??!
1 photo
Mate NBN 12 (Good Mates)

Mate NBN 12 (Good Mates)

4.4 from 46 reviews

Reviews

(33)
(8)
(1)
(0)
(4)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (46)
  • Transparency
    4.6 (36)
  • Customer Service
    4.6 (46)
  • Adequate Speeds Yes (86%) · No (14%)
ShanS

ShanSGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

You guys are my saviours

published

Let's Be Mates, I cannot tell you how grateful I am for your incredible service. Fast, easy, and super-friendly to deal with. The connection happened less than 24hr after I contacted to join!!!!! I am so impressed, your dedication to providing a top service is excellent and I cannot thank you enough. Did I mention how FAST everything happened?! I have been a loyal customer to another provider for over 4 years and I have never been treated the way I was by you guys...hence why I left that provider. I will be shouting your name from the rooftops, highly recommended to all!!! Special shout out to Josh who took my frantic call and got all this sorted for me. UNBELIEVABLE. SAVIOURS!!!!!!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Start DateMarch 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
Aleksandra J.

Aleksandra J.South East Queensland, QLD

Very good quality of service and internet

published

Like every Internet provider there was a few issues, it's expected some times, and they dealt with the problem immediately. They sent a technician on the next day to fix it for me. The service they provide is much better than big Internet providers in Australia. Very happy with that, I would give more than 5 stars.
In every company there are issues and a good company deals with them professionally. Good Job!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeI don't know
Start DateNovember 2018
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Great provider!

published

Connection is reliable, rarely have issues. I've had to call the support team twice - once with set-up issues and again with a modem problem. Mate offer a call-back service (meaning your not sat on hold going nuts), and the team are friendly, knowledgeable and really helpful. Can't fault the service I've received so far.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeI don't know
Start DateOctober 2018
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
Internet Service Providers

Find out how Mate NBN 12 (Good Mates) compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Leah Mcnaughton

Leah McnaughtonIllawarra, NSW

Seemless no issues and great to speak to a human

published

No drop outs that I know of. Happy with the speed too. Anytime I've had a question the phone I spoke to a human about my problem and it was solved.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Start DateJuly 2019
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Keith B.

Keith B.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Excellent service

published

Reliable connection and no dropouts at all. You can speak and understand an Ausie mate when contacting service centre . We also have 2 mobile phones with great coverage on the Telstra network

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTC (Fibre to the Curb)
Start DateJanuary 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Sar

SarSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews

Great price, great service

published

excellent connection, no dropouts, affordable price and great service, What else could you ask for?
Very stable connection, even on the lowest tier. An Aussie is always available should you need help which you never will anyways. Thanks, Mates

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeI don't know
Start DateSeptember 2019
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
Laurence

LaurenceDarwin, NT

  • 2 reviews

Mate are an excellent company with brilliant customer service. Darwin speeds are lacking

published

I have had wireless nbn & now fibre nbn with mate in Darwin. They were a great help in getting the wireless nbn connected at my residence as I was on the edge of the service envelope. The change from my wireless account was seamless. However The 12/1 download speed is only about 2 mbps in Darwin on a fibre connection.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Start DateMay 2018
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Kirsten S.

Kirsten S.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Great Company

published

I have used these guys for both adsl and nbn in various addresses and across VIC and SA, never had a problem with connections, always able to contact the super helpful friendly customer service team and understand them.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Jack

JackSouth East Queensland, QLD

Run of the mill internet but a wonderful customer service

published

Whilst we did have only the base package (and perhaps our connection may have been better with a more expensive package) there were some evenings when our connection could have been better. The odd email took some time to load and every now and again a netflix movie would stop to buffer.

The main attraction to Mate is their honesty and transparency. I would absolutely recommend mate, every time I called they were extremely patient, helpful and empathetic to helping find a solution to any problem I had.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeI don't know
Start DateJanuary 2019
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
Internet Service Providers

Find out how Mate NBN 12 (Good Mates) compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Good customer service let down by their upstream provider.

published

Edit:
Having just finished cancelling my service I must say Mate were very professional and their customer service was excellent.

Unfortunately their upstream provider was the root of the below issue which in the end was not resolvable.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Every day from 9pm to 11pm your connection will be borderline unusable.
I pinged www.google.com and was timing out for >24 seconds consistently.
I was unable to any voice communication programs (Skype, Discord) without the other party sounding robotic.
Loading gmail took more than 10 seconds to load.
This should not be happening on an NBN connection.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Start DateNovember 2019
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Impressive customer service, fast line.

published

Another fast connection with Mate! I'm really impressed with the personalised service from Frank, he had mums place up and running in no time, so I've been spreading the word about mate!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Start DateDecember 2019
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
U3A Ipswich

U3A IpswichSouth East Queensland, QLD

Very satisfied

published

U3A Ipswich, a not-for-profit association, has subscribed two premises to Mate Communicate. First at Coalfalls and the second at Booval (Ipswich, Qld). We are very satisfied with the internet service and the billing process. As a result we have recommended Mate to several of our members.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTB (Fibre to the Building)
Start DateNovember 2018
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Katharine Adams

Katharine AdamsAlice Springs, NT

great service

published

Great service and very helpful Australian-based customer support. Never had any connection issues that did not resolve within an hour. We moved and reconnected our service within 24 hours when we moved house.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Start DateDecember 2017
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Kathleen Ryan-Taylor

Kathleen Ryan-TaylorGreat Southern, WA

  • 2 reviews

Non-Communicative Communications Company

published

The NBN was meant to be installed multiple times and it kept being delayed with multiple excuses.
Whilst I understood that it was not Mate's issue, the communication was lacking.
Now it is has been installed we have not had any issues with our service and the one time we had connection issues we had great support on the phone from Mate.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeWireless
Start DateSeptember 2019
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
3 comments
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Colin S.

Colin S.Northeast, VIC

Totally faultless Mate gets it right again.

published

Mate sorted out our mobile phones and ADSL debacle a couple of years ago. Not a single glitch since. Recently, we 'finally' got NBN FTH installed. Thanks NBN. Mates kept us totally informed at every step, on each glitch, until the job was done. Not a moment of difficulty as Mate simply got the accounts re-sorted and it all runs smoothly. So different to some of the comments on social media from 'non-mates' people. I recommend Mates to all of my friends and associates.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTP (Fibre to the Premises)
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Internet Service Providers

Find out how Mate NBN 12 (Good Mates) compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Caroline

CarolineSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Amazing service

published

The team at Mates are wonderful, they are super down to earth, friendly and the service is excellent I would Highly recommend in terms of value and service. Definitely the best provider in Aus.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeWireless
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Jonathan

JonathanSydney, NSW

Great service from the team on multiple occasions

published

Connection is reliable and only experienced one dropout in our first property due to external factors (contractors cutting the physical cable during works).

Mate have been super helpful and even assisting setting up our modem to the NBN when we swapped from ADSL even though they say they can't provide assistance for third party modems.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTC (Fibre to the Curb)
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Best customer service and automated process

published

Whenever there is an issue you will be receiving sms and emails about it.
And once it has resolved you will again receive sms and emails.
Nice service Nice customer service with a good price.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTP (Fibre to the Premises)
Start DateAugust 2017
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Never any issues!

published

Connected to Mate when I moved (after a bit of research into reliable NBN companies). I have been using Mate now for 10 months and have never had the internet drop out. It does slow a bit in the evenings but I am on the slowest plan and it's never enough to really notice a difference. It was connected quickly (within a couple of days from memory). I have never had to use their tech support so can't comment on that. I have used their customer support via online chat, for a billing enquiry (I forgot to pay, my bad) and they were very quick and helpful.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Start DateJanuary 2019
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Rams

RamsSouth East Queensland, QLD

Excellent

published

This company has been great from the time I first chose them. Competitive prices, helpful and responsive staff. Very easy to communicate with and even negotiate with. I had some issues during installation due to the NBN contractors, which was unrelated and Mate were more than happy to give me a free month whilst waiting. Great choice of provider in my opinion.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeI don't know
Start DateJanuary 2018
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
Page 1 of 3
See all MATE reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about Mate NBN 12 (Good Mates) but you can read 178 questions about MATE.

Get an answer from our members and MATE Communicate representatives

Other Internet Service Providers

Previous
Mint Telecom

Mint Telecom

4.9
(329)
Launtel

Launtel

4.9
(220)
Harbour ISP

Harbour ISP

4.2
(914)
Bordernet

Bordernet

4.7
(64)
OntheNet

OntheNet

4.7
(56)
OptiComm

OptiComm

4.1
(344)
Lizzy

Lizzy

4.5
(54)
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.