5 photos
Makita BHX2500

Makita BHX2500

BHX2500, BHX2500V (See All)
3.4 from 54 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Petrol Blower Vacuums in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Makita

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.7 (9)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (9)
  • Ease of Use
    3.9 (10)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.9 (9)
  • Noise Level
    3.6 (8)
  • Safety
    3.9 (8)
Previous
Next
Reuben
ReubenWide Bay-Burnett, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Good blower, but the vacuum caused it to burn oil.

published

I bought this machine for my gardening business 3 years ago. It works fine as a blower, but when i first used it as a vacuum, it started burning oil within an hour. Ever since, it has burnt oil when used as a vacuum (and occasionally when used as a blower, but not often). It doesn't take much oil, so it doesn't take long to burn through it.

Purchased in July 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for $349.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Suzi
SuziSoutheast, SA
  • 4 reviews

DO NOT BUY

published

Bought the Makita blower vac shredder BHX2500V over the Ryobi 3in1 for the only fact that i could sit the makita on the ground and Ryobi you had to hold. I have a bad back and i needed something that was easier to handle. I bought the makita for 349.00 from bunnings and took it back in 2 days. This product has plastic blades and suffocates every 2 seconds.. very very disappointed i spent more thinking i was getting a better product and really it was useless. Now i have 9 acres of property with alot of eucalyptus trees hence alot of leaves and the Makita could not perform but now i can see that this product is discontinued...Makita if you are intending to bring out a replacement model...DO NOT USE PLASTIC BLADES

Purchased in January 2021 at Bunnings Warehouse for $349.

Ease of Use
4/5
Noise Level
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mec joinery
Mec joinery
  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great blower but the vac is alright

published

The tool is bonza it start straight away every time first time but the vac is a bit of a crap if you suck up to much the motor will stop

Purchased in May 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse Retail Stores for $350.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mec joinery
Mec joinery
  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Makita /blower vac

published

The only thing what let it down is the plastic vac hose if you leave it out in the garden for to long it will melt as its made in pome land but e verything else is bonza mate

Purchased in September 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $350.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Petrol Blower Vacuums

Find out how Makita BHX2500 compares to other Petrol Blower Vacuums

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Complete junk

published

I have owned this blower for 3 years and it has been constant trouble. When it works it regularly runs rough and won't run at full throttle. It randomly refuses to start with no warning - once this has happened it is impossible to start. I have stripped the carby down and cleaned it 3 times now. When I do this it works for a while then stops again. It has just done it again - i'm going to be binning this and buying a stihl.

Purchased in June 2017 at Bunnings Warehouse for $350.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Rob West
Rob WestSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews

A great machine

published

Bought my first Makita blower vac 8 years ago, started 1st time every-time. Put it in for service & they cracked the block. I raced out & bought number 2. Best decision ever! Reliable, great tool

Purchased in March 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $349.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Barryp
BarrypSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent but a couple of observations

published

I don't run my equipment flat out and I found that the original sparkplug was too cold and oiled up. Went to Makita head office in Sydney and they fitted a hotter spark plug. Hasn't looked back after that, its excellent. The issue with smoke that people have complained about is that it is a fourstroke and it must be kept upright or oil is sucked into the inlet.

Purchased in June 2016 at Bunnings Warehouse for $300.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
Next

Not impressed.

published

Unit is relativly heavey and has just enough grunt to do the job. The quality of the tube segments is really poor for a Makita product. The fact the the intake fan is on the left means it can only be used left handed otherwise it sucks your clothing into the intake blocking off a lot of air flow. This is an issue as most people are right handed. It also requires a lot of effort to control again a problem for right handed people. Does anyone do product testing and delevopment anymore or is it straight off the CAD to production?

Purchased in December 2019 for $299.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
pdjhh
pdjhh
  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes

Poor quality and design

published

Purchased in December 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $349.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
pdjhh
pdjhh

Just a follow up that I raised this to Makita and got totally brushed off so their customer service is a complete let down too.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Petrol Blower Vacuums

Find out how Makita BHX2500 compares to other Petrol Blower Vacuums

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Adrian
AdrianBunbury
  • 11 reviews
  • 4 likes

Makita has dropped the ball

published

Purchased this 6 months ago from Bunnings, went to use it yesterday and noticed a fair bit of oil on shelf it sits on, it has also developed a miss and surge on acceleration. The unit itself worked well prior to this My shed is all makita products but I'm somewhat dissapointed in last two purchases from them.

Purchased in April 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $299.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Charbel
CharbelSydney, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Needed fixing 3 times

published

At first when new it was good but in summer it doesn't perform properly as the heat doesn't want to start the blower after 2 minutes of doing nothing and in the shade the last service cost me 160 dollars as the blower needs a new carburetor which is hard to get have to order from America genuine part which will cost about 75 dollars if I purchased a honda blower from before I would not have any problems as I have the line trimmer in 35cc and lawn mower in honda never had any problems in the heat with them

Purchased in August 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for $300.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Nick O
Nick OTownsville
  • 11 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good speed and cruise control

published
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Petrol Blower Vacuums

Find out how Makita BHX2500 compares to other Petrol Blower Vacuums

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Can not fault

published

Had my blower for 2 years now , hasn’t missed a beat . Starts first pull every time no problems
I have a large yard and use it 2-3 times a week
I can’t comment on the others reviews but
All my makita equipment have been great .
Wound buy again

Date PurchasedJuly 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bob41
Bob41Southern and Hills, SA
  • 14 reviews
  • 5 likes

So Much for 4 stroke reliability

published

Bought this From Bunnings after a Bad Echo Experience. The first few months of ownership was a good experience. That However was short Lived as it Became increasingly Hard to Restart after a few minutes run time. The last time I Tried to use it from a Cold Start it Was Locked Solid. Best Part was Buying it from Bunnings, No Problem Getting a Refund

Date PurchasedJune 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Won't start when hot

published

Started well the first time, as I used it more I couldn't get it started. Cleaned the spark plug and away she went. Now it works the first time I start it during the day, after that it's touch and go whether it'll start again that day. If I do nothing, it usually starts the next morning. Seems like I have to clean the spark plug each time I use it unless I give it time to "rest" in the shade.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

Peter Poniris
Peter Ponirisasked
BHX2500

can I use a 10w 50 oil for my makita BHX250

No answers
miriam marquez
miriam marquezasked
BHX2500

What sort of petrol/oil needs to function?

2 answers
Mec joinery
Mec joinery

Unleaded petrol

Reuben
Reuben

This machine is a 4 stroke, so it takes regular unleaded petrol in the fuel tank, and 10W-30 oil in the oil sump (if your in an area thats hot year round, then you could probably get away with SAE 30 oil). You have to change the oil in it every so often (after 1 hours use the first time, then after every 10-20 hours thereafter)

Scott
Scottasked
BHX2500

I have 5w-30 fully synthetic castrol magnatec oil,is this ok for bhx2500 blower

No answers
See all Makita BHX2500 questions

Get an answer from our members and Makita representatives

Makita BHX2500

Details

Compare both Makita BHX2500
Makita BHX2500V
  • Discontinued

Makita BHX2500V

3.1
(21)
CategoryPetrol Blower VacuumsPetrol Blower Vacuums
TypePetrolPetrol
Maximum Air Velocity264264
Weight4.54.5
Price (RRP)298349
Vacuum FunctionNoYes
Release dateFeb 2010Feb 2010
Compare both Makita BHX2500

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.