??!
1 photo
Mate NBN 100 (Soul Mates)

Mate NBN 100 (Soul Mates)

4.5 from 213 reviews

Reviews

4.5

213 reviews
5
(168)
4
(21)
3
(4)
2
(4)
1
(16)
  • Value for Money
    4.5 (206)
  • Transparency
    4.6 (179)
  • Customer Service
    4.7 (202)
  • Adequate Speeds Yes (87%) · No (13%)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
kathir77

kathir77Queanbeyan

  • 26 reviews
  • 11 likes

Better Deal and Good Service

published

I was with Telstra before for more than 5 years. Telstra never provide any free upgrade for a long time hence I moved to Mate. I'm enjoying the service. No complaints so far.

Pros:
1. Good customer service and quick
2. Connected in 2 hours
3. No connection dropout so far

No Cons at this stage. Mobile connection is also fine.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTP (Fibre to the Premises)
Start DateJune 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Chuppa

ChuppaHunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 7 likes

Could not supply the speed they advertised

published

I changed over from Telstra on the 100 plan but found most of the time the speed on Mate was around 50
and this was too slow for what I need so I went back to Telstra.

Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Start DateSeptember 2020
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
Stan

StanSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Does what it says on the flyer

published

So it would seem that Mate is a subsidiary of Vocus who owns a few RSP's.. I'm on the $80/mth plan for 100/20 unlimited data...

Getting these results consistently throughout the day which is pretty good I think! I do have the occassional dropout but I've confirmed that's an issue with my modem (not the NBN box) as the problem goes away whenever I do a modem reset without having to reset the NBN box.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeHFC (Cable)
Start DateJuly 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Internet Service Providers

Find out how Mate NBN 100 (Soul Mates) compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sudarshan P.

Sudarshan P.Canberra 2600, ACT

Good service

published

So far so good, came from aussie broadband who were excellent but $20 more for same plan. I used to tinker around , havent done that on mate but service sofar reliable.

Connection TypeFTTP (Fibre to the Premises)
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Amanda

AmandaSydney, NSW

Excellent Service - Clear communication and almost instant activation

published

Faultless connection and communication. Tone and clarity of email instructions was perfect to get set up on our own. Quick reliable service! Highly recommend and good to give Telstra a run for their money.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTP (Fibre to the Premises)
Start DateSeptember 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
clj

clj

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Just WOW!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeWireless
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
Jackson H.

Jackson H.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Good value and very stable service

published

Service was rolled out really quickly and without issue. Connection has been reliable, with evening download speeds consistently >90 Mbps. During peak working hours (most people in Melbourne are currently working from home), download speeds sometimes dip to 50-60 Mbps.

Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTC (Fibre to the Curb)
Start DateJuly 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Sue

SueWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

what a great Mate

published

fantastic service , great product, wish you had been here sooner. told all my friends and family.
have had uninterrupted service, fast delivery of equipment easy instructions even a dummy could understand

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeWireless
Start DateAugust 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type12-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Very Very Happy with Speed and Service

published

I can not believe the outstanding service I have received from MATE! Very quick turnaround and fast and reliable internet speed which I never experienced before. Thank you to the team at MATE.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeI don't know
Start DateAugust 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Internet Service Providers

Find out how Mate NBN 100 (Soul Mates) compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
34south

34southSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Brilliant service and excellent NBN100 connection

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeHFC (Cable)
Start DateSeptember 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
Azmat

AzmatGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Best NBN service hands down.

published

Consistently getting 93mbps speed on my fttp. Connection took less than 3 hours from the time I placed the order later on a Friday afternoon. Customer support is second to none. The support team know the products well and know exactly how to help and sort out any issues which never really occur.
Best value for money and no lock in contacts

Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTP (Fibre to the Premises)
Start DateAugust 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
simon4222

simon4222South East Queensland, QLD

  • 19 reviews
  • 10 likes

Super Fast Internet and Voip phone calls

published

Mate were really helpful with setting up my Netcomm modem. I had to buy a new NBN compatable hand free phone set. It is all set up now and I am really happy with the 100 NBN speed. Mate use Telstra NBN which is lightning fast and a fraction of the price compared to other Telcos. I get around 90mbs in peak time which is fantastic. I am very happy with the service.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTP (Fibre to the Premises)
Start DateSeptember 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Amazing and fast service

published

So easy to sign up and transfer and took less than 3hrs from sign up to connection. The ability to use a chat customer service means convenience and no long wait. Great work guys.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Start DateSeptember 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
MyName

MyNameAU

  • 6 reviews

Active within 4.5 hours!!!!!!!!!!

published

After a shocking experience with Belong on both mobile (Last year and had to cancel) and then broadband trying to move house last week when a friend recommended Mate. Their chat was a real person who was awesome. I signed up online within 3 minutes and our nbn service was live THAT NIGHT!!! I almost had a heart attack when their message came through. Our existing modem worked after changing username/password and I can now work from home without further impact. All communications from Mate were excellent. Focused and factual. In contrast, Belong are arrogant, useless, lie, their app doesn’t work, they blame each other and actually attempted to threaten us that they wouldn’t cancel our service. Do yourself a favour and join Mate.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeHFC (Cable)
Start DateAugust 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
Yash

YashSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent customer service and NBN plans

published

Mate Team went above and beyond helping me in setting up my new NBN connection at the new place. I had a small issue where my power adapter for HFC device was missing and when I got in touch with the Team they helped me quickly and provided me by far the best resolution an ISP can ever provide. Throughout the way the Team has been extremely helpful and super responsive. They also accommodated my special request to delay the activation by few days. One of the best decision to move on from TPG to Mates !!!!!!

Now coming to the connection speed I am on NBN 100 plan, Since day 1 I am getting always 90 plus down and 30 plus up. I have already referred them to all my friends and family.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeHFC (Cable)
Start DateAugust 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
Internet Service Providers

Find out how Mate NBN 100 (Soul Mates) compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ruffy

RuffyWestern Australia

Support team assist me beyond my expectations. (Ray Rogers) you are an assets to Mate and a gift to consumers

published

Under promise over deliver, Company policy, don’t support BYO Modem but still assist customer to the fullest. Ray Rogers is your great assets. Now My confidence offering mate to my contacts is on the roof.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTC (Fibre to the Curb)
Start DateJuly 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
Keith E.

Keith E.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

It's good but almost never as fast as the average promised

published

A good example is this afternoon, where my speed was 33.85Mb/s This is a single sample speed but I have only exceeded their "typical busy period download speed" claim of 83 mbps on one occasion, late at night.
It usually is above 50Mbs, and it is much more stable than my previous plan, but it isn't the amazing shift in speed that I'd expected. I should note that for the test I listed, I didn't make sure there were no other processes sharing the line, so it may well be abnormally low for reasons outside their control.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTC (Fibre to the Curb)
Start DateJuly 2020
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
2 comments
Keith E.
Keith E.

I'll add one more detail. 4 is a good review from me. 5 would mean bordering on perfection!

MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Jake Welsh

Jake WelshMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Aussie based support and solid connection

published

The connection has been faultless, the customer service has been incredible, its based in Australia so understanding them is easy. The portal could be more but I love it regardless.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTP (Fibre to the Premises)
Start DateMarch 2019
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Hugo

HugoSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Good service and great communication

published

You won't get actual 100Mbit or a steady connection or low latency for longer than a day at a time, but it's probably among the best you can get in Australia. Service is super friendly and very responsive. They would call me back within a day, or respond to emails within hours. Heck, they even taught me about how 2.4G wifi can cause low throughout, and I'm a damn software engineer! Best internet provider I have seen so far.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Start DateJune 2019
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Adam

AdamHunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Great customer service and value

published

No problems and enjoy being able to talk to an Australian person when and if you are required too. It’s an an Aussie owned company too and also great value for money compared with other providers

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTC (Fibre to the Curb)
Start DateMarch 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Page 1 of 11
See all MATE reviews

Questions & Answers

Brad O.

Brad O.asked

NBN 100 (Soul Mates)

Will you be adding IPv6 support anytime soon?

1 answer
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Hi Brad,

We have no plans to offer IPv6 support at this stage.

Regards,

The MATE team

Get an answer from our members and MATE Communicate representatives

Other Internet Service Providers

Previous
Launtel

Launtel

4.9
(448)
Mint Telecom

Mint Telecom

4.9
(411)
Harbour ISP

Harbour ISP

4.2
(1,117)
Bordernet

Bordernet

4.7
(65)
OntheNet

OntheNet

4.7
(58)
OptiComm

OptiComm

4.0
(364)
Lizzy

Lizzy

4.5
(59)
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.