2 photos
Masport Bunnings 486 3'n1

Masport Bunnings 486 3'n1

MPN: 578762
3.6 from 44 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Petrol Lawn Mowers in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Masport? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

4.1
11 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.0 (11)
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (11)
  • Ease of Use
    4.6 (11)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (10)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (10)
  • Safety
    4.6 (10)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    3.9 (10)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.4 (9)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Reuben
ReubenWide Bay-Burnett, QLD
  • 3 reviews

Used it commercially, even though its not a commercial mower

published

When I started my mowing business, I had limited capital available to me. As such, I started by buying a cheapish mower that looked like it would do what I needed it to do. I flogged this machine for about 2 years on overgrown lawns that is probably wasn't designed for, and the only major issues it developed were a blocked air filter, and a blocked carby. Both were relatively easy fixes, though the carby took some fiddling to reinstall. I have since replaced this machine, and it is still working hard at my Aunt's place (in the middle of nowhere).

Purchased in March 2018.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
4/5
Incentivised Review No
Product is used Weekly
Tangles
TanglesSouth West, WA

Snapped crankshaft. Replaced blades once

published

Have owned this mower for five years and it has been good value. Until today .
As it started the crankshaft snapped, ummm, bugga!
The catcher is a poor design and has several cracks
It has only worn out one set of blades so I hope the five year engine warranty is honoured…..

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
5/5
Noise Level
5/5
Safety
5/5
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
5/5
Fuel Efficiency
3/5
Incentivised Review No
Product is used Weekly
Big Jolly Fellow
Big Jolly FellowSydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews

No Worries - Cuts the Grass

published

Purchased in January 1991 at Masport for $1,100.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
4/5
Noise Level
3/5
Safety
4/5
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
4/5
Fuel Efficiency
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Product is used Weekly

Started off ok but is falling to pieces at 18 months old.

published

Functionally ok until plastic rear chute lift up flap began cracking and splitting, now unable to use catcher. Frustrating as it was the only reason we bought it. Have a zero turn ride on for most and just use this for small yard around house. Very disappointed

Purchased in June 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
3/5
Noise Level
3/5
Safety
3/5
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
2/5
Fuel Efficiency
3/5
Incentivised Review No
Product is used Weekly
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Masport Bunnings 486 3'n1 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Cvt
CvtGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

I’m fussy and this one is really good

published

Bought this after a lot of research. First off - it’s easy to put together and I was mowing within 20 minutes of opening the box. It’s very light too and easy to manoeuvre. Easy start and it cleans up well. My grass is thick and was wet and it did clog a bit but it was expecting that and the cuttings were really fine. Really happy with this mower and the results.

Purchased in October 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $519.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
5/5
Noise Level
4/5
Safety
4/5
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
4/5
Fuel Efficiency
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Product is used Weekly
Farmer T
Farmer TEyre Peninsula, SA
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great Mow, lousy catch!

published

I purchased this mower from Bunnings and am pleased with the mower itself. Mower start easily and cuts nicely as long as grass is not too long. If too long it will start to stop and stop if not pulled back or blades lifted higher. I think the catcher is absolute plastic crap, especially considering the cost of the mower. I have been unable to use the catcher and will be contacting Bunnings regarding the correct installation of it as the instructions are as clear as mud!

Purchased in August 2020 for $550.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
5/5
Noise Level
5/5
Safety
5/5
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
3/5
Fuel Efficiency
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Product is used Weekly
Darren
DarrenMid North Coast, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Great value for money

published

Purchased recently - used about 5 times. Mow is great, very easy to start.

The only minor issue I have is the catcher is a little smaller than my last mower. I am being extremely picky about this.

Used the side eject for the 1st time today and it was great, ejects the grass well away.

I cannot fault the mower so far and highly recommend it.

Purchased in February 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $499.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
5/5
Noise Level
4/5
Safety
5/5
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
4/5
Fuel Efficiency
4/5
Incentivised Review No
Product is used Weekly
George G
George GMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 2 reviews
  • Verified

Very good value for money mower.

published

Picked this up as a replacement for an ozito mower. Can say it's much better. Only thing I would warn people on, if you're looking to mow thick grass really short then you should consider getting the 490.

For most (99%) jobs this is more than sufficient.

It's light, the catcher catches everything really well. It can cut really short as needed and best part was there was practically nothing to put together. It come assembled out of the box.

Starting is. Breeze, it started first pull straight out of the box.

Mulching performance is ok, but you do need to understand that mulching can only be done on trims, you cannot mulch big cuts back into the lawn .

Purchased in February 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $498.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
4/5
Noise Level
5/5
Safety
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Product is used Weekly
kelly
kelly
  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified

Awesome mulcher

published

We have average size front and back lawn no need for the catcher have not used it have used it on mulcher everytime and no need to take afterwards we love it and got it on clearance saved $100

Purchased in January 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $398.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
4/5
Noise Level
4/5
Safety
5/5
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
5/5
Fuel Efficiency
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Product is used Weekly
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Masport Bunnings 486 3'n1 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Best mower I’ve used

published

Purchased in December 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $498.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
5/5
Noise Level
4/5
Safety
5/5
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
5/5
Fuel Efficiency
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Product is used Weekly
Leisha
LeishaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

First one was faulty but replacement works great

published

Purchased in October 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $500.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
3/5
Noise Level
3/5
Safety
5/5
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
3/5
Fuel Efficiency
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Product is used Weekly

Questions & Answers

Dwayne H.
Dwayne H.asked

Hi I have a 486 3in1 and was wondering if you could tell me the cut height of each notch on the adjustment mechanism? Cheers

1 answer
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

What did Masport say?

Geoff L.
Geoff L.asked

where can I buy a mulcher attachment?

1 answer
Cvt
Cvt

Mine was in the box. You might find it already fitted. Once you open up the rear part it’s a semi circle looking piece that wraps around the blades-just makes the cuttings get cut several times by the blades- I find it keeps the dust down too

Geoff L.
Geoff L.asked

can I purchase a mulcher for this mower

3 answers
Farmer T
Farmer T

There is a mulcher attachment that comes with the mower.

Geoff L.
Geoff L.

Did not get a mulcher

Geoff L.
Geoff L.

too long ago now, can Ibuy one?

See all Masport Bunnings 486 3'n1 questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryPetrol Lawn Mowers
Price (RRP) $498.00
Power SourcePetrol
FeaturesMulching Capability, Quick-Start Motor and Side Discharge
Catcher Type Rigid
Catcher Capacity42 L
Cutting Deck MaterialSteel
Cutting Width485 mm
Height of Cut6 mm to 72 mm
Number of Blades4
Noise Level 75 dB
Weight28.6 kg
Manufacturer Warranty4 year(s)
Engine / Motor
Engine NameBriggs & Stratton 550EX 140cc OHV
Engine Type4-Stroke and OHV (Overhead Valve)
BrandBriggs & Stratton
Engine Displacement140 cc
Release dateSept 2006
Visit official website
  • MPN: 578762

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.