??!
1 photo
Mate NBN 50 (Best Mates)

Mate NBN 50 (Best Mates)

4.4 from 219 reviews

Reviews

(165)
(24)
(6)
(8)
(16)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (213)
  • Transparency
    4.5 (176)
  • Customer Service
    4.6 (209)
  • Adequate Speeds Yes (86%) · No (14%)

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More

Dynamic1

Dynamic1Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • Verified customer

One happy camper

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeHFC (Cable)
Start DateFebruary 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

  • Verified customer

Excellent Service

published

The original offer from Mate was well worth considering. They were very helpful in arranging a connection date that suited me. The phone support was quick and very good when I needed a bit of help plugging in at the beginning. Initially the internet kept dropping out for large periods of time. Mate organised for a NBN technician to come out and fix it as soon as possible. Now it is working very well (no drop outs).

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeHFC (Cable)
Start DateJanuary 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Haseeb Ul Haque

Haseeb Ul HaqueSydney, NSW

  • Verified customer

Pathetic connectivity, signals drop all the time. Thinking to change now

published

Pathetic connectivity, signals drop all the time. Thinking to change now.

I even got the Wifi Modem from Mates in order to minimize blame game on routers/modem. Doesn't even cover the room beside the router where it is placed

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTP (Fibre to the Premises)
Start DateJuly 2019
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

  • Verified customer

Poor connection

published

Am using mate for more than an year and daily i restart my router three times i notified Mate many times to fix it but couldn't technician comes and go and say all good mate.
Am soon changing to other nbn provider

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTB (Fibre to the Building)
Start DateNovember 2018
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type6-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
3 comments
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
Muhammad Jan
Muhammad Jan

Thank you very much for your quick action and now after fixing its working perfectly without any stoppage now i dont need to look for a change you guys rocks.

MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate


  • Verified customer

Satisfactory service so far

published

We are using Mate's NBN 50 service since about 2 months now. Speeds are below what we expected, and we already had one half-day outage. Apart from that the service is stable and customer service helpful (we called once so far).

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeHFC (Cable)
Start DateDecember 2019
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate


gtempo

gtempoCity 2601, ACT

  • 9 reviews
  • Verified customer

Great service. Australian customer service.

published

I was with Mate for a bit over two years. They were great for me. The Internet service was always solid. The service over the phone was great. I got to talk to Australians in Australia. I had to move and unfortunately they could not provide the service in the new development because there was no nbn connection. I would have kept my service with them.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Start DateFebruary 2018
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

  • Verified customer

This is top notch; internet, home phone and mobile telecommunication at it best!!! High definition of telecommunication

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeI don't know
Start DateMay 2017
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate


Kalani

KalaniGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 14 reviews
  • Verified customer

Fixed Wireless - Initial nervousness

published

With the change from our Free Choice of internet provider to (who coincidentally had been MATE/Telstra) to having no choice with nbn we stayed with MATE for our Fixed Wireless service.

We live in a semi-rural location, only 60 minutes out of Melbourne CBD where ADSL was limited and not being maintained therefore we had to switch to nbn. Fixed Wireless was the only service available.

MATE understand the reality of the nbn network, they understand the components in your home and they provide down to earth reassurance about your service. They speak to you as equals and investigate issues where necessary.

The Fixed Wireless service is surprisingly adequate.

Highly recommend these guys!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeWireless
Start DateNovember 2019
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Ruth Speirs

Ruth Speirs

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified customer

Great internet for average use, love that it's unlimited data!

published

Connection is so easy, no dropouts, always back online within minutes after a power failure. Help is always available via phone, everyone knows how to help, haven't been shafted from one person to another.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTC (Fibre to the Curb)
Start DateFebruary 2018
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

  • Verified customer

Best customer service in the game.

published

Extremely reliable. Never have issues with dropouts and disconnections. Speeds are relatively competitive with the rest of the market with fair prices and straight forward setup/use. If there are any issues at all, anyone you speak to over the phone is very helpful and solve issues efficiently.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeI don't know
Start DateMarch 2017
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate


Ricky Conrad

Ricky ConradCentral Queensland, QLD

  • Verified customer

Customer service is incredible.

published

No problems so far. No interruptions or outages the customer service is fantastic and reliable. The pricing is great for the quality of connection you receive i would say even better than when i had telstras services.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeHFC (Cable)
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate


  • Verified customer

Fast and reliable customer service.

published

Amazing customer service and easy set up. Been with mate communicate for over 2 years now and have had no issues at all. If the lines are too busy they always contact you back in no time and you barely need to make any calls to begin with.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeI don't know
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate


E-Spit

E-Spit

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified customer

Just one change then perfect

published

The service and response to any issues is great. If only I could suspend my contract when I travel rather than cancel and then open a new account on my return! Then it would be perfect.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTP (Fibre to the Premises)
Start DateJanuary 2018
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate


  • Verified customer

Spoke to the most helpful gentleman

published

I was having a problem with my connection, my modem is kept in the garage which had been converted to a lounge room. I thought I may need to move the modem but after I spoke to a helpful gentleman Luke the issue was resolved immediately and all done with a big smile and some laughs on my end over the phone. I myself, work in a contact centre and its fantastic to receive such a positive experience. Luke truly went above and beyond for me, a great example of what a leader should be. This gentleman deserves to be highly congratulated.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeWireless
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
Rick B.

Rick B.Hunter Region, NSW

  • Verified customer

Awesome Company - Service is Fantastic A+++

published

Good to be able to have someone here in Oz to talk to when things are not going right. Had an issue this week with slow uploads, My MATE Mark talked me through checking some settings on my modem and we found the issue to be a setting in the modem.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Start DateAugust 2019
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate

Shanna Reinhardt

Shanna ReinhardtGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified customer

Connected me when the big T couldn't

published

I have been waiting for 3 months to be connected to the NBN, ordered from the big T. Today I had enough, called Mate and was online in 4 hours. A great price and great service as well!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeHFC (Cable)
Start DateFebruary 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Emanuele

EmanueleSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified customer

Ex-TPG customer finally finds peace!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeHFC (Cable)
Start DateJanuary 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
3 comments
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
Emanuele
Emanuele

Please keep going in this way!!

MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Dez N

Dez NGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • Verified customer

All good but..

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeHFC (Cable)
Start DateJanuary 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Steve R.

Steve R.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified customer

Inconsistent speeds from 2mbps to 44mbps

published

Lots and lots of dropouts, wi-fi is terrible on both 2.4 and 5Ghz, it can have a great signal and reach up to 44MBPS, Ethernet connection can reach up to 48MBPS. Unfortunately drop outs are very frequent making watching TV a nightmare and constantly losing wi-fi signal. I will be looking around for a different provider. Online chat was no help, passed onto another department (pillar to post). Started well, with good coms, lost faith now and moving.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeI don't know
Start DateNovember 2019
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
3 comments
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate
Steve R.
Steve R.
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Review collected in partnership with MATE Communicate


  • Verified customer

What is the opposite of Mate

published

We signed up to Mate in September 2019. The Mate website and NBN Co website show our address is ready for connection. NBN installed a new cable to our property in October.

On 21 January Mate called to say the NBN have cancelled our connection indefinitely. They have offered no explanation of support at all.

Terrible customer service.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeHFC (Cable)
See all answers
1 comment
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Page 1 of 11

See all MATE reviews

Questions & Answers

DebW

DebWasked

I will be moving into a brand new building with no ADSL or NBN available. I would like to know about a wireless connection - am looking at the best mates fixed wireless? what does this mean? I have a modem, was presuming that all I would need is a sim card?

1 answer
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Hi DebW,

We can confirm Fixed Wireless is a type of nbn service, however, we don't offer wireless broadband.

Please contact us on 13 14 13 and press "1" for sales, or email your full address to support@letsbemates.com.au so we can perform a service qualification check and advise.

Regards,

The MATE team


bobbysdad

bobbysdadasked

At 7pm on the eve of me changing over to MATE, I thought I'd give MATE a call to see if there was anything I should know prior to my changeover. Well, the person I spoke to was annoying. He insisted on speaking over me all the time, and kept reciting over and over that because I was changing over on the 24th, [which is TODAY] there was nothing he would add. All I wanted to know was how will I be notified of my new log in and password and how long would I be without a connection, as it has been mentioned to me that sometimes it could be done within an hour. He almost accused me of lying, and that it could take up to three business days, and that he would review the tapes. He kept talking to me like I was some idiot. I was not amused, and almost threw in the towel there and then. His arrogance was astounding. You could do better hiring more pleasant people to handle your calls. I hope this wasn't a sign of things to come? Have I made a dreadful mistake, as I see others have had a difficult time with your service. Should I have gone to someone else? [639347]

3 answers
Phil
Phil

Hey buddy, that sucks, the people I have spoken to have always been great. I can suggest emailing them, they answer really quick and there shouldn’t be communication errors that way.

bobbysdad
bobbysdad

Thanks Phil. I was hoping one of their reps [eg Vanessa S] might be more helpful via here....

MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Hi bobbysdad,

We are sorry to hear this. We will have our internal management team review this call as we pride ourselves on our service.

Regards,

The MATE team


Rod

Rodasked

Do you allow incoming connections (for web server, ftp etc.)?

1 answer
MATE Communicate
Vanessa S.MATE Communicate

Hi Rod,

We can confirm we do not block any services.

To check availability and advise what we can offer you, we will require your full address.

Please contact us on 1300 876 283 and press "1" for sales, or email your full address to support@letsbemates.com.au so we can check and advise.

Regards,

MATE team


Get an answer from our members and MATE Communicate representatives

Other Internet Service Providers

Previous
Mint Telecom

Mint Telecom

4.9
(315)
Launtel

Launtel

4.9
(155)
Harbour ISP

Harbour ISP

4.2
(868)
Bordernet

Bordernet

4.7
(64)
OntheNet

OntheNet

4.7
(52)
OptiComm

OptiComm

4.1
(334)
Lizzy

Lizzy

4.5
(54)
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.