??!
5 photos
Makita BHX2500

Makita BHX2500

BHX2500, BHX2500V
3.4 from 53 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.6 (8)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (8)
  • Ease of Use
    3.8 (9)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (8)
  • Noise Level
    3.6 (8)
  • Safety
    3.9 (8)
Previous
Next

DO NOT BUY

published

Bought the Makita blower vac shredder BHX2500V over the Ryobi 3in1 for the only fact that i could sit the makita on the ground and Ryobi you had to hold. I have a bad back and i needed something that was easier to handle. I bought the makita for 349.00 from bunnings and took it back in 2 days. This product has plastic blades and suffocates every 2 seconds.. very very disappointed i spent more thinking i was getting a better product and really it was useless. Now i have 9 acres of property with alot of eucalyptus trees hence alot of leaves and the Makita could not perform but now i can see that this product is discontinued...Makita if you are intending to bring out a replacement model...DO NOT USE PLASTIC BLADES

Purchased in January 2021 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$349.00.

Ease of Use
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Mec joinery

Mec joinery

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great blower but the vac is alright

published

The tool is bonza it start straight away every time first time but the vac is a bit of a crap if you suck up to much the motor will stop

Purchased in May 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse Retail Stores for A$350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Mec joinery

Mec joinery

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Makita /blower vac

published

The only thing what let it down is the plastic vac hose if you leave it out in the garden for to long it will melt as its made in pome land but e verything else is bonza mate

Purchased in September 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Petrol Blower Vacuums

Find out how Makita BHX2500 compares to other Petrol Blower Vacuums

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Complete junk

published

I have owned this blower for 3 years and it has been constant trouble. When it works it regularly runs rough and won't run at full throttle. It randomly refuses to start with no warning - once this has happened it is impossible to start. I have stripped the carby down and cleaned it 3 times now. When I do this it works for a while then stops again. It has just done it again - i'm going to be binning this and buying a stihl.

Purchased in June 2017 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$350.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Rob West

Rob WestSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

A great machine

published

Bought my first Makita blower vac 8 years ago, started 1st time every-time. Put it in for service & they cracked the block. I raced out & bought number 2. Best decision ever! Reliable, great tool

Purchased in March 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$349.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Barryp

BarrypSydney, NSW

Excellent but a couple of observations

published

I don't run my equipment flat out and I found that the original sparkplug was too cold and oiled up. Went to Makita head office in Sydney and they fitted a hotter spark plug. Hasn't looked back after that, its excellent. The issue with smoke that people have complained about is that it is a fourstroke and it must be kept upright or oil is sucked into the inlet.

Purchased in June 2016 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers

Not impressed.

published

Unit is relativly heavey and has just enough grunt to do the job. The quality of the tube segments is really poor for a Makita product. The fact the the intake fan is on the left means it can only be used left handed otherwise it sucks your clothing into the intake blocking off a lot of air flow. This is an issue as most people are right handed. It also requires a lot of effort to control again a problem for right handed people. Does anyone do product testing and delevopment anymore or is it straight off the CAD to production?

Purchased in December 2019 for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
pdjhh

pdjhh

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Poor quality and design

published

Purchased in December 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$349.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
pdjhh
pdjhh

Just a follow up that I raised this to Makita and got totally brushed off so their customer service is a complete let down too.

Adrian

AdrianBunbury

  • 11 reviews
  • 5 likes

Makita has dropped the ball

published

Purchased this 6 months ago from Bunnings, went to use it yesterday and noticed a fair bit of oil on shelf it sits on, it has also developed a miss and surge on acceleration. The unit itself worked well prior to this My shed is all makita products but I'm somewhat dissapointed in last two purchases from them.

Purchased in April 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Petrol Blower Vacuums

Find out how Makita BHX2500 compares to other Petrol Blower Vacuums

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Charbel

CharbelSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Needed fixing 3 times

published

At first when new it was good but in summer it doesn't perform properly as the heat doesn't want to start the blower after 2 minutes of doing nothing and in the shade the last service cost me 160 dollars as the blower needs a new carburetor which is hard to get have to order from America genuine part which will cost about 75 dollars if I purchased a honda blower from before I would not have any problems as I have the line trimmer in 35cc and lawn mower in honda never had any problems in the heat with them

Purchased in August 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Nick O

Nick OTownsville

  • 11 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good speed and cruise control

published
Date PurchasedJan 2018

Can not fault

published

Had my blower for 2 years now , hasn’t missed a beat . Starts first pull every time no problems
I have a large yard and use it 2-3 times a week
I can’t comment on the others reviews but
All my makita equipment have been great .
Wound buy again

Date PurchasedJul 2017
Bob41

Bob41Southern and Hills, SA

  • 13 reviews
  • 5 likes

So Much for 4 stroke reliability

published

Bought this From Bunnings after a Bad Echo Experience. The first few months of ownership was a good experience. That However was short Lived as it Became increasingly Hard to Restart after a few minutes run time. The last time I Tried to use it from a Cold Start it Was Locked Solid. Best Part was Buying it from Bunnings, No Problem Getting a Refund

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Won't start when hot

published

Started well the first time, as I used it more I couldn't get it started. Cleaned the spark plug and away she went. Now it works the first time I start it during the day, after that it's touch and go whether it'll start again that day. If I do nothing, it usually starts the next morning. Seems like I have to clean the spark plug each time I use it unless I give it time to "rest" in the shade.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
BellVueQ1

BellVueQ1Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 33 reviews
  • 17 likes

4 Stroke is the way to go

published
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Petrol Blower Vacuums

Find out how Makita BHX2500 compares to other Petrol Blower Vacuums

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Don't waste your money

published

Had this blower for a few years and maybe has done about 2 hours work?
1st issue was a leaky fuel pipe (see plastic hose) from fuel tank. This failed about 18 months from purchase
Now the plastic priming bulb seems to pump fuel every where except into the carby.
I thought Makita was Japanese quality? or are they living on their reputation?

Date PurchasedApr 2014
Nick

NickSYDNEY

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great blower

published

Having researched a few since my old blower gave up the ghost, I came to like this Makita Blower. 4 stroke, easier to start and although quieter to run than the 2 stroke it has good blowing capability. A little bit heavier on the wrist than others but I only have to use it for about 8 - 10 minutes.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Ads

AdsMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Leaking oil after 3 years

published

Was a good blower, now not worth repairing cheaper to buy a new one. Waste of $300. Never buying makita power garden range again. Lawn repairer machenice told me makita spear parts are expensive. Very disappointed with this blower. Always hard to start I would use at least once a week

Date PurchasedJan 2015
Fletch

FletchBayswater North

Can't fault blower

published

Don't have the blower vac model, as I was talked out of it by the guy in the shop who told me the vac is rubbish. After reading other reviews on here, I'd say he obviously just saved me $50. Have used the blower a bit, haven't had it long, but so far it's amazing. Blows around 30mm stones no worries. I can barely see my grass for all the leaves at the moment, and this made short work of my large back yard. The only thing the service guy at the store warned me of is to take good care of your Makita - because while they are good products, the customer service is horrible should you need any help from them.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Gaz

GazMount Cotton

Best in class

published

I purchaced this machine after extensive research .Also after a friend had purchaced one . I find the vaccume function a little fiddly to set up , but very happy with blower function, Always starts first time , quiet compared to a 4 stroke , very efficient in cleaning up my yard . I have a very large area to clean with a dry river feature full of stones and rocks , this machine has no problem blowing all the leaves and rubbish from this area. Just make sure to change the oil on time and never use E10 fuel , Definatly reccomend this product .

Date PurchasedMar 2015
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Sonny H.

Sonny H.asked

BHX2500

How many months warranty does this product have from factory?

1 answer
Rob West
Rob West

Hi, I believe it is 2 year warranty. Rob

Ronald K.

Ronald K.asked

BHX2500

What oil do I use in my Makita BHX2500

2 answers
Bbrrrr
Bbrrrr

10w 30 sae small engine oil

Bbrrrr
Bbrrrr

That’s what my manual says

tom  k  junior

tom k juniorasked

BHX2500

Is it possible to use use on it's side?Ie tilted towards intake tube...One site in usa says it's ok ...Won't hurt motor .

2 answers
Charbel
Charbel

Don't believe that it will cause damage and the blower will turn off and smoke I did it once and never again with line trimmer you can turn to it's side like honda stihl eco but not cheaper one the blower is not designed to tilt to it's side

Nick O
Nick O

Yea, I wouldn't as the Oil will run into the engine too quickly and hence cause the smoke.

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare both Makita BHX2500
Makita BHX2500V
  • Discontinued

Makita BHX2500V

3.1
(20)
CategoryPetrol Blower VacuumsPetrol Blower Vacuums
TypePetrolPetrol
Maximum Air Velocity264264
Weight4.54.5
Price (RRP)298349
Vacuum FunctionNoYes
Release dateFeb 2010Feb 2010
Compare both Makita BHX2500

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.