??!
1 photo
Mate ADSL
3.9 from 318 reviews

Reviews

(188)
(44)
(16)
(13)
(57)
  • Value for Money
    4.2 (55)
  • Transparency
    4.3 (39)
  • Customer Service
    4.4 (56)
  • Adequate Speeds Yes (79%) · No (21%)
  • Verified customer

Great service, good price, no issues to date

published

Great service, no issues. Poor service was why we transitioned our business services away from the bigger companies. My only gripe is that in many areas we can only get ADSL2 but this is Australia hah hah

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateSeptember 2018
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Phil

PhilGoldfields, WA

  • Verified customer

excellent support

published

i lost my connection, and wifi, but the mate support team is very helpful. And they are very supportive to fix all the issues, with in 10 mins. My connection is back on.Cheers mate team.Thats why I love mate.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateApril 2019
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Jurgen Dorbecker

Jurgen DorbeckerSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • Verified customer

Excellent service, I use it daily.

published

Never had any disturbance, interruptions in the transmission of data, even when several parties were using the internet at the same time via Wifi. Excellent and reliable service from day one. Thanks for this service. Regret not having switched earlier to "Mates" . Jurgen Dorbecker

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateJanuary 2020
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Internet Service Providers

Find out how Mate ADSL compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
RJT

RJT

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified customer

Brilliant technical support

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateJanuary 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers
7 comments
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
RJT
RJT

Hi 'MATE team'. Happy, yes; could be happier, also yes. Why not review some of your more-customer-friendly-than-most-yet-still-illogical policies, and push me and your other customers into 'estatic'?!!

RJT
RJT
Adam Biskupiak

Adam Biskupiak

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified customer

This is a joke... the case is with ACCC

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateJuly 2016
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
Nicholas M.

Nicholas M.

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified customer

[Updated] Constant dropouts...

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateAugust 2019
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
4 comments
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
Nicholas M.
Nicholas M.
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
Editmediaman

EditmediamanSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified customer

As smooth as silk

published

I had been with ClubTelco for over 7 years and I was aware of the potential for a lack of backup in the event of a problem. Fortunately nothing went wrong, that is until just over a month ago. Suddenly my internet service completely disappeared and after a number of phone calls to the company over a period of 2 weeks, there was no progress. I decided to churn to Mate Communicate as I had previously used their services in Melbourne and found them to be very reliable. Within 3 days I had a working connection which has been reliable ever since. I plan to upgrade to NBN when it finally comes using Mate.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateNovember 2019
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

William Z

William ZGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • Verified customer

Great to have local phone support

published

Currently with ADSL - swapped from iiNet who were just hopeless and had too many chances.
Mates call centre is based in Australia and have never had to wait long. Signing up was easy and anytime there has been an issue the support has been more than helpful. Unlike iinet.....
Speed Ok but still waiting for my neighbourhood to get NBN.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateMarch 2019
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
ge y.

ge y.Sydney, NSW

  • Verified customer

Internet setting

published

Justin had done a fantastic job helping me setting up the modern. He was professional, patient and clear. Justin gave me instructions step by step and he tried different approaches to fix the issue.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateNovember 2019
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
Internet Service Providers

Find out how Mate ADSL compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
  • Verified customer

Quality service

published

The companies name MATE says it all. Patience is not my virtue having to wait for answers to questions with ISP companies can take a lifetime. Not with MATE you ring them and its virtually instant connection and the problem fixed just as quick. If you want quality service go no further than MATE

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
David

DavidCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • Verified customer

Help solving a problem

published

Sam was really helpful in resolving an issue with the ADSL, stayed on the phone while we tried different things to work out problem.
I am with Mate because of the great service they provide, always get to speak to a person in Australia and they seem to know what they are doing.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateJuly 2016
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
Sam

SamGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • Verified customer

So much better than the big guys

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateOctober 2019
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
N Hamilton

N HamiltonSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified customer

Great!

published

Just signed back up with Mate for NBN. Was with them a couple of years ago for ADSL and I honestly could not fault them at all, speed was great, customer service was exceptional and they always helped with a problem (if there was one, hardly ever though) on first contact. Will come back again after our NBN is connected and write another review. By the best ISP we've been with, and we've been with a few over the years

Customer Service
Value for Money
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
coinlaundry

coinlaundry

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified customer

Good service, decent prices

published

Have been with Mate for over a year. Went with them as I heard good reviews from friends. They have not disappointed with reliable service and good speeds. Also have offered to switch us over to NBN at no extra charge. Their call centre is very friendly and helpful - would recommend to anybody.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
B.T.Melb

B.T.MelbGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • Verified customer

As per the other reviews

published

I chose MATE based on reviews from other users and they did not disappoint. The sign up and connection was a smooth process. So far the internet is generally working well.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateAugust 2019
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Internet Service Providers

Find out how Mate ADSL compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
David

DavidSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Lip service and incompetent

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateSeptember 2019
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
4 comments
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
David
David
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
Kate

KateDarling Downs, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified customer

Decent ADSL provider.

published

I signed up for 'mate' ADSL for six months while living in a rural area and I found them to be a good overall provider and would still be with them if I had not moved to an NBN area. The setup was simple and they had excellent Australian-based customer service representatives and a reasonable monthly cost. The fact that I did not have to 'lock in' a contract really sealed the deal for me. Would recommend.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateFebruary 2018
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
Alaa

AlaaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified customer

A customer for a number of years. Great service.

published

I've been a Mate customer for over 2 years and I've been happy with their service. I've also opted to stay with them while moving and started using them as my NBN ISP. They've had a few interruptions in service, as any service provider would at some point, but I was informed via SMS every time and the downtime was minimal. Only needed their customer service for account issues not tech related issues but I was happy with the assistance I received. Unlimited data and no contracts means they are confident with the service they provide. Overall I am a happy customer and highly recommend their service.
Disclosure: I was asked to provide a review of their service. And I am happy to recommend them.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

  • Verified customer

Excellent Service with minor issues.

published

I have been with the service for over a year and I just had a problem with the conexion getting slow or lost in the last month, but I totally recommend the service and I am happy with it.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateAugust 2018
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type12-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Mendo V

Mendo VGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • Verified customer

4 years happy! Been with them on NBN and now ADSL.

published

4 years happy! Been with them on NBN and now ADSL. The service is the best in Australia. They pick up the phone straight away and the call centre is in Australia. (You can understand their perfect English!) Thanks for the tech support Tim and every staff member!!!
Excellent prices too!!!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
Page 1 of 16

See all MATE reviews

Questions & Answers

David

Davidasked

Sign up 11 days ago for home phone adsl to transfer from belong to mate. They to me in beginning within 4 days home phone and adsl be transferred but it’s day 11 still not activated they keep me updated with sms and 3 phone calls and mate said it’s a fault of Telstra and that’s why taking so long but I’m with belong and they use Telstra lines and never had issues with Telstra lines with belong. My mate account is 638608

4 answers
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Hi David,

Sorry to hear this.

Can you confirm your MATE Code/Account number? 638608 is the incorrect account.

David
David

639608

David
David

639608

Vendettabruh

Vendettabruhasked

Is it possible to get an adsl connection if you dont have the money to get nbn setup at the moment?

1 answer
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Hi Vendettabruh,

Once nbn becomes available in an area, it is not possible to connect ADSL due to government cease sale regulations.

To see what we can offer you, please email your full address to support@letsbemates.com.au.

Aryia K.

Aryia K.asked

Mate was good for the couple months but apparently it going slow now so I’m disappointed

1 answer
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Hi Aryia K,

Sorry to hear this.

Can you please advise your account number so we can look into this issue ASAP?

If you are experiencing issues please contact our support team on 1300 876 283 so we can investigate.

Get an answer from our members and MATE Communicate representatives

Other Internet Service Providers

Previous
Mint Telecom

Mint Telecom

4.9
(327)
Launtel

Launtel

4.9
(215)
Harbour ISP

Harbour ISP

4.2
(901)
Bordernet

Bordernet

4.7
(64)
OntheNet

OntheNet

4.7
(55)
OptiComm

OptiComm

4.1
(343)
Lizzy

Lizzy

4.5
(54)
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.