??!

Reviews

4.5

1,879 reviews
5
(1,481)
4
(197)
3
(52)
2
(44)
1
(105)
  • Value for Money
    4.5 (751)
  • Transparency
    4.6 (662)
  • Customer Service
    4.7 (745)
  • Adequate Speeds Yes (88%) · No (12%)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Amanda

AmandaSydney, NSW

Excellent Service - Clear communication and almost instant activation

published

Faultless connection and communication. Tone and clarity of email instructions was perfect to get set up on our own. Quick reliable service! Highly recommend and good to give Telstra a run for their money.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTP (Fibre to the Premises)
Start DateSeptember 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
clj

clj

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Just WOW!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeWireless
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
Jackson H.

Jackson H.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Good value and very stable service

published

Service was rolled out really quickly and without issue. Connection has been reliable, with evening download speeds consistently >90 Mbps. During peak working hours (most people in Melbourne are currently working from home), download speeds sometimes dip to 50-60 Mbps.

Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTC (Fibre to the Curb)
Start DateJuly 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Internet Service Providers

Find out how Mate NBN compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Toddys

ToddysCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 6 reviews

Great service

published

Super quick to switch over to MATE only took 48 hours, received an email after 1 month to advise they could not provide the speed I had ordered and if I wanted to downgrade, this is due to my NBN being FTTN so decided to stay. Only had one drop out so far which is great. Moved from Telstra so much cheaper and almost the same service.
Could not be happier

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Start DateJuly 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Ben

Ben

  • 2 reviews

No issues, Fantastic Customer service and most importantly perfect connection.

published

Signed up with Mate, had some issues with my modem but service stayed with me on the phone until I was connected. Service is super quick and cannot recommend highly enough!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Start DateAugust 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Hasan

HasanSouth East Queensland, QLD

Vary satisfied overall!!!

published

Great service! No drop outs like I was experiencing with other providers. I had to contact the customer service to help me setup my old modem, they were very helpful and took the time to guide me through until the internet was working. Very happy with the speed as well.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeHFC (Cable)
Start DateAugust 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Sue

SueWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

what a great Mate

published

fantastic service , great product, wish you had been here sooner. told all my friends and family.
have had uninterrupted service, fast delivery of equipment easy instructions even a dummy could understand

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeWireless
Start DateAugust 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type12-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Jenks

JenksSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

Great service again

published

Moved back to Mate following living in a rental in which we had no choice over our provider. Once again great service and trouble free streaming and internet. We love speaking with Australian based customer service, keep up the excellent work.

Transparency
Customer Service
Connection TypeFTTP (Fibre to the Premises)
Start DateJuly 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Tayler O'Neill

Tayler O'NeillSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Best internet service and customer relations

published

Such amazing customer service, easy connection and have only ever had the best speeds! This is my third time moving and choosing MATE - will stay loyal forever!
The speeds are really fast and never have any connection issues. Really appreciated the help they gave when moving houses and reconnecting.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTC (Fibre to the Curb)
Start DateJune 2017
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Internet Service Providers

Find out how Mate NBN compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Very Very Happy with Speed and Service

published

I can not believe the outstanding service I have received from MATE! Very quick turnaround and fast and reliable internet speed which I never experienced before. Thank you to the team at MATE.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeI don't know
Start DateAugust 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

34south

34southSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Brilliant service and excellent NBN100 connection

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeHFC (Cable)
Start DateSeptember 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
Justin K.

Justin K.Sydney, NSW

Worst ISP

published

Connection is great when it's actually working. At least once a month my service turns off for either a few hours or few days with no explanation nor compensation. By the time the so called "Tech Support" gets back to you, the connection is active again. You can't trust the website to show you the outage or disruption, it never does and there is always an outage or disruption.

Call centre is in Australia which is a bonus except when you do want to reach them, there's no one in the office. It kinda rules itself out as having an English speaking call centre that is never there when you need them.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTP (Fibre to the Premises)
Start DateFebruary 2019
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
Azmat

AzmatGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Best NBN service hands down.

published

Consistently getting 93mbps speed on my fttp. Connection took less than 3 hours from the time I placed the order later on a Friday afternoon. Customer support is second to none. The support team know the products well and know exactly how to help and sort out any issues which never really occur.
Best value for money and no lock in contacts

Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTP (Fibre to the Premises)
Start DateAugust 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
simon4222

simon4222South East Queensland, QLD

  • 19 reviews
  • 10 likes

Super Fast Internet and Voip phone calls

published

Mate were really helpful with setting up my Netcomm modem. I had to buy a new NBN compatable hand free phone set. It is all set up now and I am really happy with the 100 NBN speed. Mate use Telstra NBN which is lightning fast and a fraction of the price compared to other Telcos. I get around 90mbs in peak time which is fantastic. I am very happy with the service.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTP (Fibre to the Premises)
Start DateSeptember 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Amazing and fast service

published

So easy to sign up and transfer and took less than 3hrs from sign up to connection. The ability to use a chat customer service means convenience and no long wait. Great work guys.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Start DateSeptember 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
Internet Service Providers

Find out how Mate NBN compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
h3lman

h3lmanSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Great ISP, Supportive, well priced and Australian

published

Prices second to none especially if you bundle with one of their mobile plans.

Support respond very promptly to emails and do their utmost to resolve your issue. They are located in Australia so I hope people will support Australian jobs and sign up with them as I did 2 years ago.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeWireless
Start DateJune 2018
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
Kal

KalSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Quick Fast Reliable

published

A++ Australian English speaking support person (not offshore call centre) to make things simple fast and reliable. So far their support and service has been better than any other provider I'v had. The product is also good with no drop outs and fast speed.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Start DateAugust 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
MyName

MyNameAU

  • 6 reviews

Active within 4.5 hours!!!!!!!!!!

published

After a shocking experience with Belong on both mobile (Last year and had to cancel) and then broadband trying to move house last week when a friend recommended Mate. Their chat was a real person who was awesome. I signed up online within 3 minutes and our nbn service was live THAT NIGHT!!! I almost had a heart attack when their message came through. Our existing modem worked after changing username/password and I can now work from home without further impact. All communications from Mate were excellent. Focused and factual. In contrast, Belong are arrogant, useless, lie, their app doesn’t work, they blame each other and actually attempted to threaten us that they wouldn’t cancel our service. Do yourself a favour and join Mate.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeHFC (Cable)
Start DateAugust 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
sk8rmum

sk8rmumPerth, WA

Terrible Choice

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Start DateJanuary 2018
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
4 comments
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
sk8rmum
sk8rmum

I hope you can as this has been going on 6 weeks

668726

MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
Arron J

Arron JSydney, NSW

Why did i wait so long to make the switch

published

I was with the purple competitor for years. MATE have been nothing but great since day one, super responsive, constantly kept up to date throughout the process. I came across with my existing modem and the chap was so happy to guide me through setting it up over the phone, which was super simple and it was so refreshing having an ISP who actually want to and are able to help you. It's nice that when I've had to call i get someone local who isn't reading from a script they are unable to deviate from. And most importantly no drop outs and hitting speeds over double that of my previous provider for the same price. I'm so happy and can't recommend MATE enough, if you are reading reviews, stop and Just sign up, you won't regret it.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeHFC (Cable)
Start DateJune 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Page 1 of 94
See all MATE reviews

Questions & Answers

Brad O.

Brad O.asked

NBN 100 (Soul Mates)

Will you be adding IPv6 support anytime soon?

1 answer
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Hi Brad,

We have no plans to offer IPv6 support at this stage.

Regards,

The MATE team

DebW

DebWasked

NBN 50 (Best Mates)

I will be moving into a brand new building with no ADSL or NBN available. I would like to know about a wireless connection - am looking at the best mates fixed wireless? what does this mean? I have a modem, was presuming that all I would need is a sim card?

1 answer
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Hi DebW,

We can confirm Fixed Wireless is a type of nbn service, however, we don't offer wireless broadband.

Please contact us on 13 14 13 and press "1" for sales, or email your full address to support@letsbemates.com.au so we can perform a service qualification check and advise.

Regards,

The MATE team

Scott

Scottasked

NBN

Does MATE support IPv6 in a dual stack arrangement?

2 answers
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Hi Scott,

Thanks for your question.

We can confirm we do not support IPv6 at this stage.

Regards,

The MATE team

David L.
David L.

Do you know when MATE are planning to add support?

Get an answer from our members and MATE Communicate representatives

Other Internet Service Providers

Previous
Launtel

Launtel

4.9
(439)
Mint Telecom

Mint Telecom

4.9
(408)
Harbour ISP

Harbour ISP

4.2
(1,109)
Bordernet

Bordernet

4.7
(65)
OntheNet

OntheNet

4.7
(58)
OptiComm

OptiComm

4.0
(362)
Lizzy

Lizzy

4.5
(58)
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.