??!
1 photo
Mate ADSL
3.9 from 305 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
177
4 star
44
3 star
15
2 star
13
1 star
56

coinlaundry

coinlaundry

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified customer

Good service, decent prices

published

Have been with Mate for over a year. Went with them as I heard good reviews from friends. They have not disappointed with reliable service and good speeds. Also have offered to switch us over to NBN at no extra charge. Their call centre is very friendly and helpful - would recommend to anybody.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

B.T.Melb

B.T.MelbGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • Verified customer

As per the other reviews

published

I chose MATE based on reviews from other users and they did not disappoint. The sign up and connection was a smooth process. So far the internet is generally working well.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateAugust 2019
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

David

DavidSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified customer

Lip service and incompetent

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateSeptember 2019
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
4 comments
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
David
David
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
Kate

KateDarling Downs, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified customer

Decent ADSL provider.

published

I signed up for 'mate' ADSL for six months while living in a rural area and I found them to be a good overall provider and would still be with them if I had not moved to an NBN area. The setup was simple and they had excellent Australian-based customer service representatives and a reasonable monthly cost. The fact that I did not have to 'lock in' a contract really sealed the deal for me. Would recommend.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateFebruary 2018
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Alaa

AlaaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified customer

A customer for a number of years. Great service.

published

I've been a Mate customer for over 2 years and I've been happy with their service. I've also opted to stay with them while moving and started using them as my NBN ISP. They've had a few interruptions in service, as any service provider would at some point, but I was informed via SMS every time and the downtime was minimal. Only needed their customer service for account issues not tech related issues but I was happy with the assistance I received. Unlimited data and no contracts means they are confident with the service they provide. Overall I am a happy customer and highly recommend their service.
Disclosure: I was asked to provide a review of their service. And I am happy to recommend them.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate


  • Verified customer

Excellent Service with minor issues.

published

I have been with the service for over a year and I just had a problem with the conexion getting slow or lost in the last month, but I totally recommend the service and I am happy with it.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateAugust 2018
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type12-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate


Mendo V

Mendo VGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • Verified customer

4 years happy! Been with them on NBN and now ADSL.

published

4 years happy! Been with them on NBN and now ADSL. The service is the best in Australia. They pick up the phone straight away and the call centre is in Australia. (You can understand their perfect English!) Thanks for the tech support Tim and every staff member!!!
Excellent prices too!!!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Karl B

Karl BGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified customer

Easy, fast and reliable.

published

I just switched from Belong to Mate, having had really great service from Belong for years until it started to really slow down and drop out recently. I churned to Mate and it's been a smooth and easy. Signed up on Wednesday, modem delivered Friday, service connected Monday. No issues, no drama and a really great price with a reliable connection, well-rated modem and good ADSL speed so far. If you don't have an active Telstra phone line you may need to pay for one to be connected - but they explain all this to you. I'm impressed and really happy!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateSeptember 2019
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
Anonymous

AnonymousSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified customer

Excellent

published

Easy connection process - ADSL - nice staff and fast answer on support requests
Everything works (internet, phone, vpn)
Have met all their promises so far - connection time was fast
Generally happy with everything

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateAugust 2019
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
mawar

mawarMelbourne

  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified customer

Can't fault their customer service!

published

I used to be on their NBN (which had blazing speeds) but then I moved homes to an area with no NBN so had to downgrade to ADSL. Although there were other providers with slightly better rates, I was adamant to stick to Mate. Their customer service has always been top notch. They walked me through the entire process from ordering the service to set up, sent updates via email and sms and was friendly to boot. What I loved most though is that their team is based in Australia as well. Highly reccomended.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Start DateJuly 2019
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate


Chelsea Chapman

Chelsea ChapmanSydney, NSW

  • Verified customer

Good. Connection is a bit off at times, find myself disconnecting my phone when I get home.

published

Yes, connection is slow on my phone when connected to adsl.
Don't use it for my phone at home only Tv due to the slow connection. Works well with the TV just not for phones and my laptop is slow.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateJuly 2019
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate


Jornada

Jornada

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified customer

Dodgy Practices

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Esther

EstherSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • Verified customer

Customer service is incredible

published

Customer service is incredible, super friendly and extremely helpful. You are talking with people that also speak fluent English which is a plus when trying to communicate over the phone. There really is no complications with this company, so easy to sign up, and even easier to end the contract. (I was moving overseas) but if I wasn't, I would be happy to stay with Mate.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateFebruary 2019
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Carol Hong

Carol HongSydney, NSW

  • Verified customer

Great!

published

Reliable and great speed. The phone help was fantastic to help me set up, especially as I'm an older female living alone. The lovely guy even told me exactly what I needed to get from Officeworks to adapt my older phone line and the price! I couldn't ask for more.
I had already used Mate for a few years after getting NBN and had a great experience so although they were slightly more expensive than other 'cheap' deals I am convinced I have the best deal.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateApril 2017
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Mendo V.

Mendo V.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified customer

Crazy not to try the best! No contact, give em a go!

published

I did NBN with them and now moved to a NBNless zone. I won't leave them ever. They pick the phone! You can understand the Australian call centre! And it bloody works great. I recommend to everyone. Try it and stop going with the usual heartaches.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateApril 2016
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Siemen F.

Siemen F.

  • 12 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified customer

YES MATE!

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateNovember 2017
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Amanda I.

Amanda I.South-Eastern Region, NSW

  • Verified customer

Never an issue!

published

We think the team at mate do a fantastic job & we would definitely sign back up with them when we reconnect. Customer service was always laid back yet professional & never an issue with our connection. Brilliant!

(Only reason why we've cancelled is because we are going caravanning)

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateJanuary 2016
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

  • Verified customer

Do not even bother!!!

published

My connection started off well enough but after continual disappointment over the last three months I have been trying to cancel my service. I first wanted to check how much data I have been using. It should be on your billl...but no! Go to my customer portal, click on the usage icon...no data available. Customer service tells me that it is there. After showing them it was not, they messages me with the information...no apology! I tried cancelling by email. I have to call. No answer we are busy leave your details...no call back! What a total hoax! Do not even bother entertaining giving these guys your business!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Adequate Speeds No
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Peta L.

Peta L.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • Verified customer

Great products and team

published

SO happy with these guys from start to finish. Easy process, great on the phone if anything is wrong & super easy & pain free disconnection. Wish all companies ran in this manner. Great price plan and internet connection was ace!!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateMarch 2018
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Matthew

MatthewGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • Verified customer

They Charged Me Before They Verified If They Could Deliver Internet To My Property & Then Blamed It On Telstra

published

Having local support is great, but only if they can actually connect your service.
I was asked to go purchase a home phone to verify my connection because If I didn't and they sent out a Telstra technician I would be charged $170 incorrect call out fee. If that does not work, I'll have to 'speak with my landlord about it' They proceeded to bill me for my first month anyway.

Don't put that on your homepage do ya mate

I now have more problems than I started with.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateJune 2019
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Page 1 of 16

See all MATE reviews

Questions & Answers

David

Davidasked

Sign up 11 days ago for home phone adsl to transfer from belong to mate. They to me in beginning within 4 days home phone and adsl be transferred but it’s day 11 still not activated they keep me updated with sms and 3 phone calls and mate said it’s a fault of Telstra and that’s why taking so long but I’m with belong and they use Telstra lines and never had issues with Telstra lines with belong. My mate account is 638608

4 answers
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Hi David,

Sorry to hear this.

Can you confirm your MATE Code/Account number? 638608 is the incorrect account.

David
David

639608

David
David

639608


Vendettabruh

Vendettabruhasked

Is it possible to get an adsl connection if you dont have the money to get nbn setup at the moment?

1 answer
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Hi Vendettabruh,

Once nbn becomes available in an area, it is not possible to connect ADSL due to government cease sale regulations.

To see what we can offer you, please email your full address to support@letsbemates.com.au.


Aryia K.

Aryia K.asked

Mate was good for the couple months but apparently it going slow now so I’m disappointed

1 answer
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Hi Aryia K,

Sorry to hear this.

Can you please advise your account number so we can look into this issue ASAP?

If you are experiencing issues please contact our support team on 1300 876 283 so we can investigate.


Get an answer from our members and MATE Communicate representatives

Details

CategoryInternet Service Providers
Service TypeADSL
Compare all MATE

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.