??!
3 photos
ALDI Mamia Gold

ALDI Mamia Gold

1, 2, 3
4.3 from 271 reviews · View Statistics

Pros

  • Great value for money

  • Convenient packaging

  • Dissolves easily in water

  • Gentle on your child's tummy

Reviews

1.3

12 reviews
  • Value for Money
    3.5 (11)
  • Breastfed Child Yes (5) · No (7)
  • Easy to PrepareYes (12) · No (0)
  • Caused Unease / Sickness Yes (12) · No
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Spoon

Spoon

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Hit or Miss

published

As others have stated, the value of this formula is completely dependent on how your child tolerates it. Our first born absolutely loved this formula and had no issue with it whatsoever.

Sadly, our second child could not tolerate it at all. The gas build up after each bottle caused 1 to 2 hours of writhing pain after each bottle that was very hard to soothe. Poos changed from mustard yellow to bright green due to the high iron content. Switched formulas and the problem resolved immediately.

It's great value if your child can handle it, however my word of advice is to not waste any time and switch immediately if your child becomes uncomfortable after every bottle because the longer you leave it the worse it gets.

Purchased in February 2019.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Breastfed ChildNo
Easy to PrepareYes
Caused Unease / SicknessYes
Pinkyflop

PinkyflopDarling Downs, QLD

Worst

published

I have always liked aldi’s item but this milk formula that i have tried ended up my daughter into the emergency twice due to allergic reaction i have only given her about 50-60mls and ended up in the hospital.

Purchased in June 2020 at ALDI for $12.99.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Breastfed ChildYes
Easy to PrepareYes
Caused Unease / SicknessYes
Nickeysixx

NickeysixxCentral, SA

  • 19 reviews
  • 2 likes

Absolutely heinous

published

From what I've noticed in discussions in my mum's group this formula is either fantastic or horrible.
Unfortunately for my son it did not agree with him at all and caused him a severe stomach upset with horrid diarrhoea. This and vomiting is not an uncommon reaction from the experiences I've been told.
My son drank it fine and it was easy enough to prepare but his reaction made it undrinkable.

Purchased in February 2020 at ALDI for $13.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Breastfed ChildNo
Easy to PrepareYes
Caused Unease / SicknessYes
Baby Formulas

Find out how ALDI Mamia Gold compares to other Baby Formulas

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Aleisha

AleishaGungahlin 2912, ACT

  • 45 reviews
  • 14 likes

Thinking about swapping back to s2

published

My son is now 1 and is not liking cows milk so I thought I’d try S3 is that he is 12m and After comparing ingredients of S3 to s2 I am thinking of changing back to s2 as this has 14g of sugars where as s2 had none. Pictures are of S3 and s2 mamia formula

>Updated< , going back to S2 as this formula does not sit well with my LO, he cries at night in pain from his stomach and wakes up in the morning with poo explosions

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased at ALDI for $11.99.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Breastfed ChildNo
Easy to PrepareYes
Caused Unease / SicknessYes

Terrible Formula Gave my Son Constipation!!

published

I was using the stage 1 formula which was great, then put my son on the stage 2 got terrible constipation. I had a look at the ingredients and its contains very high iron which can cause constipation. So i thought i would try a different formula and within a day his constipation has gone now using Karicare has been great and a lot lower in Iron. Hope this can help anyone going through the same thing.

Purchased in February 2020 at ALDI.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Breastfed ChildNo
Easy to PrepareYes
Caused Unease / SicknessYes
Chai

ChaiSouth East Queensland, QLD

My baby was not with this

published

My baby was not happy with this mamia , immediately gave our child very bad constipation. Couldnt sleep & pass poo.Moreover my son suddenly start screaming & it’s continued 2 hrs , so we need to admitted him to the hospital .Switched back again to Aptimal.

Purchased in January 2020 for $12.00.

Value for Money
Breastfed ChildYes
Easy to PrepareYes
Caused Unease / SicknessYes

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

sahil a.

sahil a.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Only bubbles and gas when made

published

Very hard on my baby tummy. When mixed with water, create so much bubbles which indeed goes in baby tummy and he was unsettled unhappy crying for 3-4nights, then i finally switched to Nan and now he is so settled with it. Al gas issues gone. No leg doing upwards, no farts, not many berps and no bubbles with Nan. Hate mamia

Purchased in September 2019 at ALDI for $12.99.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Breastfed ChildYes
Easy to PrepareYes
Caused Unease / SicknessYes

Buyer beware!

published

Switched to this formula from another and immediately gave our child very bad constipation. Couldnt sleep, couldnt pass poo and threw his entire schedule out the window. Switched back to our original formula after 5-6 days and symptoms immediately disappered. Constipation was so bad our baby was passing bloody mucus causing everyone stress and doctor visits. AVOID.

Purchased in September 2019 at ALDI for $20.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Breastfed ChildYes
Easy to PrepareYes
Caused Unease / SicknessYes
Kim

KimGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Gave my baby terrible gas pains

published

I have heard that this formula is similar in composition to Nan Comfort, so I thought we would give it a go.
It gave my baby terrible gas pains to the point that no amount of bicycle legs or burping would ease it. Our neighbours could hear his cries.

Purchased in July 2019 at ALDI for $12.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Breastfed ChildNo
Easy to PrepareYes
Caused Unease / SicknessYes
Baby Formulas

Find out how ALDI Mamia Gold compares to other Baby Formulas

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bella C.

Bella C.Sydney, NSW

Bad bad bad.

published

So last week was a rough week and decided to buy mamia formula as it was cheaper and my friends premmy loves it compared to everything else. Well my daughter is never unsettled, doesn’t throw her milk back up until we used mamia. It’s like poison for my baby. Wouldn’t recommend if you’re swapping from Nan. Now I have to wait 2 more days until I can get her off this crap

Purchased in July 2019 for $12.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Breastfed ChildNo
Easy to PrepareYes
Caused Unease / SicknessYes
Charny

CharnyMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Stomach cramps

published

Horrible stomach pains. Ended up in the ER. Nurse asked if anything different was eaten and I mentioned the toddler milk. He loved the taste no issues. When he screamed the house down I’d give him more bottles for comfort but I was giving him more pain! The next day I stopped and went back to munchkin and cramps and a week of screaming stopped!

Purchased in March 2019 for $12.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Breastfed ChildNo
Easy to PrepareYes
Caused Unease / SicknessYes
Maddy

MaddyAdelaide

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Never Again!

published

I wish I was one of the hundreds of mum's giving this product a 5 star review - alas, I am not.
Pros - easy to prepare, larger scoop meaning less scoops, cheap and affordable, ingredients are in comparison or better than some of the other reputable brands.
Cons - PROJECTILE VOMITING, baby doesn't like the taste, unsettled, crying.
I gave my him two feeds and that's enough for us. He only drank half the bottles (never happens) and within half an hour was vomiting everything back up.
Just doesn't sit right with him unfortunately. Back to NAN Comfort for us.

Purchased in March 2019 for $12.99.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Breastfed ChildYes
Easy to PrepareYes
Caused Unease / SicknessYes
See all ALDI Mamia Gold reviews

Questions & Answers

Donna C.

Donna C.asked

Gold 1

Hi guys was wondering, my baby boy is going to be two months soon but have changed over to mamia how offered do they have to poo ! Is it still meant to be soft or little hard , before mamia we were on nans he’s poos were liquid run poos

1 answer
bea
bea

They should be, for his age,the consistency of a soft serve,is the best way to describe it. If you are noticing his poos to be a bit more solid (kangaroo poo) than you could be using to much formula to water ratio. If it seems more runny than usual,his tummy maybe a bit sensitive to the change but should return to normal in time.

Julie

Julieasked

Gold 1

What’s the amount for a 2month old each feed of formula

No answers
Jess 1984

Jess 1984asked

Mamia Gold 2

Has any body notice like a nappy rash on there bodies from formula ?

1 answer
bea
bea

No,I haven't. Both my babies have been on this,my 7month is on number 2 now and he hasn't had any rashes. Be sure to check you haven't changed washing powder,soaps,been in new clothes,changed to different nappies or wipes...etc. It could be contact dermatitis or sweat rash. Just take bubs to doctor to make sure it's nothing serious.

Get an answer from our members and ALDI representatives

Details

Features:

  • For newborns through to toddlers.
  • ALDI Mamia Gold 1 is a whey-dominant formula, making it easy on your baby’s delicate stomach.
  • Mamia Gold 2 and 3 are casein-dominant, aiding your older infant’s transition to whole milk and solid foods.
  • A 900g tin costs only $12.99, making it great for parents on a budget.

Points of praise:

  • Many reviewers found that their children digested this formula easily and it didn’t cause wind in their babies.
  • Most reviewers found ALDI Mamia Gold easy to prepare, making it one less stress for parents to deal with.
  • The handy packaging of this formula includes a lip on the inside of the tin to level off scoops, so you can have precise measurements with little effort.
  • Costing around half the price of many other formulas on the market, ALDI Mamia Gold is one of the cheapest formulas available.

A point to consider:

  • This formula is exclusively available at ALDI, making it difficult to buy for some parents.
Compare all 3 ALDI Mamia Gold
CategoryBaby FormulasBaby FormulasBaby Formulas
Price (RRP) $11.99
AgeInfant (0-6 months)Follow-On (6-12 Months)Toddler (1+ year)
Stage123
Release dateOct 2012Oct 2012Oct 2012
Compare all 3 ALDI Mamia Gold

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.