5 photos
Maytronics Dolphin M400

Maytronics Dolphin M400

3.9 from 71 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Robotic Pool Cleaners in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Maytronics

Pros

Easy to remove and clean filters
Thoroughly cleans pool
Has handy storage caddy

Cons

Less effective on curved surfaces

Reviews

4.5
39 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.7 (26)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (25)
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 (26)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.6 (26)
  • Pool Size
  • Noise Level
    5.0 (24)
Previous
Clear all
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Daral
DaralSouth East Queensland, QLD

Great Pool Cleaner

published

My M400 is over 5 years old now, and it’s still like new, never replaced a single part. As someone else said, the best $2000+ I ever spent on pool equipment.

Purchased in January 2017 for $2,300.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
4/5
Noise Level
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Pool Size Average
Functionality
5/5
Small Debris Cleaning
5/5
Large Debris Cleaning
4/5
Wall and Step Cleaning
Maytronics
Maytronics A.MaytronicsSend a private message

Hello Daral. Thank you for your feedback. We are so happy to hear that your Dolphin M400 is doing such an excellent job in keeping the pool clean and that it is still working like new! Have a great day.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
  • Verified

Works very well

published

Very happy with it and would recommend. It does the job that it was purchased for and if you want a good pool cleaner then this is the one for you.

Purchased in November 2021.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Pool Size Average
Maytronics
Maytronics A.MaytronicsSend a private message

Hello David. Thank you for your feedback.
We are glad to hear that the Dolphin M400 is doing a great job in keeping the pool clean and sparkling! Have a great day.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Maytronics

Mandy
MandyFar North Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • Verified

Fantastic machine!

published

This machine is an amazing cleaner for our 12 m pool. It has a wonderful trolley to store it all on so that everything is easily stacked and stored away.

Purchased in December 2021 for $1.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
5/5
Noise Level
5/5
Pool Size Large
Functionality
5/5
Small Debris Cleaning
5/5
Large Debris Cleaning
5/5
Wall and Step Cleaning
Maytronics
Maytronics A.MaytronicsSend a private message

Hello Mandy. Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad that the Dolphin M400 is doing an amazing job in keeping the pool clean and is easy to move around and store. Have a great day!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Maytronics

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

  • Verified

Pricey but does a great job

published

This wasn’t cheap but I’m glad I stumped up for it…does a brilliant job of genuinely set and forget pool cleaning. No regrets of not opting for an infloor self cleaning system- this is perfect

Purchased in September 2021.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
5/5
Noise Level
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Pool Size Large
Functionality
5/5
Small Debris Cleaning
5/5
Large Debris Cleaning
4/5
Wall and Step Cleaning
Maytronics
Maytronics A.MaytronicsSend a private message

Hello Tim. Thank you for your feedback.
We are really glad to hear that your Dolphin is doing such an amazing job in keeping the pool clean whilst being able to "set and forget" while it is looking after the pool. Have a great day!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Maytronics

Robotic Pool Cleaners

Find out how Maytronics Dolphin M400 compares to other Robotic Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
juliebenaim
juliebenaimCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

So much more advanced the the previous model!

published

I have had my Maytronics Dolphin for a few months now and it is amazing. Far better than the previous model. It picks up larger leaves and all debris on the bottom of the pool. I switch it on and off it goes, the pool has never been cleaner! It is also a lot lighter which is great for me when I lift it out to clean. Cleaning the filters is a lot simpler than the previous model. Another bonus is that it cleans higher up on the pool walls.

Purchased in December 2021.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
5/5
Noise Level
5/5
Pool Size Large
Functionality
5/5
Small Debris Cleaning
5/5
Large Debris Cleaning
5/5
Wall and Step Cleaning
Maytronics
Maytronics A.MaytronicsSend a private message
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

John
JohnPerth, WA

brilliant - should have bought one years ago - set and forget and clean

published

our pool is surrounded by lots of trees - the M400 cleans up leaves and seeds effectively and cleaning filters is no issue - we can also leave it in while we swim and it continues to do the job well.

Purchased in January 2022.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
5/5
Noise Level
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Pool Size Large
Functionality
5/5
Small Debris Cleaning
5/5
Large Debris Cleaning
5/5
Wall and Step Cleaning
Maytronics
Maytronics A.MaytronicsSend a private message

Hello John. Thank you for your feedback.
We are so glad to hear that the Dolphin M400 is doing such a great job in collecting debris and in keeping the pool clean and clear.
Have a great day.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mark Suz
Mark SuzSouth East Queensland, QLD

You can't beat a Maytronics Dolphin M400 robot to clean your pool

published

We recently purchased the Maytronics Dolphin M400 with trolley for our pool. Easy to place into the pool, turn it on, let the robot do its thing, lift out of the pool, clean the filters and tuck it away until needed again. One of the best inventions EVER!

Purchased in November 2021 at Billabong Pool Service for $2,400.

Pool Size Average
Maytronics
Maytronics A.MaytronicsSend a private message

Hello Mark. We are so glad to hear that the Dolphin M400 has been easy to use and has made cleaning the pool even easier to clean. Have a great day.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The right to repair: which brands are making it easier for you to fix their products?

The right to repair movement in Australia is calling for companies to make it easier for their products to be repaired. Here are some electronics and appliance manufacturers who are starting to listen and make it more feasible for consumers to repair, rather than replace, their items.

Clara V.
Clara V.14 Feb 2022
the-right-to-repair-which-brands-are-making-it-easier-for-you-to-fix-their-products
Next
Allan D.
Allan D.Central Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews

Excellent product M400

published

Purchased about 4 years ago and has never let us down. We had a an issue with our Dolphin initially cleaning the entire pool always cleaning the deep end. By adjusting the handle angle until we found the right location to suit our pool and it cleans the entire pool including walls every time.
Noticed a big saving in water not having to backwash as much compared to our previous cleaner that worked on the suction from the skimmer box.
Good quality machine and great design. Filters simplistic but effective design are easily accessed and easy to clean. Caddy makes it easy to pack up and put away after each use.
We love it as it makes owning a pool so easy.

Purchased in March 2018 at Poolside All Seasons Pools Mackay.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
5/5
Noise Level
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Pool Size Large
Functionality
5/5
Small Debris Cleaning
5/5
Large Debris Cleaning
5/5
Wall and Step Cleaning
Maytronics
Maytronics A.MaytronicsSend a private message

Hello Allan, Thank you for your feedback.
We are so glad to hear that your Dolphin M400 is going strong and that it has made cleaning and maintaining the pool easy and stress free, as well as saving time and water.
Have a great day.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
P.R.
P.R.Sydney, NSW
  • 4 reviews

This cleaner never worked well

published

Unfortunately this cleaner has been a frustrating experience. It never cleaned all the pool and spent most of it's time in the deep end. The cartridge type leaf catchers have a small capacity and they kept bursting open inside the unit. The impeller would frequently get clogged. It was too heavy to easily take out of the pool. Numerous parts failed: the brushes, the cable, the cartridges, the s clips holding the cartridges closed, the power supply switches and now it has stopped working completely. The parts are so expensive it is not worth rebuilding it. I thought I was buying a top of the line cleaner but it has been disappointing.

Purchased for $1,800.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
1/5
Noise Level
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Pool Size Large
Functionality
2/5
Small Debris Cleaning
3/5
Large Debris Cleaning
1/5
Wall and Step Cleaning
Maytronics
Maytronics A.MaytronicsSend a private message
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Robotic Pool Cleaners

Find out how Maytronics Dolphin M400 compares to other Robotic Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Robin
RobinNortheast, VIC
  • 2 reviews

Works well.

published

This is the second season that we've had this cleaner. It does a really good job, but the wonder brushes are worn out already.
I was shocked to find out that it costs over $100 a pair...and you need two sets..!
That's a lot of money in maintenance costs..

Purchased in April 2018.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
3/5
Noise Level
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Pool Size Large
Functionality
3/5
Small Debris Cleaning
4/5
Large Debris Cleaning
3/5
Wall and Step Cleaning
Maytronics
Maytronics A.MaytronicsSend a private message
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Country boy
Country boyLitchfield, NT
  • 15 reviews
  • 10 likes

Very good, but disappointing user manual

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in September 2020 for $2,200.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
4/5
Noise Level
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Pool Size Large
Functionality
4/5
Small Debris Cleaning
4/5
Large Debris Cleaning
4/5
Wall and Step Cleaning
Maytronics
Maytronics A.MaytronicsSend a private message
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
  • Verified

Great cleaner with easy to empty filters!

published

I have a large 80,000 litre Pebble Crete pool and it cleans it perfectly every time. I put it in once every week or two as required. The cartridge type filters are easy to remove and clean.

Purchased in August 2020.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
5/5
Noise Level
5/5
Pool Size Large
Functionality
5/5
Small Debris Cleaning
5/5
Large Debris Cleaning
5/5
Wall and Step Cleaning
Maytronics
Maytronics A.MaytronicsSend a private message

Hi Michael. Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that the robot is cleaning well and that the filters are easy to keep clean. Have a great day!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Robotic Pool Cleaners

Find out how Maytronics Dolphin M400 compares to other Robotic Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Phil and Bron
Phil and BronFar North Queensland, QLD
  • Verified

Makes the resort lifestyle easy!

published

What a great cleaning unit the Dolphin M400 is! Easy to use, easy to maintain and it has its own trolley to relax in when it’s not hard at work cleaning the pool.

Gets right up to the waterline and steps.

Purchased in August 2020 at Placid Pools Smithfield.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
5/5
Noise Level
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Pool Size Average
Functionality
5/5
Small Debris Cleaning
5/5
Wall and Step Cleaning
Maytronics
Maytronics A.MaytronicsSend a private message

Hi Phil and Bron. Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We are so glad to hear that your Dolphin M400 is easy to use and is doing such a great job in collecting debris and is keeping the pool clean. Have a great day.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Josh
Josh
  • 2 reviews

Seems like a winner

published

Early days but very impressed so far. Picks up much more than our previous suction cleaner. Seems very easy to operate and emptying the waste compartments is an absolute breeze

Purchased in June 2020.

Pool Size Average
Functionality
5/5
Small Debris Cleaning
5/5
Large Debris Cleaning
5/5
Wall and Step Cleaning
Maytronics
Maytronics A.MaytronicsSend a private message

Hi Josh. Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad to hear that your Dolphin M400 is doing such a great job in collecting debris and keeping the pool sparkling clean. Have a great day.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

suzanne
suzanneSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • Verified

Amazing Product M400

published

I purchased my Matronics M400 yesterday from Brisbane Pool.
My previous M400 had died after 7 years of solid service without ever having one fault. My new M400 is perfect and does such a wonderful job keeping my pool sparkling clean. I have lots of trees and leaves, but this model is absolutely perfect and does a wonderful job cleaning floor, walls and waterline. Its a really good quality build and I would recommend anyone to buy this model.

Suzanne

Purchased in May 2020 at Brisbane Pool Robotics.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
5/5
Noise Level
5/5
Pool Size Average
Functionality
5/5
Small Debris Cleaning
5/5
Large Debris Cleaning
Maytronics
Maytronics A.MaytronicsSend a private message

Hi Suzanne. That is fantastic to hear! We are so glad to hear that your new Dolphin M400 is just as amazing as your previous.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Cindy S.
Cindy S.asked

Why does the cleaning mode say
No mode? What does that mean?
I have the Maytronics Dolphin M400

1 answer
Maytronics
Maytronics A.MaytronicsSend a private message
Lisa j
Lisa jasked

Only one side of my m400 is turning?

7 answers
Lisa j
Lisa j

Haven’t gotten any input yet!?!?

Maytronics
Maytronics A.MaytronicsSend a private message
Lisa j
Lisa j

It’s the bearings on one of the white turn thingys on bottom

Simon K.
Simon K.asked

I do not appear to be able to lock the handle in place for my M400 - the manual is pretty average on that front. Accordingly, it won't do the sides of the pool (which is the main reason I bought this). Can you please provide assistance on how to lock the handles at the appropriate angle?

1 answer
Maytronics
Maytronics A.MaytronicsSend a private message
See all Maytronics Dolphin M400 questions

Get an answer from our members and Maytronics representatives

Details

Features:

  • The Maytronics Dolphin M400 is a robotic pool cleaner that is designed to deliver a deep clean.
  • It has 3 brushes and super scrubbing power to pick up fine debris.
  • The pool cleaner is able to be programmed, so you can schedule weekly cleanings and spot clean at the push of a few buttons through the MyDolphin Plus App.
  • A tangle-free swivel allows the cleaner to move freely around the pool, making for a precise clean.
  • This product has a 36-month limited warranty.

Points of praise:

  • Most reviewers found that the cleaner’s filters were easy to remove and clean.
  • They also found that it thoroughly cleaned their pool, and was able to pick up fine dust and debris that other cleaners could not.
  • Reviewers also appreciated the storage caddy for the cleaner, saying that it was handy to keep the cleaner tucked away when it wasn’t in use.

A point of pain:

  • Some reviewers found that the pool cleaner didn’t perform as effectively on curved surfaces - some people with kidney-shaped pools noted that it didn’t cover and clean the whole surface area of their pool.
CategoryRobotic Pool Cleaners
Price (RRP)2090
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.