1 photo
Masport Bunnings 490 4'n1

Masport Bunnings 490 4'n1

MPN: 578763
4.2 from 50 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Petrol Lawn Mowers in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Masport? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Pros

  • Efficient fuel consumption

  • Relatively quiet

  • Simple to start up

Reviews

4.3
9 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.3 (9)
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (9)
  • Ease of Use
    4.6 (9)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (9)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    3.7 (9)
  • Safety
    4.1 (9)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    4.2 (6)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.4 (8)
Previous
Next
Robbieo
RobbieoSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Very disappointed

published

Purchased from Bunnings Oct 2019 and have replaced the air filter 5 times. Upon reading other reviews of similar engines, it’s located in a very bad spot just behind the front left wheel which seems like a design fault. Once every 12-18 months I completely understand but not that often. This mower also struggles to collect the clippings on finer grass so obviously it’s takes a lot longer to mow. The mower does start first time and runs really well but that’s about it. I do not recommend this product.

Purchased in October 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $599.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
3/5
Noise Level
4/5
Safety
4/5
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
2/5
Fuel Efficiency
3/5
Incentivised Review No
Product is used Weekly
David D.
David D.Hunter Region, NSW

Good mower, until it rusted out

published

The mower has worked well for 8 years. Very reliable starting and no operational issues at all. However although the engine is still excellent the deck has now rusted out.

Purchased in December 2012 at Bunnings Warehouse for $579.00.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
3/5
Noise Level
4/5
Safety
4/5
Fuel Efficiency
4/5
Incentivised Review No
Product is used Weekly
Havoc
HavocSydney
  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Can't really fault it for the price

published

I've had the 490 for a few years now, never had any problems with it. I haven't treated it very well and its only been serviced once since I bought it.
It doesn't love long thick grass, but will handle it ok if you don't use the catcher or mulch plug. It performs well otherwise. The catcher is tiny and I never use it anyway, mulching is the only way to go if you have a big yard. On that note, if you have a big-ish yard I'd recommend something with a larger cutting deck.

Overall decent quality and has proven its durability.

Purchased in February 2015 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
5/5
Noise Level
3/5
Safety
3/5
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
3/5
Fuel Efficiency
4/5
Incentivised Review No
Product is used Weekly
AnneL
AnneLSydney, NSW
  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Great

published

Purchased for my husband for his birthday. He loves the lawn mower. It cuts great and he actually enjoys cutting the lawns now. Really happy with my purchase. Would highly recommend

Purchased in August 2019 for $480.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
5/5
Noise Level
3/5
Safety
5/5
Fuel Efficiency
4/5
Incentivised Review No
Product is used Weekly
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Masport Bunnings 490 4'n1 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Easy start. Great work hourse

published

One tank does my whole lawn the back yard is flat but the front has a steep climb the wide tyres make pushing easy over soft soil and rough edges. The mower is very quite compared to my old mower

Purchased in April 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
5/5
Noise Level
5/5
Safety
5/5
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
5/5
Fuel Efficiency
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Product is used Weekly
Rhys K.
Rhys K.Sydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Better with age

published

After first picking this up at the local Bunnings I took it home and couldn't start it.

I was loathe to return it as I didn't want to deal with all the hassle of warranty claims and wait times so I persisted. After about an hour watching puffs of white smoke and it not starting I tried some Start Ya, and after a few pulls it roared to life.

Had it for a few months now and it starts first or second pull every time. Impressed with the high quality and ease of use and it's multiple features.

Worried at first but it's definitely been a good buy.

Purchased in February 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
5/5
Noise Level
3/5
Safety
4/5
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
5/5
Fuel Efficiency
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Product is used Weekly
Richie
RichieSouth West, WA
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Hard Grafting Residential Mower with Commercial Grunt.

published

Purchased in September 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for $580.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
5/5
Noise Level
4/5
Safety
4/5
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
5/5
Fuel Efficiency
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Product is used Weekly
Yval
YvalPalmeston
  • 14 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified

great multipurpose mower

published

So I bought this along with a new whipper snipper ready for the rainy season. Our old one still usable but struggled to keep up. This machine does heavy duty works, large and heavy enough to stay on the ground and mow our entire yard evenly in one go. the catcher is roomy so I don't need to keep empty it up unless I mow green branches and weed from my veggie garden. The engine is covered properly, made by Briggs&Stratton (625exi). Overall it has a great design with wood chipper although it is a bit lame since we can only put 35mm branches, this is mainly good for palm fronds. Easy to start, so far no problem. Noise wise, it is bearable.

Purchased in December 2018.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
4/5
Noise Level
3/5
Safety
4/5
Incentivised Review No
Product is used Weekly
Keith
KeithGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified

Great mower.

published

Purchased in January 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $499.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
5/5
Noise Level
4/5
Safety
4/5
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
5/5
Fuel Efficiency
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Product is used Weekly
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Masport Bunnings 490 4'n1 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Jacqui G.
Jacqui G.asked

What size blades

1 answer
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

If not in the manual ring them

John galea
John galea asked

Good morning I have a Masport Morrison 490 chipper catcher mower I need a diagram of the front axle setup

1 answer
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

I don’t thinks consumers would have this unless it is in your manual

tomav
tomavasked

Has any user had experience with whether 788310 blade/bolts can be used on this mower. I've read they seem to be the same as 783529 which is only a two blade/bolt set?

1 answer
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

Pity you didn’t ask Masport

See all Masport Bunnings 490 4'n1 questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

Features:

  • The Masport 490 4n’1 Petrol Lawn Mower can cut, catch, mulch, side discharge, and chip, making it a versatile unit that lets you mow your way.
  • It’s powered by a Briggs & Stratton 150cc OHV 625EX ReadyStart™ 4-stroke engine, giving it the strength to tackle your lawn.
  • A 4 blade disc system with increased airflow allows for better catching of grass.
  • The mower weighs 32.26kg.
  • It has a minimum cutting height of 7mm and a maximum cutting height of 70mm, making achieving the right lawn for you a simple task.

Points of praise:

  • Most reviewers found that the lawn mower had impressive fuel consumption, and was economical to run.
  • They also noted that the machine was relatively quiet compared to similar models.
  • According to reviewers, the mower is simple to start up, even after a long period of not using it. Reviewers said that it either started after the first pull, or after just a few pulls.
CategoryPetrol Lawn Mowers
Price (RRP) $599.00
Power SourcePetrol
FeaturesMulching Capability, Quick-Start Motor and Side Discharge
Catcher Type Rigid
Catcher Capacity42 L
Cutting Deck MaterialSteel
Cutting Width485 mm
Height of Cut7 mm to 71 mm
Number of Blades5
Weight30 kg
Manufacturer Warranty4 year(s)
Engine / Motor
Engine NameBriggs & Stratton 625EX 150cc 4-stroke OHV
Engine Type4-Stroke and OHV (Overhead Valve)
BrandBriggs & Stratton
Engine Displacement150 cc
Visit official website
  • MPN: 578763

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.