??!
1 photo
Mate Communicate ADSL

Mate Communicate ADSL

3.9 from 264 reviews

Not helping at all when you have a faulty issue

I thought mate was my ‘mate’ for the first few months I even recommended to my friends. However, from 4 months I have been using this, there are few issues with internet connection. Frequent disconnectinon and very low download speed. And the finally it’s been disconnected for 4 days now but there are not updating or resolve. Even though you call them you only able to leave a message and they would send you a text. Telling you they are working on it and will be contacted you in 24~48 hours later. I had this text twice and one email.
Just hopeless I am not totally able to get any help from anyone except a text message or email.
Really annoying. Looking for another broadband company.

Connection TypeADSL/ADSL2+
1 comment
Hi Suyoun, Sorry to hear this. We have organised our support team to contact you ASAP to discuss. Regards, The MATE team

Waayyyyy better than Optus

These guys are wayyyyyy better than Optus (worst customer service in the world). Mate where have you been all my life!? Great speed, great customer service (Australian based - not offshore). All round great product - happy customer!

Connection TypeADSL/ADSL2+
1 comment
Hi Sid, Thanks for the review, it's always good to hear positive feedback! Glad to hear we have provided a better experience than Optus. Regards, The MATE team

Avoid! Worst internet provider I've ever seen.

Why? Because their "Aussie" support is terrible. Please have the decency and don't call it Aussie. You are giving it a bad name.

1. The tech support is terrible. They neither have the knowledge nor the tools to provide quality service (given that they charge a premium price).
2. The support is slow and doesn't give a damn that you have problem. They don't even take the responsibility.

Here's my story:

I joined 3mo ago based on the reviews on this site and canceled after 2mo.

I was experiencing very low speed (2Mbps) since the beginning. I called the tech support and they told me "No worries mate! It's normal" which was clearly not true. When I insisted on troubleshooting, they just called my phone line and said it sounds clear! No measurement or anything! When I asked what is the average speed in my area they couldn't even answer that.

After a month I was disconnected (the line was dead). It took a week for their support to find the problem and send a technician. After fixing the line the internet speed jumped to 8Mbps! They didn't even bother to reimburse me for the period that I didn't have internet which they must.

Connection TypeADSL/ADSL2+
5 comments
Hi HPS, Sorry to hear this. Can you please advise your account number so we can look into this issue ASAP? Regards, The MATE team.Account #628783 closed effective as of 22/12/2018.Hi HPS, Thanks for confirming. We have reviewed your account history and can confirm you were initially provisioned on an ADSL1 connection, as ADSL2 was not available at the time your service was activated. We checked your estimated speeds according to the Telstra database and based on the distance from your premises to the exchange, average speeds you would be able to achieve on an ADSL1 service should have been anywhere from 2Mbps - 6.9Mbps - the information provided by our team was correct. A ticket was then raised with Telstra to attempt to move your service from ADSL1 to ADSL2 and this was successful. We are sorry to hear you feel our support was inadequate, however, the information provided to you was correct. The speeds that we provide on your ADSL connection are influenced heavily on two factors: 1: The distance your premises is from the local exchange - the closer you are the better; 2: Quality of the copper line that runs to your premises. The better the quality of the copper line, the better the reliability and speed of the service. We will always provide the theoretical maximum speed the line can achieve on an ADSL service however actual speeds you will receive will vary due to a number of factors such as your distance from an exchange, quality of the copper, the network connecting the exchange, your equipment and software and internet traffic. We are sorry to hear you were unsatisfied and wish you all the best with your new provider. Regards, The MATE team

Very professional and great customer service

MATE were fantastic from the get go. I had just purchased my first home, and was trying to find out which internet services I could acquire, they responded promptly and were very helpful in sorting out how to get me set up (and fix up errors in Telstra's records). Getting to chat to an Australian customer service team makes things so much easier!

The connection itself is adequate, it's ADSL so it's unfortunately quite slow and struggles during peak times, but that's no fault of MATE. Hopefully once NBN rolls out in my area things will improve. I bought their pre-configured modem/router and it works without issue.

Connection TypeADSL/ADSL2+
1 comment
Hi Michael, Thanks for sharing your experience. Glad to hear you are happy with us! Regards, MATE team

Good for the start

When I got MATE connection, it was working perfectly for first six months but it's giving me trouble from last few weeks. It freezes every two minutes. My wifi modem is connected properly but still I don't get enough speed.i contacted company but still no help.

Connection TypeADSL/ADSL2+
1 comment
Hi Jyoti, We can see you have spoken to our team on the Saturday 29th December. We can see your service holds good line connection, currently holding a 48 hour session since you spoke to us on Saturday. We can see on Saturday when you spoke to our support team, you logged into your TP-LINK modem and confirmed line speed of 14.1mbps / 1.09mbps and you also ran a WiFi speed test reporting speeds of 11.83mbps/0.92mbps. This troubleshooting does not point to any particular issue with the line, however please call our support team and they can log a fault with Telstra if you wish. We would suggest speaking to the TP-LINK as the drops seem to be modem related. Regards, The MATE team

So much better than my previous provider!

I was on an ADSL2 plan with iiNet - with whom I was getting 1 or 2 mb download during peak.

After switching to an ADSL2 plan with MATE, I'm now getting 12 mb download during peak.

The whole switch over process only took 10 business days, starting from me initially requesting the change, to when my new connection was live.

Their customer service team also responded to all my emails within an hour!

Very happy customer!

Connection TypeADSL/ADSL2+
1 comment
Hi Andy T, Thanks for sharing your experience. Glad to hear you are happy with us! Regards, MATE team.

Reliable service provider

MATE communicate have been fantastic - prompt customer service (they actually do call you back!), courteous, professional and to-the-point support when needed. Based in Australia with Australian service team.
Highly recommend and you will get what you pay for.

Connection TypeADSL/ADSL2+
1 comment
Hi Pike, Glad to hear you are so happy with us, thanks for your review! Regards, The MATE team

Saved our Christmas

After having been given a runaround by Telstra and TPG I called mate and spoke to a real person who could speak English. We got the order sorted out and mate made the connection process seamlessly (in 3 day) just before Christmas: after TPG failed to get anything done bar a booking they cancelled for 2 weeks. Showing how it should be done. They prove that all of the problems with other providers relate to inability to communicate, incompetence and total process failures.

Connection TypeADSL/ADSL2+
1 comment
Hi Dan, Glad to hear we have provided you with a good experience! Thanks for your review, we appreciate it! Regards, The MATE team

Swift response and resolution

I was having internet troubles - turns out it was a telstra problem. Mate organised one of the Telstra Techs to come out all while I was on hold to them (save me making another call). So impressed! The guy was out within 48hrs and all was resolved.

Connection TypeADSL/ADSL2+
1 comment
Hi Tania, Thanks for sharing your experience, glad to hear we rectified this issue for you! We appreciate your feedback. Regards, MATE team

Great communication, would recommend

The only reason this doesn't get 5 stars is because my connection can be quite slow and drops out occasionally. I'm glad I went with mate though, they were very helpful and easy to deal with.

Connection TypeADSL/ADSL2+
1 comment
Hi Katherine, Thanks for your review and your feedback. If you are experiencing speed and/or dropout issues, please contact our support team on 1300 876 283 so we can investigate. Regards, MATE team

Please avoid!!!

Internet is so offf and every time you call you never get through.... They always blame Telstra and never take responsibility.

Connection TypeADSL/ADSL2+
3 comments
Hi Kegan, We are sorry to hear you feel this way. We are unsure why you state that you never get through when you call, as we can see that you have spoken to our support team on numerous occasions regarding your service. We are not interested in blaming anyone, however, you need to understand that the infrastructure that provides your ADSL service is owned, operated and maintained by Telstra. Any fault or issue with your service needs to be logged with Telstra and standard troubleshooting and procedures need to be adhered to. We can see that we have arranged a support team member to contact you again so we can troubleshoot and log another fault with the carrier. Regards, MATE teamName a time when I’ve ever got through please? You’ll note if you call as a new customer your call is answered every time! Happy to take money from potential new suckers yet not happy to serve your customers.... I would have thought it should be the other way around albeit this would correlate with why others say you’re over subscribed. As for Telstra, clearly you’ve decided to take profit over service as my Telstra connection works perfectly every time. I’m hot spotting as we speak as your internet service doesn’t work and is unreliable at the very best.Hi Kegan, You have spoken to our support team on numerous occasions according to the notes on your account in our system. As advised, we have arranged a support team member to contact you today so we can troubleshoot and log another fault with the carrier. Regards, MATE team

Who knew unlimited internet had so many different charges

Every other month my bill went up by $10, started at June $39 then by the time I got to dec it was $69?! So within a 6 month period it went up by nearly half !! Save to say I have cancelled my adsl with mate and gone with a provider who doesn’t just put my bills up with no warning! Also very very slow adsl

Connection TypeADSL/ADSL2+
3 comments
Hi Nicole, Can you please advise your account number so we can look into this issue ASAP? Your bill would not have gone up so much unless your plan/products were changed. Regards, The MATE team612236 I never changed anything. When I emailed about this issue you told me my bill had only gone up $10. My email is nikkimail@gmx.com if you would like to follow up on what has been said to me.Hi Nicole, Thanks for confirming these details. We have looked into your account and can advise the following: You initially signed up for the city mates standalone plan on 5/05/2018 which at the time was $39.00 for the first 6 months as part of a promotion at the time, then $49.00 after this period. Due to an error on our behalf, you were incorrectly billed for a ADSL standalone service for the first three months when you were required to be billed for an ADSL bundle plan. You signed up for an ADSL standalone service, however, you were ineligible for this service as you did not have an active phone line at your address. With standalone ADSL you needed to already be paying for existing phone line rental with another provider (i.e. Telstra) and you would then effectively pay two separate bills - one for the phone line with your current provider, and one for the ADSL with us. As your phone line was inactive, we activated a phone line for you and provisioned an ADSL bundle plan but still charged you for a standalone service for the first 3 months. The ADSL bundle plan was priced as follows: city mates ADSL Bundle - $69.00 per month ($59.00 for the first 6 months). As this was an error on our behalf, we did NOT back-charge you for the difference in plan fee for the previous months. However, invoices after this period reflected the correct ADSL bundle pricing which was $59.00 per month for the first 6 months, then $69.00 after this point. Regards, The MATE team

Very easy to work with

I have had Mate Communicate connected at two properties and on both occasions they delivered the connection as promised. On time on the day.
I am currently on an ADSL2+ connection and expected the worst but Mate are delivering a very stable, reliable connection. On the occasion there has been a problem their help desk has been easy to contact and to deal with.
A very competitive price for very good service. Very happy!

Connection TypeADSL/ADSL2+
1 comment
Hi James, Glad to hear you are so happy with us, thanks for your review! Regards, The MATE team

No issues or downtime. Enjoy if there is you can speak to a fellow helpful Australian on the phone.

Extremely reliable service, been over 18 months with Mate and did not miss a beat. Nil, none drop outs. If there is a problem there is the comfort you can talk to a Australian on the end of a phone.

Connection TypeADSL/ADSL2+
1 comment
Hi Kum Wah Ho, Many thanks for your review, we appreciate your feedback! Regards, The MATE team

Mate is probably the best option for anyone to get

When I moved in Australia (about 2 years ago) I was having so many issues with my provider that I was almost giving up having internet at home. After a deep research, I found Mate and read some reviews about it - Then I decided to try it out.

My first address had NBN - The speed was at max (50MBPS) and when I had connections problems, the support was 100% helpful and kind.
This is what every company needs to aim for! Regardless of what issue you're facing, their support is fantastic!

My second and third apartment unfortunately didn't have NBN. So until now I'm under ADSL connection, which is terrible and unstable. Sorting out with their support I could at least end up with some stability but since my building is far from the connection box, I don't get a great speed.

This problem is something that we can't easily solve but still, the support they provide is amazing.

You should definitely try :)

Connection TypeADSL/ADSL2+
1 comment
Hi Pedro, Glad to hear we have provided you with a good experience! Thanks for your review, we appreciate it! Regards, The MATE team

Promise alot, deliver below average

Try to use there own website on 4 attempt's, run time errors and page doesn't load, cant complete task to update payment info. Takes half an hour not 5 minutes.
Difficulty loading images and streaming simple movies on facebook or netflix during busy periods. 1 user max in the house streaming anything at any time.
They like to try and shift the blame onto the source of the movie (multiple different sources doesn't change the issue occurring), age of technology which is less than a year old in my case or anything else they can come up with. The house is only 8 years old so lines are new. It works fine most of the time but the package sizing/bandwidth shaping and bottle necking during peak times make the service fail.

Connection TypeADSL/ADSL2+
2 comments
Hi James, Sorry to hear you were unsatisfied with your ADSL service. We can confirm a fault was logged with Telstra for your service, but no network fault was found. Our upstream provider can't comment on speeds experienced when gaming on various servers. There are many factors that influence the speeds here such as international servers, the number of users accessing these servers (congestion on the servers) and various international links. We wish you all the best with your new provider. Regards, MATE teamHi Same copy and paste you gave me last time. It doesn't mater where the content is, local or international. Your own website unable to load was a new low. Anyway, you supply a cheap service, why am I expecting so much.

5 star user experience

I love the fact that if I have an issue I can call a local guy based in Australia who is friendly and speaks plain English for us non-techy types. Fast internet, reliable and cheap. I recommend them to everyone I know!

Connection TypeADSL/ADSL2+
1 comment
Hi Danielle, Glad to hear we have provided you with a good experience! Thanks for your review, we appreciate it! Regards, The MATE team

All good

Very reliable /emailed before bill is due which helps budget/connection does fail on weekends with Netflix,due to tourist influx I guess/ the fact I speak to people I understand and who understand me is great

Connection TypeADSL/ADSL2+
1 comment
Hi Ian, Glad to hear you are so happy with us, thanks for your review! Regards, The MATE team

Love speaking to humans and no one hour hold music

Love speaking to humans and no one hour hold music. Always friendly and courteous. Highly recommended. I hope they never get to big that this changes.

Connection TypeADSL/ADSL2+
1 comment
Hi Paula, Very glad to hear this! Many thanks for your review, we appreciate your feedback. Regards, The MATE team

Faultless delivery and service. MATES makes it so easy.

Our connection at present is ADSL or ADSL/2. Will be NBN when it is finally available. 100% reliable in the first year. Billing is simple and hassle free. Recommended to me by my brother, I have to report total satisfaction.

Connection TypeADSL/ADSL2+
1 comment
Hi Colin, Thanks for your feedback, we really appreciate it! Regards, The MATE team

Page 1 of 14

See all MATE Communicate reviews

Questions & Answers

Mate was good for the couple months but apparently it going slow now so I’m disappointed
1 answer
Hi Aryia K, Sorry to hear this. Can you please advise your account number so we can look into this issue ASAP? If you are experiencing issues please contact our support team on 1300 876 283 so we can investigate.

Details

ADSL
Service TypeADSL
Compare all MATE Communicate

Visit official website

Similar listings