5 photos
Maytronics Dolphin M400

Maytronics Dolphin M400

3.8 from 63 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Robotic Pool Cleaners in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Maytronics

Pros

  • Easy to remove and clean filters

  • Thoroughly cleans pool

  • Has handy storage caddy

Cons

  • Less effective on curved surfaces

Reviews

4.2
14 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.6 (13)
  • Value for Money
    4.2 (13)
  • Ease of Use
    4.2 (13)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (13)
  • Pool Size
  • Noise Level
    5.0 (13)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Allan D.
Allan D.Central Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews

Excellent product M400

published

Purchased about 4 years ago and has never let us down. We had a an issue with our Dolphin initially cleaning the entire pool always cleaning the deep end. By adjusting the handle angle until we found the right location to suit our pool and it cleans the entire pool including walls every time.
Noticed a big saving in water not having to backwash as much compared to our previous cleaner that worked on the suction from the skimmer box.
Good quality machine and great design. Filters simplistic but effective design are easily accessed and easy to clean. Caddy makes it easy to pack up and put away after each use.
We love it as it makes owning a pool so easy.

Purchased in March 2018 at Poolside All Seasons Pools Mackay.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
5/5
Noise Level
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Pool Size Large
Functionality
5/5
Small Debris Cleaning
5/5
Large Debris Cleaning
5/5
Wall and Step Cleaning
Maytronics
Maytronics A.Maytronics

Hello Allan, Thank you for your feedback.
We are so glad to hear that your Dolphin M400 is going strong and that it has made cleaning and maintaining the pool easy and stress free, as well as saving time and water.
Have a great day.

Carolyn C.
Carolyn C.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

No information about handle positions

published

Overall love the M400, does a great job. I’m not sure what position I need to have the handle to do the walls. I have a 60000 litre fibreglass poll

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
5/5
Noise Level
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Pool Size Large
Functionality
5/5
Small Debris Cleaning
5/5
Large Debris Cleaning
3/5
Wall and Step Cleaning
Maytronics
Maytronics A.Maytronics
Carolyn C.
Carolyn C.

Thank you
I would like to know which position to put the handle in to achieve the different moves this robot can do. For example right side forward left side back does what? Is there any user guide or instruction that shows this?

Maytronics
Maytronics A.Maytronics
P.R.
P.R.Sydney, NSW
  • 4 reviews

This cleaner never worked well

published

Unfortunately this cleaner has been a frustrating experience. It never cleaned all the pool and spent most of it's time in the deep end. The cartridge type leaf catchers have a small capacity and they kept bursting open inside the unit. The impeller would frequently get clogged. It was too heavy to easily take out of the pool. Numerous parts failed: the brushes, the cable, the cartridges, the s clips holding the cartridges closed, the power supply switches and now it has stopped working completely. The parts are so expensive it is not worth rebuilding it. I thought I was buying a top of the line cleaner but it has been disappointing.

Purchased for $1,800.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
1/5
Noise Level
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Pool Size Large
Functionality
2/5
Small Debris Cleaning
3/5
Large Debris Cleaning
1/5
Wall and Step Cleaning
Maytronics
Maytronics A.Maytronics
Laura
LauraGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 14 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified

Great Product!

published

This is a great product and worth the money. Perfect for a fully tiled pool. Highly recommend https://www.pooltronics.com.au/ to purchase any Dolphin product as they really spent time to help select the best product for our pool and even did a person delivery and demo to talk through how to use it.

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
5/5
Noise Level
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Pool Size Large
Functionality
5/5
Small Debris Cleaning
5/5
Large Debris Cleaning
5/5
Wall and Step Cleaning
Maytronics
Maytronics A.Maytronics

Hi Laura. Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad that the Pooltronics team were able to assist in demonstrating how the robot functions and in finding the best suited model for your pool.

Robotic Pool Cleaners

Find out how Maytronics Dolphin M400 compares to other Robotic Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Robin
RobinNortheast, VIC
  • 2 reviews

Works well.

published

This is the second season that we've had this cleaner. It does a really good job, but the wonder brushes are worn out already.
I was shocked to find out that it costs over $100 a pair...and you need two sets..!
That's a lot of money in maintenance costs..

Purchased in April 2018.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
3/5
Noise Level
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Pool Size Large
Functionality
3/5
Small Debris Cleaning
4/5
Large Debris Cleaning
3/5
Wall and Step Cleaning
Maytronics
Maytronics A.Maytronics
Country boy
Country boyLitchfield, NT
  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes

Very good, but disappointing user manual

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in September 2020 for $2,200.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
4/5
Noise Level
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Pool Size Large
Functionality
4/5
Small Debris Cleaning
4/5
Large Debris Cleaning
4/5
Wall and Step Cleaning
Maytronics
Maytronics A.Maytronics
  • Verified

Great cleaner with easy to empty filters!

published

I have a large 80,000 litre Pebble Crete pool and it cleans it perfectly every time. I put it in once every week or two as required. The cartridge type filters are easy to remove and clean.

Purchased in August 2020.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
5/5
Noise Level
5/5
Pool Size Large
Functionality
5/5
Small Debris Cleaning
5/5
Large Debris Cleaning
5/5
Wall and Step Cleaning
Maytronics
Maytronics A.Maytronics

Hi Michael. Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that the robot is cleaning well and that the filters are easy to keep clean. Have a great day!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
How to be more eco-friendly when you're gifting this Christmas

Christmas seems to go hand in hand with consumption, but that doesn’t mean you can’t be eco-friendly with your gift giving. We’ve got tips for everything from shopping sustainably to zero-waste packaging, so that you can have a greener holiday season.

Clara V.
Clara V.30 Nov 2021
how-to-be-more-eco-friendly-when-youre-gifting-this-christmas
Next
Vasu
VasuSouth East Queensland, QLD

Reliably good

published

The Maytronics M400 is very good at cleaning large and small debris equally. It also does a good job at picking up the fine dust from the bottom of the pool. I am happy with the product.

Purchased in January 2020 at Billabong Caloundra for $2,199.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
5/5
Noise Level
5/5
Pool Size Large
Functionality
3/5
Small Debris Cleaning
4/5
Large Debris Cleaning
3/5
Wall and Step Cleaning
Maytronics
Maytronics A.Maytronics

Hi Vasu. Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad to hear that you are happy with your robot and that it is doing a great job in filtering the finer dust and debris from the bottom of the pool. Have a great day.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Nicolas N.
Nicolas N.Sydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Filter options vs function

published

Purchased in November 2019.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
4/5
Noise Level
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Pool Size Large
Functionality
5/5
Small Debris Cleaning
4/5
Large Debris Cleaning
2/5
Wall and Step Cleaning
Maytronics
Maytronics A.Maytronics
Robotic Pool Cleaners

Find out how Maytronics Dolphin M400 compares to other Robotic Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Luke
LukeCentral Queensland, QLD

Doesn't climb that well

published

The dolphin M400 has cleaned the floor of our pool amazingly. The pool now looks 100 percent. One of the downfalls is it will rarely climb walls or the beach we have at the entrance of the pool. Not sure if there is something wrong with it but i thought for 2100 bucks it would do this easily.

Purchased in August 2019 for $2,100.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
4/5
Noise Level
5/5
Pool Size Large
Functionality
4/5
Small Debris Cleaning
4/5
Large Debris Cleaning
2/5
Wall and Step Cleaning
Maytronics
Maytronics A.Maytronics
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Lisa
LisaSydney Surrounds, NSW

Fantastic

published

After dealing with pool cleaners and the like which was a rip off and stressful, I finally bought a Dolphin. It is a revolution in pool maintenance ... just magic and has made owning a pool a pleasure.

Purchased in December 2018 for $2,000.00.

Incentivised Review No
Pool Size Large
Functionality
5/5
Small Debris Cleaning
4/5
Large Debris Cleaning
5/5
Wall and Step Cleaning

Fantastic pool cleaner

published

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
5/5
Noise Level
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Pool Size Large
Functionality
5/5
Small Debris Cleaning
5/5
Large Debris Cleaning
5/5
Wall and Step Cleaning
Robotic Pool Cleaners

Find out how Maytronics Dolphin M400 compares to other Robotic Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lisa M.
Lisa M.South East Queensland, QLD

This little machine runs great cleaning the pool with no fails!

published

This cleans all size materials and even dust from the water!
This machine has been working great I have had it now 6 I have a large 90k sqm fibreglass pool!!
I would happily go recommend this product to anyone wanting to update cleaners.

Purchased in February 2019.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
5/5
Noise Level
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Pool Size Large
Functionality
5/5
Small Debris Cleaning
5/5
Large Debris Cleaning
5/5
Wall and Step Cleaning
Kris Steadman
Kris SteadmanSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews

Awesome cleaner, great service from maytronics

published

contacted Maytronics for a demo of the m400 and i was contacted almost immediately by a local dealer who arranged to come around with the unit and give it a run in my pool. The agent from the pool shop was able to answer all my questions which ultimately lead to me purchasing the M400.

The M400 does an excellent job of cleaning fine debris from my pool, i don't really have a problem with leaves. Seeing as i've got a cartridge pool, having the M400 frees up my skimmer box to just filter the top of the water. I'm also able to save power by running my pool pump on the eco setting.

All in all, great purchase, should have picked one up ages ago.

Purchased in July 2019 at Augustine Heights Pool and Spa.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
5/5
Noise Level
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Pool Size Large
Functionality
5/5
Small Debris Cleaning
5/5
Wall and Step Cleaning

Questions & Answers

alfie
alfieasked

My Dolphin M400 doesn't go up the Wall, I have the Handle diagonally positioned as per the Pool shop advice. I brought it back to the Pool shop and they tested it and they said it's working as long you have the Handle diagonally set. it went up the Wall only once in 2.5 Hr, that's all. My Pool is Pebblecrete.
Can you help Please.

1 answer
Maytronics
Maytronics A.Maytronics

Hello Alfie. Thank you for reaching out.

Wall climbing models of Dolphin, inclusive of the M400, are programmed to climb to the waterline every four minutes. if your Dolphin is experiencing difficulty climbing, the following is recommended:

- Thoroughly rinsed the filters under a tap or, soak in cartridge cleaner or a mild dishwashing detergent and warm water solution to assist in the removal of in-grained debris.

- If the unit is attempting to climb, brush down the walls and/or slope down manually to loosen any build up. The Dolphin should then be able to grip these surfaces and maintain them on its own going forward.

-Water chemistry levels and pH levels that are out of recommended range can prohibit the unit from climbing to the waterline. This is due to the surface becoming slippery and the robot is then unable to gain grip/traction. A full water test and the pool balanced is recommended. Following this, brush down of the surfaces to shift any slipperiness.

Please do not hesitate to contact our Customer Care team on 1300 693 657 option 2 for any further information.

Shane
Shaneasked

Hi recently purchased a M400, can someone confirm the M400 can be set to clean the floor or walls only

I’m using the my dolphin plus app and can’t see any options to switch programs to floor only

Cheer

4 answers
Maytronics
Maytronics A.Maytronics

Hello Shane. Thank you for reaching out. To change the cleaning mode of your Dolphin, this is located within the My Dolphin Plus application under mode or cleaning mode.

Shane
Shane

Yes tried that the actual app doesn’t have options just 2.5 cleaning cycle

If you have a direct email I’ll send some screen shots but your app has been updated and since then we have no options to clean floor only

Maytronics
Maytronics A.Maytronics

Hello Shane. Please send any screenshots and also the serial number of your Dolphin to our team at customercareau@maytronics.com

Steve w
Steve wasked

Hi i have a new m400 wb, thru the app can you tell robot to concentrate on the walls cheers steve

1 answer
Maytronics
Maytronics A.Maytronics

Hello Steve. Thank you for reaching out.

Within the My Dolphin Plus application there are are options to set the Dolphin to Regular Mode, Floor Only and Ultra Clean cleaning modes. These modes do not have the option to solely focus on the walls however, if the walls are manually brushed down, the Dolphin should collect anything on the pool floor.

See all Maytronics Dolphin M400 questions

Get an answer from our members and Maytronics representatives

Details

Features:

  • The Maytronics Dolphin M400 is a robotic pool cleaner that is designed to deliver a deep clean.
  • It has 3 brushes and super scrubbing power to pick up fine debris.
  • The pool cleaner is able to be programmed, so you can schedule weekly cleanings and spot clean at the push of a few buttons through the MyDolphin Plus App.
  • A tangle-free swivel allows the cleaner to move freely around the pool, making for a precise clean.
  • This product has a 36-month limited warranty.

Points of praise:

  • Most reviewers found that the cleaner’s filters were easy to remove and clean.
  • They also found that it thoroughly cleaned their pool, and was able to pick up fine dust and debris that other cleaners could not.
  • Reviewers also appreciated the storage caddy for the cleaner, saying that it was handy to keep the cleaner tucked away when it wasn’t in use.

A point of pain:

  • Some reviewers found that the pool cleaner didn’t perform as effectively on curved surfaces - some people with kidney-shaped pools noted that it didn’t cover and clean the whole surface area of their pool.
CategoryRobotic Pool Cleaners
Price (RRP)2090
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.