebruary 2018
Loan used forFirst Home
loans.com.au
Hayley G.loans.com.au
Brad B
Brad B
Loans

Find out how loans.com.au compares to other Loans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Alane
AlanePerth, WA
  • 6 reviews
  • 11 likes

Does not treat Existing Customers Fairly!!!

published

I have been with loans.com.au for 4.5 years. They have consistently failed to pass on in full the RBA cash rate reductions. When I first joined them the gap between the RBA rate and my variable rate was 2.06%, but the gap to the RBA rate is now 2.57%. My rate is now 0.5% higher than the rate offered to new customers !!!! I challenged them on this and asked for a reduction but they gave me lots of poor excuses. I am leaving them. Do not sign up to this company, they will not look after you.

Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Application Process
3/5
Timeliness
2/5
Online Tools
2/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateAugust 2015
Loan used forFirst Home

Stay far away from this bait

published

Do not expect to get the rates advertised on the website. Thats not what you will be on just a few months after. Completely disappointing experience for me. Learn from my mistake.

Transparency
3/5
Customer Service
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used forFirst Home
Rosemary N
Rosemary NAU
  • 9 reviews
  • 12 likes

[Bad] operation

published

Lure you in with low rate, then raise it after you are with them while no one raise rate. Dodgy documentation fee of 250 for discharge , not sure if this is even legal. Pathetic retention team. The whole operation is basically using existing customers money to fund new customer discount. If old customer dont leave, they are profitable. If they leave, they got sludged with expensive fees. Stay away. There are better lenders out there.

Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Application Process
4/5
Timeliness
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used forFirst Home

Related Articles

Previous
Super Funds Awards 2020!

A good super fund can make a substanial difference to the amount you retire with. From retail super funds to self managed super funds, view reviewer ratings for the top-rated super funds of 2020!

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.7 Nov 2019
super-funds-awards-2020
Credit Card Awards 2020

Whether it's the sign up bonus, rates and fees, or reliable customer service that you look for in a credit card, a credit card is often used everyday, so it's important you choose one that meets your needs and that you're happy with. These are the top-rated credit cards this year, as decided by ProductReview.com.au reviewers.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.19 Nov 2019
credit-card-awards-2020
What Is Peer-To-Peer Lending?

Peer-to-peer lending is quickly gaining popularity among Australian borrowers and investors. If you've never heard of it before, this 2 minute read will give you a quick rundown so you can decide if P2P lending is right for you.

Nathan S.
Nathan S.14 Nov 2019
what-is-peer-to-peer-lending
Next
Pinnacle2050
Pinnacle2050Sydney, NSW

They do not know the meaning of Loyalty

published

After with them for more than 5 years and them not willing to review their rates for existing customers, I would say they do not know the meaning of Loyalty or there is no such word as Loyalty in their dictionary. If you are planning to take out a loan with them, be warned. They may offer you a very good rate initially. But once you are sucked in and review your interest even after a year with the interest offered to new customers there will be significant difference.

Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
4/5
Application Process
4/5
Timeliness
4/5
Online Tools
4/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateJune 2013
Loan used forFirst Home
Patrick
PatrickSouth East Queensland, QLD

Worst online lender - no rate cut yet

published

While all other lenders have reduced their rates following RBA decision. LoansComAu is still reviewing how much to reduce its by - just ridiculous. I have been a customer for over 5 years and know first hand their false promises. They attract new customers with low rates and then quickly increase it to make more money!!! Time to refinance.

October 4th 2019 Update: Always the last lender in Australia to pass RBA rate cuts!! Only concerned about profits!!!

Customers affairs comes last for these guys. While all lenders passed on cuts, they are still deciding (or making huge profits by not passing rates cuts). I’m switching to Athena!!

Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Application Process
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Online Tools
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used forFirst Home
Loans

Find out how loans.com.au compares to other Loans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
HIA
HIASydney, NSW
  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

Rate creep after settlement - set & forget existing customers

published

I had been with Loans.com around 4 years, at one stage even with 2 different loan rates (gap of 0.24%) for same product, while a month later they even dropped further to 3.49 (ie. trap to new customers). Rates keeps increasing for existing customers even when market is going down, so in short - they only target new customers with discounted lower rate at the expense of exsting ones (with higher rates). looking for refinance options (with tic:toc or Athena seems to be better option)

Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
2/5
Application Process
3/5
Timeliness
3/5
Online Tools
3/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateAugust 2015
Loan used forFirst Home
kiwi3
kiwi3Sydney, NSW
  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

Variable rate goes up, not advertised rate once you are a customer.

published
Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Application Process
3/5
Timeliness
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateOctober 2015
Loan used forFirst Home

Discoordinated, unprofessional, waste of time

published
Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
3/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used forFirst Home
Loans

Find out how loans.com.au compares to other Loans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Anna
Annaasked
loans.com.au

Hi, I currently have a home loan with a credit union in Sth Australia. I have approx $190,000 still owing (with $70,000 in a re-draw account). Without the re-draw, the amount owing would be $260,000. My current interest rate is 2.99%. I saw your advertised rate of 1.99% and wondered if I could re-finance my Home Loan with your company instead? There are no exit fees with my current loan. What would the set up fees be to do this please? Thanks, Anna

1 answer
Brian
Brian

Go on web site no set up fees UBank is offering a better rate of fixed 1.75%

fahqteam
fahqteamasked
loans.com.au

When will we find out about rate cuts? I must add I’ll be very disappointed if it isn’t passed on and passed on in full.

No answers
Kaiti
Kaitiasked
loans.com.au

Has anybody gotten a fixed interest rate car loan with loans.com.au and their interest rate got suddenly changed during the fixed term loan period ? Are there any hidden fees or suprises on the way because I am on the stage of signing with them but the loan contract seems vague and subject to "changes". Anybody has an experience they want to share?

No answers
See all loans.com.au questions

Get an answer from our members and loans.com.au representatives

loans.com.au

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.