2 photos
Mazda 2 DJ Maxx Automatic

Mazda 2 DJ Maxx Automatic (2014-2021)

Also referred to as: Mazda 2 DJ Maxx Automatic 2020 and Mazda 2 DJ Maxx Automatic 2022.
4.2 from 18 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.2

18 reviews
  • Build Quality
    5.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (1)
  • Braking
    5.0 (1)
  • Acceleration / Power
    5.0 (1)
  • Gear Shifting
    5.0 (1)
  • Suspension
    5.0 (1)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    5.0 (1)
  • Handling
    5.0 (1)
  • Interior Design
    5.0 (1)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (1)
  • Comfort
    5.0 (1)
  • Features
    5.0 (1)
Previous
Next
Davbarg
DavbargPeel, WA
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Has proved to be a great buy

published

Had the car for 2 years now and could not be happier. Great mileage 6.1 k's per 100 k's average over the 2 years. Comfortable, nippy, great electronics voice activation for phone, navigation, music etc. Cannot say enough about this little beast it is trult phenomenal. Could not be happier.

Purchased in September 2017 at Mandurah Mazda.

Build Quality
Value for Money
C.B
C.B
  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Problematic but still reliable

published

Cheap to run
Bought brand new from mazda dealer
Was absolutely ripped off in terms of price
Fuel gage constantly taking incorrect readings
Bluetooth system is a piece of rubbish... potential to cause an accident more than using the device itself
Seat belt needed to be replaced as it wouldn’t retract

BodyHatch
BadgeMaxx
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2015
Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Niles
NilesSydney
  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great car

published

Very happy with this car, got a sedan maxx and for that price it has a lot of amazing features making Sydney driving a lot easier. It handles really well and is strong to accelerate. The only issue I have is my brakes have worn really fast and squeak. Even though I drive a lot I don't find it acceptable.

BodySedan
BadgeMaxx
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Hatchbacks

Find out how Mazda 2 DJ Maxx Automatic compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
J.k
J.kSydney, NSW
  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great car

published

Great car , so easy to park and doesnt feel cheap to drive in.
Very spacious inside , i was about to move alot of items while moving houses by putting the back sit down.
Around $50 for a fuel tank
Not a fan of the gps due to the images of the map.

BodyHatch
BadgeMaxx
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Rai
Rai
  • 7 reviews

Awesome small sedan!

published

I bought the Mazda2 Maxx Sport Sedan for reverse camera and sensor.
Since it's normally only for 2 passenger, it is good enough (the back seat's space is quite narrow for tall people).
It is economical and easy to park.
I loved the interior design of the sport version - black cloth with red stitch.
I can also fold the back chair down for even bigger boot space, very handy when needed.
I also added GPS, which is an amazing add on.
As my first car, it is good for its value.

BodySedan
BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2016
Related Articles
Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Fam
FamSydney, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Mazda 2 - An awesome car

published

The best car I have driven. Really smooth and powerful. Very stable and got a comfortable feel. enjoying the luxury of a good car without paying an arm and leg for it. The look is very slick and modern. Thinking of changing my second car to a Mazda too. 100% recommend this car.

BodySedan
BadgeMaxx Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017
m1shka
m1shka
  • 5 reviews

Mazda2 Maxx Sedan - great budget buy

published
BodySedan
BadgeMaxx
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2016
Linda
LindaSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 32 reviews
  • 22 likes

Love my car - zoom zoom

published

I recently went from a lancer which I had brand new to a demo Maxx 2 sedan - and I wish I had done it sooner, What a great car. Has the nice room of a sedan. Nice interior with a lot of features. Love the reversing camera and sat nav. Great drive too

BodySedan
BadgeMaxx
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
phantomswife
phantomswifeHunter Region, NSW
  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

I love this car!!

published

Brand new 2017 Maxx model, gorgeous colour and a dream to drive. Plenty of headroom in the front for adults and I am quite tall. The back is really for children or babies. The seats are comfortable. Mine is an automatic and it handles very well and takes off well from stopped. Fuel consumption is very economical. The rear camera is great, an excellent safety feature. I find the i-stop annoying (the engine cuts out and restarts automatically when stopped in traffic) but it might work well when driving in the city. My previous Mazda was reliable, economical and good to drive and this one is a step up.

BodyHatch
BadgeMaxx
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Hatchbacks

Find out how Mazda 2 DJ Maxx Automatic compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Red
RedSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Mazda 2 sedan

published

I purchased the sedan as I wanted boot space and ease of accessing the boot that did not involve having to reach my arms far, as required with a hatch. The car size is good. We purchased rear sensors, as did not come with any! This car is easy to drive, including having a small turning circle. The car does not have automatic lights or wiper settings. The head space in the back is an issue for 5' 9" son. Petrol consumption is good. Take off from standing is slow, breaks are reliable / satisfactory.

BodySedan
BadgeMaxx
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2016
Deb T
Deb Tmelbourne
  • 3 reviews

Great first car

published

Great first car for my daughter ! Lots of safety features ,the reverse camera, anti roll and gps system with screen on the dash is great ! Petrol consumption is great and haven't had any problems mechanically since purchased.Zippy compact sedan easy to get around with and great to park !

BodySedan
BadgeMaxx
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
joey29
joey29SYDNEY

Smooth engine.

published
BodySedan
BadgeMaxx
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2016

Excellent First Car

published
BodyHatch
BadgeMaxx
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2015
Engine Size1.5L
Eric01
Eric01
  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Mazda 2 maxx sport 2016 model (auto)

published
BodyHatch
BadgeMaxx
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2016
Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Andrew V
Andrew VSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Mazda 2 is a great car but Skyactive automatic transmission shifts into higher gears to early.

published

Have done 7000ks. Generally a very good car but auto transmission shifts into 5th & 6th too early (5th at about 50km/h and 6th at just over 60km/h) resulting in the little engine lugging at only 1,100rpm, at these speeds. It will shift down (a bit reluctantly) if you put your foot down but performance feels apathetic when cruising around with a light foot. Sports mode is too much the other way and is too aggressive for normal driving. Can appreciate car is designed this way for economy but if it shifted into 5th and 6th at slightly higher speeds or had a setting between "normal" and "sports", it would feel peppier and much nicer to drive.

BodyHatch
BadgeMaxx
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.5L
Hatchbacks

Find out how Mazda 2 DJ Maxx Automatic compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 2
See all Mazda 2 reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about Mazda 2 DJ Maxx Automatic (2014-2021) but you can read 89 questions about Mazda 2.

Get an answer from our members

Mazda 2 DJ Maxx Automatic (2014-2021)

Details

Compare all 16 Mazda 2
CategoryCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price $20,080
TransmissionAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrol
Wheels15" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars
Fuel Consumption4.9 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 44 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.5L
Max Power81kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque141Nm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureThailand
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2014
Compare all 16 Mazda 2
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.