1 photo
Masport Bunnings 490 4'n1

Masport Bunnings 490 4'n1

MPN: 578763
4.2 from 50 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Petrol Lawn Mowers in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Masport? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Pros

  • Efficient fuel consumption

  • Relatively quiet

  • Simple to start up

Reviews

3.4
8 reviews
5
(4)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(3)
  • Build Quality
    3.7 (7)
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (8)
  • Ease of Use
    3.9 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.8 (8)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (6)
  • Safety
    4.5 (6)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    3.7 (6)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.0 (6)
Previous
Next
Darryl G.
Darryl G.South East Queensland, QLD

Rubbish

published

I bought this mower in September and it started to get harder to start. I changed filter spark plug and fuel. I took it back to who sent me to a repaired, apparently dust got into the engine and its not covered under warranty. The guy told me he had a couple of other mowers with the same issue. There's obviously an issue that Masport our briggs and stratton are keeping to themselves. Can't believe i spent over $600 on this. I should have kept my rover that had been going strong for 10 years.

Purchased in September 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $649.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
4/5
Incentivised Review No
Product is used Occasionally
Divya
DivyaVictoria
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Does a good job

published

bought a Masport lawn mower from Bunnings. It is really simple to operate and the catcher has great storage. I use my lawn mower on quite tall and healthy grass and the lawn mower shows no struggle

Purchased in July 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $100.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
5/5
Noise Level
4/5
Safety
5/5
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
3/5
Fuel Efficiency
4/5
Product is used Occasionally
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Saurabh Kohli
Saurabh KohliGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Amazing Lawn Mower

published

We bought a Masport lawn mower from Bunnings. It is really simple to operate and the catcher has great storage. I use my lawn mower on quite tall and healthy grass and the lawn mower shows no struggle.

Purchased in October 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $400.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
5/5
Noise Level
5/5
Safety
5/5
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
5/5
Fuel Efficiency
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Product is used Occasionally
Peter C.
Peter C.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

Good but some poor design features!

published

Purchased in May 2019 for $599.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
2/5
Noise Level
4/5
Safety
4/5
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
3/5
Fuel Efficiency
4/5
Incentivised Review No
Product is used Occasionally
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Masport Bunnings 490 4'n1 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Terry
TerryPerth, WA

Made the right choice!

published

Purchased in October 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $600.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
5/5
Noise Level
5/5
Safety
5/5
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
4/5
Fuel Efficiency
3/5
Incentivised Review No
Product is used Occasionally

Only used twice. Cord won’t pull on third attempt

published

Cord won’t pull after only two uses. Their manual explains nothing important. Contacting Masport is frustrating, as they have a form to fill out, asking too many details, and I have to wait for them to contact me after sending the form. I need to use it today, not later on. These large companies just don’t care about the individual customer. They should at least have the curtesy to print out a decent manual or have a website for troubleshooting. I’m sorry I bought it.

Purchased in May 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Product is used Occasionally
Jipped and angry
Jipped and angryMelbourne
  • 15 reviews
  • 24 likes

LEMON mower avoid - failed after 4 uses

published

Bought from Bunnings 2019. Motor supposed to be good quality Briggs and Stratton 625 EX. After 4 uses on very small lawn motor refused to start, after many attempts started a couple of times, spluttered,coughed out smoke, then died when attempted to push over grass. Yet another example of shoddy manufacturing and rip off products that last a few months if you are lucky. Avoid at all costs.

Purchased in March 2019 for $599.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
3/5
Noise Level
1/5
Safety
3/5
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
2/5
Fuel Efficiency
3/5
Incentivised Review No
Product is used Occasionally

Related Articles

Previous
Is artificial grass the right choice for my lawn?

With spring in full swing and yard owners tending to their greenery more, some are looking to ditch the lawn mowing altogether in favour of artificial grass. We go through the pros and cons of installing a synthetic lawn so that you can decide what’s right for your turf.

Clara V.
Clara V.21 Sept 2021
is-artificial-grass-the-right-choice-for-my-lawn
Next
Chantelle
ChantelleHunter Region, NSW
  • 8 reviews
  • Verified

Best lawn mower

published

Love this lawnmower, easy for a woman to use, tells you when it's full, doesn't guzzle petrol, worth every cent! Easy to clean also. My lawn looks great. Thanks bunnings

Purchased in April 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for $449.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
5/5
Noise Level
5/5
Safety
5/5
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
5/5
Fuel Efficiency
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Product is used Occasionally

Questions & Answers

Jacqui G.
Jacqui G.asked

What size blades

1 answer
The Reviewer
The Reviewer

If not in the manual ring them

John galea
John galea asked

Good morning I have a Masport Morrison 490 chipper catcher mower I need a diagram of the front axle setup

1 answer
The Reviewer
The Reviewer

I don’t thinks consumers would have this unless it is in your manual

tomav
tomavasked

Has any user had experience with whether 788310 blade/bolts can be used on this mower. I've read they seem to be the same as 783529 which is only a two blade/bolt set?

1 answer
The Reviewer
The Reviewer

Pity you didn’t ask Masport

See all Masport Bunnings 490 4'n1 questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

Features:

  • The Masport 490 4n’1 Petrol Lawn Mower can cut, catch, mulch, side discharge, and chip, making it a versatile unit that lets you mow your way.
  • It’s powered by a Briggs & Stratton 150cc OHV 625EX ReadyStart™ 4-stroke engine, giving it the strength to tackle your lawn.
  • A 4 blade disc system with increased airflow allows for better catching of grass.
  • The mower weighs 32.26kg.
  • It has a minimum cutting height of 7mm and a maximum cutting height of 70mm, making achieving the right lawn for you a simple task.

Points of praise:

  • Most reviewers found that the lawn mower had impressive fuel consumption, and was economical to run.
  • They also noted that the machine was relatively quiet compared to similar models.
  • According to reviewers, the mower is simple to start up, even after a long period of not using it. Reviewers said that it either started after the first pull, or after just a few pulls.
CategoryPetrol Lawn Mowers
Price (RRP) $599.00
Power SourcePetrol
FeaturesMulching Capability, Quick-Start Motor and Side Discharge
Catcher Type Rigid
Catcher Capacity42 L
Cutting Deck MaterialSteel
Cutting Width485 mm
Height of Cut7 mm to 71 mm
Number of Blades5
Weight30 kg
Manufacturer Warranty4 year(s)
Engine / Motor
Engine NameBriggs & Stratton 625EX 150cc 4-stroke OHV
Engine Type4-Stroke and OHV (Overhead Valve)
BrandBriggs & Stratton
Engine Displacement150 cc
Visit official website
  • MPN: 578763

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.