??!
1 photo
Mate NBN 25 (Great Mates)

Mate NBN 25 (Great Mates)

4.4 from 77 reviews

Reviews

4.4

77 reviews
5
(60)
4
(6)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(6)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (72)
  • Transparency
    4.6 (66)
  • Customer Service
    4.6 (73)
  • Adequate Speeds Yes (83%) · No (17%)
Previous
Next
Hasan

HasanSouth East Queensland, QLD

Vary satisfied overall!!!

published

Great service! No drop outs like I was experiencing with other providers. I had to contact the customer service to help me setup my old modem, they were very helpful and took the time to guide me through until the internet was working. Very happy with the speed as well.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeHFC (Cable)
Start DateAugust 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Jenks

JenksSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

Great service again

published

Moved back to Mate following living in a rental in which we had no choice over our provider. Once again great service and trouble free streaming and internet. We love speaking with Australian based customer service, keep up the excellent work.

Transparency
Customer Service
Connection TypeFTTP (Fibre to the Premises)
Start DateJuly 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Arron J

Arron JSydney, NSW

Why did i wait so long to make the switch

published

I was with the purple competitor for years. MATE have been nothing but great since day one, super responsive, constantly kept up to date throughout the process. I came across with my existing modem and the chap was so happy to guide me through setting it up over the phone, which was super simple and it was so refreshing having an ISP who actually want to and are able to help you. It's nice that when I've had to call i get someone local who isn't reading from a script they are unable to deviate from. And most importantly no drop outs and hitting speeds over double that of my previous provider for the same price. I'm so happy and can't recommend MATE enough, if you are reading reviews, stop and Just sign up, you won't regret it.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeHFC (Cable)
Start DateJune 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Internet Service Providers

Find out how Mate NBN 25 (Great Mates) compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Simon P.

Simon P.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Unbeatable reliability

published

Their website is a pleasure to use! Intuitive and efficient. Was so easy to set up and I've never once had a problem with the connection. I;ve had this internet at 2 difference addresses now and couldn't be happier

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeI don't know
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Steve

SteveSydney Surrounds, NSW

MATE NBN - couldn't be happier.

published

I have lived with the pain of a major network provider until NBN became available. No hesitation to go elsewhere. I chose Mate on the recommendation of a relative. Their performance has been incredible for almost half the price. Instantaneous response to queries by email, SMS and phone. Most importantly their support is based in Australia. Instead of buying a new modem from them they encouraged me to use their phone support, who showed me how to configure my existing modem. MATE are a privately owned AUSTRALIAN COMPANY employing AUSTRALIANS. Talking to a Help desk in Australia is a dream come true. And they're EXCELLENT - use them. No performance or speed problems on great mates nbn™ 25 plan. Consistently over 20 MBPS

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTC (Fibre to the Curb)
Start DateJuly 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
Gail Charlton

Gail CharltonSydney, NSW

Great result for the technologically challenged.

published

I have had my NBN connection for a few weeks now, and have had no problems. I have also bundled my mobile phone into the deal, and there have been no problems there either. The MATE staff were very knowledgeable and reliable, and their ability to communicate with me, a person who is not very technologically savvy, was excellent. They (figuratively) held my hand all the way through the set ups of both NBN and my mobile phone, and I recommend them very highly.

Gail

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTP (Fibre to the Premises)
Start DateJuly 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Ka Fai Eric Lam

Ka Fai Eric LamGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Good value and reliable connection

published

Reliable connection and no dropout since I have joint. The night time speed always archives 22Mb (download) and 4Mb (Upload). The supporting service is good, case will be follow up and will not idle. Love it, thanks mate.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeHFC (Cable)
Start DateJune 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Justin

JustinSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

A friendly, responsive group that has delivered on time and generally at speeds as specified

published

The services and sign up process was friendly and concise. Month to month without contracts is very appealing (take note other providers). A little wait to get the Arris device installed (Do NOT take these devices with you if you move). Offpeak speeds as specified (around ~20Mbps using speedtest check) Upload speeds consistent at around 4-5Mbps. The arris device requires a reset every couple weeks maybe. Very happy overall. Bills are easy to understand too.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeI don't know
Start DateJune 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Best Support Service EVER!

published

Seamless connection to a new service. Was not easy as I had issues with the previous tenant but the guys at Mate walked me through the whole process and problem solved until the service became active. Love the local support team - super competent.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTC (Fibre to the Curb)
Start DateJuly 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Internet Service Providers

Find out how Mate NBN 25 (Great Mates) compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Suzan Wright

Suzan WrightSydney, NSW

Happy with all but initial transfer

published

Connection is mostly reliable, as we have experienced two drop outs since transfer to mate.
Live chat service is Beyond exceptional. Prompt response, with follow up to resolution of matter or incident.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeHFC (Cable)
Start DateJune 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
3 comments
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
Suzan Wright
Suzan Wright

Thank you.

Yes there was. I forwarded an email to mate detailing the issues and new customer request on Tues 21 July 2020. I am awaiting response. Thank you.

MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Peter Bourke

Peter BourkePerth, WA

Great value and easy connection!

published

Connection has been excellent, no downtime as yet. Phone calls made to MATE for extra questions I had, were responded to in a friendly and comprehensive manner.
Help with setting up my modem was done eagerly and professionally.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTP (Fibre to the Premises)
Start DateMay 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Mark M

Mark MGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Pretty good

published

Been using these guys while I was on ADSL. Found the customer service and ease of connection with them to be very good.

Switched over to NBN recently - decided on 25Mbps as I live alone and thought I'd try that. Free upgrade from the 12Mbps plan. Bundled with my phone as well I am actually $10p/month better off.

Can't say I have found better pricing elsewhere either.

No reason to complain so far.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTC (Fibre to the Curb)
Start DateJune 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

The best NBN provider

published

The best NBN provider. Once join you will never leave them. Uninterrupted reliable steady speed and excellent customer service. With the 25/5, I am getting around 22/4. Thank you mate for providing the best ever service.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTP (Fibre to the Premises)
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
Singh Ji

Singh JiSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Great UX

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTB (Fibre to the Building)
Start DateMay 2018
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Unwana Johnson

Unwana JohnsonHobart, TAS

Good internet service

published

Connection is stable most of the time but could drop in extreme weather conditions. Works well and is fast enough for connecting all the devices in my house. Thank you

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeWireless
Start DateJune 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Internet Service Providers

Find out how Mate NBN 25 (Great Mates) compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jeffrey S.

Jeffrey S.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

I wish it could be a little cheaper

published

Compared to other companies you are by far number one, your support staff that I have spoken to have very good product knowledge and have fixed the problem with the one phone call I am glad that I have found you. I will keep passing on the good word.
regards Jeff Strickson

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Start DateJanuary 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Margo

MargoQueensland

  • 3 reviews

Best I’ve had yet

published

Quick reliable connection..
Only had 1 problem, but, was quickly sorted.
No fuss, no bother, just plug and go..
Would happily recommend to anyone wondering wether to get on board with mate nbn.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Start DateApril 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Alexandre

AlexandreGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Horrible customer service

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTB (Fibre to the Building)
Adequate Speeds No
See all answers
5 comments
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
Alexandre
Alexandre

My mate number is 669881. I just told what happened.

MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
Tony

TonyBrisbane

  • 2 reviews

Easy to set up, fantastic customer service

published

It has been hassle free so far, can easily say they've been a whole lot better in customer service, reliability and pricing than any of the mainstream providers I have used in the past! Affordable, reliable, hassle free! Highly recommended!

Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTP (Fibre to the Premises)
Start DateApril 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Hyunju J.

Hyunju J.Far North Queensland, QLD

very good customer service

published
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Start DateMarch 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
Page 1 of 4
See all MATE reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about Mate NBN 25 (Great Mates) but you can read 190 questions about MATE.

Get an answer from our members and MATE Communicate representatives

Other Internet Service Providers

Previous
Launtel

Launtel

4.9
(444)
Mint Telecom

Mint Telecom

4.9
(409)
Harbour ISP

Harbour ISP

4.2
(1,111)
Bordernet

Bordernet

4.7
(65)
OntheNet

OntheNet

4.7
(58)
OptiComm

OptiComm

4.0
(362)
Lizzy

Lizzy

4.5
(59)
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.